Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Moderno 4 stars

Viale Vittorio Emanuele 41, 27100 Pavia, Italy

#2 of 9 hotels in Pavia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 465 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    We were upgraded to a superior room which had a large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view of the back courtyard from the bedroom, but we asked for a quiet room, not overlooking the street.

    We were upgraded to a superior room which had a large 2-roomed bathroom with both bath and walk-in shower.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location & interesting old town.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room for a disabled person although neither of us have a disability. Terrible view of the rubbish bins in the courtyard.

    Great location. Very clean room. Friendly staff especially the girl at reception. Great parking outside the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.5
    The hotel staff was very hospitable and we were upgraded to...
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been more generous with vegetables and fresher breads.

    The hotel staff was very hospitable and we were upgraded to a suite on the second floor as the deluxe room was very small and uncomfortable. Alessandro at the reception was helpful. Location is near the train station and about a five-minute walk to the center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Hotel is in an excellent location and excellent service
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast should be improved

    Amazing location, courteous and attentive staff, a bit disappointing breakfast but there are solutions in the city, dinner at the hotel restaurant is amazing and worth booking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    Fancy room, parking spaces right in front of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reviews said that it was exceptionally clean. It wasn’t the case, even though it wasn’t dirty either.

    Fancy room, parking spaces right in front of the hotel. Nice breakfast, friendly staff. 10 minutes walk to the center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel convenient for local sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi in the bedroom ways bit shaky but I don’t think this problem is unique to this hotel.

    The room was big, the bathroom huge with marble everywhere, walk-in wardrobe. Location very handy for walking into the old city centre. Parking at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    If a courtyard room is available we will stay again without hesitation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our first night the room overlooked the road and was too noisy, we asked to change room and from then on we overlooked the silent courtyard.

    Close to the railway station and medieval centre of beautiful Pavia with its restaurants, bars and sights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.5
    relatively cheap hotel so relative to that standard well run...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    relatively cheap hotel so relative to that standard well run and really quiet - old building with very thick walls. i have stayed in much more expensive hotels that are quite noisy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location and modern interior
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are a little short. The shower doors were awkward and water ended up all through the bathroom.

    Our room was huge and nice and modern. Very nice. Short walk to town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.1
    The Hotel is well furnished with a nice contrast between...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small, really small for the price. I think because we booked through Booking.com; other rooms were bigger and gorgeous.

    The Hotel is well furnished with a nice contrast between classic and modern. Very, very clean with strong Wi-Fi and kind staff. Bathroom is very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Luxury at an affordable price.
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel, the room and the breakfast were all excellent. We are walking the Via Francigena to Rome and to have luxury at an affordable price is much appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    will recommend family, friends who visit Pavia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above

    The staff were very helpful. Complimentary bike offer was very useful. The restaurant is great value, as the portion of food was generous, although slightly too salty. Staff offered first aid kit help without being asked.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Very warm and helpful welcome confirming we could park right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very warm and helpful welcome confirming we could park right outside the hotel. Easy walking distance from the historic centre and on a tree-lined avenue. The shade was welcome. wide choice from the breakfast buffet and very comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    A perfect end to a long walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Had just completed a section of the Fracagena Way so we needed some pampering. Just across the road from train station but no noise from the trains.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    6.7
    location was good, staff friendly
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was small, old, single bed uncomfortable, tiny tv with nothing in english language on tv. Badly in need of refurbishment to a better standard of room

    location was good, staff friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    10
    Very nice weekend with friends
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel in the center,very kind and warm welcome.Clean and comfortable rooms with a nice view.The staff was very gentle and kind for any request. Very nice restaurant and breakfast service.I would definitely recommend it and I hope to come again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    A warm welcome, bags taken to our room, booking made at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a single negative.

    A warm welcome, bags taken to our room, booking made at restaurant...not things that you always get, and friendly smiles all round too! Superb shower, grand breakfast and very comfy bed. And, to top it all, parking right in front of the hotel!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    The friendliness and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast

    The friendliness and location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was average

    Good value for money Clean and pleasant rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel in excellent location with really helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa bed quite uncomfortable.

    A great location and the staff were really helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Will come back for sure and recommend to everyone
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t know

    everything !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Very central location and friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central location and friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rug in our room was dirty and the shower was a bit tired, looked bit dirty.

    Room with balcony over looking the train station was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location Balcony over the square

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.6
    Hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air condición extremely poor

    Locatipn

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    Love our stays here. Always good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts are fairly basic

    We stay here regularly. Great location, clean, comfortable and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.8
    Great restaurant in hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great restaurant in hotel!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff who speak English
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No off street parking. Too much noise in the morning

    Friendly staff who speak English

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Couldn't be any better!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location- area is a bit sketchy near the train station.

    Great room. Deluxe room was so comfortable; felt like I was really pampered.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Professional staff, knowledgeble, - They found and send me ( and pay for mail ) a pair of my sunglasses- I'am very Happy for the kindness !!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.9
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location! Hotel offer bicycles for the gest free of charge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Internet didn't work
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet didn't work

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    9.6
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and helpful staff. Close to town center. Street parking right in front. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    7.5
    All generally good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the neighbourhood

    All generally good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    It's the best in Pavia
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's the best in Pavia

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Great for quick business trip. Near heart of old town and university.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More parking, but not a real problem.

    Enjoyable breakfast, very helpful staff. Arranged travel to Bergamo at reasonable rate in a good car service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    8.8
    Everything has been updated and modernized since our last...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hot portion of breakfast could be improved as most items were already cold. Cold portion of breakfast was varied and good, especially the fruit options.

    Everything has been updated and modernized since our last visit 10 years ago. Staff was also friendly and got us a last minute reservation at our favorite restaurant. We also ate at the hotel restaurant which was also very good.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.6
    Very clean hotel, nicely decorated, right next to the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room is small but cozy Only several people from the stuff speak good English

    Very clean hotel, nicely decorated, right next to the train station and few minutes walking to the city center. Breakfast is good, bed is comfortable, stuff is friendly. There are no better choice in this price segment in Pavia.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    9.2
    Location convenient for Pavia railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Would have liked tea and coffee-making facilities in room

    Location convenient for Pavia railway station. Rooms very nicely decorated, lovely and clean, soft towels, beds very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    9.6
    Parking was directly in front of the hotel, reserved places...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Parking was directly in front of the hotel, reserved places on the street. Check in was a quick experience. Later we wanted directions to various tourist sights which were recommended by the staff. Also we asked for a restaurant booking. Everything was carried out effieciently and with a smile.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    9.6
    The staff are very helpful and are not standoffish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience but the gym was simply an exercise bike. For the available space the Moderno could install a couple of extra pieces.

    The staff are very helpful and are not standoffish. Good sized room and good shower. I hadn't realized there was a hot pool downstairs or a mini-gym (no one else had realized either judging by its emptiness). The attached Peo restaurant serves good quality food and prices were not extortionate.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    10
    Excellent, cheerful staff (in spite of upon hearing my...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent, cheerful staff (in spite of upon hearing my accent switched immediately to English) Accommodations superb- it's a European hotel, which frustrates many Americans as to size, but it's perfect. Great location, especially if you have to catch an early train. Fantastic breakfast. Very clean, and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    8.3
    Helpful and friendly staff.
    • Couple

    No bad experiences, but hotel could do with a bit of brightening up, having said that it is themed on sixties/ art nouveau style and good at it. Breakfast perfectly adequate but not very exciting.

    Helpful and friendly staff. Good location and very importantly for o town with lots of parking restrictions free parking. Henry close to the road a rain connections to the area.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    9.2
    Very nice people - very practical and quiet - very good wifi...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was too small

    Very nice people - very practical and quiet - very good wifi included in the price.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    7.9
    Located centrally in Pavia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Located centrally in Pavia. Rooms were nice although a little small. Staff very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    7.9
    Excellent location near railwaystation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room extreemly small expecially for 3 people

    Excellent location near railwaystation

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    8.8
    Excellent location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Value is too expensive for the city

    Excellent location and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    9.6
    IT is a place with Flavor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some furniture is too old

    IT is a place with Flavor

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.2
    The proximity to the train station and town made this a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The proximity to the train station and town made this a great location. Staff was genuinely helpful! Made us want to stay longer!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.3
    The room was great.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was very poor.

    The room was great.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    9.6
    Close to the railway station with excellent connection to...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Close to the railway station with excellent connection to Milano

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    7.1
    Restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Car parking

    Restaurant

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.3
    Lovely Hotel in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely Hotel in a beautiful city Close to the centre Convenient parking

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    7.1
    Nice friendly helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was a bit "light" and room a bit hot

    Nice friendly helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    9.2
    Situation
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast service could be improved

    Situation

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: