Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Modus Vivendi

Privata Serenella 34, 18038 Sanremo, Italy

#46 of 88 Holiday rentals in Sanremo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 724 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located on a hill. Difficult walk to and from town. Easiest accessed by car.

    Friendly staff. Beautifully clean and recently renovated apartment. Great swimming pool. Luck enough to have a great sea view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    De luxe room is very good and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price is a little bit higher.

    De luxe room is very good and spacious. Bed are extremely confort and bathroom is modern and new. Breakfast is excellent. They have a nice terrace. Staff is very professional Hotel is located around 300 meters from beach and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    The room was very clean and spacious with a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a bit far from the town and the roads up to the hotel weren’t very good

    The room was very clean and spacious with a little kitchenette. The pool area was lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    very friendly staff, hotel is very clean, modern ans with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very friendly staff, hotel is very clean, modern ans with perfect view to pool and sea. pool area and bar was very nice to relax. perfect place to stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Very friendly staff, nice view to the sea, spacious and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal very poor in the room, practically unusable. Sometimes we had to wait minutes for the warm water, and the room smelt of canalisation.

    Very friendly staff, nice view to the sea, spacious and clean room. Suitable also for longer stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    3.8
    Pit stop only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Terrible location Had to park a long way from room and drag luggage up stairs Captive audience for breakfast you had to pay for Pool closed and dirty

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Great room! Great sea view! Friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first day there was no hot water in the shower.

    The staff were friendly, We had everything we needed and a balcony with great view - the best part of the room!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    4.6
    View from the balcony, parking for free and nice personnel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Of course you should read careful what you choose: this is a residence, so you will have just the room without any service. Cleaning is once in 7 days. If you stay for one night its OK, but when you spent your vacation it is not comfortable. The breakfast is not including, on the site it is written you could take the breakfast for extra money. But there is nothing to have - croissants and coffee, nothing more. And as there is about 1 km (or more) for nearest supermarket or cafe - you should be prepared to spend your time for cooking breakfast. For the best view on Sea you will pay hard way to the city. If you go by foot - it is about 1 km hard road up. Definetly it is possible to find in SanRemo hotel with more service for the same price.

    View from the balcony, parking for free and nice personnel are the only nice points of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.3
    The worst experience in Italy thus far
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Besides the fire alarm st 5 AM that evacuated the hotel? Well this is our second try at this site and thought the first round was a bad try so we tried again and it was worst than the first . Last Visit they had this grand lobby breakfast buffet and upon arrival I mentioned about breakfast and the kind front desk person says no, we have moved it to the pool area in the morning..... dear lord, the worst looking patio on earth offering coffee and croissants and not gratuit. Next the broken shower or the non working AC after the mgr had said they would turn it on or the old comforters and wonky bed..... the property is aging and needs lots of maintenance. Will not provide another chance .....

    The setting on the hillside and entrance are nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.3
    ok for one night stand and probably very nice in summer
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    classical apart hotel. we came late (20:00) and didnt see anyone from staff. keys and instructions were waiting at the desk in special box. room was ok. medium quality. location is to far from anything and as we came by car it was very difficult to drive up to there. the last 100m is on the bumping road. Didnt expect to see that in Sanremo ??? Nothing fence and lets say ok for that price but if we compare with our Spanish flat very near to the beach, which can keep 5 persons in 59m2 the price is double for this time of year.

    Clean beds and toilet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    The group all said they would like to return - always a good sign !
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We were looking for rooms with small kitchens. We were told that it had formerly been a hotel. Stovetops were put in many of the rooms, along with a cupboard of many dishes and small refrigerator. We would have preferred the option to book at least one of the 3 rooms with a larger kitchen, but none of the rooms had that type of facility.

    We were a family of 10, booked in 3 apartment/rooms. Quite good value for money. Pool very large and clean. Beach was within a healthy walking distance, but we drove the 5 minutes as the beach parking lot was very reasonable. Would have been nice to have a shuttle, even if just a couple of runs early in the day and a couple of runs in the late afternoon. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and spoke a variety of languages. Balconies were roomy and had great view of the water, as the hotel is situated on a steep hill about a kilometer up from the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    2.5
    It is not a hotel, it is an apart hotel with minimal service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It is not a hotel, it is an apart hotel with minimal service. Bad location for walkers. Very uncomfortable rooms with no service without additional payments. No breakfast. Very disappointing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.4
    Not happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not permitted to eat our food from the store by tbe pool yet they offered nothing but beverages and ice cream. Also, it was too far from city centre. While knowing the latter offered a bit of a walk, it was too much of an inconvenience. It might not have been so bad had we had access to a restaurant at the hotel or been able to eat the grocery store food at the pool, but neither was an option. Food was a long walk to acquire and then to not be able to eat poolside was riduculous. I would not recommend as a result.

    The piol.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Hard to reach but great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food service contrary to promotional description. Pool not open. You need a car to get up the mountainside to this place.

    Great outdoor balcony. Extremely quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.5
    Modus Vivendi-St Remo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Distance from Town which is a nice place-although bit past it's prime.

    This is an APARTHOTEL which means that while the Hotel is intended for mainly business conferences,it is in a decent location,but it is a drive or 20 minutes walk into town. The Hotel is well finished,good rooms, but there was no restaurant and no breakfast.The aircon did not work. The swimpool was not finished. The receptionist was pleasant but location & lack of facilities do not encourage more tha a 1 night stay-if that. Our upgrade was well received but without facilities only just OK.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    5.0
    When is a 'hotel' not a 'hotel'. At Modus Vivendi!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had stayed here in 2014 when it was a very nice hotel but it has now become a 'residence' and the publicity doesn't yet make this clear. For a residence it was poorly furnished. The whole building is tired and in need of maintenance but it seems no one is doing this job. There is a cleaner only once a week so if you stay several days, it is self catering. The general appearance of the building is deteriorating. Grass growing through pavias on balcony and by the pool. There appears to be only one person on duty at a time, doing very long shifts and no one at night. The day staff was pleasant and tried to help but the evening one while we stayed, was reluctantly removed from his computer games to advise and quite rude in his manner. Perhaps the biggest problem( through no fault of the hotel) is its approach. The road has been so damaged by tree roots, it is full of crater sized pot holes which have to be negotiated very carefully. The exit onto the main street is also extremely dangerous and as the position of the hotel makes walking difficult, it was necessary to use the car frequently. We were very disappointed with our stay.

    The room we had did have a lovely view. There is plenty of free parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.8
    Friendly staff, location and views are pretty, not far from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    all in balance - the price and the services. maybe i'll be glad to use the swimming pool after 13/09 'cause the weather allows it.

    Friendly staff, location and views are pretty, not far from sea and supermarket (it's very useful 'cause the room have a kitchen so you can enjoy your own meal and for me it's very convenient way)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    2.5
    Dirty and bad location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com indicated pool was open which we were told wasn't when we arrived. No restaurant either and room and bathroom were dirty. Would absolutely not recommend to anyone. Booking.com as much to blame for the pool issue as hotel so will not be using it in future as it completely spoiled our holiday.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    5.4
    Tres Decevant. Never more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was very cold at the room, the bed is not comfortable at all, too far to the city center and to the sea, so dont recommended.

    I will never return. Its a good news.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    7.1
    good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    neighbours on balconies talking loud late night wish there was a small fridge in the room

    clean place, fairly spacious, nice sea view good exercise each day - walking up and down the hill :P

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Great value hotel,lovely pool and pool bar. It is a drive up the hill from San Remo so need car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool and bar

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.1
    Good for a long weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a well stocked kitchenette.

    Friendly helpful staff, pool area and view from apartment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    The pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment very basic, very small bedroom, no kettle, no tea/coffee provided.

    The pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.4
    Room comfort, parking, swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception time, not clean the room after first night, timing for breakfast and reception

    Room comfort, parking, swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    Poor wifi connection in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi connection in the room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    Relaxing place with great view on the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower that was a bit too small, and the uncomfortable street that you need to take to reach the place.

    The swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Great accomodation but a bit far from town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep walk

    Great accommodation however has a long steep walk to and from the town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    good place for good money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    beds aren't very good

    The view is awesome

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.2
    Out of season
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water. No air conditioning.

    Parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Huge bathroom, modern and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going down to the sea is fast. But returning back by walk is a challenge.

    Huge bathroom, modern and clean rooms. Nice balcony with terrific view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Next time we should stay longer, the city of San Remo and Hotel are perfect places for vocation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect, location, hotel facilities, hospitality etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Super relaxing stay. Lovely hotel tucked away in a quiet spot. Super pool. Easy walking distance to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Really beautiful views. Lovely, friendly and helpful, English speaking staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con wasn't working in our room!

    The pool, the view and the staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    Be careful on the damaged road to the hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nobody at the front desk after 6 pm , no real breakfast , just coffee and sweet croissants, awful, bumpy road to hotel .

    free parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    3.8
    About nothing.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    About nothing. My second time to visit the hotel and no service to the room for three days. No good available to the pool. No a good place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    2.5
    Absolutely terrible!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled like vomit

    There was poor wifi, no shuttle to up to the hote

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Super hotel a san remo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situation, parking proprete

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.2
    Super nice staff , very happy with service.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super nice staff , very happy with service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    Worth for money we pay. Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A restaurant open.

    Nice wiew !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    7.5
    No breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast. Hotel is too high on the hill

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.2
    Check-in was fast and parking facilities are good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit too far if you want to walk to the city.

    Check-in was fast and parking facilities are good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    7.1
    Nice aparthotel with good views and lovely pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    lots of weeds around a most beautiful pool - why???

    nicely decorated, clean rooms, great view and very nice pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, which we booked for cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is out of the was, but it made up for it with views

    Lovely hotel, which we booked for cheap. Worth staying at, probably the best place of the trip. The room was nicely done and breakfast was supurb.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    7.5
    Very good hotel with stunning views over the bay above San...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A long way out of town up a very bumpy road. The pool was closed during our stay

    Very good hotel with stunning views over the bay above San Remo. Friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    5.8
    Nice view, terrace, quiet place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff wanted us to pay extra 100 EUR for the damage of the room, that was before us. The problem was solved, but we were upset

    Nice view, terrace, quiet place

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    5.8
    Breakfast was very basic and staff were making themselves...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was very basic and staff were making themselves coffee and chatting amongst themselves whilst guests were having breakfast. We booked a room with a view but were given a room with a view of a retaining wall and smelt of cigarettes and very musky. We had to ask for another room. Pool area and grounds are not being maintained.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.9
    Good size room with lovely view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One of the doors to the balcony did not lock.

    Good size room with lovely view. Balcony with table and chairs enabled us to enjoy the view. Clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    7.9
    Location was excellent - amazing view and some distance from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast - cheese, salami, buns - no vegetables or fruit. location on a steep hill - might be challenging for the elderly or disabled parking - in high season not all of the guests are able to find a spot.

    Location was excellent - amazing view and some distance from the crowded city center. We had a room with sea-view balcony, well-sized. Staff was helpful.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.9
    Great hotel, good breakfast and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The road up to the hotel is not the easiest and not made for every car.

    Great hotel, good breakfast and nice staff. Although walking down to the beach or the centre is kind of a hassle (20 minutes). But the pool is nice and the rooms were big.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    6.7
    Facilities were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard to reach the hotel by foot. Breakfast could be a lot beter if there were enough knifes, breads, glasses,... Staff doesn't speak English. Except for the reception of course.

    Facilities were very nice. I liked the pool, the chambers en everything was very clean.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.5
    We had a great view from our balcony!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Because it's located on a hill, it's maybe not so convenient for older people (if you don't have a car), but for young people it's fine. Oh, and there is a nice cycling route along the coast!

    We had a great view from our balcony! And the pool was nice and clean.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.8
    View, Staff, Pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No or low Wifi at rooms (at pool area or lobby works fine). Road is a bit bumpy. Missing restaurant - It's a big shame. They have a kitchen and a large banket room, which they could use as a restaurant. They have many guests so...??? Drinks/food on the bar a bit expensive. I think if they lower a price, they would sell much more. (0,33l beer for 4 eur looks a bit much for me).

    View, Staff, Pool. Fair B&B for a price. 7 nights @620 EUR. Breakfast was very tasty and pool area is large and nice.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    7.5
    A nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room is announced larger than it is in reality because you have a separate room for the third person which you actually don't use. As the result the space that you use is rather cramped. A fridge in the room would be very helpful. The shuttle to the center runs several times a day at some definite time.

    A nice hotel. It has a sea view/ There is a balcony in the room.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    7.1
    Location is good if you have a car, room was very large and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Road leading to the hotel was bad, breakfast was poor and the coffee was realy bad. It is more like a holiday community than a hotel

    Location is good if you have a car, room was very large and had a nice view, pool was good

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    9.2
    Staff super kind !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Position very complicated to find . Street for access very unpractical But this is city problem not hotel fault!!!

    Staff super kind !!! Room Very Clean Hotel Very ok FOR SANREMO !!!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    6.3
    Staff, swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No restaurant in the evening, but specially taking into account that location of the hotel is away from everything, no fridge in the room, poor daily cleaning of the room, awful road to approach the hotel, ac S's to other people to the swimming pool

    Staff, swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    8.3
    Free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The road leading up to the Hotel has almost no signs and is extremely bumpy and narrow. Need to rely on your car every time you wish to go to the city or beach etc.. Cappuccino at the breakfast was from Automate (watery, bitter) - not what would you expect in Italy :-(

    Free parking. The view was magnificent - overlooking the sea and surrounding hills/town. Breakfast had a good variety and was delicious, except coffee. We enjoyed Pool - it offers a beautiful view and is great for laps and for relaxing. We stayed only 1 night and were glad to choose this hotel for a stop over on our journey.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    3.3
    The air conditioning wasn't working, there was no fridge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The air conditioning wasn't working, there was no fridge, asked for a double bed got two singles, the curtains weren't long enough to cover the window, they were only for decoration, staff was very unhelpful, and not polite.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    5.8
    We were only there for one night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    LET US GET THIS CLEAR - THIS IS NOT A HOTEL! It is a municipal lido facility with some rooms added on. To expand on this there is no restaurant, the breakfast "room" is an outdoor poolside area. We were unable to get anyway near the pool/poolside due to all the locals monopolising it. No bar after 19.30hrs.

    We were only there for one night!

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    We were really impressed by the friendliness of the amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None,the staff is very available to solve any issue. This place is just fantastic.

    We were really impressed by the friendliness of the amazing staff. They really did everything they could to make our stay the best holiday ever. Fantastic setting, great rooms and a lovely pool which stands as a landmark in San Remo. Very recomandable to people traveling with young children.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    10
    The View is absolutely Spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is only one problem. The Road leading up to the Hotel should have more Signs. It always became a Challenge. Mostly Fun ( Since I rented a 5 speed Fiat.) Obviously the road Is Extremely Bumpy with quite a few Twists and Turns. Worth the drive. The View From The Modus is Breathtaking. Loved Staying Here for 6 Amazing Nights.

    The View is absolutely Spectacular. We Checked in and Matte was at the front Desk. Absolutely sets the Bar when it comes to Welcoming New Guests. He took the time to recommend and provide maps for Different Cities and Restaurants we went to. He Suggested a Restaurant in San Remo. 6 Tables Absolutely One of Our Best Dining Experiences. Entire Dinner with Bottle of Wine 78 Euro for my Wife and I. Matte made all reservations. It was like eating in a Private House. Owned By Margaret The Chef and Noel The Ultimate Host.( Husband and Wife.) ( Approximately 15 Minutes from Hotel.) 5 Minutes to Park and a Wonderful 10 Minute Walk on The Main Promenade. When Matte was not at the front desk all other Concierges were Top Notch. Our Room was Spacious along with a View of The Water and Entire City. We would sit out on Balcony have a Glass of Wine and Go to Dinner. Shopping for anything you need is 4 Minutes away at Coop Super Market. The Breakfast Buffet was Certainly Adequate. All Types of Breads, Pastries, Meats, Cheeses, Fresh Fruit, Hard Boiled Eggs and More. The Service Was Again Top Notch. Breakfast was served In a Dinging room with a view of the pool, Ocean. And City of San Remo. I recommend you sit where you can view what appears to be an Infinity Pool Overlooking what appears to be the highest point of San Remo with it's Breathtaking Views. Amazing. I would rate the Modus Vivendi a Perfect 10. It would be very hard to find a 5 Star Hotel That offers So Much. (Plus Free Parking at The Modus Vivendi.) We will recommend and Return to this Wonderful Hidden Treasure in the Mountains of San Remo.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    7.9
    Staff was very kind, location is not that far from the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some complain about the road to the hotel, but it is not that bad and quite short. Air conditioning was a little bit too cold, but I didn’t mind.

    Staff was very kind, location is not that far from the city. For an Italian hotel, breakfast was very good. Very good value for money, I recommend it!

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    7.1
    location (quiet up the hill), parking, pool, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room a bit dated, blinds let the sun light in. Coordination between staff: we forgot an item, I called up and made agreements for shipping with receptionist. But when courier showed up, the new receptionist didn't know anything and was turned away. It took me nearly 10 days to have the item shipped also because my item was stored by cleaning staff and receptionists could not see it and therefore guarantee that indeed that was the item I left behind. Borderline nightmare. But also exceptional circumstances. Wifi reception very sketchy in the room

    location (quiet up the hill), parking, pool, staff friendliness, cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    10
    Room was comfortable and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints except we asked for a room on a lower floor but were given one on the third floor a long way from reception.

    Room was comfortable and spacious. Staff all very helpful and polite. Very good swimming pool. Quiet at night. On hillside with great sea views. Good price. Safe parking.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.2
    Nice and helpful staff, big and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Simple breakfast. But it is the same anywhere else in Italy in a 3 star hotel. Wifi was slow/unavailable in certain hours of the day.

    Nice and helpful staff, big and clean room. If you want to spend your day on the beach/doing sightseeing etc. the hotel is recommended.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    6.3
    Price (57e/night /double), pool, breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Driving uphill to hotel through backyards on a most bumpy road ever, home made interior in the rooms, bad wi-fi.

    Price (57e/night /double), pool, breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    7.1
    Nice and polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    First of all, outdoor pool did not open before 12. June and because of this we had to move to another hotel. Rooms have no fridge, which is not easy for a family with 4 children.

    Nice and polite staff. Rooms with good standard.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    9.2
    A real oddity, I was told that it doesn't have a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    As with previous reviews, the road up to the hotel is a bit of a headache - Not the fault of the hotel, tarmac roadway lined by trees, the roots of which are working through the tarmac creating 'lumps' & bumps in the road. Poor Wifi - mainly due to quite thick fire doors into the apartments/ rooms (I think, reception in the halls is fine!) Couldn't get the electronic shower bits to work - The shower itself was great!!! Still think this place is worth a visit.

    A real oddity, I was told that it doesn't have a restaurant and is therefore a B&B. Best B&B that I have every stayed at! I had, what I can only describe as an apartment with balcony & garden(?) Absolutely beautiful room(s) Very clean, well appointed. Incredible reception area. Sanremo is 15 - 20 walk down the hill, nice place good restaurants etc. Would stay again.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    5.4
    Bed was comfortable and there was plenty of space, breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we booked this hotel we chose it because it had a pool and although it was far from town their ad said they had a shuttle service. When we arrived, they told us there was no air conditioning or pool till 1 June, and no shuttle driver on Sundays. No compensation was offered although when we complained to booking.com the hotel staff lied about every one of these issues.

    Bed was comfortable and there was plenty of space, breakfast was pretty good, and there is free parking.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    9.2
    Sea view was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hotel tucked up a side street so difficult to find initially. We were unaware from the descriptions that our accomodation had two bedrooms. If we had known that we could have booked 1 less room!

    Sea view was perfect. Rooms large and clean with a good size balcony. Great location, (once we located it!) Superb shower.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    7.5
    The welcome from staff was much appreciated after a long and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The approach to hotel was very dangerously difficult, especially for motorcycle riders...exacerbated by the crazy local drivers who do not have any awareness of other road users. Restaurant was reminiscent of a works canteen, but again, staff very helpful.

    The welcome from staff was much appreciated after a long and tiring journey.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    7.5
    The location is very good and offers a good view of the sea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There were little issues here and there - For example, the shower was not ideal and cleanliness was not perfect. Of course, as I put in my score, it was all good.

    The location is very good and offers a good view of the sea side while still being close to the centre

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    8.3
    Loved the great staff and great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The private road to the hotel is pot hole city, worst road I have EVER driven, GPS will not find it. The bed was not comfortable, there is a humm in the building that made it hard to sleep, had to leave the bathroom fan on to try and drown. I would definitely love this place in the summer with their pool parties and "lots of life" according to the staff. WiFi doesnt work in your room

    Loved the great staff and great facilities. Excellent Breakfast and ridiculously large room for the price, the queen room gets a spare bedroom. This is a place to party

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.6
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Value for money.nice view .serenity.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    8.3
    Free Parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Slow WiFi Must have car to reach city center No water in pool.

    Free Parking Nice Wiev Good value for price Better then expected

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75