Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mosaico 3 stars

Via Darsena 9, 48100 Ravenna, Italy

#14 of 21 hotels in Ravenna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 894 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Physically it is right by the train station, but you have to walk quite a bit to either take a tunnel under the tracks or to a bridge to cross the tracks to get to the hotel. About 15 minutes walk. Wouldn't be good for people with limited mobility. The tunnel does have lifts so you don't have to lug baggage up stairs. Room was a bit cramped and lighting was poor. Internet was spotty in the room, better in common areas.

    Bed was comfortable, had a lift. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No air conditioning in the room, there wasn't a wide choice for breakfast, it was every day the same

    The hotel is near the city centre, everything is easily accesible from here

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Excellent hotel only 10 minutes walk from train station and 15-20 minutes from the toen and all the sights. Lovely comfortable bed, very clean and full of light, hot shower (though if you are on the 4th floor it takes about 5 minutes to come through) great wi fi and the best breakfast we have had yet in Italy with fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, a toaster, boiled eggs, fresh brewed coffee and lots of savoury options (so far our breakfasts have all been sweet carbohydrates!) Highly recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Central location but not at the historic center. Close only to train station and Mausoleo Teodorico. Difficult to find it. It's inside Ravenna's shipyards.

    Basic room. Basic but good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only 1 elevator , so specially in the morning, we have to wait for a long time (We are for business, means we do not want to lose even a short time specially in the morning)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double room, got single room, but yet paid for a double room. Ok, my mistake, I indicated the number of guests as 1, but then again wrote a message saying "WE would like a double bed". And ok, the receptionist was accomodating. But what if I had booked the most expensive double room - would I still have been given a single room? When I book a double and not a single room, I do it for a reason. Breakfast personal unprofessional, blocked my way and made very much noise - it was impossible to have a conversation! Cleaning personnel opened all rooms in one floor at the same time, leaving them unattended (meaning a cell phone left on the night stand right next to the door could easily have been taken by anyone).

    Clean, quality hotel. Breakfast is nice (if you arrive early and/or it's not Sunday).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good enough, a bit better than a continental breakfast. Front desk staff was nice even though we checked in close to midnight. They let us leave the car parked at the premises (for a day trip into town) despite we checked out that morning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Close to the train station, but a half mile walk to the underground tunnel that lets you cross the multiple tracks!!! Otherwise pretty much off by itself. We got a lot of exercise walking back to the train crossing to access town.

    Most dramatically beautiful hotel we stayed in on our trip to Italy. Friendly staff, delicious continental breakfast buffet, near the harbor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was okay but because we are older it was for us a long walk to the town centre. The hotel is situated on the other side of the railway station and two big motor ways. (Because of the long walk we stayed out all day and then returned about 7 pm to stay in the for the night.) We struggled to find the hotel at first, not realising that it was behind the station. Having said that - the walk along the docks was nice and the subway has to be the best-decorated subway that I've ever seen! Very photogenic!

    We liked everything about the hotel, especially the breakfast. And we totally fell in love with Ravenna.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is on the other side of the center, behind the train station. Crossing it especially in the night is scary and unpleasant. There is an other way to get to the hotel and should be used. The problem with this hotel is the its situation.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have asked for early breakfast or lunch packet. Only things what we got on "early" breakfast is an part of regular breakfast. Reason was:"If we gave you all, it would be enough for other people later..."

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The railway line was between the hotel and the centre of Ravenna which meant some extra walking when we wanted to go to see the main sites. However, its location was perfect for heading out to the beaches in the afternoon.

    The design of the bedroom was unusual and very attractive. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were very helpful. We had good parking on site. The weather was very hot when we were there and the air conditioning was more than adequate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is NOT reachable from the train station without a car and if you have luggage it is MOST inconvenient. In pictures and maps it may look close to the train station but there is NO EXIT of the station to that side of the tracks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the receptionist Ricardo doesn't at all suit to any service or sales position (the guests are the first to say "Hello", he looks very bothered facing guests, instead of answer he prefers pointing at text laying on the desk,...)

    walking distance from UNESCO protected monuments, very good breakfast, enough space in the family room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very courteous and friendly . Our air conditioning was not very good in the first room and they changed us without any problem the next day. We stayed 4 nights with them and we were very happy. The shower was excellent and always had plenty of hot water ( we are three adults)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were very clean, the parking space was available and we appreciate the fact that we could leave the car on it the whole day. The Hotel is well located, just outside the old town and close to the canal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast drinks poor, location inaccurately described, separated from town by rail station thus a taxi ride from areas of interest.

    Room spacious, bed comfortable.breakf

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea and coffee drinkers have to go to the restaurant as there is no electric kettle in the room. A not uncommon problem in the Italian and French budget hotels that we have stayed in. If you are sensitive to noise be aware that it is opposite the rail line.

    We selected it because it was easy to get to and well within walking distance of the old city. A bonus was that just around the corner was the best little pizza bar in the Ravenna.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Second day staff was rude with no interest in customers (or attending the desk). He seemed to have condescended to do desk duty as it suited him.

    Convenient to the train station, and clean room. The hotel is literally behind the train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt awful throughout our two night stay. Stale smoke/pets. For breakfast The coffee and tea were tepid so the next morning we went for breakfast at 7am and the jugs of hot water and coffee were still far from hot. The TVs didn't have one English Channel and the mini bar had half drank bottles in it from previous guests and to top it all the cleaners had left our door literally open all day with our money,credit cards and passports in the room. So angry

    Parking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Difficult to find at night and away from the centre, fine if you arrive by car.

    New hotel with strong design theme. Lovely staff and fabulous breakfast. Everything worked as it should.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms facing the train station are poorly sound isolated, windows are not working/ closing properly, you can feel the wind (and therefore sound) entering. We couldn't sleep at all, when we complained about it at the check out, the response was: "you had one room not facing the station" (we had 3 different rooms). No empathy and no other answer, an apology could've helped. If they fix the sound problem the hotel can be a great option.

    Breakfast and location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the location of the hotel appears to be quite close to the city centre be warned that it really is more suitable for those with a car than for those who want to walk to the city centre - as walking requires a rather long detour along the railway tracks and under an underpass (which closes relatively early in the evening). Tourists would be better advised staying right in the historical centre.

    Reasonable value for money. Better suited for business travellers than for tourists.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had easy to access, free parking and a great lobby room. Could order a nice glass of wine there and room to spread out maps, etc. Breakfast was good and plenty of choices. Room was comfortable and good wifi, everything we needed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking distance from downtown. If you seek a good place where to sleep- this is it. Nice breakfast room, selection ok. Appearance of the building itself is worn out and not appealing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the apartment decor is a bit no frills

    Good price for the value, good breakfast, proximity to a big park for jogging, sufficient parking with no extra cost.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much of a view from the room, though we didn't came there for the view, so basically no complaints =]

    Hotel Mosaico is very conveniently located - very close to the train station, and very close to the city center. It was my second stay there, and everything is just as I remembered 3 years ago - very friendly and helpful staff, delicious breakfast with a lot of fruit (not common in Italy!) and great coffee, rooms are quiet big, comfortable bed, great shower, lift, overall the vibe in the hotel is very calm and relaxing. If I'd ever return again to Ravenna - will absolutely stay in Mosaico again!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from an engine near the hotel (on the backside, probably an engine to produce energy for the hotel?)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good parking possibility. Nice and comfortable room. Good breakfast, not only sweet cakes but also some ham and cheese.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of restaurant is a minus but understandable.

    Location, parking facilities, breakfast, kindness of people’s at reception, clean room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast and greeeeaaat coffee :D Quiet and clean hotel :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from the road and railway next-door

    Comfortable and clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    power plants are not aligned with the european standard

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice choice for breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was crammed and not enough tables Sandwiched between main railway line and busy road

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy AC.

    Nice breakfast, good location to go sightseeing, easy to find and leave the car.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect breakfast, very friendly staff, 10 minutes walk from center of Ravenna. The bed mattress was really comfortably.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very noisy and sparse.

    Breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect.

    Great and delicious selection.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free private parking. The hotel is 15 minute walking distance from the centre

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too warm and opening windows to cool it let in too much noise.

    Very good price and friendly receptionist.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good place for bussines trip. Just small distance by walk to old town centre.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Private parking, internet was ok, breakfast was also good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a long walk from the accient sites of Ravenna

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free parking, breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning doesn't work, it was 37°C

    Hotel is near to the city cènter

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel was close to the railway and there was a lot of noise. You had to go some distance before you could get over the railway and into town.The hotel billed us 100 euro more than the price booking.com had advertised and for that price it's not worth it at all. Otherwise the hotel was ok but without any personality.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet cojld be better

    Just outside historic center, about 15 minutes walking. Good room if not large, good bathroom. Elevator. Good private parking.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Group

    As a complement to a seminar on the history of monuments and Ravenna, we traveled to the city over Spring Break. The Hotel Mosaico were the ideal hosts - comfortable rooms, a convenient location near the train station, and an excellent breakfast buffet. I would happily return!

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good value, friendly English speaking staff, walking distance to many Ravenna sites, great breakfast, quiet lovely rooms. This would be a really great place for people driving--close in but with parking. Even bikes for guests to use.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Great architecture and excellent aesthetic as well as a functional structure of the building, the bedrooms and additional facility rooms. Greatly rich, traditional breakfast. Very polite, discreet, professional staff.Good view from the room (in the last floor). They had everything I needed! and even more. Excellent value for money choice for a semi-luxurious staying!!

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms are too small, the bathroom as well. Nothing around, no restorants, nor shops even to buy a tooth paste or water. Although is near to the train station you can't walk to, for everything you need to take a taxi.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. Located behind the station, so it takes about 30 to 40 minutes to walk to the attractions. 2. Since the 1st morning, most old fruit gone while no new fruit added. So I guess this could be a routine on week days or off the season.

    English-speaking staff helpful, room clean, comfortable, and breakfast not bad, esp., the 1st morning, Sunday morning.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was a bit standoffish, and not as helpful as I would have liked. Acted like it was a huge hassle to explain the bike rental process to us.

    The bike rental service was very convenient for visiting all of the monuments throughout Ravenna. The room was extremely clean and we were very comfortable throughout our stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Aircon was slightly faulty but it was an issue happened only this time (been here before and it worked perfectly)

    The position few mins from the city centre and very easily reachable when arriving from the motorway. Breakfast is very good Staff is very polite

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Stayed in July 2015. Had to sleep with windows closed otherwise mosquitoes woild eat us up sleeping. As the aircon recirculated the air within the room (like in a closed can as there were no vents whatsoever), the air quality was low. The fridge in the room is mini and you can hardly squeeze in any stuff of your own.

    Good breakfast and own parking lot, silence at night. When you leave the hotel, turn left, go down to the pavement and round the corner you will find a tiny pizzeria (which mainly focuses on pizza delivery but has two large tables) where you will find about 20 pizzas for 5 Euros max, the most expensive will reach 8 Euros. Tasty and the staff speaks good English.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Family with older children

    No good restaurants near by, a bit far from the historical sites, ac was iffy, bikes were first come first serve and there weren't enough bikes, unattractive location

    Very comfortable mattresses, good internet reception, bicycle rental, fantastic breakfast, quiet room that blacked out well for good sleeping, close to a park (with Mausoleum of Theodoric) that was nice to bike in

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The wash basin, water doesn't drain well but its not a problem at all. All in all, it was a perfect stay!

    You get what you pay for. Centrally located just right next to the train station. Wifi is excellent. Coming with a small child, cleanliness is very impt to us, and that's what we actually had in this hotel. Well maintained room, comfy bed and spotless bathroom. Oh, and the breakfast, superb! We'll definitely come back here again.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff were helpful as hotel was a little bit outside the city centre so they suggested a nice restaurant which was walking distance away & very nice. Breakfast was generous & there was free parking so very suitable for us as an overnight stop.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Asked for a drink at the reception the lady said oh don't know how to make a gin and tonic..so I asked for red wine, she made me feel she was doing me a favour..

    The room was very comfortable and very clean.WiFi was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Amazing rooms, comfy beds, nice staff, everything was perfect !!!

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    too small room

    cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows were too high.

    Wide choice of food for breakfast and very tasty.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    this is a hotel for salesmen, not for tourists

    breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit hard to reach the center if not by car due to the train station.

    Excellent quality for a very low price. Very nice, clean and super helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi sometimes is off and on again

    The room comfort, facilities, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice modern hotel

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I cant open window so it was dark all the time

    Staffs are kind and friendly

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was far from town, too near train tracks, room was really small

    It was clean. They offered umbrellas .

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast (not much varieties) A bit noisy as hotel is across from railway.

    Location Parking

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very modern rooms

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Th hotel was just great for the money! Not much to do in Ravenna though

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    location

    staff

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Tables in the breakfast room were too small.

    Location was not bad.

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: