Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Montemare 4 stars

Via Pasitea 119, 84017 Positano, Italy

Review score

Based on 468 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    that i didn't get the room that i saw in the picture in booking.com. the balcony was supposed to have the lounge chairs. i got a room with a small balcony with a table and chair

    beautiful views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I couldn't have asked for a better stay. The Hotel's location in perfect with close distances to both beaches. The views are expectational from the Restaurant, breakfast room and our room with a side view. The Hotel is family owned and run and you can honestly say they care about their guests and the effort they put in. We had a warm welcome with staff collection our luggage and carrying them down the stairs. Through out our week in Positano all the staff from Manu at Breakfast, Reception staff and Mario in the restaurant everyone was exceptional. The restaurant has great views of Positano at night and it well prices for the food and the great service you receive. We eat their three times during our stay. I proposed to my partner and we had a booking at Rada and decided to have dinner there instead of Rada after proposing to my girlfriend. The room was very comfy and had all we required. The seperate spa bath was a key highlight for which was used regularly. We could not fault the property after traveling road Europe for the last month this has been our favourite hotel. To Katia and the team at Hotel Montemare "THANK YOU" and we will be back sooner rather than later.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location, huge balcony, great breakfast, helpful staff, nice restaurant and bar on site plus so many places nearby...we can’t wait to go back...best trip ever

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool, but we did have a private hot tub for our room.

    My stay at Hotel Montemare was everything I hoped for and more. The staff was excellent and the rooms were beyond beautiful. Location was also perfect! The hotel has a wonderful restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The view from our balcony looking over Positano was amazing. We were taken care of so well especially the reception staff and the lovely staff at breakfast. The beds and room in general was very spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure you use the porters to get your bags up the hill

    The view from the breakfast room was absolutely stunning. The breakfast itself was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi was an issue - if you wanted to connect you had to sit right near the window. Restaurant attached to hotel one of the more expensive ones. And I didn't like the condition or treatment of the macaw in its cage out on the veranda. It became cold one day and I could see the poor thing shivering with half its feathers missing. I mentioned this to the staff who stated that he actually liked the cold!!

    Lovely hotel that's situated overlooking the beautiful ocean. You have a bit of a walk down to the beach - going down is fine its the coming back up that might be an issue for some. There's lots of steps in Positano and with the road so narrow it can be rather hair-raising to see how they negotiate this. Thought this was a great place to base our stay in the Amalfi coast from - but if you're planning to include Pompeii or Herculaneum then it would be best to make a move to Sorrento where the trains run from. The Path of the Gods you'll need a bus to Amalfi then a wait (we waited two hours) for the next bus to Bommerano. It's easier to take this walk from here - don't go to Prairno. there's hundreds of steps to be climbed up just to reach the Path of the Gods.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazing from the moment we arrived! The views cannot be beat and it was quick walking distance to everything in town if you don't mind a few stairs. The bed was comfortable and the space was huge with the largest bathroom we experienced in all of Italy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This room cost over $600us per night, NOT WORTH IT!! - I looked at another room, it was much bigger, very nice, but NO VIEW - a building...$350 per night, STILL NOT WORTH IT! -Complaining to the management did not lower the price for the discomfort, "wasn't possible" - I then asked for free water - they would not supply free water??! $600 per night, you have got to be kidding me!?? - THE BED WAS HORRIBLE... I could feel the bed springs through the mattress, the bed is so hard and old, it was pretty disgusting to sleep on. room right next to front desk - THE LIGHTS NUCLEAR: were like nuclear bombs, so bright leaving them on hurt our eyes. On the outside patio, same thing... is there a switch to turn it off... no, we unscrewed the bulb. HOT/TUB JACCUZI: Not hot, bugs and leaves had fallen into it, the water wasn't clean, smelled like chemicals, got in only once during our stay, again not worth the price of this room. - PARROT- poor thing, he is immediately next the patio of the hot tub room, he's not too noisy noisy enough to be disturbing. Plus,he is always in the cage, never let out in 2 days we were there. Please donate him to the zoo so he can live his life with his own kind, not locked in a cage 24 hours a day. It's horribly cruel. I felt really cheated financially with them trying to 'make it better' but not doing much at all to compensate for the issues. Would not stay here again.

    The view from the patio, the patio spacious, lounge chairs comfortable. We received flowers and a glass of champagne for our 25th Anniversary. A very nice start but it went down hill from there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    little choice for breakfast, no fishs and other local dishes

    comfortable and cozy room with very beautiful view; nice and quiet please; hotel's restaurant - perfect place for breakfast, diner or just drink!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lot of steps, but that was actually a good thing

    This was by far the best place we stayed at on our trip to Italy - the room was spacious and fabulous! The hotel staff could not have been more helpful and friendlier.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better.

    The staff was outstanding. Very friendly and helpful. The views from our balcony and the restaurant at the hotel were incredibly beautiful. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I honestly can't think of anything negative about our stay. We had a great time. We walked passed many of the hotels we had looked at online and I'm so glad we chose to stay at Hotel Montemare.

    The Hotel was at the top of the stairs/big hill with all the shops going down to the town center. Because of that, there was a lot of walking, but the location was ideal because the view was amazing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was pricy but likely comparable to the area. The buses were insane as the schedules we're disorganized, people were jammed in without seats and driving fast around hair pin turns! In a way it was fun because it was so crazy but was also annoying at times. The boat transportation was more organized but too infrequent.

    The room, view, restaurant, bar, desk staff and services were all excellent. They also didn't cancel our reservation just because we were late like the other hotel we we're supposed to stay at.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was a bit harassed at breakfast when I had an extra person with me. When I booked the room (which was a king suite) I must have said room for 1. The rate was $650 per night and and I can't believe they questioned breakfast for 2! Embarrassing!

    Fresh peaches!!! Awesome views! The rooftop bar manager, Christian, was very attentive and welcoming! I booked last minute from a place far up the mountain that I hated! This was exact opposite to the extreme! Thank God!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a large room but there was a spa bath seperate to the bathroom which we didn’t need. I would have preferred if the spa was replaced with a small longe area. The only place to relax was on the bed or balcony. Bed and pillows were very hard - personal preference of course.

    Amazing staff - very attentive to our 3.5 yo which always makes a huge difference. Incredible views - beautiful restaurant, gorgeous breakfast space and bar, stunning from the room. Very clean and bright. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful location and loved the views from breakfast! Few of the nights we were there, it rained but it was almost magical looking at the thunderstorms far out at sea from our balcony. The staff were extremely helpful as well - the airline we travelled with lost our baggage and the staff went above and beyond to help us get it back. Not only that but upon check out, we forgot to collect our printed tickets but even though we had already left the hotel, they still emailed us copies. As for the stairs, yes there are stairs but if arrive to the hotel by car, they drop you just outside and there is someone to help you carry your bags the few steps to the lobby. The big stairs come in play when you are trying to head down to the beach or town but once you go up and down a few times, you get used to it. Overall a great stay made even better by the staff. Thanks for the amazing service :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had no complaints.

    The location was perfect. It is high up enough to get a great view but close enough to town and the beach. The staff was phenomenal and the breakfast was outstanding! The pictures do not do the hotel justice. Stunning views, great food, beautiful rooms and common spaces in the hotel. I would highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are just doubles, no kings, but was comfortable.

    Stunning view in a beautiful room! It was perfect fo our anniversary celebration. Staff was excellent -- especially Donatella at the front desk and Christian at the beach rooftop bar (amazing drinks!) It's abou halfway down the main positano hill, which makes it great for accessing the beach and main square, while also being a little bit away from the crowds and easy access to the less touristic restaurants at the top of the hill.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restraint closed on Monday's and the bar closed on Tuesday's.

    Different eggs every day. Boiled, scrambled or put them on bread with ham and cheese.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about this place. Awesome location, close to shopping, beach, restaurants. Beautiful view from everywhere in the hotel. Great large room with sitting area and large bathroom with a jetted tub in room. Incredible place and town. Lots of public transportation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that no iron could be made available for use in our room - the cost for ironing was outrageous. This is the first time in our travels in Italy that an iron could not be provided. Surprised to hear that the hotel considered it unsafe!

    Hotel Montemare provided easy walking access to town, beaches, restaurants and shopping. Easy efficient boat service to Capri and other towns along the Amalfi Coast. The hotel was in an excellent location on seaside of cliff with wonderful views of the sea. Lovely rooftop terrace for breakfast, with attached bar and taking further advantage of the spectacular views. Also has a terrace restaurant attached - again with the views. Staff happily provided any extra services required.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was an extremely expensive one night, over $500 Canadian dollars, however most of Positano is extremely expensive. If you're walking it takes over 200 steps to reach the elevator into the hotel or a long winding upward road to get to the main entrance. We still enjoyed our stay and the staff was really kind and helpful.

    Hotel Montemare was really lovely. Or room was huge and our balcony had a stunning view of the sea. The spread at breakfast was really spectacular. We definitely enjoyed our night here and would recommend it if you can afford the cost. :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not up to 4 stars standed . there are loads of ants in the bathroom and we were trying to stop the ant's hole. The water pressure was really low , we couldn't use the shower for first 2 nights, until they changed the shower heads . The restaurant food was ok but staff was bored out of his mind . Like he doesn't want to work there .

    The staff in the hotel are really nice , and you get fantastic view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location on the cliffs. Spacious suite with large beautiful terrace. The attached restaurant was not only beautiful but some of the best food that we experienced on our trip

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was old have fungus in the shower , it has the worst shampoos

    Every thing was bad and not worth the money hotel was dirty old beds were uncomfortable haven't seen beds that bad any where Breakfast was the worst not fresh no variety all food have pork in it and we don't eat pork Eggs were bad cold and anything you order extra money I will never go to this hotel if I visit positano Staff were not friendly at all Check out at 11 am not like other hotels It was the worse experience in my travel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that the hotel advertises on their website with pictures showing a partial seaview I felt that I had been duped.

    I booked a partial seaview room, well up on opening the balcony doors I was confronted by a solid wall, it was only when I leaned over the edge of the balcony that I could see a small sliver of the sea.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't pay extra for full view room, next time!

    Absolutely loved our beautiful room here, so immaculate and every little extra to make our stay perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our balcony on the first floor overlooked an ugly roof right at the base of our balcony, definitely not worth the money we paid to have a balcony.

    The room was very clean and the staff was pleasant. The rooftop bar had one of the best views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The a/c never got that cold, we had it pumping on max the whole time and were still hot. The airdryer was also terrible.

    The breakfast area was really nice overlooking the cliff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only 200 metres from the beach.... but 350 vertical steps!! (About 1/2 way up the face of the hill.) The amenity of the hotel, the helpful staff, and the view that only gets better with height all made each step worthwhile. But I'm sure the number of steps wouldn't be for everyone.

    A beautiful, classical Positano hotel with excellent amenity. We have stayed at a few 5 star hotels over time, I don't know what this one needs to do to get the extra star!! Wonderful views from our room (a suite), very peaceful place. The onsite restaurant was also good quality with sweeping views across the bay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room facilities were very dated and poor if you compare with the price we paid. Location of the hotel was a little bit far from the center. Wi-fi connection was very weak.

    Hotel staff, breakfast and view of our room were great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic views from restaurant, breakfast tables and our room. Very kind and accommodating staff. Rooms are not fancy but totally fine when you consider how little time you will spend in it, location here is everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not to my expectation, there were no variety of bread and good bakery

    Level 1 was renovated while other floors are not, ask for level 1 room that start with number 4

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed and pillows could have been more comfortable, especially for the money you spend there.

    The breakfast was good and the view from our balcony and from breakfast was stunning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was not functioning properly which meant I got a terrible nights sleep which impacted my whole experience. I tried on several oocasions to the reception however no body pipcked up any of the times. When mentioning the problem the staff did not take the incident seriously or try to apologise or make any amends to the issue.

    Good location and great view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price you are paying during the peak season, you would expect the basic amenities to be working. But this is not the case - the shower was a dribble and when asked about it the staff shrugged their shoulders and said nothing could be done, the air conditioning didn't work and breakfast was below average. If this is your honeymoon or special occasion, do not stay here. You will regret it. The hotel does everything on the cheap including bedding. The air conditioning not working was the cherry on top of the cake. We were sweltering. After numerous requests to have it fixed (the staff were adverse to actually calling a technician to come and look at it) they were able to set it to 24 degrees but no lower than that, which is ridiculous.

    Lovely view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location with beautiful views of the sea. Loved the sun deck off our room. Room was exactly as pictured and described. Staff was gracious and extremely helpful - dinner reservations, moving our luggage, what to see.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all wonderful.

    The setting and views are amazing. The room we had was top of the range but well worth the extra expense. The staff delightful made our three night stay special. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at the hotel was not good. No swimming pool and over 300 steep steps down to the beach.

    Sexy hotel suite with a spa bath in the middle and sumptuous drapes. Fantastic reception staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to get there. Went from Naples to Capri and then to Positano, by boat. I wish I had taken a cab.

    Loved this hotel. Had a room with a sea view. Everyone was so friendly. The room was spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over the years I have traveled all over Italy and I have to say this by far was one of my favorite. Especially the staff, was very helpful and accommodating. Their buffet breakfast had a variety of delicious food. I will definitely come back. We had room #24, gorgeous view. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    incredible location and fantastic stuff- they have done all they could to help us with restaurant reservation. room with the seaview was just beyond words. we cannot wait to go back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotel Rooms could be upgraded i.e. better bed, larger TV, better placement of mirror in the bath room etc.

    Breakfast Room had beautiful view and selection and service was excellent. Restaurant on the premises was as well very good, diverse menu, appropriately priced and had excellent service and a fantastic view as well. Room was adequate but large terrace was exceptional.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A great location. One of the best views in the town. All the staff were really helpful and obliging. Nothing was too much trouble. Would recommend this location to all visitors.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had two bathrooms but we were unable to use the shower in one as it would completely flood the whole room. Even the following morning there was still water on the ground.

    The staff were very helpful and the view was amazing. As with anywhere in Positano there are lots of stairs but being on the path and before the final steep section meant that the climb was not so bad.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise of the parrot is a bit offputting first thing in the morning as you can hear it from your room.

    Fantastic hotel with exceptional services. Loved the room (with a jacuzzi bath) and a great view outside. Has an amazing roof terrace and their private lift halfway down the mountain was a real plus as it means you avoid quite a lot of stairs. The breakfast at the hotel was also lovely. Lastly, they have onsite parking, which was incredibly useful as it means you can park straight away there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The beds and pillows were abit hard.

    Beautiful breakfast, restaurant for dinner, and bar for evening. Room was amazing as was the view. Staff were so fanastic, nothing was a problem. We would definitely stay there again. We really appreciated the offer for the porter for our departure.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only downside was the hotel had no pool area or anywhere to sunbathe but we did have a balcony with an amazing view so we could sunbathe there and we were also only between a 10 and 15 minute walk to 2 beaches. So not a huge complaint!

    Hotel was in a lovely location in Positano. Views were amazing from our balcony!!!! Staff were really friendly and helpful, hotel was clean and in a good location. A lot of steps up to the hotel but Positano is on a hill so there are steps everywhere!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was hard. Lighting in the bathroom was dim. The staff was very friendly, but their English was not the greatest.

    Our room was spacious, but sparsely decorated. We had a small terrace with partial ocean view. The breakfast spread was abundant and the cappuccinos were delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in timing was not ok; we waited until 345 pm Breakfast menu was not rich enough and wasn't completed regularly. There was no bellboy, we carry our own luggages. Staff does not take initiative; i asked two things in different times (comb and sunscreen) they couldn't help.

    View of the room was breathtaking High ceilings and decoration was very nice Owner is sincere and wellcoming

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything lacking

    Wonderful location. Excellent and very helpful staff. Il Capitano Restaurant part of the hotel was fantastic with wonderful view of the port and amazing food and wine

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The place was outstanding and very welcoming. They take special care of their guest. Beautiful is an understatement. The view was breathtaking. Breakfast was the best. Out on their terrace. Would recommend highly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We absolutely loved our stay. We had a room with a seaview - amazing costline views - loved sitting on the balcony with champagne in hand watching the sunset. The staff were very helpful, arranging day trips and booking restaurants etc. The bar upstairs also has incredible views - perfect way to kick off your evening.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was absolutely beautiful and the location was just perfect. Despite my room being described as a "partial sea view", the view was fantastic and absolutely stunning. The staff was very pleasant and very helpful. The breakfast included with the stay was very well done and made the stay much more enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not what I booked and paid for very expensive as your website said it had a pool that's why I booked it and all the reviews said the view on the balcony was amazing thought that's what we were getting had no view and the outdoor area had a Louvered cupboard that smelt of sewerage from the hotel so couldn't sit out their Advised hotel but they just said oh sorry

    staff were very nice view from breakfast was very nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff members were very pleasant and extremely helpful! We arrived early and they held our bags so we were able to go to the beach! They helped us book dinner reservations and transportation for our day excursions! Their restaurant and bar was excellent food was amazing & the property was perfect! We will definitely be returning for our next trip!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View and bar was fantastic and the room was massive. Only issue is the stairs although this is a Positano thing not a hotel thing! Was great for us but if you don't like walking stairs it's a problem.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in all areas were wonderfully friendly, efficient and totally obliging. The decor and comfort in the room was excellent and pristine. Can't wait to return on another Positano breakaway.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If including a 'wish-list', a pool would have been perfect, but there's not many in Positano.

    Wonderfully personal, smaller family managed hotel. - Best hotel we've stayed in in Europe.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Parking was really a disaster. They have outsourced it to nearby parking that takes and brings you the car. When they returned the car, we later realized that it had been badly scratched.

    The location, the sight, the services, restaurant, all excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beaches in Positano are very rocky. You will need to bring beach/water shoes if you want to enjoy the beaches. This isn't for the faint hearted. You are climbing ALOT of stairs or hills.

    The breakfast was amazing (especially the view) . The hotel was super sweet and packed up lunches for us when we had to leave so early that we would miss breakfast. The restaurant had excellent wine and a view to die for.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee v poor and felt there should have been fresh juice for breakfast as the hotel has a 4 star rating

    Liked the location and views Staff at reception were very helpful .Nice touch was a big birthday on the day two glasses of champagne were delivered to the room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast with an amazing view! Broad selection of coffees and pastries in the morning, wonderful staff and a big nice hotel room. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could even possibly complain about was the American coffee. It wasn't very good. But my wife enjoyed her cappuccino. And if that's the only thing to complain about, you know it was a good trip.

    We stayed here for 3 days as part of a 10 day honeymoon throughout Italy. Every part of our stay was wonderful. Our room was large, clean and the balcony was astounding! We had a water view with our own private hot tub on the balcony! The staff were very accommodating and the glasses of champagne upon check in was a very nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C was tricky to figure out. The receptionist walked us to our room and familiarized us with it. I wish she had really talked us through the A/C operation. Normally we'd just through open the sliding glass door to the balcony, but we had an early get up and there was a bit of holiday weekend music coming from a restaurant across the bay.

    The view is spectacular! Our room had an unobstructed 180 degree view of the coastline and town from about 300 above the water. The room has some quirks but they are offset by the charm. The hotel restaurant was very nice and has great patio overlooking the coastline.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Montemare is not/not a four star hotel. It is only (barely) a three star hotel. When we arrived the restaurant was not open and didn't open while there. Initially the elevator was not working and the bathroom toiletries were not up to par! You have to walk down steep stairs to enter the hotel. There was no complimentary water in the room....clean but the lounge/sunning area is small and not inviting ...the hotel is far from the center....+20 minute walk to the center. We experienced a smoke/burning smell that came into our room at night which was very disturbing....after several nights, I then questioned the staff why? The receptionist said it might be from a neighboring building...but after my question the smoke smell stopped. Strange. It needs to be listed back to a "three star" hotel.

    The staff is very helpful, friendly and accommodating. But there is a basic lack of "quality Four Star hotel service and facilities." The hotel is clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Was a bit surprised that we were unable to use the private parking for the hotel. I chose Montemare as it had its own parking. Instead my car was removed and parked in the local parking garage at a cost of Euro 20 per night.

    Very friendly staff, well managed hotel and super clean. Would definitely recommend Montemare.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mmmm, breakfast could've been a little more extensive

    Awesome staff killer view bar / breakfast restaurNt Fab barista only to keen too serve at breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything about this hotel is great! In a town where staff can get a bit impatient, this staff was totally wonderful, a family run place and so relaxing. Food also great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived by ferry and the hotel is very high up on the cliff so our shortest route was 320 stairs straight up with luggage! If you arrive by bus you will already be high up so maybe better. The hotel has lots of stairs as well. The views and hotel are worth the effort!

    The room was spacious and the sea view spectacular! The staff are all so helpful. Great variety at breakfast. Hotel bar and restaurant are excellent and both have amazing views.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was delicious, but after 5 days we did get bored of the choices--a little variety might've been good! Can't beat that view though!

    Absolutely loved the view. Staff was very helpful. Great location--very affordable, would absolutely stay there again!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a shame. Our suite had a beautiful location, but the room had furniture so old and dated it was shocking. Not antiques, but worn out. Tiny little TV about the size of an i-pad. A wine cooler the heated up bottles. A bed that was old and sat low on the floor. Old key safe. No closets. Two chairs that were not usable. Small old sofa. Would not return to hotel restaurant, dinner was average or less and overpriced. Expensive to stay at a room from a garage sale. We booked and paid for six days. But walked away and left for Sorrento after three.

    Location is fantastic. Our view from our suite was exceptional. The morning breakfast staff were very helpful and friendly. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in the standard room was on the small side.

    View was incredible from the suite. Loved loved our stay in the suite. Would stay back in the suite in a heart beat. Standard room was very good and great value with a great view as well. Breakfast was terrific. Great location and easy walk to beach. Hotel restaurant El Capitan was also great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels could be better.

    Incredible views, from rooms, from breakfast floor, from restaurant Il Capitano. Nice Hotel. Great location. HAS Parking (a must in Positano if you go by car).

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: