Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Moderno 2 stars

Via Roma 276, Castellammare Vucciria, 90133 Palermo, Italy

#71 of 72 hotels in Palermo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 625 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi connection didn't work all the time I was there ( five days)

    The room was nice very clean and big bathroom. It was very comfortable and the people was very nice as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was rather old and somehow smelled like old and not taken care of. The closets smelled funny too

    I liked the location very much. The breakfast was abundend and good.the staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel location is excellent, we managed to visit Palermo by foot in half a day. Room was clean. It was perfect for our short stay. Staff was really kind and recommended local restaurants where we could have dinner.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could be improved to provide more comfort. The shower was small and hard to use and I'm 5 foot one inch tall.

    The location is great but the place and room is not very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet broken No pressure in the shower No internet connection in our room No electrical outlet for the computer Bed very old and of a poor quality Very bad experience...

    Location in the center of Palermo

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty, walls had a red color that was too strange to look at....bed uncortable. Bathroom was flooded of water and curtain was dirty. I dont recommend even with good location.

    The only positive point is the location. Exactly in the heart of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is discusting, bad smell, bad experience Staff not helpful No one bother speak or help you when you ask for assistance Worst place . Smelly place Do not upload Or promote hotel like in you’re booking site

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would not cater for wheelchair (tiny lift) 4 single beds was a bunk and 2 singles needed 4 singles - hotel know it was 4 adults including one disabled in wheelchair Room very noisy esp when groups of students staying and washing machine in room overhead

    Very good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem is parking around the hotel. I was with a car hire and left it in an underground parking lot 15 minutes on foot from the hotel.

    The hotel is ideally located. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel. Clean, spacious room. Friendly and responsive staff. Good breakfast. Palermo - a wonderful and exciting city, I fell in love with it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The basement.

    The safe and quiet atmosphere, the most kind and accommodating hotel staff and the excellent location of the hotel, are the attractive points of this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was little bit poor. The windows of the room haven't got insulation.

    Good location of the hotel, the staffs are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom smelled of sewage and I had to change rooms twice. In the end, I got a room which smelled of stale cigarettes which replaced the sewage smell. Tiniest shower ever and the water leaked all over the floor. The place was being renovated so was dusty and the workers started drilling and talking loudly first thing in the morning.

    The location was super central, easily walkable to main train station and lots of sights. Cool ethnic street very nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You had to ring on doorbell to enter the building. There is very small and old elevator. The receptionist did not speak english well. She was very brief with us, not explaining anything. The room was just terrible. We were sleeping on "extra" type of beds. Mine was even bent in the middle. The room was not looking very clean, with holes in the wall. The doors to the bathroom could not be closed properly. It was very difficult to lock the doors to the room. The breakfast was just weak. Using plastic dishes. There was not enough food. There were conrflakes but no milk or yoghurt. There were some cakes and no fresh pastry - just toast bred (with no toaster if I remeber well) and some cheap cheese and ham that tasted like salami. The coffee from the machine at the breakfast was just terrible. The accommodation is quite far from the main train station (you have to walk through very long main and busy and noisy street). We could leave are luggages at the reception by the tables - there was no storage place for luggagges at the hotel. We saw some better looking rooms at the hotel, so it depends on your luck.

    The good think was, that the reception was opened all the time. It is close to the main sights.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast let us down very badly. It was of poor quality, very little choice , no plates (except plastic), for example no bowls to have cornflakes, sometimes no butter! We had to get some breakfast from the shops to the breakfast area. I am a diabetic and all the products were full of sugar. I told the staff about my diabetes. Although sympathetic , no action was taken to offer me an alternative. So without a proper breakfast we were not set up for the day .It affected our finances because we had to eat out.

    Room was very tidy and clean everyday. Staff very friendly and helpful. Location suited us fine .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    hotel rather old fashioned and drab hotel was noisy,particularly annoying was early in the morning when it was hotel staff that were making the noise breakfast poor

    good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of external noise overnight and nightstaff were talking loudly all night. Not much sleep!

    Easy walk to lots of shops,restaurants and attractions. Staff were friendly and helpful. Both spoke reasonable English.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only good things about the hotel was the location. It was very easy reachable and there was a bus station just in front of the hotel. The breakfast was very poor and nothing was tasty. Staff was not that friendly. We have booked another room while they provided us with another one but after our request the room was changed. Facilities of the room were very old and it smelled like old furniture.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing wrong in this hotel at all. If you travel with a backpack and want to lean your head in some comfortable, nice, clean place in a great location with fast wifi, this is it. Good price/quality rate!

    This hotel is in the perfect location and it has a big sign therefore you can not miss it even at night because it shines red. The staff is very friendly and kind. They let us keep our luggages there because our flight was late at night and also helped us to find out how to get to Corleone on Sunday which we appreciated very much. The room was clean and bed comfortable. Our room was a bit smaller than it looked in the pictures but for two people it was really enough. It was surprisingly very quiet at night. The WI-Fi connection is fast and the air conditioner worked very well! The breakfast was great, many sweet cakes etc. Also, the paintings in the breakfast room are very nice and interesting!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The advertisement lied about several things. There is no internet in the rooms, only in the lobby. There were no parking spot, only a public parking that is unsafe. I paid 15 euros to keep my car in a "private" parking located by the hotel, and my car was damage. Additionally, the rooms were very small, not clean enough, and A/C and TV were really bad. The breakfast was ok to me until I saw flies in the food. Such a simple thing to solve, only need to cover the food, but I guess they didn't have this idea. Employees are great, and I have nothing to complain about them.

    I liked the close proxmity to the main areas in the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were worn, with no character, and bed was uncomfortable. The room/bathroom both stunk of stale cigarette smoke!! Bathroom had a stray pubic hair in the shower. Hotel was quite loud. Lift was ancient and didn't work when I left. Breakfast was a joke! Upon my arrival at the hotel I was told that my booking hasn't gone through as my card was rejected (despite the fact that I had received a booking confirmation from booking.com) & therefore I had to pay 40€ for a room instead of 26€. Tried to pay on both of my credit cards but never worked, which seemed really odd given that they have worked everywhere else on my trip. I would have demanded a refund after seeing the room, but it was after 1am so

    The location was good, and the air con worked! I liked the juice machine at breakfast. The staff were friendly enough. That's where the good bits end!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was really unfriendly and treated us rude. The room was dark and not beautiful. The breakfast was not good. I would not recommend it. Sorry

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was terrible, left out in a boiling hot room so that everything was served warm - including the milk for cereal (that you had to eat from a mug) sweaty cheese, dried out ham Lighting in the room was basically non existent so even at midday it could have been the middle of the night - shutters did no open - bad lighting also in bath room and no natural light Mould in the tiny shower - shower leaked on to the floor which made everything soaking including the bath mat and tiles which were VERY slippery when wet - no warning sign for this or the scolding hot water that came from the taps Bed sagged in the middle - super hard and not comfy at all.

    Good location, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not good at all and our bed, felt like it was broke in the middle and heavily sunk in. Our bathroom smelled of smoke and there was no shower curtain and the shower head was broke so water was leaking out of there.

    The area was decent. Location was what we were looking for.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bathtub or balcony when we checked in, which was stated in the reservation. We talked to the staff, they gave us a new room with bathtub, but not balcony. We were not told the breakfast time, and when we were there on the second morning, everything was finished there. The room was good, but there was another non useful bed, which made the space crowded. And the worst thing was, there was no spare electricity charger in the room. We had to plug out the lamp then use the electricity.

    The location is good, not far from the city center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast coffee was from an automate, which one would not expect in Italy. Also some of the fruits offered for breakfast were in fact somewhat rotten.

    The marvelously situated house in which the hotel is situated is extremely beautiful, with high ceilings and balconies; window frames were wooden and had nice old-style shutters. The staff was very friendly, and we were allowed to leave our luggage in the hotel reception for the final day of our trip.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. We chose this place due to central location but this is the only advantage of this property. The room was very disgusting and the lift was just a nightmare! I have never seen anything like this even in old movies. Breakfast... is it a joke? There were just croissants and cakes but not for everybody. The fact that customers are from abroad should be also considered. We don't eat sweet breakfast like Italians and we expect something totally different for extra price for breakfast that we were charged for. Seriously, I dont recommend it unless you like old fashion poor quality places.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - We booked 2 nights stay. For the first night they gave us different room than the one which we booked. Room looked like some basement with just very small window. After our complains they gave us 10 euro discount for that night and moved us into better room next day morning. However it was not very nice experience. Moreover it looked like that if we don't complain they will leave us in that room for both nights. - They did not offer us welcome drink after check-in (it was promised in the conditions during the reservation) - Breakfast was very poor. There was not even good coffee (just some liquid from the automat). We skipped the breakfast second morning - There is very old elevator in the building- very often not working properly- therefore it was necessary to take the stairs to 3rd floor

    + Location- right next to Vucciria market + It was possible to leave the bags at reception after check-out

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to change rooms because of the smell. Wireless LAN very weak or no reception at all in our rooms. Very outdated furnishing.

    Good price, nice location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The name of the hotel was probably created long ago and neither the rooms nor the name was changed since then (apart from the bath room). Breakfast was not so convincing (lots of cakes).

    People were nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really isn't a way to judge.

    It was just an overnight and we missed our train connection at Catania because the train from Siracusa was five minutes late; forcing us to wait about three hours for the next one and thus making our arrival in Palermo very late. We had a very early flight in the morning and missed breakfast, but the man on duty at reception (?John) insisted on making a coffee for me and a tea for my daughter which we had as we waited for the taxi to the airport. I'm glad we listened to him!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious bedrooms and great location. Walking distance to everything we wanted to see.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice croissants :) at Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Good value for a big family. Can accommodate 6-8 person each room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, we could walk everywhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no Internet access at the room even the routher was outside.

    the location - close to the central rail station and sity centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Strange smell in the bathroom

    Good breakfast, big balcony

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every thing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only deserts for the breakfast.No eggs, no sausages...The bathroom wasnt clean.

    Good place in the centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not clean. Staff terrible.

    -

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doesn’t match the pictures, old and uncomfortable furniture, like in Russian hospital. Almost nothing to eat at the breakfast.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accomodations are ok, location is great, the staff is friendly and helpful. Good value for money. Great, if you don't need anything fancy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls and cleaning staff shouting in the corridors from 7 am. Very dark room.

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed, no blinds on a window, no flyscreens

    Price, location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else was wrong. Ugly and small room Bathroom with an awful smell Burnt blanket

    Good location Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not service oriented staff nor well trained

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should be internet in the room but it was not ;(

    The hotel service was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor quality, only one plug socket in room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bed was not comfortable.

    Staff are friendly. Room was very quiet at night. Good central location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were helpfull and the locatation was excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Tasty food. Warm staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Browse Hotel Moderno traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: