Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Montreal 3 stars

Via San Giuseppe 8, 97100 Ragusa, Italy

#16 of 20 hotels in Ragusa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 189 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.4
    Practical but gloomy and uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even if we insisted to get a room with two separate beds during the booking phase and received a confirmation by mail that one was available, we landed in a room with a king size bed and a small one, on the 3rd and last floor, without any air conditioning facility. The hotel in general is gloomy and needs a refreshing. The service desk staff was unfriendly during our stay. And the breakfast was ordinary compared to what one may get at a B&B.

    Even if the accommodation is a 30-minutes walk away from Ragusa-Ibla (the old part of the town), the hotel is located in the heart of Ragusa-Nuova and has in its neighborhood a few interesting buildings, and restaurants. Its private parking lot is practical but there is also a public parking, a few meters from the hotel (we were not curious enough to compare the prices, though).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed ourselves so much I think we will be going back there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    The hotel is family owned and run, which I think is a plus, but this is not mentioned in their publicity. We were made to feel like members of the family and not like clients, and everybody seemed to be going out of their ways to make sure we were looked after.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    Hotel is located in quiet street but near to bars and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be great if the breakfast included more savory options, not mainly sweet.

    Hotel is located in quiet street but near to bars and restaurants. Friendly and professional staff. Breakfast rather basic but decent. Parking garage is available underneath the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Ideal stay to discover Ragusa and environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing because the room was cleaned every day with fresh towels

    Nice hotel in the center of Ragusa and at walking distance to the old town of Ragusa. Very good breakfast with a lot of choices. Very friendly staff and private parking space in the garage of the hotel. Restaurants at walking distance. A very good place to stay to discover Ragusa and environment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.8
    Decent for an overnight stay but wouldn't stay longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After reading all the positive reviews expected better from this hotel - Dated hotel - Very basic breakfast - Smallish bare room - Tiny bathroom

    - Safe parking within the hotel - In Ragusa's centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    3.8
    No water - avoid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water in either of our rooms at night - nothing coming out of tap or shower! Amazing for a three star hotel Had to pay extra for parking No reduction in rate for having to cope with no water - not customer oriented

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.1
    Would consider the hotel as a second choice in Ragusa.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast and limited facilities at the hotel.

    The room was OK, air condition worked, the breakfast was not our style. No eggs, no sausages only cold staff. The hotel is sited midway up a hill. Arriving by public transport leaves you at Via Zama which is quite distant from the hotel about 1.75km. However it is a peasant walk. All the way downhill to the hotel. Breakfast is not included on booking.com. No big miss really.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    3.3
    Very unpleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff don't have much information that is basic for tourists and are unprepared. I had an air conditioning that was making a lot of noise and when I complained I was asked to simply turned it into a lower temperature so that way the noise would stop... When complained the TV had only one channel, and I wanted to know if there were others as it is advertised they have cable tv, they told me they were all in Italian ( wanting to say, whats the matter for me as I only speak English...) When I left they could not even print my boarding airplane ticket as they said it did not arrive in their mail box, even though I have sent twice and confirm their email address. For the type of treatment I had been getting, I am sure it was not a funny coincidence they "didn't get the email". And the worst, something I will definitely call upon booking for, when they got my file, I could see all my credit card details written on it. I have worked with this kind of sensitive information before and I know this is not allowed whatsoever.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    6.7
    Great location, near the the catherdal in new Ragusa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff speaking poor English, couldn't offer information regarding public trasport and other sights, not very proactive with their guests. Very old room, not corresponding to photos entirely. Old bathroom. Poor salty offer for breakfast, but croissants were great.

    Great location, near the the catherdal in new Ragusa. Decent breakfast, great sweet options and great coffee.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.2
    The staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly. The location was great - 15 minute walk to the train station, very short walk to the Cathedral, places to eat nearby, and close to the 300 steps that lead down to Ragusa Ibla.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    9.6
    Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Room very comfortable and warm for our winter visit. Tranquil. Nice to have breakfast included in the price and very good continental breakfast selection. Handy location on Corso Italia, the main shopping street in Ragusa Superiore and near the cathedral. Frequent buses to bus station. Within walking distance (or bus) of Ragusa Ibla.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    8.3
    Great Location above old town but near lots of sights, shops and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location between Piazza S Giovanni and not too far to the the old town (loads of steps though) Restaurants and shops very nearby. Very secure parking under hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    We just loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We just loved it. Everything was perfect. Very friendly staff, nice breakfast, clean and tidy room, in a good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel at good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Irregular colums at car parking. Lot lines to be clear for easy parking.

    Location between new and old area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.6
    Top value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Top value for money!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful Ragusa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't see inspector Montalbano. :)

    Breakfast was simple but nice. The staff were friendly and helpful. Good location for Ragusa and Ragusa Ibla.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Lovely place and nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place and nice people. Excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.8
    Friendly service, comfortable hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No satellite TV, only Italian channels. No kettle in room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    9.6
    Really nice and friendly staff
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    5.4
    Bewear
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge credit card with chf when the card is in eur

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    Both were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both were good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    8.3
    The way they treat my dog was fabulos
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit poor but overall the hotel was good in great location

    The way they treat my dog was fabulos

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    8.3
    Ragusa 2016
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was very helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    8.8
    staff were very helpful and nice, rooms were comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was poor

    staff were very helpful and nice, rooms were comfortable and the location was great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.6
    Choice at breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice at breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.6
    excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Double bed in single room so not much space.

    Great location. Very helpful young man at front desk.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    8.3
    - breakfast was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - breakfast was very good - parking either in the underground parking of the hotel or in the car park opposite the hotel - relatively quite although directly in city centre

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    7.9
    Location was excellent and staff really helpful and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Some parts of the interior of the building (corridors and rooms) looked a little bit run down.

    Location was excellent and staff really helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    9.6
    The staff was helpful and welcoming, the location perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not much soundproofing in the rooms.

    The staff was helpful and welcoming, the location perfect for visiting Ragusa, and the rooms were modern and clean. The food was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    7.5
    We stayed before in two of the Catena Hotels del Sole.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed before in two of the Catena Hotels del Sole...one in Agrigento, and in Pergusa. The showers are fixed and not modern. Although their furniture is old but clean. Breakfast not so bad except that we had stale bread.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.2
    Location was great - I could walk to every sight I wanted to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location was great - I could walk to every sight I wanted to see, including to Ibla. Dinner was superb, beyond my expectations even though I had read rave reviews of the restaurant in advance. The dining room lives up to its name.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.8
    Excellent location for visiting both Ragusa and old Ragusa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff at the reception is just right. Had they been more professional, the stay would have been perfect.

    Excellent location for visiting both Ragusa and old Ragusa. Nice restaurants near the hotel. Easy free parking 2 minutes away.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    BREAKFAST was hit and miss depending on what time you got there. When there was a coach poarty in it was like a rugby scrum or the re could be little left and the place would like a bomb had hit it.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast was excellent and room was spacious and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room was a bit dark and the carpets/decor in hotel need a bit of refreshing but comfort and value far outweighed this.

    Breakfast was excellent and room was spacious and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    7.5
    - very big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - the breakfast could be better for the price we paid - the hotel is old and not very clean, it must be renovated soon - the staff at the frontdesk doesn't speak english - the city itself was not really inspiring

    - very big room - good wifi signal - huge parking in front of the hotel (12 euro for day)

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    8.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location. Very center of upper Ragusa old town. Easy to drive and park a car.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    8.8
    Breadfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breadfast was very good. Garage facility very convenient. Hotel staff very helpful. Location very good.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    9.6
    Quality price optimal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quality price optimal

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    10
    it was in town and good food so friendly staff,and just very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it was in town and good food so friendly staff,and just very good

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    10
    Locality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Locality

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    10
    endroit sa situation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    endroit sa situation

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    10
    Superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    Superb. Incredible breakfast. Clean and comfortable. Would defininately look forward to staying again.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    9.6
    Great hotel, great room, really good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great hotel, great room, really good breakfast. 20 minutes walking to Ragusa Ibla

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    10
    Great place to stay in the new town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints!

    Great place to stay in the new town. Nice walk down to the old town. Great place to stay especially for the price.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    10
    Excellent - breakfast, location, staff, deposit box,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited shark diving (just kidding !)

    Excellent - breakfast, location, staff, deposit box, mini-bar, English TV, great value.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    9.2
    Perfect location in Ragusa, and à garage to park the car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Perfect location in Ragusa, and à garage to park the car. There is à bus to come back to back from the old city.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    9.2
    Wonderful breakfast with delicious local specialities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wonderful breakfast with delicious local specialities. Comfort of room. Handy location.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    10
    very good place in the city centre,friendly person ( give...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no free parking, need to pay if you want to stay car safe

    very good place in the city centre,friendly person ( give recomendation), modern rooms

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    9.6
    Perfect location for exploring Ragusa and Ragusa Ibla.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Perfect location for exploring Ragusa and Ragusa Ibla. The restaurant is excellent, but there are better and cheaper Trattorie to be found in Ragusa.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    8.8
    Helpfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpfull staff

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    8.8
    very good hotel and very kind and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very good hotel and very kind and helpfull staff. Thanks again to staff of hotel again for helping us.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: