Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Rocca Di Castagnoli

Località Castagnoli, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy

#4 of 19 vacation rentals in Gaiole in Chianti

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 130 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You will need a car if you want to stay here, but it is well worth it! My partner and I had a wonderful stay. We were on the second floor and there was the option to take stairs or a lift to the room. The bed was very big (bigger than king size) There was an air conditioning unit which was quiet. The shower temperature and pressure was great. Staff were wonderful from start to finish. The breakfast consisted of cakes, cereals, ham, cheese, bread, hot pastries and much more. There was a pool, which was very clean and a good size. I would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    10
    What a place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing at all!

    Stayed at Rocca Di Castagnoli for 4 days. A place i want to recomend! Nice location, good breakfast, nice pool area to relax at and great rooms! The staff was super pleasant, attentative and helpfull. They also make great wine inhouse, offer wine tastings as well sell wine (bought a couple of bottles to bring back home). The view from the room was also magnificent! The town Gaiole in Chianti is close by but it is recomended that you have a car to get around. Around 4-5 hours drive from Milan. Will definitely be back one day :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    10
    A highlight of our Tuscany holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Always wanted to stay at a Stronghold, now that’s it. Beautiful, comfy and very clean room with modern bathroom, and great facilities like a TV room (to watch the World Cup), a clean swimming pool, a restaurant with great food and an excellent service, and lots of things to do in the area (e.g. hiking, sight seeing, running, biking etc.). Close by is also a nice Osteria “Il Bandito”, where we had great food as well. The Rocca is very recommendable, one of the highlights of our Tuscany holidays. Many thanks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    5.4
    Really liked the location and the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It has lots of potential however was very dated and left you feeling that it wasn't very clean

    Really liked the location and the staff. Restaurant was particularly fantastic. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No tea or coffee in the room Maybe this facility coukd have been set up in the communial lounge Maybe the breakfast could be improved.

    Setting of the place and the restaurant was excellent although a bit pricey...so we only ate there one night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    9.6
    Great place with an amazing view! Staff couldn't do enough for us.Great towns close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No restaurant but understand that with 8 spacious rooms it isn't very viable to have one but the breakfast was great

    The whole hotel, the view, the peace and quiet, the pool,the staff!!,proximity to some great little towns,very clean rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    6.3
    Beautiful setting but use as a base to explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was underwhelming, no hot food available and the girl in the restaurant was a little offhand. The restaurant was closed the night we stayed, which I couldn't remember being told when booking or when looking at the website, however the recommended restaurant next door was great. The bed was a bit hard.

    The setting is beautiful and the buildings are lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    7.1
    Only restaurant would not seat us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only restaurant would not seat us. They said we should have mad reservations. The need for a reservation at the on-site restaurant was not made clear to us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    9.6
    A very warm welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Large, lovely pool but couples beware - families stay here so there can be lots of children at times.

    The staff here, especially Cristina and Barbara are amazing. We had an incident with our hire car while there and thanks to them it was minimal disruption rather than the massive headache it could have been. The restaurant, Il Celliere, is also first class and has a beautiful setting.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    5.4
    Beatifull place but many bugs and clogged toilet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Bugs!!! Many bugs on the wall. When we enter the apartment, i used to remove them from the wall. Bug on the last day, they were in the shower towels, my luggage, everything. Disgusting. We told the receptionist, which didn't gave much attention to us. My friend's room was the same. - Clogged toilet. Water took minutes to run away completelly in the shower. **Be aware of the reception which closed at 19:00. If you arive later, you need to pick the keys in the kitchen restaurant.

    Beautiful place. The Hotel is located on the top of the hill, in the middle of vineyard, that is owened by the Hotel (you can taste their wine there; which is very nice). Everything rustic but comfy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful and relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were meant to have air con and didn't but maybe we should have said to them when booking. Possibly booking.com's fault as when I booked the room I filtered my search to room with air con and didn't receive one.

    Fantastic location, beautiful setting, great wine extremely peaceful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2017

    10
    Beautiful place, delicious wine, great service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked everything about this hotel. It's a beautiful winery with very nice mideval style rooms. The view from our room was stunning. We went to the restaurant - the food was great and relatively inxpensive. We will definitely come back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    10
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would have been great to have air con in the room.

    This hotel is in an amazing location. The views are incredible. We stayed in an apartment - it was comfortable and clean. The pool area and gardens were beautiful. Best of all was the staff. They were very friendly and knowledgable - we really enjoyed the wine tasting.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    10
    Perfect find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Perfect find! Incredible on-site restaurant (actually separate to the hotel). Best meal of our trip. Beautiful room, everything we needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    8.8
    View view view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing much to complain

    View view view.. food at the restaurant, and pool were also good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    10
    Highlight of our trip to Tuscany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Highlight of our trip to Tuscany. Fantastic wine a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    9.6
    The hostess was a very nice person and helped us every time...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hostess was a very nice person and helped us every time in a great way! Very pleasant location in an authentic castle!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    10
    Great view , friendly staff and fantastic food. Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful place with breathtaking. Views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing Tuscan Castle Hotel!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite remote!

    Ancient (from 1100 AD), but perfectly redone. Beautiful premises with amazing views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.6
    Great views, winery and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was basic but clean.

    The restaurant, views and staff were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    8.8
    Great choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very nice place, the room is very clean! The restaurant inside the hotel is unforgettable!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    10
    The entire experience was fantastic!
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    An incredible experience!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.1
    The staff were fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Aircondition didn't work. Rooms had very poor sound isolation. Pool didn't have any facilities or sunbeds.

    The staff were fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    10
    All
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    9.2
    The staffs are very friendly e nice, the acomodation it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staffs are very friendly e nice, the acomodation it is excelente and the place and the view are beautiful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    9.2
    location and staff,.
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    location and staff,.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2016

    10
    l'eroica fantastic venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the fridge in the room was noisy

    the convenience and service for the event i was taking part in was excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Browse Rocca Di Castagnoli Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: