Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Moscatello 2 stars

Via Principe Eugenio 51, Central Station, 00185 Rome, Italy

#545 of 968 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 119 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street may not be safe at night... But this hotel makes us feel secured inside. :)

    The nearest metro is the Vittorio Emanuele just next station from termini. Otherwise termini is roughly 5-7mins away only. There’s a nearest grocery for us to grab food & drinks. A lot of good restaurant as well. They clean the room everyday. With available coffee maker. The bathroom is spacious. They have cabinet to keep your clothes and safety deposit for your valuables. We arrived early than their check-in time. But once the room was ready. We were able to rest in their comfortable bed. We kept our belongings at the reception after check-out since we still have to go somewhere else, and our stuff was kept safe and untouched. 2 of the staff were not able to speak good english but they manage to help us with our query. One of them even help us grab a taxi back to the airport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Spacious room, recently refusbished; we enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the first night we found a group of ants concentrated around some small object in the toilet mat. We were rather tired, so rather than calling staff, we simply got rid of them ourselves. The "breakfast" consisted of a processed croissant and coffee.

    The place was easy to find, and we liked the wide staircase leading to the hotel. Reception staff were waiting for us, and the check-in was fast and easy. The place appeared to have been recently renewed. We were pleasantly surprised to see that the bed was king-size (or perhaps even wider?) Check-out was also easy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    FANTASTIC! RECOMMENDED!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    When someone is in the reception you can hear them talk. But that didn't disturb any of our sleep during the night.

    The location, it was close to everything. The tram and Metro was just some meters away from the hotel. And the surrounding was good. Once you were inside your hotel room you can't hear any noises from outside in the busy street. And it took just 4 minutes to go to Termini with the tram/Metro. Also beside the hotel has an amazing bubble tea place, a good drink to cool off from the heat in the summer! + one of the BEST ice cream place close by! (Thanks to the receptionist for recommending to us) The staff in the hotel was extremely polite and gave us the best service and ideas on what to do around Rome. THIS PLACE IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! And we will for sure come back anytime we'll stay in Rome again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    Overall, the stay was pleasing, I'd stay at moscatello again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood is a little concerning as there are few dodgy looking people walking about

    The staff are very friendly, replenished the water and toiletries and cleaned the room no fail everyday, the room is comfortable and very good value for the price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.7
    Good room, not the nicest neighborhood during night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighborhood seems pretty bad. You don't feel very safe walking there alone in the dark. Also because hotel doesn't have 24hours reception, I wouldn't book if you plan on coming very late in the evening or night. During day it's fine

    Room itself is clean and nice. Very large bed. Good value for money. Metro station is near and main station also only 15 minutes walk

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay in Rome! (don't forget to tell your arriving time in advance)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed sheets and the towels weren't changed during our stay, bathroom could be cleaner.

    Hotel location was nice, close to Termini. Staff was friendly and helpful, coffee served in the reception was delicious. They placed free croissants and water everyday during our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.8
    Bella Roma
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a bad smell in a bathroom coming from floor drain, probably because of plumbing. But it didn't bother us too much, because everything else was ok.

    We stayed in Rome just for 4 nights and we've chosen Hotel Moscatello because of price and location. It's only 10 minutes by walking from Termini Station so we didn't have to travel a lot through city with our luggages. Hotel is located near busy road but when you enter the building it seams like it's somewhere else. Room was really nice and clean with spacious bathroom. The host was really helpful and we felt really comfortable during our stay. This Hotel doesn't serve breakfast but there is a cafe near with tasty sandwiches and good coffee . And the metro station is really close as well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    6.7
    If you are on a budget - it's ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. The neighbourhood isn't glamorous, I felt unsafe when we arrived to Termini station from airport. 2. Shower cabin is very small and out of date. 3. Cleanliness is average. 4. Walls are very thin, 2 of our 3 nights there, I couldn't sleep because the first night some guys were talking really loud, and other night because some french guy talked on skype reaaaally looooooud. So if you go there - bring ear plugs.

    We stayed at hotel Moscatello 3 nights. 1. From there you can reach all of the objects by foot. Except Vatican, we walked there about 1,5 hour because many streets where closed that day. 2. The room size is OK. 3. Lady in reception was very nice. 4. Free coffee in the morning and one croissant. All in all, I wouldn't go there again, because there are better places for this price. But if you are on a budget - it will be OK.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    6.7
    Not so bad, but it could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pics of the room and the bathroom do not reflect the reality. Though they were not too bad, the bedding and curtains (the curtains were not washed for ages!) might be cleaner + the shower is much more smaller and not so modern as in the pics. As I travelled with a child, a big disadvantage was the lack of hot water to prepare a meal for my baby.

    A bottle of water + croissant + free coffee in the morning is a big plus for a good start of the day. The localization is perfect - not far from Colosseum or Termini station. The owner and the staff are really nice and helpful, even though the owner can't speak English very well, he is interested in any issue you overcome and tries to help. WiFi works perfectly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    8.8
    Staffs were really good and helped us to identify the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi speed was really poor

    Staffs were really good and helped us to identify the different places to visit in Rome and Vatican. Also the rooms were very clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    I recommend the hotel to those who do not expect luxury hotels and search for cheaper alternatives.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The price is very reasonable if compared with the location, facilities, comfort, etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.6
    The neighborhood is not safe for girls
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood is not safe for girls

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    friendly staff, every day cleaned, coffee, croasan and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    friendly staff, every day cleaned, coffee, croasan and mineral water every day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Made a great weekend in Roma even better! A++++
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, very helpful staff, perfect room for what we needed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    6.3
    Price + location (close to Termini and metro station)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hot water was missing for the major part of our stay. Some sort of plastic sheets are put under the linen. Because of that you sweat even if it is not hot. Air conditioning was not working.

    Price + location (close to Termini and metro station)

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    9.2
    The staff was great, helpfull and very profesional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Duvets were never changed in our 4 nights stay. Apart from the hotel ... In the road at night there are also prostitutes

    The staff was great, helpfull and very profesional. The hotel was very quite and the room facilities were great, also room always clean as it was cleaned everyday.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    7.0
    Comfortable beds, balcony overlooking busy street with trams...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A 10 minute walk from Central station, past people sleeping rough. At the hotel access is up a lift and then stairs which if you find stairs difficult to manage could be a problem. Hotel could check on the dirty marks on the material of the bed bases.

    Comfortable beds, balcony overlooking busy street with trams general life below but noise not a problem. We were happy eating at a family restaurant 2 blocks away called Locanda Giolitti.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    9.6
    Adriana, the host, was very helpful and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Adriana, the host, was very helpful and accommodating. She was very patient in showing us where and how to go about Rome. Her tips helped us save time, effort, and money. Grazie tante!

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    7.5
    The room was very confortable and the location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hairdryer don´t work very well, specialy if you have long hair.

    The room was very confortable and the location is great. I did a lot of tours by walking.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    8.3
    Very clean, ideal for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Would've liked tea/coffee facilities in the room

    Very clean, ideal for a short break. 20 mins to colosseum. Staff helpful and sorted taxi to and from airport.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    5.4
    location, clean bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the wifi in the room never worked. the bed was making noises as if it was 100 years old. the bottle of water which was promised was never delivered and when we asked the response was just no. nobody dies without it but if you promise something you should deliver. for those money i expected something more, at least breakfast. it was a good location, a normal bed and a shower nothing more. so in this case the price has to be much lower to receive value for money.

    location, clean bathroom

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    10
    Everything was amazing, We were not looking for any luxury,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was amazing, We were not looking for any luxury, just comfortable place to spend the night and time after long days of sightseeing and that was exactly what we received from this hotel. The staff was friendly, nice and helpfull, room was clean (everyday cleaning) and well equipped (fridge, hairdryer, flat TV, private bathroom). Hotel is located within walking-distance from Termini Station, Colosseum and beautiful park. Considering the prize, we could not hope for anything better. I strongly recommend this place to anyone, who wants to save some money and enjoy nice, clean, comfortable environment at the same time.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    6.7
    It's close to Metro station, appr.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Too hot in the room, the personnel could be more outgoing and welcoming to the tourists.

    It's close to Metro station, appr. 5 min. and 10-15 min to Termini station on foot. The room was basic but clean with all you need. You can get coffee and packed croissant for free as a bonus. Good deal for the money in Rome.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    10
    Cannot fault this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cannot fault this hotel! The staff were excellent and always willing to help. Our room was well presented and had all the facilities you would expect. Really easy walk from the main train station (Termini), a metro stop 1 minute up the road and only about 10 minutes walk from major tourist attractions (Colosseum & Roman Forum). The rooms are on the third floor, but there is a lift if you don't fancy tackling the stairs and they left us a croissant every day which was a nice added bonus! Thank you Hotel Moscatello!

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    8.8
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception staff is unhelpful, doesn't talk much English, avoiding him is the best thing to do.

    The location is great! it is a short walk from the train station and in the heart of the city. there is also a metro station nearby. The hotel is placed into a 19th century building, an old historical style with high ceiling rooms. The room is very clean and comfortable as well as the bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    7.5
    Termini station - 10 minutes by walk, CityCenter - 25...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Termini station - 10 minutes by walk, CityCenter - 25 minutes by walk or 15 minutes by metro, clean room and bathroom, coffee from 8:30am till 2pm, 1 bottle of water and 1 croissant for free per day (no need to have paid breakfast), good connection of free hotel wifi

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    The hotel is great located close to the hjstoric part of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel is great located close to the hjstoric part of the city only 10 min walking from main train station Termini and like 5 min to metro station. Personal was always very helpfull and very nice. There was a free bottles of the water and croisants waiting for us for free - wonderfull after a looong way:).

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    9.6
    Staff are great !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perhaps the area is not the best, (could feel unsafe sometime at night, according to my wife: not a place if there were girls only) but then again it is close to main train station so even at night easy to find a bus back. Also airport transfer stops there.

    Staff are great ! Room very clean.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    10
    The location was awesome and the staff were very polite and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was awesome and the staff were very polite and helpful specially Adrianna who recommended we try a special sweet that the Italians do on St. Joseph's Day.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    8.3
    Nice room, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice room, excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    9.2
    The helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view

    The helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    7.9
    Safe place to stay, convenience to all amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Safe place to stay, convenience to all amenities. Thoroughly enjoyed, staff were nice and helpful

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    10
    Close to Colosseum, clean and comfortable rooms, helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to Colosseum, clean and comfortable rooms, helpful staff. I recommend

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    10
    Polite stuff, clean room, near tourist sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Polite stuff, clean room, near tourist sites.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    9.6
    Free WiFi, central location, private bathroom, spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We liked everything

    Free WiFi, central location, private bathroom, spacious triple room, value for money, clean.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    8.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    8.8
    Very good location close to the metro station as well as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff are not as attendtive and friendly.

    Very good location close to the metro station as well as tourist sites. Room is clean and modern.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    8.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would prefer a double bed. Two single beds very uncomfortable

    Value for money

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    8.8
    Coffee, water and croissant inclusive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Busy and loud street in front.

    Coffee, water and croissant inclusive.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: