Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Montecarlo 3 stars

San Marco, 463 - Calle Specchieri, San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#94 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2517 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The recepcionist at night he was yelling on us, super rude , and I was with my whole family and grandma . Was a super bad situation after carrying all luggage and walking step by step with grandma, to be welcome for that guy , the others during the day was super gentle, but the night one was awful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We should have taken the longer, easier way to get there (water bus to San Marco and walk, NOT Rialto and walk), but live and learn. Hotel reservation sheet clearly said not to trust Google and they were right.

    This hotel sure felt like Venice: crystal chandelier, patterned carpet, window shutters. It was very convenient to Piazza San Marco, and close to everything we wanted to see and do. We even got to use the room for short breaks in the middle of the day when we needed them. Hotel staff were very helpful with travel arrangements to get to the airport early in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Elevator too small and slow.

    Location, Location, Location This hotel is located just behind the San Marcos plaza. We loved walking around the streets. The room is a good size. Not modern but clean. Breakfast was great. Many options and the afternoon coffee-tea time is great with delicious desserts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioning system was very hard to understand. And while the location was excellent there was no view from the room.

    Free afternoon tea! No mention was made of this beforehand so it was great to find out about it when we arrived. The location, very close to San Marco, was also excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none

    Great location and was very easy access to and from Santa Lucia Station as well as all of the other main sites in Venezia. There were a number of restaurants and shops around the hotel too so it was very convenient especially since we only had 2 nights and 3 days. Our room was very cozy with comfortable beds, nice shower space and breakfast area and menu was very nice too! Finally, I would like to thank the hotel staff -everyone was friendly and helpful and we very much enjoyed our stay during the 3 days. We also had a chance to visit Murano island since the hotel provided direct transportation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/c still off on 20th April. They said they'd only switch it on in May. And it was 28° outside in the shade. Imagine what a sauna our room became. As a result, we both slept very poorly.

    The lovation is great, so is the breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, friendly and very engaged staff, nice extras: afternoon Tea, trip to Burano, good breakfast including Prosecco and very comfortable room. Definitely will stay again and recommend my friends!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, no air circulation except to open windows which allowed noise and humidity into room. Hot! The a/c isn’t turned on until May and the fan was not operabile either.

    Location, staff, breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose the economy room due to our budget - we won’t be choosing that again . It was very small and cramped, might have been ok for a single person with minimal luggage.

    Location was excellent being only 30 sec from the main square . The breakfast was also fantastic. Internet wi-fi worked well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment we booked was up a very narrow staircase separate to the hotel which was difficult to navigate with suitcases. The staff did tell us there was 1 flight of stairs but we didn’t factor in the narrowness when booking. Once in we were fine though and the staff helped us with the luggage.

    Loved the location and facilities. We stayed in a separate apartment annex which had everything we needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we had (102) was very small, much smaller than the photo shown for a classic double/twin, and so we were a bit cramped and there wasn't much surface space to put our stuff on. There was also only one chair for 2 of us. There was only one set of plug sockets and we had to unplug the table light and clock to charge our phones. Also despite taking a long charger lead it still didn't reach the bedside which isn't great as I use my phone as an alarm.

    The location is super, very near to St Marks square and amid a maze of lovely streets with shops and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, the breakfast had a large choice of lovely food, the bathroom was modern and everything was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift is too small to cater for the people staying at the hotel.

    The hotel is very central and especially close to San Marco. Breakfast quality is exceptional and a lot of items to choose from. Hotel is spotless and room cleaning is how it should be.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Be careful what you ask for: our economy room was very small (had to crawl over each other to get into bed as one side of double was against the wall). We asked to upgrade the next day, which we were able to do, but this might not be possible at peak times. This room was a good size with beautiful bathroom tiles (possibly redone since our last visit) and loads of space to unpack and hang things. Breakfast was varied and plentiful and afternoon tea was available free of charge to guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were a bit too short. The bed in the small bedroom is suitable only for kids (or undersized adults).

    Spacious apartment close to piazza San Marco, with everything you need to relax after the whole day of sightseeing. (Steep steps and narrow staircase could be a problem, fortunately not for our family)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a wonderful experience. The hotel is just 2 minutes away from San Marco. It is very clean and the staff is friendly and all of these is for a reasonable price. I would definitely stay here for the next time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We asked to upgrade, and were granted an upgrade, however the room was still quite small and somewhat cramped.

    The breakfast was great - varied range of fruits, vegetables, cheeses, meats, scrambled egg, good coffee.... The service at the reception was very friendly. The location is really outstanding - next to San Marco, surrounded by restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    #1 Bathroom [smallest I've ever seen in any 3/4 star hotel]! #2 Basically a Finished Attic where you need to climb 4th level!!

    Finished Apartment!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was evidence of ongoing renovations but they were not disruptive to our stay.

    Our room was spacious with a large bed and plenty of storage, tea/coffee making facilities and a well stocked mini-bar (which was reasonably priced). The bathroom was bright and well-fitted out, with a good shower. The furniture was stylish and in fitting with the old Venitian building; quaint rather than sleek. The bonuses were the provision of free afternoon tea (coffee / tea and a variety of cakes) every afternoon and the quiet but relatively cheap bar. The hotel is in an excellent location, very close to St Mark's Square.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything

    The staff the hospitality the food the cleanliness will be back again and we will recommend it to everyone we know. Afternoon tea what a wonderful gesture.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of anything

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Excellent breakfast buffet and the included afternoon tea with delicious cakes was a good reason to take a break at the hotel from a day's sightseeing. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, will recommend the hotel and visit again in the future.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Canal View - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was just a gem of a Hotel, we had an apartment just off the Hotel, it was delightful, spacious , comfy, clean and the location second to none. A 3 minute walk to St Marks Square. Overall just fantastic, we will be back. Sharon Ireland

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms could have been slightly bigger however it was not a major issue as we had everything that we needed and it was clean

    The staff were very friendly and language was not a barrier. I felt at home. The breakfast was fantastic and the afternoon tea was welcoming and divine. The staff did everything to make sure that we were comfortable. They took extra time to explain how we could get to the airport and other interesting places so we were just at home really. I would visit again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment could possibly have benefitted from a toaster and a big bin.

    Location was excellent, positioned almost right by St Marks. The two floored apartment was perfect for our family of five with a spare bed left over. A bathroom on either floor was handy. The main hotel was on the next street and the staff were always very attentive and friendly. Having the kitchen facilities in the apartment we found very helpful when staying in Venice for five days as the prices of beer etc in the restaurants are very high so to go back and have the drink you purchased from a supermarket meant you didn’t feel you were missing out on anything. Having breakfast in the apartment also saves you a bit of money that you will use elsewhere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was very close to St Mark's Square. Afternoon tea was an added bonus, which is complementary. The Staff were very friendly. Our superior room was worth paying the extra money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it

    Excellent location, fabulous breakfast, spotlessly clean, helpful friendly staff, couldn't fault this hotel. I emailed the hotel for a rose to be put in our room, with a message, was all taking care of before we arrived, made our weekend unforgettable, many thanks again we would highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was ideal for my unexpected stop in Venice (my flight home had been cancelled due to weather). Staff were very friendly, the room very clean and it is only a short walk from the vaporetto.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central- close to S.Marco sq. Very hospitable, Very clean, great breakfast. We got there after being stood-up by a B&B. Booked via Booking.com and was at the Monrecarlo within 10 minutes. The Reception attendant offered us an upgrade to a bigger room for a very reasonable price, which we accepted. At the morning after checkout we were offered to leave our suitcases there, free. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a little pricey considering the room is not big enough. Maybe my expectations were too high, Some reviews even mentioned there would be some welcome wine in the room, however we find out even the water is charged.

    Location and breakfast,Very very convenient to get to Piazza San Marco.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view, but given the location, as expected. Did not like the coffee.

    Large room, furnished in Venetian style, but with comfortable modern bathroom was a nice surprise. Warm blankets for the cold spell. Extremely convenient location with easy access to all the tourist spots.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lots of furniture in the room making it a little cluttered.

    Very comfortable room. Amazing breakfast and an added bonus of afternoon tea with lots of local pastries/cakes. Excellent position so easy to get to after a day wandering around.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer in bathroom wasn’t the bast - was adequate though

    Accommodation very clean, excellent shower, all staff pleasant and approachable, large towels, excellent location- could hear the bells in the basilica we were so close , coffee and cake at 4

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything about Hotel Monte Carlo is Excellent! We've tried different types of Hotel But Hotel monte Carlo Stands out among the rest that includes ALL.... Very Reasonable price, Very close to Everywhere, Cleanliness is excellent same as the comfort...Tea and cakes wasn't expected same as the return private taxi to Murano.... Amazing! thank you

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived, our room was not ready. We returned late in the evening and were told that our hotel room was somewhere else. This had not been mentioned previously.

    The hotel appartment was spacious and clean, excellent location. The staff however could have been friendlier.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The tiny streets near San Marco are noisy, but it's definitely not a problem of Montecarlo hotel, it's the price for very central location. If you want to have more lonely getaway in Venice you should probably choose Cannaregio district.

    The room was warm and spacy. The breakfast was awesome, including various and delicious pastries, prosecco and very smelly coffee. The staff was welcoming and helpful: they assisted us when we needed to book a restaurant and when we needed to open a bottle of wine for our private room party as well :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For the price, I can't think how the hotel could be better. We liked everything the Hotel Monte Carlo has to offer.

    A lovely hotel a very short stroll to Saint Marks Square - excellent location. A useful map was provided. All of the staff were super friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was very good and the afternoon tea and cakes were a wonderful added surprise bonus. Venice in February is utterly divine, not too busy but quite cold - but what could be expected for Feb.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot so had to sleep with windows open which meant it was really noisy as we were on the 1st floor above the street! Shame the air conditioning was not on!

    Been here before so we knew what we’d get - everything you’d want for a great stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1. The hotel floor was during some repairs. Not so much disturbing but still had to cross some repair tools and dirt at the corridor. 2. The bed was too short. 3. Warming system didn't work properly at the breakfast area's other half. Wasn't so good when the hotel was fully booked and had to use the extra space.

    Location location location !!! It was just IN the center of Venice best attraction - San Marco square. Very convenient to tour the city and make some refreshing breaks at the hotel room from time to time :) Between 4pn ~ 6pm there are free coffee and tea and Very good cakes. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent, near San Marco Piazza. The hotel had afternoon tea each day which was a most welcome respite from the cold. Staff were friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The churches bells at 7 in the morning ringing 70 times (?!?) but that's the price of staying so close to the heart of Venice.

    The localisation is just perfect. 2 minutes from St. Mark's Square. The Rialto Bridge at a hand length and to most of landmarks. The room in real Venetien style. Breakfast was really good with a wide choice to please everyone. Let me say too much dishes to deal with at one meal. The staff is really kind and helpful at any time. Great accommodation for a reasonable price 👌 9/10

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is good also for english or continental style. The stuff is extremely helpful and localisation is amazing. For a 3 star hotel in Italy rooms are spacious. No weak sides

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was tired, old decor, water stains in the ceiling particular the bathroom, temperature regulation of the room poor with some times it being simply too hot, similarly the water at times either simply cold or bizarrely too hot even the cold tap ! I appreciate the Hotel is being refurbished and looking at my room it is needed.

    Breakfast was good and tea and cake in the afternoon was a nice touch. Location was close to St Marks square which many would like, having explored Venice though I would not stay in this area again, too many tourists, bars expensive and other areas of Venice far more interesting and I think better hotels available at less expense.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff gave wrong information about a major event. Bed was like a rock. Room was noisy. I could hear every call in reception all night long. Room was crammed. Bed was a double bed or full size vs a queen or king. Bed was pushed against the wall, only accessible from one side. With two people this was very difficult. One of the worst rooms I have had in Italy in the last 5.5 years. Staff did not much care or even have empathy for the issues. It was oh well. Nothing we can do. Cost for this stay was 138 euro. Not a good value for the cost.

    Near Saint Marks Square, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely perfect location for vieiting Venice. Close to the most famous places, yet bit aside, so not so loud. You can enjoy both touristic sites and in the same time, normal city with normal inhabitants. It was separate apartment, not in the hotel, with 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, with fully equiped kitchen and wasking machine. Comfortable and cosy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was supposed to be a superior room but it was no different to the normal twin room we had stayed in on previous visits. Though we did have a robe and slippers. The room was also cold with no provision to turn up the heating. My suitcase was damaged while in the care of the hotel and some of the staff were surly and unhelpful.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    only 2 ports for charging devices

    Rooms were well designed, good breakfast spread, rooms were well equipped with amenities, Very close to Basilica and San Marco Waterbus Station, easily accessible

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    always a challenge to get used to new bathroom facilities but it wasn't a huge problem

    Helpful staff, very comfy dining, and breakfast range very good Location couldn't have been better

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of hotel from railway station was quite far but hotel staff and service staff was excellent.. great location and room was very comfortable. Thanks

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The excellent location of the hotel - just a few steps away from Piazza San Marco, close to restaurants and shops, however still in a quiet area of the city. Staff was extremely polite and helpful. Room was very clean. Buffet breakfast was abundant with a variety of hot and cold foods. The free coffee (including a variety of cakes) between 4 and 6pm was really appreciated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and hot and the bed was VERY uncomfortable. Double hed but If you slept on the insdie you would roll i to the middle and onto the other person making it unconfortable for them too!!! Air conditioning was off due to time of year so we left the windows and shutters open during the night bur the church bells would wake us on the hour from 6.

    Very traditional hotel Vanictian style. Friendly staff. Brilliant location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a room for three people but on arrival was given a room with single, very small double bed. Was told that myself partner AND three and a half year old son were supposed to share the bed.This bed measured just 5ftx6ft and was about big enough for me alone. It would have been a pinch for two people and the idea that three could sleep in it was just ridiculous. I was forced to pay 30 euros extra to get a suitable room. I felt very poorly treated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The transportation means to the hotel is hard simce we have to take taxi from airport or train station to the quay then take the taxi boat (€80 takes about 10 mn) or public boat (€7.5 takes about 40 mn) to the square of venice them walk about 5-10 mn to the hotel. There is no water view from the window.

    There are free breakfast and afternoon tea time for every clients. The staffs are helpful. The location is on the island downtown so it’s just a few step to everywhere on the island including the attractions there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was well decorated in authentic Venice design but it was small .It could be a bit more bigger.Bed is comfortable.

    Perfect location.Professional and smiling staff.Very close to restaurants ,San Marco Plaza.Located in heart of Venice.Five o'clock tea and coffee time.Detailed open buffet breakfast. I highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first room was not thoroughly cleaned and there ended up being something wrong with the restroom so we were thankfully moved to another room.

    The location is right next to the famous square/basillica.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Canal View - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby of the apartment didn’t have any light, it was pitch dark in the evening and night. Same thing, when you reach your apartment floor, no lights. I had to use my phone light. We did report this to the manager but no fix.

    We really liked the location and having an apartment attached to a hotel. It is may be 1 block St. Peter’s square. The staff was nice. The bedroom had canal view, we had paid for it of course.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Canal View - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was maybe a 2 minute walk to St Mark's Square. Lots of restaurants & shops in the area. We had a spacious apartment that accommodated 4 adults well. There was an elevator which was a huge plus for us. Staff was super friendly too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator/lift is small and the stairs are a hike if you are on the top floor. Like all buildings in Venice it’s an older building!

    Super location, lots of free food and drink, mornings and afternoons during the festive season, unbelievably attentive staff. They wouldn’t be out of place in any five star hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    An extension lead for re-charging rather than having to struggle to plug something in at floor level. The additional breakfast room can be very cold.

    A very good selection of hot and cold food for breakfast. A very comfortable room and friendly staff. Excellent location. Good to have tea and coffee facilities in our room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a long walk from parking building, some advice on how best to get to the hotel would have been great. Perhaps we missed this in the information though.

    It was clean and tidy, had comfortable beds and it was very warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered double-bed but was given two single beds. Needed to put the two beds together but not very comfortable to sleep. Breakfast is okay, but variety is not so good. The garden is under partially renovation so tended to be noisy in the morning.

    Our room is in good position overlooking the garden and the pool. The swimming pool is heated and with jacuzzi. Room is spacious and well-lit. Friendly and helpful staff, purchased attraction tickets from their and managed to skip queue.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property has amazing location, just a 3 minute walk to the central square and all other places of interest. Also the property is clean, the staff helpful, serves a gala breakfast and has lovely rooms. For venice the rates are more of less reasonable. Has lovely eating joints nearby as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very pleasant, efficient and helpful staff. We requested a room change as we had booked inadvertently an economy room which we found too small for a week's stay. This was our fault entirely but although the hotel was very busy the management fulfilled our request and we spent the week in a very comfortable room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The decor needs an update and although there are shutters it can get pretty noisy.

    Location is excellent for St Marks Square and for walking to and from the shops, restaurants etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff, especially there was a black guy at the reception and he was horrible to us ALSO BOOKING.com charged us the city tax and then the Hotel charged it to me again at check out ..wth

    location, breakfast was really good for the money paid

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even though the weather was cold the room was a little too warm at times

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the room was very, very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not on the weekend there, outside can be quite noisy, no bar or such a thing around, but you can clearly hear people talking outside, who passes by, but I guess only in the late evening, during the night we did not have a problem. If you are tall, surely your feet will be hanging outside the bed.

    It's difficult to choose a hotel in Venice, right? A lot of options and similar offer, we ended up picking Montecarlo and we were very satisfied, good price, right in the middle of San Marco, the top area in Venice, close to everything! Beautiful and comfy room, superb breakfast, i was surprised about that! Very friendly staff!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Everything is Perfect. I couldn't find a word exactly. All staffs are so nice and friendly. they gave me a lot of info about traveling there. the breakfast is the best ever compared to other cities in Italy. I booked a triple room. there are two room instead of a small bed. I love it. and really thanks for that.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, I cannot help you here.

    Everything was excellent! We got very good advice about sightseeing and spending our Sunday in Venice, so we would like to address special thanks to your staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t do a lot about it, but the view from the room wasn’t great. But didn’t expect one and I’m being picky there.

    Pretty much everything. 4pm free tea, coffee , ice cream, cakes etc was a lovely touch. As well as a really good selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little small (but charming) and it was quite noisy during the early hours of the night. What should be expected due to the location of the hotel.

    The location, staff and breakfast were excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything lovely.

    Staff are absolutely lovely,so helpful. Location couldn't be more perfect!! Breakfast and afternoon tea also excellent. Would stay here again and would highly recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I am a tea drinker it would have been nice to have some milk supplied. Only small pot of cream.

    The hotel concierges couldn’t do enough for you, nothing was to much trouble. The answered all my emails before I went. They booked water taxi for us. They met us once we arrived and carried our cases to hotel. Excellent service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning in the room. There was a unit in the room but it only blew out air and was not cold.

    The afternoon teas and the service the staff provided.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our third stay at the Hotel Monte Carlo & the classic double & bathroom were spotless with well lit bathroom & good shower.Liked the fridge & free safe & wi fi. Very comfortable bed. Breakfast included impressive-display of tarts & pasties & hot & cold buffet, cereals, fruits & great coffee machine.Minor quibble was the feeble toaster. Staff lovely & supply maps & posted my postcards. Great hoel. only 2 minutes walk from St. Marks.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet had a leak so was running all the time

    Nice Hotel friendly helpful staff, excellent location only 200 metres from St Marks square (once you found how to get there) Room was fine Turn down service on the first night (not the second??) Nice and warm romantic feel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t seem to have space to charge phones. Have to remove the plug for lamp to charge phone.

    Staff are friendly and helpful, gives us very good first impression. Hotel room is clean too. Very near the square so it is easy to access to sightseeing spots.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Montecarlo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: