Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mocenigo Vatican Suites

Via Mocenigo 16, Vatican City - Prati, 00192 Rome, Italy

#810 of 3,119 B&Bs and Inns in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 220 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our host was extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast was lovely. 5 minute walk from the Vatican and 5 minute walk from metro, WiFi worked and in central but quiet area. Would stay here again if in Rome

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The lock in the bathroom didn't work, twas OK for us, but may be a problem for somebody. It was a bit difficult to find the hostel, we had to ask people which helped us. It's not a minus - but be aware that there is normally no staff in the hotel after 17-00, so in case of late arrival let them know, they will wait for you, as twas with us.

    The hostel is perfectly located on a quiet street, but very close to Vatican. It takes 10-15 min to walk to St. Peter's Square and Chapel. Two subway stations (Ottaviano and Cipro) are in 5-10 min walk. The staff was very friendly and eager to help. The breakfast (we took the so-called "salty" one) was nice (though the same every day), and included coffee, yogurt, warm buns, cheese, cold cuts, butter, juice, etc. Though the room is not big, there is everything we needed during the stay: air conditioner, small fridge, table and two chairs, rather big mirror, safe (which fitted the 15" laptop - it's max size it can fit), a kettle, tea bags and suger, being added everyday. Bathroom is rather big. Everything is clean, the room was cleaned everyday.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this place! Very clean and in a great location. 2 blocks from The Vatican. As a single woman I felt safe and walked everywhere in the area at night. Very well lit with police and lots of pedestrians out for an evening stroll. Will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We stayed in room number 4 and we have heard noises from reception or from groups of guests passing our room to their's but nothing serious. Another very minor downside is that flat TV didn't play content from USB drive, but this is something special - most guests won't even notice..

    Pleasant and attentive staff, very good location for early morning Vatican visits. Breakfasts at room were great cause you don't have to dress up and go anywhere. Generaly this guest house consists of several rooms at bigger (in hotel style) reconstructed apartment at the third floor of (quiet) apartment house. You get key from common entrance so you can go out or in as you wish without bothering anyone. There are electric kettles in rooms with tea and sugar supply which is super convinient in colder months.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lights were kind of bright in the room. The walls to the corridor were not well insulated so you could hear what was going on in the corridor too well.

    Nice to have breakfast brought to you every day. Good location for the Vatican.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area was quite quiet and I would not have like to walk to the property on my own, however there were 4 of us so again this wasn't an issue.

    We stayed at the property last year so we knew what we were getting - it is in a great position for visiting The Vatican and is only a 10 minute walk to the underground station (although we did get a little lost!) which links to other tourist attractions. It is quite a quiet area and although we had a meal fairly near the property, we would definitely walk a little further next time for a bigger choice and more atmosphere. We were only there for 1 night so this was not an issue.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was exceptional, they were super nice and helped us with everything. We were able to choose between sweet and salty breakfast on the daily basis. Also the location is spot on. There are so many good great places for foodies in the area. There were some times where we didn't even want to eat in the touristic part. Also the subway was super close.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Location near metro, and Vatican. Great value for money. Its perfect to visit Rome. 3 star prices, but acomodation much better. Perfect for touring from.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Remember this is a guesthouse, so let them know when you are arriving and keep cell phone to call and be buzzed in for check-in (they will give you keys for easy access thereafter). A few steps to elevator. Pay attention to street number and look for small sign on wall next to door with grill on right side coming from Via Candia.

    Located just 2 blocks from the Vatican Museums, but in a non-touristy neighborhood with local shops, cafes and restaurants. Walkable distance between the two subway lines. Very clean, good AC, small fridge and light breakfast served to your room each morning. Elevator to floor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had no complaints.

    Very friendly personal, good room security (they gave us 3 keys, and they also have video-cams), good location (just a short walking distance <3-5 min> to Vatican Museums, 5-8 min walking distance to Ottaviano Metro Station, 12-15 min walking distance to San Pietro Plazza), air conditioning is working good, plenty of restaurants around location, super-market just one street away from the hotel, clean room, good wi-fi, mini-bar, comfortable bed, good corn & coffee at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed at Mocenigo Vatican Suites for 3 nights. Everything was perfect. Staff very helpful and friendly. Fantstic location very close to the METRO station and Vatican.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room design could have been a bit more modern, but it was no issue

    Very friendly staff, nice and clean room, good breakfast, very close to Vatican.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Be aware if you are travelling with young kids as there are no extra beds in the room (they also could not provide this against payment). Such things we would have appreciated to know in advance. Be aware of the extra payment in case of late check-in. Though generally seemed clean it could have been better. Otherwise, everything was OK and I think it is a convenient choice in an expensive and busy city as Rome.

    The guesthouse has a convenient location near the museum of Vatican and also close to the metro station. The plus is the breakfast in bed which is really convenient. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 min walk to vatican. And 8 min walk to subway station which is then 15 mins from the colleseum and other landmarks. We're glad we didnt book anywhere else. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought this was supposed to be some type of suite, but it was just a small room with a mini refrigerator. No staff in the evenings. No phone in room.

    Very modern bathroom. Staff was very nice and helpful. Very clean. Location was excellent. Breakfast was very good and brought to room. Good value.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Offered an English breakfast option ( which is brought to the room at a time of your choice) which we accepted but a roll/cheese/ham is not an English Breakfast. Saying that though, breakfast was fine with jams/honey/juice/coffee and yoghurt supplied. Hotel sign on outside buzzer/intercom could be made clearer for the hotel as is done in shortened style which may confuse people.

    Neat and clean hotel close to the Vatican and a 5 minute walk to the nearest Metro station. Private underground car park in the road parallel on via Tunisi. Welcoming and friendly host who was there when we said we needed to check in ( slightly early). The rooms were clean and bathroom was a good size. Tea and coffee making facilities in room ( but no milk. ) .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing..I liked hotel a lot

    Very nice place to stay...Friendly stuff..Hotel was close to everthing..If you driving car parking garage is a cross of street..I would recomended this hotel to travelers...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    10 Excellent Bino was very helpful and friendly The room has everything you need The location is great .Thank you very much for the excellent service and hospitality

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good location, near Vatican Museum and in between two Metro stations. There is a parking near one of the Metro stations. The rooms are clean and have all the facilities needed by someone who wants to visit the city. And very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The credit card machine did not work when we checked out in the morning on the way to the airport. We had to run to an ATM to get cash to pay, which added 30-minutes to our check out. This added time ultimately caused us to miss our flight at the Rome airport (a very costly mistake). In sum, have cash ready to pay if you are on a schedule.

    Conveniently located near Metro and Vatican.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank you for everything! I really like staying here. Nice staff, close to the city center. Everything was perfect! :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like to thank specially Basil and Vihangha, they are very polite and helpful. Our stay was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard bed firmness.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, friendly staff, nice breakfast served in the room. Good value for your money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We dont have any objects.

    We liked the facilities and the Staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Host Basil was extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was hot and brought on time to the room. Good location very close to Vatican museum.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The location is excellent - short walk to Vatican City. We really enjoyed ourselves.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift

    Very good to visit the Vatican and football

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    cozy, staff & location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were way too hard

    Location to the Vatican city

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Yes very good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent. Very accommodating and friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Great location - one and a half block from the Vatican Museum and close to lots of restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no variety in breakfast

    great staff, very friendly. location is near the Vatican and close to the metro station. clean room, free wifi.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room is simple and bit shabby

    Very good location: 10 min to St. Peter’s Basilica, 300 m. to Vatican Museums, 5 min to metro (tube) station. Quiet and comfortable room. The breakfast was a nice addition)

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view from our room was not great - but nothing relevant at all considering the location and the rooms

    Breakfast brought directly to bedroom in the morning is definitely a plus for this B&B - really clean, well managed and the staff really friendly and helpful - location is great (2 mins walk to Vatican city/Vatican museums and 5 to St. Peter's Square - close to tube stations Cipro and Ottaviano (Metro A) - on top of everything just written, the price is more than reasonable!

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    view from the room, but who cares if you're out all day long :)

    warm breakfast in bed (although some more options would be great for those who stay longer) nice apartment kind staff

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Near the Vatican - really 100 meters from entrance to Museums of Vatican. But all other turistic spots are situated within 1-4 kilometers (too close to take a bus/metro, but far enough to walk).

    Very clean. Very quiet. Warm enough. Good personnel. The room had all we need. Breakfasts are served exactly at the time you say (7:15 means 7:15). Underground stations are 300-400m from the hotel. By the way, the Ottaviano station is more convenient than Cipro though 100 m farther.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only complaint was the walls were very thin, so we could clearly hear our neighbors conversations & televisions, as well as a lot of noise after 6am when staff came to make breakfasts. Other than that, we loved it!

    Good location near Vatican museums entrance & a metro stop. Also very close to 2 bus stops. Very friendly staff & nice breakfast brought to your room each morning. We were there over Christmas, and we were given a typed list of all the public transport schedule changes. This was incredibly helpful & something we really appreciated. I think it spoke volumes for the care & kindness of the staff. There was also consistent, strong wifi, which was especially helpful as we planned our trips around Rome. Definitely more of a guest house feel than a hotel, but it was comfortable coming & going even without a constant front desk presence.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't like that the cover for sleeping was the bed duvet cover which had several stains.

    I very much liked the position of the suites - 3 minutes from Vatican. The room was cosy and clean. The bathroom was also clean and someone came everyday to maintain the room and bring shower gel or shampoo whenever needed. The TV in the room worked well. The breakfast was good and plentiful.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No brekfast room or similar, thus not the best place if you seek exchange on Rome with other travellers

    good location, nice staff, the "hotel" is in a normal apartment house with rooms rebuilt

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was some noise made early in the mornings by the people who were leaving the rooms.

    The guys from reception were very kind, the place was clean and the breakfast was excellent. The place is near Vatican, so it's accesible for all the important points of Rome.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet was spotty and hard to connect....only issue at all!!!

    Location was superb! Bino & Basil were always helpful with any needs or information...they are two great employees and should be commended by the owner. Breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Could not understand how this place received a 9.1 rating at such a small nightly rate. Now I do. The staff are extremely courteous and tend to your every need - breakfast served on time at a time that you request every morning (you get to select between a sweet or salty breakfast that comes with juice, yoghurt and coffee), they gave me an umbrella to use when it was raining, they printed travel documents for me, gave me excellent advice on the surrounding areas, cleaned the rooms quickly and they were spotless - it was really personalised service. There are only 6 or so rooms so it is a small guesthouse/apartment which suited us fine as it was quiet. The room is a decent size if you plan to walk around all day and not spend time indoors all day. Wifi works ok. Two bottles of water given on arrival. There is a kettle with tea and coffee and a small fridge. Close to metro which gets you into the centre of town Would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I really loved the breakfast, it was plenty, delicious and on time from a selection of english breakfast or italian. The bed was also really comfortable, and I had everything I needed and would expect from a hotel like room - excellent ventilation, clean sheets, towels, soap and shampoo and shower gel, hair dryer, fridge, tea cattle with coffee and tea. Also the room had a safe, which was really nice addition.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location near Vatican and the metro station Cipro, with nice places to eat and drink around . It is very clean and the reception service is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It wasn't clear that it he accommodation is in an apartment building which is an aparemt on the 2nd floor made into "siiotes"very strange set up! Internet wasn't reliable once it was due to the are however it was on consistent! No foreign channels only Italian satellite !channels which also wasn't clear!!

    The location close to metro , Vatican and amenities! The room spotless! And the owners very helpful and pleasant!

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and they went above and beyond to ensure our stay was a happy one.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy walking distance to subway, shopping and Vatican. Loved the breakfast in the room. Nice to have a kettle to make tea & coffee.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything !!! I like the breakfeast in the room at what hour you want !!! PERFECT !!!

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very close to the Vatican City. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Size and eating breakfast in our room

    Location

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bottle opener in the room to try Italian wine:)

    Everything was perfect:)

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    + very helpful staff + has kettle, you can make tea and coffee

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bessy was a great host. tks a lot!

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I saw bugs in my bed.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi signal was weak in the room and as a result it was slow.

    Breakfast in the bedroom everyday and when ever it suited me.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel staff The Beds with 4 proper pillows Great rainfal shower

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very helpful with info and helping print tickets purchased online.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice and helpful staff, good location close to the Vatican. The place is clean and peaceful.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Browse Mocenigo Vatican Suites traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: