Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residenza Montecitorio

Via delle Convertite 5, Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy

#2252 of 3,119 B&Bs and Inns in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 346 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was a double room and 2 extra single beds were thrown in to accommodate 4 of us. This made the room so cramped. You were not able to move around at all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst mattress i ever slept on, i woke up with wire marks on my back. The tinniest shower and the hidromasaage system didnt work. A lot of dust from months on the curtines. Súper noisy, we were waked up every day at 7 because of the noise from the front desk and cleaning service (the floors are the problem) and all rooms face the front desk.

    The decoration is a complete delight! And the staff was very helpfull And friendly. The location is the best

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there’s no water in rooms bar and we have to buy each small buttle by 2 €.it was really disappointed.

    kind staffs.excellent location.good cleaning.and they keep our loggages for 3 days in free charge.that was really kind..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1.Excellent location close to Fontana di Trevi and Piazza di Spagna!! 2.Nice and clean room 3.Nice building 4. Even though breakfast was not included in the price there was a coffee machine in the reception.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the furnishing style of the room; I did not fancy the damask, crystal, dated bathroom, etc. but the room and place was very clean and comfortable.

    the location of the hotel is perfect. you can access all touristic sights on foot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we did not like.

    The room was very comfortable and clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Staff on duty 24 hours is always a plus. The hotel is well located for major sites.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    noice from outside was big during night, lots of traffic also all night. entrance through yard and small lift not directly to the floor of hotel was little complicated

    very good place for shopping and many tourist sights near. Batchroom was big, room little bit small for two persons.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    third rate reproduction painting on the wall.

    Didn't have breakfast. Location - very centre of Rome at a great price. Clean well equipped room. Air conditioning which is controllable. Room included a cooker and fridge which however we didn't use. shower, loo etc. fully equipped Helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complete disappointment-what I booked seeing the pictures on the website was nothing like it.. furniture was worn out and it seemed like a room which had not been cleaned in ages. Slept the first night in that room and next day when I complained that the room doesn't look anything like the pictures, the receptionist changed our room saying that You are right, we will give you the other one .. the new room was much better... had carpets, good layout . Washroom was clean... Always check before taking the room.. they were trying to outsmart us by giving us a cheaper room while charging us for a premium one.. !!!! Never will book again..

    The location was nice, conveniently located near the tourist attractions. Trevor fountain was steps away..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beds were horribly uncomfortable; by the fourth night my back was a mess. The room was a bit warm but we were able to figure out the cooling system. There was very little ventilation via the window given that it overlooked a small featureless courtyard.

    The location is fantastic. Within easy walking distance to just about all the major sites in Rome. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They stored our luggage for us when we checked out.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the rooms were dated and can do with freshening up. Although they were clean, they have a dark blue fabric wallpaper that makes the room feel a bit oppressive. Our friends were in a room that had been refurbished and this was much nicer.

    The location of this hotel is amazing, right in the centre of all the attractions. We were staying with freinds and Trevi Fountain, the Colloseum and the Vatican are all within a fairly short walk. The staff were also fantastic. The main aim of our stay in Rome was to watch the 6 Nations rugby game. We were given a detailed description of how to get to the stadium, including what bus route to pick up and how many stops we needed to stay on for.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I paid for an extra day wich I only needed for the same day cos my flight was at 11pm same day and they were rushing me out at 530 pm kept calling me to leave the room even though it was paid till the nest day at noon.

    Close to business and restaurants

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are very small, at least the double rooms. Rooms over the street are noisy during the day, but quite in the nights. But this is normal for center of Rome, its noisy downtown. Walls are very thin and you can hear the next room guests all the time. But this is also typical for downtown hotels and guest rooms in Rome - they all are former big apartments, with many new walls to form more small rooms.

    The location is priceless. Right in the heart of the city, in the middle of Via Del Corso, in short walk distance from Piazza di Spagna, Fontana di Trevi , Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Piazza Venezia, Piazza del Popolo and The Coliseum. Also very close to Vatican City, Trastevere and Castel Sant'Angelo.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower a bit small. view not good. elevator doesn't bring you to the right floor, so you have to walk up or down one floor to reach it. next Metro station quite a walk (if you don't wanna take a cab). Residence is not easy to find.

    bathroom new but classy design. magnificent room. staff also very friendly and helpful. Everything clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel was towards the centre of city and on main road hence there was alot of noise from the window which was not noise proof but we got use to it! Also there are one flight of stairs from the lift to the hotel hence beware. Could do with having tea facilities in the room though!

    Staff was helpful and courteous.Room was cleaned every day.It was 20 min walk to the Colosseum from the hotel and 10 min to nearest tube station. Restaurants were nearby. Location was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not overly visible from the street, didn't cause us a problem as we had a driver that knew it was there but would have struggled if on foot.

    Great location with lots of must see locations within walking distance. Worth paying the extra for a room with a balcony, great view and a nice place to have a morning coffee (or to propose to your other half like I did!). Free Wifi was a bonus, wasn't expecting much but it worked fine for us. It may not have the looks or amenities of a modern hotel but it had the charm and character that makes Rome such a special place.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beds...very hard...perhaps 'topper' would make a big difference. We had a lovely room on the 5th floor in the annex. Unfortunately no access to coffee or tea making facilities.

    The location is perfect to explore most sites by foot. Very central, also easily accessible for the Metro. We had a delightful room on the 5th floor, it had a small cosy balcony. This overlooked the main street and at night there was a piano player in the road below. However, once widows closed it was very quiet.This was delightful and we would sit and have a glass of Prosecco ,listening before we went out to eat. Excellent location to some marvellous restaurants. My second stay here, and for the cost well worth the money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no breakfast but still you have all options near the hotel.

    Location was really central, I went everywhere by feet. Fontana di Trevi, via deal corso, Spanish steps, all really close! You can walk to colosseum in 15 mins! I definitely would stay there the next time!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions from terminal were hard to follow. This is the only thing I would change.

    Local and the terrace. The room was quiet and steps from every thing. I traveled with my grandson and feel that any age group would love the accommodations .

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very hard and no tea/coffee making facilities

    Staff very helpful with tours

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were BEDBUGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Dont ever go to this hotel!!!!!

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The timing of the checkout..very early

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location. Very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. The rooms are nice and warm. So cozy. Cleaned everyday with love, its . shown. Great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is exellent,in the midle of top attractions of Rome.staff helpful and nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy.

    Perfect location, friendly personnel, cosy room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. It’s right on Via del Corsa and the street noise is very loud. The WiFi is also terrible

    Great location and good shower (albeit small)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very small.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Excellent location. Walking distance to most Rome tourist spots including the Vatican

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better breakfast in hotel

    The pasta and pizza

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a little hard.

    Even though room was small, it was very European. Cute!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hot and cod drinks in the room

    The Location was superb and really central to the places we wanted to visit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller than we had expected and decoration rather oppressive.

    Location couldn't be better for exploring Rome on foot. Very clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would only recommend coffee/tea facilities.

    excellent location, calm, friendly staff, wifi. I was satisfied.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning

    Decoration Bathroom was clean Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard bed

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator on ground floor. This was not advertised. Room was a monk cell. Concrete walls, floor.

    Staff very nice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We did not get the room we booked so had to accept a smaller room and a refund, which was disappointing

    The location was excellent

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I was not too crazy about the lift Young people would be fine with it, but I am not young. One has to walk up to the lift or down from the lift.

    I enjoyed staying in this hotel because the decorations were unique. The walls were covered in brightly colored velvet wallpaper.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1) No place to stay , for a little, with my friends, out of our rooms. 2) You can hear from the next room, even their breaths. 3) No space to put luggage. 4) No breakfast, no boiler to make even a coffee.

    Refrigirator (mini bar) , TV screen, towels, enough space of the bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The stairs width are so narrow and steep, it's not recommended for people with big luggages and old people. The staffs were not too friendly.

    The room was ok, very standard. The entertainment (TV) was hard to use.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we didn't stay at the actual hotel (we were sent at the building next to montecitorio), dirty shower (there is mold on the faucet of the shower), old furniture and specifically floor, a little bit smelly, not very polite personel, no shower gel, not usefull hair-dryer

    great location, good wifi, room service everyday, beautiful decoration

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    THE BED IS HORRIBLE, LIKE SLEEPING ON PLANKS OF WOOD. IT WAS OUR HONEYMOON AND WE HAD TWO BEDS PUSHED TOGETHER. THE SHOWER IS TINY, WE HAD TO OPEN THE DOOR TO BEND OVER AND WASH OUR LEGS. HARD TO RELAX AFTER A DAY OF SITE-SEEING. WE WERE IN A SUITE

    GREAT LOCATION IN CENTER OF TOWN AND MAIN SHOPPING STRIP. CAN WALK TO ALL ATTRACTIONS

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a horrible two nihts there. We couldn't sleep at all because of the loud nose of street and people, needed acoustic windows. Very old bath and very low pressure water. Old smelly blanket. They don't provide any breakfast. We arranged for transfer service at the airport but nobody came to pick us there and when I called hotel they simply told me : we are sorry, we forgot to arrange, get a taxi !!!!!!!!) . Horrible horrible horrible.

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Elevators do not work sometimes, rooms so close to front desk, price changes time to time, it should be checked

    Location is great, close to all touristic places

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms looking at the street are very noisy and during the night i found it really hard to sleep.

    Location is in the heart of Rome. Within walking distance of almost everything.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No breakfast. It is nice to have a sit down breakfast when travelling. Alternative is to pay in a cafe nearby. Add this to the cost of the accommodation. Initially we were put into another part of the hotel next door. We were moved next day when requested a change.

    Really well located for visiting Rome. We were able to reach all the sights within 30 mins walking. Wifi worked well. Rooms comfortable, nice bathrooms. Air conditioner sort of worked.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Location is perfect. The room was small but very clean. Stuff was very helpful and friendly. Everything was great.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing whatsoever.

    Excellent location, kind staff. The room was warm and clean. Great experience would definitely recommend!!!

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bed was not so confortable.

    The location is priceless! And the staff very polite and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room location

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    All / Location

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was no wifi in the room.

    The staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the loby , the stair to carry the lug., the hole to reach the hotel, the rooms

    I liked the location, the staff

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stay was in highest level as always: nice clean room, friendly staff, wifi, cool street view, balcony tables etc. See you next time!

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Walls are a little thin ;)

    Very friendly staff and clean. The location was great. You can walk to just about everywhere.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Small room for 4 person

    Best location. I would stay again for sure.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location is excellent! Right near trivi fountain and Spanish steps! Extremely good staff, very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spacious room, breakfast is excellent, staff are super helpful. Top notch.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Small room!!!

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location is absolutely perfect and staff is very helpful. This was my 3rd time in the Residenza Montecitorio and as usual it was great.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Browse Residenza Montecitorio traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: