Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of B&B Galileo 2000

Piazza San Firenze, 3, Uffizi, 50122 Florence, Italy

#347 of 536 B&Bs and Inns in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 175 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful room, excellent location, wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed wasn't very comfortable but we still slept well.

    Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Room was immaculate and even better than photos. Location was perfect. We asked about laundry services and the staff took our clothes and washed them for us. So far above what we would have expected and we were so appreciative. Breakfast was also delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Location in Florence could hardly be bettered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not really a not like. Some rooms have street views while we have had no views on our two visits. Obviously the rooms with views are limited in number.

    Location is excellent. Our room was enormous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Awesome view in super central stylish accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is scarce (some brioche left the day before in the room). However, there’re very nice bakeries to have breakfast just around the corner.

    The view from our room was great. Decoration is very stylish. Everything is clean and comfortable. Location is insuperable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful room in the heart of Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flyshing system produces quite loud, unpredictable sounds. This can interfere with people with sensitive sleep

    Great location (David in two steps), authentic design, a teapot and small snack set in your room. Big room with comfortable bed, a table for tea and a desk

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Our room was amazing, direct view to Piazza Firenci.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike about the property. There’s however room to improve regarding the breakfast. It only includes a small brioche and some bread with Nutella/marmalade that it’s place in the room the day before. In any case, super close to very nice bakeries in which enjoying a real breakfast.

    Our room was amazing, direct view to Piazza Firenci. Very stylish classic decoration. Located in the heart of the city, with less than 10 minutes walk to almost everything there. Very high cleaning standards.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was noise from the piazza in the second room. This was not a fault of the hotel at all. The noise from the street bounces off the cathedral opposite. We just wore ear plugs and all was good. Very happy with the hotel otherwise.

    The first room we were given was tastefully furnished and very clean. However, there was a continual machinery noise, possibly from outside that kept us awake all night. The receptionist quickly changed our room the next morning and we were given a much larger, beautiful room with doors looking down to the piazza below.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location, clean, restfull
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, only the top apartment had the up the stairs restroom, but it ended up being our favourite thing- really a first in my travels! Can't think of anything we didn't get a kick out of, um , maybe the overlong shower curtain?

    Gemmy was our contact and her son, a wonderful young man, helped out also. Super people! No breakfast, that's okay, we could go eat all the sweet fattening food and drink all the cafe Americana we wanted:) Location was great. Lots of stairs, lots and lots of stairs, not for someone who has trouble with climbing or balance. We had the top floor apartment with an outdoor patio where we could see the ocean and the town, beautiful, especially at night with the small amount of lights twinkling in the city. It was a real experience, one we still laugh about as a highlight of the trip- others might think "no way", but to get to the bathroom AND the outdoor patio to enjoy the view, one had to climb an outside ladder!! We would just grab a cup of coffe in the morning and sit and enjoy and if one needed the restroom at night, grab a glass of wine and stay up there awhile enjoying the night! Lol we really got a kick out of "our rooftop restroom and shower" and the beautiful view afforded us by going up the ladder:) !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.9
    We had a great time. Would highly recommend this venue for a short break in Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were originally allocated room 1. It was terrible. Small, dark with no views and the air con system was outside the window. Would have preferred a more varied choice for breakfast. Bathrooms are very basic and need modernising. Plumbing noisy when using bathroom. We had a "mini bar". it was a fridge, with no drinks other than free water on our first day.

    We stayed in room number 5 after a request to be moved. It was big, airy, beautiful views with King and double beds. Breakfast was at a lovely café, 2 mins from property. Breakfast consists of your choice of croissants (1 small and 1 standard), a drink of choice and an orange juice. Location is fantastic. Although based in the centre of the city the building is old and the hotel is upstairs so it was quiet. The hairdryer was the best ever we have used in a hotel, both inside and outside of UK. We travel a lot!! We booked 2 free walking tours before we left the UK. Would highly recommend. Covers the main attractions and gives you good advice on where to eat etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    Big spacious clean and with a view of the square below.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been nice to have had breakfast provided. But to be honest it was a three minute walk to the shop to get some croissant

    The room was very big, cleran and spacious, The view out of the window was great - looking out onto a square. Very near to most of the tourist attractions

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Have visited Florence twice and due to the value and location stayed at the Galileo 2000 both times
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location in Florence was excellent. Restaurant in the same plaza offered indoor and covered outdoor seating and had a excellent choice of Italian cuisine and was very convenient to the Galileo 2000.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.1
    Great location but will pay more to be more comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its bed and breakfast without the breakfast. I do highly recommend improving on the bed as it was very uncomfortable. I could feel and hear the springs on the bed. We have children with us and it would be more convenient if they have food or snacks on site even if it's to purchase.

    Staff were friendly but are only on site limited of time. Location is perfect and convenient to everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    very nice location, very helpful staff with great smiles :D
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    because I'm studying Italian, I always try to say something in their language and people who work there were kindly waited for my words finished. that was really kind! and their recommendations are all suite on us, restaurants and shops, things we need to see, etc. location is great, just 4mins to Duomo area, 4mins to Uffizzi Gallery, 5mins to Ponte Vecchio, 2mins to very nice restaurant, 20seconds to cafeteria! me and my mom were so happy to stay here. thank you!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    8.3
    Convenient to everything in Florence and large rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Travelling with 6 people- 2 room apartment and we were told we were getting a single room with 4 single beds and the other with a double bed. - but that wasnt the case - There was a sectional sofabed in the kitchen arera that could be converted into a double bed and it was broken and she said no it wasnt broken. and i sat on it and it flopped in front of her and only than she asked the helper to bring a really flimsy uncomfortable spring fold up bed for me and my brother had to repair the bed and after that it was ok. I stayed in 5 cities in Italy and the other 4 hotels gave me receipts for my payment but this hotel asked to get my receipt from Booking .com. Otherwise great hotel and facilities.

    extremely convenient - as well tourist office right outside the main entrance.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.6
    Atmospheric location and building
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the plumbing but hey it's an historic building. That made up for it!

    A fabulous location and spacious room. Very relaxing. There was noise from people in the bars and restaurant on the piazza outside but that was fine as it added to the atmosphere of really being in the centre of Florence. I would definitely want to stay in this hotel again if I came back to Florence.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Great position, clean, safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great position, clean, safe.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our stay immensely; definitely would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge room, great staff, fantastic location, comfortable beds, very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    The property manager, Mrs Elena was very helpful and kind. Thanks to her.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the room had not street view, but there was noting to say " didn't I like"

    Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea facilities, shower poor

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Super place and room in florense style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super place and room in florense style

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    Great location and the staffs are friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and the staffs are friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.3
    Central location, spacious room (apart from bathroom in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dusty, lacking amenities, cramped bathroom.

    Central location, spacious room (apart from bathroom in allocated room). Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    it was great.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    great location,, staff warm welcome,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasant staff and good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning. Mine was broken but lovable. Lighting could improve v

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    3.3
    AC was broken and no one on staff would answer phone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    AC was broken and no one on staff would answer phone. no staff at front deck except during check in

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.9
    The whole experience was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the lady El is was wonderful she helped two people that had never been in Florence have a great time

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    5.4
    Never stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in main bedroom bath, A/C didn't work until last night, staff never around, beds didn't get changed twice in one week

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Great BB in the heart of Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was great. Bathroom fully remodeled. Very enjoyable stay. Excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    7.5
    The location was wonderful with great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The check in was too quick and unfriendly. I felt like I was an inconvenience. When I stay at a B&B I expect my breakfast on site, not up the street. Due to the lights from across the street, the curtains were really sheers which did not block the lights which shown directly in your eyes all night. The Oeruvian Embassy was on our floor and the people started lining up at 7:30 in the morning in our hallway and stairwell which was a bit unnerving when you stepped out the door. Because of this the building door was not kept locked during the day.

    The location was wonderful with great views. The size of the guest room was extremely large, especially the bath. It felt more like a flat and you could feel more of what it would be to live in the city.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    5.0
    Location was perfect for a short city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hot water in the mornings! Spoke to another couple who also had no hot water in the mornings so not just us starting our days with a cold shower. And reception never manned so no one to ask questions/report the lack of hot water.

    Location was perfect for a short city break.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    10
    The family-like atmosphere was evident as they nurtured...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The internet was difficult in my room but overall the room was great with a wonderful view of the Piazza.

    The family-like atmosphere was evident as they nurtured hospitality with me and the other guests. I felt that I had ample privacy, as well.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    9.2
    Very good location and a spacious clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    B&B with only one "B" since breakfast was not included. But at a special price of €5, breakfast could be bought at a bar in the same building so it was ok.

    Very good location and a spacious clean room.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    5.4
    Great location and rooms are comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff did not show us how to turn on hot water (why was it off anyway?) and did not respond to why the air conditioning did not work.

    Great location and rooms are comfortable

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    4.2
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hot water..at all and very hard pillows and two single beds shoved together to make a double but two different heights made for uncomfortable Night sleep. staff were not very friendly. No window to outside world.

    Location was excellent. Parking for car was convenient arranged through local garage.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    7.9
    location was great and the apartment comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite a bit of street noise and there is a smell from the drainage.

    location was great and the apartment comfortable

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    8.8
    Location was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The toilet had a fan connected and was loud.

    Location was excellent!

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    7.1
    Nice very large rooms, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Nice very large rooms, good location.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    8.8
    Antique room spacious and interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No parking; a mile from public garage; poor information from hotel on parking

    Antique room spacious and interesting

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    10
    The city view was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Entering it was hard, poor signage

    The city view was great!

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.2
    Helpfulness of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small problem was the machinery hum outside my window at night

    Helpfulness of staff. Lovely big rooms with individual decor.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    8.3
    View from the window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    View from the window.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: