Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Musciara Siracusa Resort This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Riviera Dionisio Il Grande 42, 96100 Syracuse, Italy

#2 of 45 hotels in Syracuse

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 88 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    Relaxing, peaceful and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Beach View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walk into Ortegia isn't the prettiest but its not far, and you could always stay on your private beach instead if you wanted.

    Great breakfast, amazing beach. Lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    10
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    You might want to eat dinner out

    This was so lovely that I am loathe to give a excellent review in case we couldn't get in next time. Don't be put be off by the location next to the marina car park because when you get inside it is an oasis of calm and beauty. The decor of the hotel is well thought and out and is restful and calm. The staff was brilliant and so was the room. Ask for a sea view as it is amazing. Also it is quiet but it is a short stroll in to Ortigia with it's variety of restaurants and things to do. The car stayed in the car park for a week.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic room with heavenly views of sea and Ortygia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just suggestions as we had fantastic time and hotel is beautiful. Breakfast was fantastic but it would have been nice to have a snack menu in the daytime and for the beach. A little more storage space in bedroom would have been helpful as we were there for 5 days - e.g. chest of drawers as well as the wardrobe.

    Fantastic room with heavenly views of sea and Ortygia.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    10
    What I especially liked was the breakfast, it was perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What I especially liked was the breakfast, it was perfect and the coffee excellent. The sun rises and goes down in front of the hotel and the private beach. To have breakfast in the sun two meters from the see was a wonderful experience. There is no reason to look elsewere nextime I am in the province of Syracuse.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    10
    The Musciara is a small friendly family hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Slightly isolated from the centre so you may need taxis to for sightseeing and evening excursions

    The Musciara is a small friendly family hotel. It is a little oasis of calm with a near perfect beach. Just lovely for lazing the days away with super service and food. Breakfasts are a particular favourite of ours

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Beach View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The photos on their website are terrible and don't do the property justice.

    Everything. It was amazing. The location was a bit far out but we didn't mind that. The staff were phenomenal, the food was excellent, the decorations were beautiful. I would definitely go back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic location directly on a private beach, overlooking Ortigia. Everything in the property was really well done, with a distinguished class and amazing style. Staff and owners very friendly and helpful, all handled in a professional way. No kids policy is what attracted us more. Everything, from restaurant, beach, rooms etc was based on super quality. The restaurant was directly on the Sea, could be a Michelin starred. Sea was so transparent and water very clean, like a natural swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    10
    I had to keep pinching myself to make sure I wasn't dreaming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi was a bit hit and miss but it gave us more time to take in the wonderful view.

    Amazing place, fantastic setting, beautiful detail throughout and the staff made you feel like family. Private beach made you feel like a rockstar. We will be back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    10
    We absolutely adored staying at the Musciara resort, it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Beach View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We absolutely adored staying at the Musciara resort, it was much more than we expected and everything was impeccable. Would truly recommend this resort.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    10
    Musciara Resort is Siracusa's secret paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expect to extend your stay the moment you walk through the door. I intended to stay for three nights and stayed for a week. This hotel is exquisite, as is the host Laura who will make you feel at home as soon as she greets you. The hotel has been beautifully designed with elegant furnishings. It has a clean private beach with Ortigia as its backdrop. No need to stay on Ortigia when you can stroll to it from here and wind down afterwards with a swim and cool drink by the sea. There is also a great menu making it even harder to leave the premises! This place is a sanctuary. It will connect you to Sicily in a way that is difficult to describe. You will come back again and again as so many guests have done so already. Personally I have found my Sicilian family. I will be back to see them as soon as I can.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in a wonderful location in Syracuse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom was a bit small and quite dark.

    The view from the room was fantastic. The towels were a decent size, so often they're little more than large hand towels. All the staff were very good and very helpful. The location of the dining tables right by the sea was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2017

    10
    Sensational hotel and staff!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NOTHING

    The hotel set on its own private beach made for one of the most enjoyable holidays we have even enjoyed. Staff were friendly, willing to assist with every need, along with providing helpful information on places to visit. Food was fresh, healthy, beaufifull presented and delicious to eat. The private beach just one metre from the dinner table was truly divine, we cannot wait to revisit this stunning hotel. 10/10..... Perfection ..... Treat yourself to this wonderful, relaxing resort.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic place to relax, maybe the only one with a private beach in Syracuse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was small but had a good view. No balcony. The room we stayed in was no.3 Meals very expensive but you do not have to eat here.

    This hotel has all the comforts you require and a fantastic beach. The sun loungers were very comfortable with a very think lounge cover. Toilets and shower for easy access on the beach. And the breakfast was amazing, fresh food, lovely cheese and salami, fresh fruit and so many cakes. Real fresh orange juice. Staff very polite. Would definitely stay here again when in Sicily

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2016

    8.3
    The staff were really nice, the rooms were pretty and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi not very good. Very loud music on the Saturday night (from neighborhood club). Also, I don't think they should charge guests a 5 Euro cover charge every time they sit down for a meal.

    The staff were really nice, the rooms were pretty and comfortable with great AC. The food was nice, and the complimentary breakfast spread was yummy - lots of delicious cheeses and meats. The private beach is the reason to stay here, it is wonderful. Sit back and have a glass of wine on the comfy lounge chair in the gazebo, then go for a long swim in the sea. Perfection.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2016

    5.8
    Could be a great hotel if they worked a bit harder at looking after their guests' needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our main irritation was that wifi capacity is so limited that it was almost impossible to get on. For this reason alone we would not recommend it unless wifi is not needed. Breakfast was a weak spot - things tended to run out and the coffee was watery - probably the worst I have had in Italy. The staff were pleasant enough but very disorganised and forgot lots of the little things you need ( no water not in our bedroom, reception left unmanned for long periods when you needed something etc).

    The location was terrific in terms of the view and the little private beach, though you do have a 20 minute walk into Ortigia. The style and decor was great, though in the rooms, the style trumped convenience and there was very little space to put any of your things.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2016

    10
    A little paradise! Just amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Separate Building
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The amazing breakfast, the kindness of the staff and above all of Laura&Salvo. You feel like a special guest of the family... A must, the Musciara salad. You feel in a little paradise... Finally, Badi the aristocratic dog!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2016

    2.9
    The room was small with only a small wardrobe for clothes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Beach View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was small with only a small wardrobe for clothes. The bathroom was tiny and the shower tray had small cracks. Our room flooded with water when it rained heavily and when we complained the owner said it was because we had left the window open. We had not. There was a very busy road behind the hotel so we couldn't have the window open as traffic noise was so bad. We had such a bad time we asked for some money back as we wanted to leave. We were given nothing but left anyway as our experience was so shocking and so upsetting. We have never complained about a hotel before.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2016

    5.8
    the resort was well set up and maintained and the owners...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the staff were not very helpful and one in particular reminded us of Basil from faulty towers - everything we asked for was seemingly a problem

    the resort was well set up and maintained and the owners were pleasant and welcoming - the food was excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    10
    Like between two pillows...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unfortunately, the holidays are over

    Fantastic experience: Laura and Salvo were always present, but with discretion to make us spend a wonderful vacation.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2016

    10
    a gem of a hotel with its own private beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    a gem of a hotel with its own private beach. we also had an amazing view of the sea and of ortigia from our room. breakfast is served right at the water's edge and the breakfast spread is fantastic (fresh fruit, local cheeses and charcuterie, freshly made bread and pastries and freshly squeezed Sicilian orange juice). the staff were consistently warm, friendly and helpful. we would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2016

    9.6
    Dream location and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The airco in the room was too cold and the temperature could effektively not be adjusted (the temperature regulator did not work)

    The private beach, the terrace, the excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2016

    10
    Excellent location with beach near historic centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was no light meal option for lunch. The lunch menu was the same as the dinner menu.

    Excellent location with beach near historic centre of Siracusa. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent place to stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2017

    10
    It was fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Beach View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was fantastic!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    10
    A piece of paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful location on the sea

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2016

    10
    The 'Only' place to stay in Siracusa....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Incredible location, wonderful hospitality, sensational style.. Can't wait to return and enjoy it all over again!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2016

    10
    A little piece of paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Beach View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect. Stunning location. Friendly and attentive staff. Gorgeous beach. It really was a lovely place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    10
    Lovely boutique hotel with a cute private beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Beach View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Have stayed here before, absolutely love it :-) Laura runs a wonderful small hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2016

    10
    Beautiful views and sensational service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked everything about this resort hotel.

    We had a beautiful room overlooking the water. The private beach is sensational.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2016

    9.6
    Lovely beach and delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely beach and delicious breakfast. Easy walk to Ortigia and Syracuse attractions

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2016

    10
    Fantastic hotel, definitely best place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedrooms are a little small and shower specifically is small

    Food, service and amazing to have a beach in a town

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2016

    10
    This is a gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a gem! Lovely small hotel on the beach within walking distance of Ortigia. Fantastic friendly staff make you feel really comfortable. Food and wine superb. We loved being so close to the sea. The apartment room on the water was really special. Thank you Laura! Can't wait to return.

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2016

    9.6
    The staff were very attentive and we felt very well looked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only complaint would be that the bed was a little hard for our preference

    The staff were very attentive and we felt very well looked after. The view for breakfast was stunning.

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2016

    9.2
    great location directly next to the water, super friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You have to walk 20min to go to the oldtown (Ortigia), road behind the hotel quite noisy (have to close the window in the night), extras a bit expensive (e.g. 5 Euros for a small coke)

    great location directly next to the water, super friendly and helpful staff that knows the region well and gives good advices, nice private beach, restaurant (for breakfast/lunch) is really nice and with a spectacular view to the city, free parking, really clean facility, a lot of privacy and calm since the hotel is quite small

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2016

    10
    Delightful location with sea breeze.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Disappointing reception area but understand this is being altered dramatically.

    Delightful location with sea breeze. Excellent breakfast on the terrace. Wonderful terrace/beach beds on which to collapse after a day walking around the sights.

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2015

    10
    The decor was chic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The decor was chic Much pride was taken in the presentation of every part of the resort. Intimate bar The staff were very attentive. The dog was a favourite.

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2015

    9.2
    The restaurant situated above water has the best and most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I don't like walking outside the hotel area. The walk to Ortigia is rundown and there is not much to see. We made the wrong decision to walk around the city looking for churches that were shown on the map. They are not worth the walk on the city which made me feel really unsafe and intimidated. The toilet is a bit small, and I wish there was separate shampoo and hair conditioner when the toiletries are of luxury brand.

    The restaurant situated above water has the best and most romantic view amongst our whole week in Sicily. The dinner was so good - try the grilled fish platter it could well be our favourite dish, beating Michelin star restaurant in the region. The best breakfast too, I felt like a queen looking at the extensive breakfast set out nicely on the long table. The decoration of the hotel is really outstanding. We heard from the owner Laura the hotel was previously a tuna factory. They did so much work in renovating the place and displaying the numerous collectibles around the setting area where we spent time chilling. Staff are exceptional and gave us nice surprises. The beach at the resort is a bonus.

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2015

    10
    We stayed in an apartment (54) which was perfect, included...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As others have said the road the hotel is on is narrow and some of the old buildings are run down, but from inside the hotel and beautiful grounds you would not know. We walked most nights on to Ortigia easily and without feeling unsafe.

    We stayed in an apartment (54) which was perfect, included parking space and full access to hotel. Large roof top terrace was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2015

    5.4
    No assistance from the staff as to local facilities such as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No assistance from the staff as to local facilities such as restaurants, it is a boutique hotel where the owner and staff behave as if privileged to be a guestl

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2015

    9.6
    Our 2nd trip to Musciara and it was a lovely as the 1st.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Even though the hotel is adult only the beach is not which was a bit of a disappointment since we were travelling without our kids. The beach seems to be shared with possibly another hotel so can get very busy.

    Our 2nd trip to Musciara and it was a lovely as the 1st. Only a short walk to Ortigia. Lovely beach, great food and wonderful staff.

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2015

    9.6
    The staff and owners were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The menu should include more choices; it was the same menu every day. A stronger wifi signal would also be helpful.

    The staff and owners were very friendly.

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2015

    10
    It was truly the most AMAZING place to stay and we all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was truly the most AMAZING place to stay and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves - its location was great, the staff were all wonderful & helpful, Laura has created something very very unique and very very special and we look forward to coming to stay again soon and will most highly recommend this slice of paradise to our friends.

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2015

    10
    The very personal attentive service, the attention to detail...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing!

    The very personal attentive service, the attention to detail in the décor but in particular the food!. Beautiful local produce served right by the lapping sea. And amazingly quiet (just the right amount of guests). And the owner, Laura, was extremely helpful booking activities for us. Best kept secret in Siracusa!

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2015

    9.6
    Location so close to centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location so close to centre. Room 1 has own patio, incl private service if hotel quiet. Intimate. First class staff. Only beach in Syracuse! Sound of sea.

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2015

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast with great choice and very fresh food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room seemed overpriced. It did have a sea view but no balcony and it was also overlooking a busy road.

    Excellent breakfast with great choice and very fresh food. The terrace is right next to the water with lovely views over to the old town. Room comfortable and well furnished. The beach is also clean and well kept with plenty of comfortable sun loungers and umbrellas. Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2015

    9.6
    This was our first visit to lovely Siracusa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On rainy nights you could hear the raindrops fall into the extractor hood (which kept me awake for hours). Though the apartment was thoroughly insulated, you could still hear a bit of the traffic on the busy road (Riviera Dionisio Il Grande), which calls for some serious speed bumps, as the speed limit (40kmh) is pretty much ignored by all cars.

    This was our first visit to lovely Siracusa. The apartment had no less then three floors, including a large roof terrace, with stunning views over the Ionian Sea. The people at Musciara Resort (Laura and her brother Salvatore) are absolutely wonderful, and are willing to do anything to make your holidays a fantastic experience. Because it was Xmas time, the apartment was tastefully decorated, and some gifts were awaiting our arrival (a bottle of Prosecco and a Pandoro). The private beach is well kept and just around the corner. It was 24°C on Xmas-day 2014, so when lucky you can even take a dip in winter. Upon arrival the WiFi didn't seem to work, but the modem was replaced within a few hours. Ortigia, the picturesque peninsula, is just a few blocks away. Daytrips to Ragusa and Noto are very much recommended.

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave.

    Everything! Breakfast was a delight. The annex was sublime. Staff, Owners..the dog all amazing. Has it's own beach too

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2015

    10
    Food is perfect, the staff is very friendly and helpfull,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Food is perfect, the staff is very friendly and helpfull, beautifull beach with view and nice rooms with seaview

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2015

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect.

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2015

    10
    very nice service,a dream hotel,I can sleep with the sea。
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    very nice service,a dream hotel,I can sleep with the sea。

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2015

    10
    Beautiful location, really nice beach and an excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful location, really nice beach and an excellent restaurant.

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2015

    9.6
    Having the beach to escape to in the middle of the day was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Having the beach to escape to in the middle of the day was like 2 holidays in one.

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2015

    10
    The place was amazing, great location, really friendly staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The place was amazing, great location, really friendly staff and relaxing place.

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2015

    8.8
    seafront location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    seafront location comfortable quiet room with sea view nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2015

    9.6
    Musciara.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Musciara. A little Oasis on the edge of antiquity.

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2015

    10
    beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    beach

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2015

    9.2
    Most things!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited restaurant menu, but lots of other restaurants close-by

    Most things!

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2015

    9.2
    The beach and the dining right next to the water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The beach and the dining right next to the water.

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2015

    9.6
    The views form the room, the beach & the terrace,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The views form the room, the beach & the terrace, attentive staff

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2015

    10
    location on waterfront, easy parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    location on waterfront, easy parking

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Browse Musciara Siracusa Resort Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: