Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Montebello Splendid 5 stars

Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 14, 50123 Florence, Italy

#189 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 391 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all staff are friendly . The younger staffs are generally good but the older staff doesn’t seem to care very much about service . Sorry to say they look unhappy .

    Comfortable clean room with a touch of classic feel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not really an issue but it is about a 10 to 15 minute walk to the centre probably would have preferred a slightly shorter walk in but definitely did not detract from the experience and would stay there again as the hotel was so good

    They parked the car and brought it back out at check out time and the staff in general were so friendly and happy to help with all things during our stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff amazing. My purse was stolen on way to hotel the first day; the receptionist phoned my banks for me and helped me to sort it out. As it was our Silver Wedding Anniversary I requested a balcony. Our room was beautiful and led on to a huge balcony. Attention to detail also excellent with our beds turned down every night and our slippers placed by our beds. Location fab and a really tranquil spot. Made our stay really special.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we stayed family suit room. the color of room is almost red and tiger print. ,was so nice.

    we stayed family suite . the room and hevenly bed pillows are comfort able. and. mostly welcome smails are so great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, hotel very nice and front desk staff very accommodating, will definitely return in future. Have reservations to return in June! Bartenders are great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast for 30 eur, no eggs included in 30 eur breakfast, no healthy option, one choice of fresh fruit, not friendly service in restaurant

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a few equipment like the lighting in the room could use some refreshing. The alarm button is just under the light one, I kept ringing the alarm instead of turning the light on. Not very practical in the middle of the night...

    Staff is excellent, really good service but without fuss or exaggeration. Very good indeed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taste of coffee. Also it is better that all kind of rooms have kettle and tea/coffee

    Staff is so friendly and helpful, quick respond for anything. I didn't know that the room doesn't have a kettle and tea/coffee, but they kindly provide me with them. Quiet and clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First of all - we have been cheated - charged twice for the room! Although we have contacted the hotel immediatly after we had noticed, they have not returned the money untill now (3 weeks later). The room was dark, had a small window coming to a tiny patio with very noisy ventilators. We were not allowed to enter the parking and had to look for a place on the street. The hotel is overpriced, room badly maintained.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Im afraid the room was not very nice, cramped up with stairs up to bedroom. Bathroom had weird shower/yacuzzi that was full of hair. Cleaning did not replenish shampoo and bath gel which is bad for a 5-star hotel. Also no swimming pool so I have no idea how they can claim to be a 5-star hotel.

    Beautiful lobby

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We especially liked many things about this hotel, including the beautiful choice of conservatory or outside tables for the delicious and interesting breakfast. Welcoming, friendly and charming staff. Spacious bedroom with separate room for working! Luxurious huge comfy bed with beautiful bedlinen. Elegant and comfortable sitting rooms. Quiet, attractive location only a few minutes walk away from the Arno and city centre. We loved it all!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff had a slight of arrogance about them - but that could be ignored considered how amazing everything else about this hotel.

    Rooms were superb, were very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    two single beds pushed together to make a double bed but still has a gap in the middle. I thing I would suggest is a bit of variety with the breakfast especially for guests staying longer than a few days.

    Garden Bar. Waiters Donato & Massimo

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff a little brisk, not very warm and welcoming, wifi a little challenging to connect to, decor is dated

    great location near the river, very clean and comfortable, safe area, beautiful property, same amenities and standards as US hotels

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our first stop on our honeymoon around Italy. The hotel is situated closely to the gorgeous town of Florence and is within walking distance to all the attractions. We were greeted warmly by reception and were upgraded to a suite on account of it being our honeymoon. The rooms were clean and spacious, the staff were very helpful and the food in the restaurant was lovely. Also nice to have room space outside to sit and relax in a city hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Exceptional staff took care of all of our needs. Property is well maintained, clean, and inviting. Great location; on the quite side of town but within walking minutes of everything. Would stay here again and again. Breakfast buffet was the perfect way to start a day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hot breakfast buffet drys out and would be nice if cooked fresh for you......that's me been fussy

    We were upgraded and we had the most perfect time...staff were very helpful for anything you wanted, a great 5 star hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was below standard - and breakfast staff even worse.

    Within easy walking distance to the city center. Quiet in a secluded garden. Nice room with huge terrasse.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel! A definite recommendation. It is situated in close proximity to the central station and a few km away from the main attractions. The walk was very enjoyable though so no complaints about distance. The decor of the hotel is beautiful; the setting very classy. The service was great, staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast setting is in a beautiful room overlooking the garden. I would stay here again if I visit Florence!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotels' parking was apparently full,so we were offered to use their other service- company driver picks up the car and parks it in another dedicated area that is about 1km away from the hotel,which is not really acceptable for a 5 stars hotel and those who do not wish to leave their cars in an unknown location

    rooms are lovely and spacious

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff generally unhelpful (although not rude), gym is tiny, room was small. This hotel would be completely acceptable as a 3 or 4 star hotel. 5 stars is it not.

    We had a deal which brought the price down to a reasonable value.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Look like the staff is not very happy to work there. No hello when you arrive and no good bye when you leave. They Never smile. I expact much more from a 5* hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the gym was a little lacking in equipment but serviceable. Could have done with a spa/sauna to top things off.

    Room was silent, bed comfortable and had a great night sleep. Breakfast was superb..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Long walking distance to the center and shopping streets. - Room Rate is too high for a just a room in a city - Housekeeping services was not very clean. Some towels with stains and had to request multi times to clean the bathtub.

    Spacious room and beautiful balcony.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No suggestions -.it was truly outstanding.

    Beautifully decorated, very comfortable room, excellent breakfast buffet, very accommodating staff,and great location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a short stay if longer The hotel was a little far out from the main part of Florence

    Beds were very comfy and rooms were quite, staff very helpful. Breakfast was All we needed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old place in need of proper renovation. Old disgusting towels on display in the bathroom. Very extremely basic. Worst room service ever. Bitten by a bed bug and I really really hope I am not taking anything with me home. Disappointing!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC in the room needed some work and the was a bit noisy. Car parking pricey

    As always staff are very nice and the location of the hotel is perfect. Parking is convenient albeit a bit expensive but overall this is an excellent hotel which we enjoy every time we come to Florence. Would not consider staying anywhere else unless they go through a dramatic change of staff!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel decorations with lots of drawing and marble stone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable, clean and secure hotel. Helpful and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    gracious staff very comfortable bed perfectly located, central but quiet 5 min walk to main station 8 min walk to fortezza da basso

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/L

    One of the best ever strongly recommended

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Very nice and in one of the best places in Florence.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist distracted and not collaborative. Training of staff can be improved

    Extremely beautiful place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad smell in the room that I stayed

    Cleanness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dark and bathroom too small

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioning is the worst.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not 5 stars hotel but maybe 2 stars only. Furniture's old. Cleaning service disturbing in evening etc... good location.

    Good location near center

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I Can't think of anything

    The staff were very friendly and engaging and catered for our needs very well. I would loved to stay longer

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to book the right room as some are better than others especially in the suite category.

    Location and style

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was next to a laundry and it was noisy around 5am

    I didn't have..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rude staff, unhelpful, unwelcoming. Room not properly cleaned up or serviced. Would never stay there sgain

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sockets for charging phone very difficult

    Excellent breakfast and charming room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, location and very friendly staff. Perfect place to stay during our honeymoon visit to Florence.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No variation in breakfast menu

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No hot water in the breakfast and you need to ask several times

    Nice place with comfortable bed and pillow

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast (as well as the service during the breakfast) expected to be more fancy for the money

    Comfort sleep, toiletries, kettle available

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really liked the staff which was very helpful at the check-in and also friendly. Helped us on planning our trip and providing suggestions

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff on breakfest is unkind

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some noise of the air-conditioning system.

    Good location. Quiet surroundings.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room paint colors

    room size, staff and location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the 3rd bed was a joke more the size of an exercise mat

    bed was comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking cost was high

    Location was good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect experience. Staff were extremely helpful and charming. Location perfect - not too close and not too far from the teeming inner city.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were unhelpful, arrogant, who seemed annoyed that we were asking them for recommendations on where to eat.

    The hotel was lovely

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel very convenient to all Florence has to offer. Breakfast was fantastic in a beautiful setting.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit small

    The hospitality of staff, garden, and the cozy building

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old hotel furniture very bad sweet very small bit it's not convertible the price is very high breakfast very bad

    Quite

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooftop room due to my bavy

    Amvience

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel. Classic. High standard. Near train station.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and facilities is not good it all

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Loved everything about this location. This is my 5th stay here. Everything from the ever helpful staff, to the beautiful location and rooms. It is not central but it is near the train station which works for me. Rooms are classically appointed with large bathrooms. I will continue to stay at this facility because it is great value, comfortable and well taken care of.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I think that breakfast is overpriced. Air conditioning did not seem to work very well.

    The hotel grounds are beautiful and the inside is really tasteful. Big rooms and very clean. Handy for the railway station but in a quiet street quite close to the River Arno. I would definitely stay again.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Couple

    Adres of hotel is on the street without possibility to achieve with car. There is possibiliyt but on other side of hotel - should be this adres known for visitors

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    You can forget about customer service here. The Reception and F&B staff were far from friendly. when we went for evening drink in the lounge, we were told from far where we will find the menu - forget about greetings - None!

    The property is beautiful indeed and the location is fairly good too

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No swimming pool no spa very far from the city centre the food was 5 out of 10.

    He was very rude and not smiling and very aggressive. I don't like the hotel because his attitude.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    wi Fi connection bad. The breakfast is poor.

    After reading the reviews I was concern but I didn't have so many choices because i booked one day before. I found the hotel nice and clean with helpful staff. The design and decoration is good . We stayed in one standard room which is a bit small and another executive room which was fine.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel staff were very friendly and coorporative, and always ready to help you with the city map guidance & suggestions. I do appreciate all the receptionists (Ms. Elisa who was so helpfull and came to us at the breakfast area to give us some bus schedule and also I noticed her when she was dealing with a big , Mr. Simone, Ms. Francesca), and the waiter (Mr. Jonathan) who all were so friendly and amiable in their soul. The hotel location was good, and the breakfast with its area was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was a small dirt thinging on our window in the bathroom. That has bugged me for days because I tried but still couldn't remove it. The toilet wasn't extremely clean either. I had to clean the seat with my own sanitizer. But I am also a really picky and clean person.

    I was really surprised when I walked into the room because our hotel room in paris before arriving florence was terrible. The room and bathroom are big. The price was even cheaper than some of the 4-star hotel in the city. It is a little bit far from the city center, however the walk wasn't bad at all. We've got lost walking back from the city twice but got to explore more,

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Old and dusty hotel. Run down furniture and breakfast was not very good. Mainly, dusty and unclean.

    Location only.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I have nothing to complain about

    Mega friendly staff very helpful just nice people

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Mosquitos in the room (as previous time also). TV did not work properly.

    Good location. Clean room.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hand towels had obvious stain on them..

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    delicious

There are also 69 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Montebello Splendid traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: