Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Monti Guest House - Affittacamere

Via Dei Ciancaleoni 1, Rione Monti, 00184 Rome, Italy

#2268 of 3,119 B&Bs and Inns in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 309 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    We loved this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air was definitely turned off when we left and when we returned some of my makeup had melted. (It was sweltering when we were there.) But I get that air conditioning is not common in Italy as it is in the US so this is just not something that I even feel can be labeled as a “dislike.” Just something for people to be aware of when staying.

    We loved this place. Comfortable room. Well located. A little pricey but so worth it for the ease of accessing top attractions. Nice people working the front.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Amazing Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was in such a perfect location! Only a 5-10 minute walk to the Colosseum and Roman Forum, plus still within walking distance to all the other main sites (Trevi Fountain, Pantheon etc). The best part was the food around the area- easily the best spot in central Rome to grab a meal. The room had all you needed- good aircon, comfortable bed, good wifi and warm shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Hotel has a great location, in the center of city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Hotel has a great location, in the center of city. We didn’t use any public transportation. On the other hand, room was clean and comfortable. I strongly recommend that place for everyone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay. Will recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No Kettle and Fridge in Room.

    Nora, our host was excellent. Very central and easy to get to all main sites. Location in the old city made a perfect Rome Experience

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Cute accommodation at Monti, very flexible host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was too small for two people. No-one changed our towels in the bathroom and it didn't look like they did any cleaning during our stay in our room, they just made the bed. Host was a bit unfriendly in person.

    Location of this accommodation is perfect on a walking-distance to main spots in Rome. We arranged an early check-in and early check-out with a host without a problem, so that was a big plus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    The payment cannot be done via Booking (you pay but the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The payment cannot be done via Booking (you pay but the money does not leave your account), and you have to pay once you arrive in the GuestHouse. I didn't know that, I thought that I have paid via Booking. There should be an information like that on the website.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    The owner was so helpful that I cannot find the words to say...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owner was so helpful that I cannot find the words to say Thank you :) it was a pleasure to stay there. Room was big enough, in a really great location (5mins to Colosseum, 15 to Trevi fountain) and we had everything that we need for the stay. Thank you so much!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast is only croissant and coffe but it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small! The bathroom was very small with the toilet included. The toilet was 1 meter far from the bed! Shocking!

    The breakfast is only croissant and coffe but it was fantastic!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    Spacious and clean room with great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I have nothing bad to complain, but I would make some notes for other people know beforehand: (1) The breakfast is just two items from the coffee place in front (one cappuccino and one Cornetto, really good, but for some people may not be enough), another Cornetto is just one euro. (2) Rome has a tourism tax for each person each day. Booking informs you about that, but sometimes we do not read everything. So consider that in the final value when you pay the place. (3) As it does not have a 24h reception, consider the hour you check in, if it is too early you may have to wait a while.

    On our arrival, we had a good reception, in which we were given a larger room. The room was really clean, spacious and comfortable. The place is really close to the Colosseum (11min walking), to the Termini/Metro station (9min walking) and to the Fontana di Trevi (16min walking). The breakfast was just two items (1 cappuccino and 1 Cornetto) in the place in front of the guest house, it was really tasty (and in case it is not enough, to buy another Cornetto it was just one more euro). We could also leave our bags in another place (10min walking). So, overall I would recommend the place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.8
    We would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little small and the door to the bathroom didn't actually open because the sink got in the way. Mind you, I didn't actually stay in the bathroom and for the price and location it was excellent.

    The price was superb for the location of the property. Being a guest house you're left to your own devices to come and go as you please. The lady who welcomed us was very polite and courteous and offered us the use of her umbrella as it started raining when we were checking in. The location is our favourite part of town, being literally only 5-10 minutes from the Colosseum, Forums and Palatine Hill. We've stayed in Rome a couple of times now and each time end up back in Monti. This was our first time at this guest house, and it's only a 10 minute walk from the main station. There are some good bars and restaurants in the local area and a metro station around the corner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    I so long waited this visit and it was amazing :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    small fridge in the room wood be nice

    we love small B&B houses . we find everything we need - even more!!!! amazing place - near by a lot off good restaurants, just close to coliseum, you live in the heart of Rome. Nora is best owner as ever we met. she answer all my emails and for my birthday i get amazing cake and champagne!!! very cute . i think we come back :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    Extra small but perfect for sleeping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We chose the small room, but this is really really small. I would come back to this place but I would definitely pick the bigger room.

    Perfect location. You can reach all the attraction on foot. The breakfast was OK (croissant and cappuccino).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    Great stay, friendly staff, clean rooms, basic but suitable for the price. Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small, but I booked a budget room so nothing to complain about. No food or catering facilities - it was a building with a few rooms just. Again nothing to complain about as i booked based on price.

    Location was great. Staff very friendly Only 6 rooms in apartment block, was very quiet and rarely met any other people staying there Price was good Rooms regularly cleaned

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.1
    Almost good for the money spent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom very small, very narrow. There was no elevator. Even though it's a B&B it could have been more clean, lots of dusty corners. The bed wasn't that confortable and it needs better pillows. With a minimum investment the overall look of the room could be closer to 2017..now it looks like it's the 80's.

    Staff was very friendly, great location next to Cavour metro station and all the important tourist attractions. There was't any noise during the night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rome is very big so it is a good distance from a lot of other sites, but nothing they can really do about that. Room could be a bit bigger.

    the room was fine if a bit small and the staff were nice. everything was fairly pleasant. Close to the ancient part of the city. spent most nights outside the colosseum, just a short walk

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.5
    Location is molto, molto bene!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was quite small, especially for my 6 ft 2 partner. Bathroom was a little pokey and the shower head holder was broken which made showering a little difficult. Our driver dropped us at the wrong end of the street and it was difficult to find, but I blame the driver for that.

    The room was actually a good size considering that we had been told we booked an economy room. We were only there for one night and for the price I was happy. Location is fantastic! Very close to cute cafe's, squares, and the Colosseum. Staff were lovely. Best wifi we had in all of Italy. Good aircon.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    5.8
    it's sort of an ok place to sleep/stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we stayed for 4 nights and no one cleaned the room, i had to ask for towels, at 4am we heard a really loud noise from the other guests as the room as right next to the entrance, woke us up as they were moving their luggage.

    best thing is the location, and the restaurant right next to it, homemade pasta and pizza, the room itself i would say its "meh"

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    9.2
    Lovely place with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a guest house so it doesnt have a non-stop working reception desk, that means you cant come earlier and leave your bags without previous arrangement :)

    Lovely place with great location, pleasant neighbourhood- close to Termini, Colloseum and all the tourist places. The breakfast is served in Bar Monti accrossed the street - perfect cappucino and croissants. Small room but quite enough for two, air conditioner.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    7.9
    the location to most of Romes tourist attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no tea making facilities however we were lucky our room was on the ground floor we were told we could use the small kitchen next to our room to make tea

    the location to most of Romes tourist attractions

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.8
    The cleaness, near of main places
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff. The staff not even appear to receive the keys.

    The cleaness, near of main places

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    A good place to walk around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s very tight

    The location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    Good stay in Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite basic room, with limited natural light.

    Everything you need, shower, hair dryer, small desk. Good for the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Great spot to stay in nice area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Clean, good aircon and in a great central location. Staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    The location is the best, just next to the main attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no WiFi, we needed WiFi to upload the pics to the cloud and free our phones.

    The location is the best, just next to the main attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.8
    Very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and dirty room

    Very nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit small however it was okay with us.

    Everything was very nice and good value for the money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    4.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't change towels for four days, noisy place, small room

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a nice quiet side street Close to lots of good restaurants Close to the metro Great value and just what we needed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Awesome location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some blankets inside the wardrobe would have been nice. Walls are a bit thin

    Awesome location! Everything you need is nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning doesn't work but the isusue was resolved

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.7
    Good location and good aircon
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room not cleaned everyday unless asked. Bathroom really small and not very clean.

    Good location and good aircon

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.2
    Location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location is very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Very pleasant staff and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant staff and service. Perfect location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Great value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value for what I paid. Good location. Comfortable bed. Excellent hot water.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    2.5
    I wouldn't recommend it to anyone
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was rubbish

    Everything was disappointing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Very close to the metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very close to the metro station. The neighborhood had really nice bars & restaurants. The room very clean and cosy and the hosts very helpful!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.6
    Nice place to stay in Rome!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location, nice room with good facilities, WIFI worked well, and very helpful staff!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast. Only a croissant and cappucino. The coffee shop layout is really nice, but really bad employees!

    Great location. Several great restaurants next to it. No turistics typical feeling.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    7.1
    Location: Not only the premise is located centrally (15 mins...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location: Not only the premise is located centrally (15 mins walk from Termini, 3 mins walk from subway, 20 mins walk from Colloseum), but also the neighbourhood is lovely with small cafes and shops.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    9.6
    The owner was lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was quite small compared to the photos we looked at, but we were only there to sleep so didn't mind.

    The owner was lovely! Made sure we had everything we needed, clean rooms, aircon warm/cold, perfect location right by metro station, walk away from colloseum, definitely recommend

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    7.1
    The location of the property is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room and the place in general were cold, we couldn't warm up even after switching on the heating(quite old), me and my friend used the extra blankets but still managed to catch a cold. We visited in January and it was warmer outside than inside. Also the lady that greeted us(owner)was very unfriendly, she didn't refuse services but made it clear that whatever we asked was extremely unpleasant for her, I had to use the toilet while she was tidying the room the first day( she came at an unanounced hour) and had to excuse myself a few times before she allowed me in the room in order to use the toilet, she was expecting me to use a public toilet...and it was not even our last day of stay:( Didn't smile a single time!

    The location of the property is excellent. Right in the middle of Monti area

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.3
    Really good location: only 10 minutes (on foot) from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was not comfortable.

    Really good location: only 10 minutes (on foot) from Colosseum, 50 meters from Cavour Metro station, also close to Termini. The room was nice, small, but this is Rome. :) Evenings are a little noisy, but again, this is Rome, deal with nightlife - we were on the 2nd floor, we could sleep well, that wasn't a problem. Nora was extremely kind and helpful, my wife even received a bottle a champagne as she had a birthday! :) Breakfast: you can choose a bar next to the house (coffee + croissant) or full continental breakfast in a hotel in 5 minutes - we have choosen this one, it was on the roof, on sunny days it was really nice place.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.1
    Room and bed were good, air con worked well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower head was quite uncomfortable. Breakfast was at a nearby hotel, which wasn't a problem but some of the staff there was not very friendly

    Room and bed were good, air con worked well

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    9.2
    10 minutes to colosseum and roman forum, rome termini, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    10 minutes to colosseum and roman forum, rome termini, and tube stop a minute away so can get to Vatican City within 15 minutes. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Friendly housekeeper and great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.5
    The closeness of everything from coffee to history to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The noise late at night from the restaurant trading. A little hard to fall asleep to..

    The closeness of everything from coffee to history to souveneer shopping. It's a place to crash (literally!) after a day of sightseeing!

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    the hotel is in very good location, perhaps only 400 meters...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the hotel is in very good location, perhaps only 400 meters away from Colosseo. No need to take subway to go around, though a subway station is only 200 meters around. The frontdesk Nora is very hospitable and is very warm. Our flight was 2 hours late and she waited for us until we arrived at around 4PM. Nora als helped us in contacting with the airliner when she knew that our flight was cancelled. it was very good experience in Monti. I will introduce more of my friends to live here.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    7.9
    I liked this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unfortunately they do not provide shampoo and shower cabin was so small:))

    I liked this hotel. Its placed not far from the Termini (just 10 - 15 minutes walking) and very close to the metro station ( 3 minutes). The room was good. Nice bed and breakfast at the cafe near the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    7.9
    good location:
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    room was not cleaned everyday, towels are changed every 3 days!

    good location: close to Colosseum 5-7 min walk metro station Cavor 2 min walk termini station 12-15 min walk I loved the area where it`s located...full of small bars and coffee shops, very chick! There is two grocery shops just next to the hotel as well No staff, there is someone just for few hours a day, but very friendly and helpful. Wifi works perfectly day & night small single room but the bed was ok good shower not too big breakfast just a croissant & coffee but I enjoyed having it in the coffee shop downstairs so don`t be put off by that, you still catch wifi there by the way! :) It`s a small and quiet place, perfect for solo travelers or couples

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    8.8
    Great location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The walls between the rooms are extremely thin, no sound insulation. The bathroom was tide.

    Great location; great and very polite staff

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    9.2
    Nice, clean, felt very private.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    No one at check in desk, ever.

    Nice, clean, felt very private.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    8.8
    location (10 min from Colosseum;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast could be more varied

    location (10 min from Colosseum; 15 min from Termini station), design of the room, staff availability

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    8.3
    Staff is friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No elevator.

    Staff is friendly and helpful. Room is beautiful and comfortable. Shower and toilet is clean. Location is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    8.8
    Great location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location and staff. Room with big window, big bed, clean. Own keys to the entrance.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    5.8
    hard bed, poor breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hard bed, poor breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    7.9
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast is very poor: a coffee and a croissant .... Personally I don't make it for the morning if I don't eat more ....

    The location

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    7.9
    No staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No staff

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: