Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Monna Lisa 4 stars

Borgo Pinti 27, San Marco - Santissima Annunziata, 50121 Florence, Italy

#95 of 392 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 780 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    9.6
    Steps away from the Duomo. Elegant peaceful charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for all the main attractions in Florence. Lots of cafes and restaurants very near by. An elegant hotel with lots of old world charm, but modern facilities.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    We always enjoy the Monna Lisa, the rooms and the garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We would have liked the final account to include both our names, rather than having everything credited to one person. We are very sorry about the alterations being made. We thought the new black bar with the stainless steel top in the bar is dreadful. We appreciate that items like plumbing, decoration etc. need to be updated but PLEASE don't kill the gentility and the wonderful atmosphere of this hotel. There are plenty of sterile hotels in Florence if we wanted them. Please keep us informed of what is going on - pictures on the internet etc. We would like to return but not if the hotel is unrecognisable.

    My friend and I love this hotel. The staff are helpful and the breakfast very good. We had a lovely room overlooking the garden.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Fabulous room, elevator room, so wonderful, comfortable and clean. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Highly recommend this hotel for couples who like comfort and elegance. Also, the peaceful gardens were delightful after a day in the busy city

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    Ideal Florence hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of a single serious issue. We shall stay here again when next in Florence.

    Friendly, helpful and professional service and advice from all the people who served us at the reception - taxis, when called, arrived promptly. Copious breakfasts, with excellent hot food and a large variety of fruits, cereals and pastries. Beds were comfortable and our room was spacious, overlooking the gardens, with good storage. Well equipped and clean bathroom. The hotel is a former aristocratic palace - quiet, in a narrow side street, but very well positioned for all the sights of central Florence which are a five minute walk away, and just nearby are some excellent bars and restaurants, and one of the best ice cream parlours in Florence. The Four Seasons is a short stroll up the same road, with some of the most beautiful gardens in the City, viewable for the cost of a cocktail in its bar...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    3.3
    Room way toooo small , two very small windows ( literally...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room way toooo small , two very small windows ( literally )facing the walls of the next building ; closet strong mold smelling ( couldn’t put my clothes in it ) ; bathroom too small (luckily we weren’t overweight); outdoor patio smelly ; construction going on . They shouldn’t rent rooms like that... it’s offensive .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    The overwhelming smell of aromatizers everywhere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overwhelming smell of aromatizers everywhere particularly in the rooms. I refused housekeeping as I was worried they would perfume the room again. Staff was understanding when I shared though so it might be something they take into consideration

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to get the bar staff to come when called and unable to get the red wine on their list even though I had a glass of it on my first night - but I think this was because the usual bar man was not available - the young one needs some lessons in customer service!

    Lovely hotel in a beautiful old building with a nice garden and very friendly staff, especially Erika who was so welcoming and helpful and always smiling! I have stayed in several different hotels in Florence in the past but this one is my top favourite and I will be back there for my next stay. Wonderful location and great local trattoria a few doors down from the hotel. Perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.0
    The young lady at the front desk, I believe her name is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The young lady at the front desk, I believe her name is Joanna, was an absolute delight. She was so helpful and thorough. Definitely the best service we had in the four hotels we stayed in Italy. The room was fine, breakfast was okay, the garden did not look like the pictures but the location of the hotel was pretty convenient. My friend and I walked everywhere. Overall, a very good stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location. Quiet, relaxing but only 7 mins to Duomo. Easy walking to other sites of interest. Breakfast peaceful, good selection of food, helpful staff. Loved our room overlooking courtyard We would definitely recommend this hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Florence 18
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only a limited cooked breakfast.

    The staff were excellent and very helpful. The location was great just 5 mins from the duomo. The garden and breakfast restaurant were very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    Good room, average breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was a bit disappointing, particularly the 'English' options.

    The hotel is well situated for the main tourist hotspots and is a 'little oasis', being very quiet and has a nice courtyard. The staff on reception were helpful and sorted out the museum bookings on our behalf.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Great athmosphere and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't clean enough.

    Great athmosphere and location. The garden was great. From the street you cannot expect there is a garden. Very quiet. Roomsize was pretty big for standad room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    Location is good for centre town though too far to walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The all-enveloping and very powerful vanilla/coconut smell that prevades throughout the hotel and in the rooms. This is often added to mask other even more unpleasant smells but in itself can be quite irritating to some after a while. One receptionist was extremely pleasant and helpful ..the other was not as friendly but than it could just have been a bad day ...

    Location is good for centre town though too far to walk from the railway station loaded with luggage. A taxi ride costs 10 - 18eu depending on time of day. Breakfast was ok though not exceptional. A/C and wifi worked well. Since we were leaving early we were given a packed breakfast which was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel. Just make sure you don't stay in the room I stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The first room I was given was austere and depressing. The second room was nicer, but there were no curtains (only outside shutters) and the sun still came in very early and very bright. Also, at night there were very strong security lights ONLY outside my windows, and nowwhere else on anyone else's balconies and this meant it was difficult to sleep. The pillows are very hard. I had to buy another one which was softer to be able to sleep at all after the first couple of nights.

    Great breakfast - the best cooked scrambled egg ever. Attentive staff. Helpful front desk. All staff made on feel welcome. Room was charming with nice view of the garden.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Highly recommended gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An absolute gem of a hotel! Amazing, helpful and accommodating staff. We were a large group of 20 people and everyone was highly impressed with the Hôtel. The staff, the breakfast, the beds, the rooms.. were excellent. Thank you for making our wedding experience so perfect. We spent 6 days at the hotel and could not have found more helpful and accommodating staff. What an incredible beautiful place to stay! Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Such a gorgeous example of the old homes of Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a gorgeous example of the old homes of Florence. We only stayed one night, so we were so grateful that our hotel helped us appreciate the amazing history of this region.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    We had a wonderful time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of mosquitos. But that‘s a general „summer problem“ in this region. We were just wondering how they still made their way to our room even though we did not open the windwos etc ;-)

    Great hotel with a beautiful garden. The staff is very nice and the breakfast was great. The room was nice and had a very comfy bed. The location is perfect to explore the city. You can actually walk almost everywhere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    4.2
    The Good, the Bad and the Ugly............
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Management is terrific and bad. First of all, we went to a very cheap room sad with a bad comfort (bed too short, no place to move....). We had to move after one day for a better room. Then we heard that outside the courtyard there were men working !! Very noisy, i could not sleep. Hotel was making works (laying tiles) during all the week. The worse is that they where working during breakfast time, amazing !!!!!!!! Manager was cold and when we left the hotel, they did not ask us how the stay was for us...... They stressed us to finished breakfast on time and there is no fitness as mentionned. Honestly, there is a big management problem in this hotel !!!!!!!

    Lovely hotel who deserves a much better management and qualified personnel !! So lovely building but terribly bad managed !!!!!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Very pretty hotel, definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I honestly don't think there really was anything that we would have liked differently about our stay

    Friendly and welcoming staff. The hotel was very nicely decorated which was a nice complement to all the pretty art in Florence. The room was spacious, clean and pretty and the garden was super lovely. It was very easy and convenient to be able to park the car at the hotel. The location was perfect to come back and recharge a little bit in the (air-conditioned!) rooms between sightseeing. And lastly, the fresh bread and croissants at breakfast in the garden made us definitely want to come back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.4
    2 star hotel, not 4 star; Miquito invested; Construction in Progress
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Exclusive Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is invested with Mosquitoes. Toxic sprays used in the room, not good for pregnant or children. This is not on the good side of the Duomo, try the other side for hotels. Rooms are dark, dirty and disappointing, not upscale at all. Construction means you do not have access to the space you are paying for in the pictures Perfume makes it impossible to breath in this hotel. Not Asthma and Allergy friendly hotel. Too strong of smells. The older lady at the counter is Not Nice.

    Breakfast was fantastic. Nice garden area, but too much smoking. The guy waiters are great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is a little bit older and more worn out than shown on the photos.

    The location of the hotel was great. Just a short walk away from all major tourist attractions, restaurants and public transport. The staff was courteous and always smilling.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Classic hospitality great lication
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super nice staff. Old fashioned hospitality. Classic Italian Hotel. Even had turndown service. Helped with restaurant reservations, taxis, directions. Breakfast was amazing! Highly recommend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Great time. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it is a historical building the floors are a little uneven in the hallways.

    Very comfortable and clean room. The hotel building has a really interesting history. Staff was very helpful. Excellant location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    The hotel was perfect, we would definitely chose to stay here agaun
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the fact that the hotel was so central yet so calm and tranquil. It was easy to pop back to for a rest before setting out for more sightseeing. Our room was constantly air conditioned so always a cool haven to return to in the middle of the day. All the staff were so helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Quality hotel with a real Florentine feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Little to improve on. Would suggest adding a self-service printer facility for guest convenience.

    Outstanding spacious room with many original features of what is clearly a historic building. Very evocative of what you would expect in Florence. Large bed was very comfortable. As the room was at the front of the hotel, some noise at week end, but this is to be expected in a city centre location. Bathroom modest but functional. Continental breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Lovely courtyard garden to the rear, ideal for a quite read. Staff were very helpful. The location is close to many restaurants/bars and most of the main tourist sites are 10-15 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Very nice, place, helpful personel, perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first room we recived was far not like on the photos. We asked for a change, after a short discussion they gave us a really nice room. They emphasized that this is possible only because they have one free only by coincidence. We understood that first they try to sell out the "poor" rooms first. Ithink this is not fair on this level!

    After we receaved the "real" booked room I can say it was very nice and comfortable. The mood of the old but renewed building is fantastic. The community areas are really nice, they have special athmosphere. They use beautiful sets on the breakfast table. The personel is kind and helpful. The garden is also very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    The room was very nice, the location excellent and the staff...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airconditioning worked maybe a little too well, an we weren't able to control it. It would turn on at random times during the night, and a fan in it could have used some lubrication. But overall it was a very nice experience

    The room was very nice, the location excellent and the staff were wonderful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Location just set back from the vibe of the city absolutely...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Exclusive Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have a car do you home work and book a slot in the small car park that’s free .... we end up paying 40 Euros to park the car across the road ..

    Location just set back from the vibe of the city absolutely perfect, the garden is an absolutely oasis in one of the most beautiful cities I’ve had the pleasure of visiting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Superb location in the heart of Florence, with scores of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beware mosquitos! Florence is plagued by their own variety of small but exceptionally potent mossies who come out at night to feed on succulent, Northern European flesh. The hotel provides plug-in mosquito repellents, but these are largely ineffective. Top Tip - take plenty of Deet-based insect repellent (provided you don’t suffer from any Deet allergy) and slap it in liberally before retiring for the night. June to August is bad for the Tiger Mosquito - an Asian version - which are very large, striped and have a bite that makes their Florentine cousins look like amateurs. The Aroma. Florence has what can only be politely described as “a musky odour”. This permeates the city centre regardless of the time of day or climatic conditions and can be sufficiently intense to induce a gag reflex. Happily, this was never noticeable inside the Hotel Minna Lisa!

    Superb location in the heart of Florence, with scores of restaurants and bars within a few hundred metres. The rooms manage to be chic whilst immersing you in ornate, Italianate decor and are immaculately clean and decorated to a very high standard. The dining room and gardens are both fantastic, whilst breakfasts are simply sumptuous with a full range of breads, tarts, fresh fruits, yoghurts, juices, cheeses, cooked meats as well as bacon and eggs on offer. Did I mention their coffees - sublime! I cannot recommend The Hotel Monna Lisa too highly. Fantastic hotel with helpful, friendly and engaging staff, especially barman Vincenzo whose stories and jokes were the perfect foil to relax after s hard day’s sightseeing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful place with the interior matching the atmosphere of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful place with the interior matching the atmosphere of Firenze, nice garden inside, clean and comfortable rooms and very-very helpull and polite staff speaking multiple langueges. Loved the place. And all the main sightseen places are just behind the corner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    The location is great,,,the room design is very cozy and old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    mild noise from the air condition and the ongoing renovation work,, but these are minor issues comparing to the positivities

    The location is great,,,the room design is very cozy and old traditional Florence style, the bed was extra comfy, the breakfast and the garden were magnificent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    This is a beautifully restored very charming hotel. I especially loved the center garden. It was lovely to relax there with a glass of wine after a long day of sight seeing. Just to clarify, in case it is important to others, there was some confusion when we booked about whether the hotel had an elevator. Some booking sites listed one and others didn't. There IS an elevator but not every room can be accessed by one. The staff was especially helpful and the breakfast was great. We had a lovely experience. I'm starting a tour business and was looking for a hotel to bring my groups. I can stop looking now. Mona Lisa will be my hotel from now on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Our stay was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Loved everything about the Monna Lisa...the charm, the location, the garden, the staff, the breakfast buffet, the room...couldn't have asked for anything more!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Very charming & comfortable - much more to it than the outside appearance first suggests
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were on the ground floor but there are no lifts. Porters carried luggage. Parking is available close by and is arranged separately through the reception but nevertheless a welcome asset in such a central location.

    The central location was perfect for walking around the centre of the old town. Charming building in a narrow street. The beautiful, well kept garden offered a quiet and peaceful place to relax, enjoy breakfast or a drink from the bar in the evening. Staff welcoming and very helpful with advice on things to see and do. Our room, off the garden courtyard, was quiet, cool, very clean and comfortable. Good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Extra comfort beds, inner garden for chilling, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was very poor for a 4 star hotel. :-(

    Extra comfort beds, inner garden for chilling, excellent staff and location very nice building. Would definitely recommend for everybody travelling to Florence.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    Really enjoyed this place but look at a map first to find it if driving
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very hard time finding the place as we arrived by car at 10 pm. Better signage is needed in front and particularly in the back parking entrance. We were tired from 20 hours of travel and very frustrated when we arrived. The streets are tight and busy. There is construction that closes off some streets. The lady at the front desk was rather rude and cold. She told me I should tell the general manager who was not around. I oversee over fifty hotels in the US and I would hope my staff simply smiled and said they would be happy to share that with the manager. Anyway, we liked this place. Figure out how to get there beforehand with a map. GPS is not good in that neighborhood. Or take a taxi. Good value and location. You can walk to everything.

    We enjoyed the beautiful breakfast with great coffee. We rented two rooms that were small but nice. The Wi-Fi was very good. The interior courtyard is very nice. A relaxing place to sit and read. Evidently the building was a monastery 800 years ago. But it has been well modernized but keeping the history aspect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    I would stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would like more supplies in the bathroom such as a robe and renewal of cotton pads when over and maybe some more things for breakfast

    I would stay there again! I liked the room, the atmosphere, the garden, the location, the staff!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.8
    Staff were vary friendly, the hotel has a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not good, It'sjust 2 or 3 choices. I would rate it 2 out of 10. I think it’s 3 star hotel, not 4 star.

    Staff were vary friendly, the hotel has a very good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    A peaceful retreat in the historic center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We love the garden and the peaceful, non-hectic atmosphere of this city center hotel. The location is great and the staff friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, super hotel with friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was alittle tired, could do with a revamp.

    A historical hotel in a brilliant location. Breakfast, continental and as much as you like was super! Staff very welcoming and friendly. Comfortable room with a view over the garden. Turn down service too!! We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Charming and surprisingly tranquil
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggling to find some... I guess the room was a little hot, which was easily remedied by opening the window

    Gorgeous room with a little balcony facing the garden, jacuzzi in bath, breakfast was simple but divine, Ioana at the front desk suggested some of our favorite restaurants of the trip, the staff in general helped immensely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was lovely but the room very dissapointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are tired. Little bits coming away from the walls, mould around the bath and a mouldy shower curtain - the housekeeper did come immediately to fix this though. Don’t be taken in by the idea of a spa bath, it looked like it was from the 80s and I absolutely would not lie down in it. Very dissapointing as this was a selling point for us. Our garden view was not a garden view. No tea and coffee in the room due to health and safety - I’ve never heard this before. It would have been nice to have access to tea and coffee in the lobby or bar instead.

    The bed was really comfy and was freshly made each morning and afternoon - chocolates on the pillow were a treat. The breakfast staff were lovely and the barman was great! The staff really put you at ease. The garden is beautiful and a lovely little oasis to rest and relax between jaunts out to the city. Excellent location. A wonderful building! Juice and croissants as you enter the hotel is a nice, welcoming touch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    A wonderful and Memorable Experience to Stay at the Monna Lisa Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is what you imagine when you desire a hotel with a Tuscany feel. A rich experience where old world meets new and modern technology. Breakfast is a full breakfast. The best part of the hotel is the courtyard in the middle of the hotel . Monna Lisa is located just minutes from Il Duomo and is in a great location for sightseeing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.9
    The bed was very comfy and the position of the hotel was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some building work in progress but understand that this is necessary.

    The bed was very comfy and the position of the hotel was very good. A very Italian villa style hotel, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    We would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our holiday ended!

    The general atmosphere was relaxed and peaceful, the staff were helpful & friendly without exception and the breakfasts exceeded our expectations. The courtyard was beautiful, we were just frustrated that the weather didn't allow us to make use of it! The bedroom was very comfortable, spacious, and well furnished.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    4.2
    4* for 1956 ( 2* for 2018)
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -the parking was very hard to find, and after you find it you realize is very tight for a big car.Without outside help is hard to access. -i got the idea that the hotel has a vintage design, but unfortunatly the furniture is really old, the carpets were dirty.The furniture needs some restauration -the smell from the room -the shower cabin really small, and it was very cold in the bathroom since the heather was not working and it was also rusty.The temperature in the bathroom was below 12 degrees. -poor breakfast, and the plates , glasses and tableware were smelling (like they didn't were well rinsed) -even if the bed was a king size one, it had 2 small mattresses.It was very uncomfortbale since all night my leg or my arm dropped between mattresses.I woke up with some back pain.

    -the staff is very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent service, location and staff, very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was very central to everything and I mean walking distance!. The staff were so helpful and friendly and bent over backwards to help. The breakfast choice was very nice too. The hotel is like a gallery in itself with many paintings and carvings and I believe it dates back to the 15 century. The barman is very funny and informative about the history. There are also plenty of places to eat very nice food in close proximity

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Would only recommend this hotel for those visiting Florence
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a gem. Great location close to sights of the historic part of Florence. The rooms are spacious, breakfast generous and staff very nice. Internal garden with trees very special

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel located in a very beautiful historic...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel located in a very beautiful historic palazzio, very beautiful big garden, fantastic breakfast. Location is top, very close to everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel but bad receptionist - a frustrated woman (works by day)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The Italian lady from the reception was very rude with us. We arrived earlier and said that there were no rooms free for us. We staid in the lobby and in 5 minutes after us another 2 couples arrived at the hotel and for them were two rooms free, but not for us. After we have waited 1 hour in the lobby and only after we go back again at the reception asking for the room, she told us that they are not oblige to give us a room because it's not 14:00. Any way after that in 15 minutes gave us a room. 2. lack of respect from this frustrated woman

    1. We like the hotel. Is like you sleep in the museum. It's beautiful! 2. In the room was warm, clean and the bed was ok. 3.Breakfast was ok, but nothings special. For 4 stars and for that price, we expected something better. But it is what it is. Expect more when you visit Italy, but expect less from the people that live there. 3. The second receptionist that works by night. It was very helpful. She talks 4 languages WOW! She is smart and very kind. 4. The location of this hotel is perfect

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Very pleadant hotel indeed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing at all.

    Very friendly and efficient staff on the desk and at breakfast. Beautiful old medieval building in a fabulous location, i love this part of Florence.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Visited this Hotel before, very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking very difficult to find and not enough room when I landed, had to keep moving. Cost extra Euro 22.00 plus tax, why

    Visited this Hotel before, very good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    we will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel was absolutely charming and it helped make the trip wonderful. we really felt immersed in Florence of a time gone by - beautiful gardens, charming breakfast room, period furniture - all gave us the impression of staying in an old Palace.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    the house, the garden, the intricate layout, as in the rest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating was a bit too high in the room, even though we tried to switch it off. The breakfast room can get somewhat crowded and some guests unable to find a seat straight away.

    the house, the garden, the intricate layout, as in the rest of Florence downtown you can feel the wonderful "weight" of centuries-long history

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    If we will visit Florence again we will definitely stay in Monna lisa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast ! Not a lot of choices,its ok as a breakfast but it should be much better to be compatible with such and amazing property.

    Staff are super nice and kind , the hotel itself as decoration, furniture and architecture is a piece of art , room very spacious , bed is very comfortable , located in a very calm area where you will not be disturbed by crowds walking under your window and same time 5 minutes walking distance to the heart of Florence where the tourists are in thousands.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Absolutely loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hair conditioner ! Body wash, body cream, shampoo provided, but not conditioner. A small thing but I’ve never before stayed in 4* hotel which didn’t provide it, so didn’t take any.

    The beautiful, historic building and furnishings and the abundance of original artwork.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    The bathrooms were soo roomy and I loved how the hotel was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit challenging to figure out the layout at first. But the porter was very kind in helping us.

    The bathrooms were soo roomy and I loved how the hotel was decorated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.6
    Idyllic old palace, beautiful property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wonderful place in the historical city center, fabulous location. Magnificent courtyard garden, a historic palazzo with a lot of charm, vintage style, full of lovely details. Excellent staff and service. One of the nicest hotels we stayed, perfect for a stay in Florence

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    We truly enjoyed this genuine and beautiful establishment with gracious, very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was genuinely gracious and hospitable from our late arrival through farewell. We enjoyed the antique furniture, terracotta floors, oriental rugs, floral arrangements, old master painting images and the equally lovely furnishings in our own room. Very well maintained and serviced. It enabled a special week in Florence, ending with views of a magnificent thunderstorm from our balcony overlooking the normally peaceful courtyard garden. Wonderful!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.3
    Little overpriced, old yet decent bathroom, not central enough, great breakfast, few room utilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money was a bit poor, also the room was not so comfortable, no free bottle of water, nor possibility to make tea. Old bathroom although clean. Since I was given a room on the groundfloor I had difficulty getting fresh air. Although it is located in the old town it isn't really central.

    A lovely hotel in a beautiful indoor setting. A great and lovely breakfast. Friendly staff. A beautiful private garden with connected parking space for about 6-7 cars.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    fantiscoi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    garden is to die for service is great we rented apt in lucca which was napoleon sister house this house which was a mansion originally was as nice if not as better!! friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful property, idyllic courtyard right in the middle of the city, excellent staff and service,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite cold

    Staff was friendly and ready to go the extra mile to make the guest feel special. Special thanks to Vincenzo the Barman for his excellent service, friendliness and readiness to help

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.9
    Amazing building but in great decline: no proper maintenance, ugly bathrooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room (n. 30) was old and not even so clean, the bathroom was unconceivable for a 4star hotel. I will not go back in this hotel next time in Florence.

    Common spaces and the patio were perfetc, really very beautiful. Breakfast was ok, mainly cheap industrial products (not even a single organic or handmade cake, bread, etc.), but at least good international brands like Nutella were available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful. Wish we could go back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was beautiful. The staff gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne when we casually mentioned we had stayed with them many years before. Location in center of town, but still close to the airport. The bar tender was fantastic and recommended the most awesome restaurant for dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    Great location and staff make this a must on your short list!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility is showing signs of real wear and updates are needed to compete in the mid-market they draw from. The public space carpets are heavily worn, the lighting is in real need of attention. This does not mean replacing the period pieces, it means servicing them and in some cases do upgrades like matching bulbs in sconces/chandeliers...etc. Bathroom tiling/caulking needs a good cleaning and caulking/grouting should be removed and redone...the multiple repairs look shabby. I would also suggest a bit more spit and polish...it is a very old facility, but you want the feel of a well cared for palazzo and that just needs some attention.

    Location is just great, staff is one of the best we experienced in Europe. Breakfast was quite adequate, but not over the top. We had room 5 which had a perfect little balcony overlooking their quiet and beautiful gardens. You would never know your were 2-3 blocks from the Duomo! The staff helped us with dinner reservations via email requests we made after confirming our booking. And on arrival/your entire stay...the staff is what makes the place shine!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    The room had a real wow factor as did this whole hotel and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy at night time as the windows faced into the narrow street that seemed to be a main route taken by drunken people into the early (4am) hours of the morning. While the room was massive the bathroom was tiny and poorly lit. The only heating appeared to be a single radiator in the bathroom and we wondered what it would be like in the winter.

    The room had a real wow factor as did this whole hotel and gardens.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast was adequate, though the coffee was not as good as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Inevitably bathrooms and and space were less good in the restricted environment of a historic building. But that is true of many hotels in Florence.

    Breakfast was adequate, though the coffee was not as good as in the bars and cafes outside. Decor was very good - a historic palazzo. The atmosphere was very good - and the service excellent. Beds and pillows were comfortable. The gym was simple, but convenient and well-enough equipped for a short stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Maybe the most beautiful hotel in all Florence and has the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was there during a heat wave in August and the AC couldn't cool the room as much as I'd like it to be but it was still ok

    Maybe the most beautiful hotel in all Florence and has the widest rooms (the superior ones at least) !! All our friends came to check it out because of how much we talked about it and they all loved it and said it was the best (we were a group of 50 scattered around Florence).. Away from the noisy tourists but still close to all the attraction sites. The garden was beautiful all our friends came to chill there

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Stayed at this hotel 10 years ago and still as quaint...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a few more toiletries would have been useful and some bottles of water .

    Stayed at this hotel 10 years ago and still as quaint & individual as last time - a little hidden gem. Great location and lovely staff. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    A delightful stay in a gracious venue - highly recommended and will stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints so nothing to contribute here.

    Good gym, excellent location and very helpful staff. Nice garden setting, good to unwind in after a day out in Florence - have a good glass of wine and enjoy😀

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Great stay in a central location, with helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No iron in bedrooms - but this seems to be due to local laws.

    Lovely hotel - with beautiful, well-kept grounds! Receptionist who checked us in on the afternoon of Tuesday 4th July was brilliant and remained a friendly and approachable individual who made reservations and recommendations and nothing was too much trouble! Staff can make or break a place sometimes!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    Staff is extra nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is really old...

    Staff is extra nice...they really go out of their way just to make you feel comfortable. They even surprised us with champagne for birthday at no extra charge!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and facilities were wonderful. I travel frequently and work in the hospitality business and have stayed in many hotels and Monna Lisa is one of the best. The staff, the room, the garden, the location are all unbeatable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely feel to this older property on a quiet street near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit dark and old decor.

    Lovely feel to this older property on a quiet street near the duomo. Beautiful courtyard for outside breakfast or a drink.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely old Palazzo to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to control air con has to be switched on and off from reception. Artificial silk flowers which were dusty

    Setting of an old Palazzo. Garden very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: