Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rocca Di Castagnoli

Località Castagnoli, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy

#4 of 19 Holiday rentals in Gaiole in Chianti

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 107 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant but understand that with 8 spacious rooms it isn't very viable to have one but the breakfast was great

    The whole hotel, the view, the peace and quiet, the pool,the staff!!,proximity to some great little towns,very clean rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was underwhelming, no hot food available and the girl in the restaurant was a little offhand. The restaurant was closed the night we stayed, which I couldn't remember being told when booking or when looking at the website, however the recommended restaurant next door was great. The bed was a bit hard.

    The setting is beautiful and the buildings are lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only restaurant would not seat us. They said we should have mad reservations. The need for a reservation at the on-site restaurant was not made clear to us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large, lovely pool but couples beware - families stay here so there can be lots of children at times.

    The staff here, especially Cristina and Barbara are amazing. We had an incident with our hire car while there and thanks to them it was minimal disruption rather than the massive headache it could have been. The restaurant, Il Celliere, is also first class and has a beautiful setting.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Bugs!!! Many bugs on the wall. When we enter the apartment, i used to remove them from the wall. Bug on the last day, they were in the shower towels, my luggage, everything. Disgusting. We told the receptionist, which didn't gave much attention to us. My friend's room was the same. - Clogged toilet. Water took minutes to run away completelly in the shower. **Be aware of the reception which closed at 19:00. If you arive later, you need to pick the keys in the kitchen restaurant.

    Beautiful place. The Hotel is located on the top of the hill, in the middle of vineyard, that is owened by the Hotel (you can taste their wine there; which is very nice). Everything rustic but comfy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were meant to have air con and didn't but maybe we should have said to them when booking. Possibly booking.com's fault as when I booked the room I filtered my search to room with air con and didn't receive one.

    Fantastic location, beautiful setting, great wine extremely peaceful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about this hotel. It's a beautiful winery with very nice mideval style rooms. The view from our room was stunning. We went to the restaurant - the food was great and relatively inxpensive. We will definitely come back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been great to have air con in the room.

    This hotel is in an amazing location. The views are incredible. We stayed in an apartment - it was comfortable and clean. The pool area and gardens were beautiful. Best of all was the staff. They were very friendly and knowledgable - we really enjoyed the wine tasting.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Arrived and was given a very small room, not as advertised, i.e A/C, no, minibar, no, fringe, no, seating area, no, desk, no, etc. Was given an apartment (the only thing they had left) and a complimentary dinner, but the room/apartment was still pretty poor. The noise from the restaurant kitchen extract fan was very loud and meant the bedroom door had to be kept shut in the evening/night. Smoking restaurant guests talked loudly whilst smoking outside the restaurant near our apartment entrance door. Not enough sun loungers for the guests and lacked any shade for all the loungers, (only 3 umbrellas).

    Lovely setting.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had air conditioning and it was Great with having the very hot outside temperatures! Bed was comfortable and slept sound. Wine was excellent and staff went above and beyond to assure everything was Perfect for us! Will definitely return again!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn't mind an additional pillow

    setting and location was superb and the staff couldn't be more friendly. Lovely boutique hotel full of charm. Highly recommend

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice place, the room is very clean! The restaurant inside the hotel is unforgettable!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    An incredible experience!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircondition didn't work. Rooms had very poor sound isolation. Pool didn't have any facilities or sunbeds.

    The staff were fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs are very friendly e nice, the acomodation it is excelente and the place and the view are beautiful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    location and staff,.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the fridge in the room was noisy

    the convenience and service for the event i was taking part in was excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best place ever!

    Stayed in August 2016

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Browse Rocca Di Castagnoli traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: