Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Napoleon 4 stars

Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II 105, Central Station, 00185 Rome, Italy

#172 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1261 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    satisfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed is comfy. the location is good, right next to metro. we can go anywhere easily. and there are some restaurants around. The buffet breakfast in the hotel is excellent. no doubt, I will go back next trip.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was not great but included in price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the nicest neighbourhood. Old hotel so 2 elevators to get to room.

    Breakfast was not great but included in price. Great location next to Metro but not the nicest part of Rome

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Best place to stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service and respect for the customer at this hotel is beyond measurement. If I could rate it higher I would. The morning breakfast was great. They were also so kind as to send up a bottle of champagne on my birthday. The hotel front door is steps away from the Rome metro station and about a 15-minute walk to the Colosseum. The attention from the lead Concierge, Roberto Lombardi, was exceptional.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Our room was superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No aircon in the hallways so you left your room comfortable then it was sweltering in the hallways but other than that would definitely stay there again

    Our room was superb The front desk staff were very helpful on all areas of enquires

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed mattress was very hard. The room was smaller than expected. The shower was very small - not a lot of room to manoeuvre about. The hair dryer in the bathroom was placed very high up - not a problem for me as a tall person but a smaller person would have struggled.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is what makes it. Right next to an A line metro station and only 10-15 minute walk from the colloseum. Really handy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    Good location & clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not as advertised. No balcony. Bar area was reminiscent of faulty towers. Advertising American coffee - seriously! In Italy and you are giving guests American coffee which was not only undrinkable but was cold all 3 mornings

    Good location & clean. Staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    I love Hotel Napoleon and feel very lucky to have discovered this family run gem
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am a returning guest so there is really not a lot to note .. perhaps a teaspoon for tea/coffee would help as well as cutlery for cutting fruit etc and a plate .. I also needed an iron at one stage

    The breakfast is wonderful and there is simply nothing left out that you could wish for . They are happy to bring a perfect espresso or cappuccino to the table if requested. My favourite place in this hotel is the beautiful welcoming lounge with many comfortable seating areas and daily newspapers along with the adjoined restaurant serving coffee and drinks in the lounge . The front desk staff are very welcoming and go to great lengths to accommodate and answer questions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Good Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm and welcoming establishment. Professionally run and staff endeavour to be extremely helpful. Rooms are of a decent size, clean and air conditioned. The staff are all very helpful and take care of guests.

    The park opposite is populated by the lowest form of humanity known to mankind.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Good Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The park opposite is populated by complete and utter degenerates.

    Staff are extremely efficient and amicable. Rooms represent excellent value for a fairly central location in Rome. The hotel is professionally run and management take a genuine interest in client satisfaction. This hotel has more character than other establishments that are somewhat lacking in a distinctive style.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Very homely hotel with pleasant staff. Very good value for money and would stay again in a heartbeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast. Lovely room and bathroom and shower was good. Staff were very helpful and friendly and it felt more like a home than a hotel. We sat in the bar and had a drink on the first evening which was nice and relaxing. This hotel is only within a 10 minute walk to the colosseum and a 5 minute taxi ride to the train station. I would really recommend this hotel and I think is very good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel that is located near the main attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The four star Hotel Napolean is located within walking distance of the Termini station and all of the major sites including the Trevi Fountain, Coliseum and Spanish Steps. The lobby of this hotel is very beautiful and the breakfast is filling and delicious. There are many restaurants and shops within walking distance. The hotel's restaurant offers excellent meals that are reasonably priced. I recommend this hotel to fellow travelers.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Very nice staff and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is not that nice but it is kinda close to the Colisseum and Train station(about 15-20 mins).

    The rooms were clean and pretty big. The staff was always available to help us. The food in the bar was good. The metro was right outside of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.2
    Rome beautiful but hotel room not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room was really terrible and such a disappointment. Cracked, dirty tiles in the bathroom. Cracked sink. The bedroom needed to be painted. Black mould on the paintwork in the bathroom walls. The room and bathroom were not at all up to standard for a 4 star room. We were very disappointed. We were aware that the area was not too good, but we expected the hotel rooms to be of a good standard, especially after reading reviews. I would say that the rooms were 3 star at best.

    The general hotel lobby and reception were very nice. The historic statues and pictures were very charming and added to a good image for the general areas. One benefit was that the gym was a fairly good standard.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely, clean tidy and relaxing atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was small (had booked a single room) all very clean and modern but the shower cubicle was just that bit too small. I am a tall person and to get to my feet bending down I would knock the shower door - had to keep the door open to be able to wash lower half! My travelling companion also had issues with the shower - even taller than I am. This was minor compared to all the positives. Just will have to book a room with a bath next time.

    The hotel is a well established family run business so it is exactly that. Comfortable but not luxurious. The bed was comfortable, tea and coffee facilities , efficient air conditioning and, a plus, a balcony. No views but lovely to go out - mind you it was so hot when visiting that it was better to stay inside. Really loved the location - close to Colosseum, Roman Forum, Palantino. About 30 minutes walk to other attractions but metro station just 6 metres from Hotel entrance - perfect. Could get to outskirts in less than 15 minutes. Breakfast good choices. Staff all very welcoming and friendly. Oh just remembered that there was a lovely large area with TV to relax in the evening if you did not wish to spend your time in your room and a small gym with a large balcony area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Great location with the Metro at your doorstep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location with the Metro at your doorstep! Onsite complementary hot & cold breakfast as well as a resto/bar for lazy and late night convenience!! Staff are super friendly and very accommodating like your own personal concierge. Handled any tour bookings, taxis and dinner reso's we wanted! Rooms very spacious (we had a King room with armour, desk, 2 night stands and wall mounted TV. The bathroom was recently Reno'd with glass tiled shower/rain head, toilet, sink and bidet. This hotel is only a 15 minute walk to the Colosseum, across the street from the nicest green space in Rome and with shops and eateries at your feet. Hop the Metro and 4 stops away you're at the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain and only 3 more stops and you are at the Vatican!! DON'T think twice about booking this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    All in all staff very polite and room cleaned every day and clean towels left
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    BReakfast not that much choice,croissants a bit stale and bread not that fresh.,but saying that we knew we would be eating out during the day.

    Bed comfortable,Breakfast adequate,Location not bad for getting around.Room a bit on small side but fine for the few nights we stayed.You get what you pay for.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    Clean rooms, nice staff , good European breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typical SMALL shower stall and no lift to get to our 3rd floor room.

    Clean rooms, nice staff , good European breakfast. Although close walk to Grand Canal and Rialto bridge, it was difficult to locate for check in, even the locals didn’t know where it was.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Location close to train station and all sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bedroom was on the small side but adequate. The bathroom was very small, the shower cubicle extremely small and nowhere for 2 people to put toileteries etc.

    Location close to train station and all sights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel, great food great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    to be honest very little

    The hotel is excellent value for money. Great location superb staff and the breakfast is brilliant both continental and eggs bacon sausage superb service all round extremely quiet despite central location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    A very comfortable hotel with good bar and lounges. Would not hesitate to book in again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were happy with everything.

    We liked the spaciousness of the lounges, the decor of our room including the balcony and good location. Stayed for two nights and would not hesitate to come again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable, friendly and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only criticism is that the mechanism to open/close the plug on the sink was broken and should have been fixed before.

    From the moment we arrived at reception at the Hotel Napoleon until checking out three days later we have only positive things to say about the staff and facilities in the hotel. Anything we needed, from early breakfast in the bar at 6.30am on the Wednesday to fixing the broken plug in the bathroom to providing extra pillows, nothing was too much trouble! Staff were always friendly and helpful. Our room (#414) was spacious and very comfortable, the breakfasts were tasty (so much choice) and the hotel location is great too! We walked to most of the sights we visited, including the Colisseum only 15 minutes away. When we’re next in Rome we’ll definitely stay at the Hotel Napoleon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Loved it!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of any.

    Before our arrival, I emailed them to confirm we’d get separate twin beds for my mom and I. They were prompt with their reply and the room they gave us was spacious - we loved it - more than what I was expecting! They also had a complimentary wine and cocktails with cheese, crackers, meat, etc. on Saturday evening for the guests and we met a lot of people. It was a fantastic night! Roberto Cioce, owner, welcomed us and talked to everyone that night. He was a pleasant man. The whole staff were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was great - plenty to choose from. The concierge team was also patient and friendly. And I loved the bartenders - they were great! I enjoyed talking to them during our wine and cocktails. This hotel has a great team! I will definitely come back to this hotel on our next visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location OK for walking to Colosseum/Forum and to central station but may be too far for some with large luggage.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good restaurant, limited menu but nice food. Good breakfast. Nice areas to relax in, including terrace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    The staff are outstandingly welcoming, helpful and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are outstandingly welcoming, helpful and friendly making a stay here a real pleasure. The breakfast gluten free option is the best we have ever been offered and gluten free is on the evening menu. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Ancient Rome is only 15 minutes walk away. The metro is outside the front door for getting further afield. The hotel was easy to deal with to arrange a car from the airport and had no problem keeping luggage secure for a late afternoon departure. I would always use and recommend this hotel for a stay in Rome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay - would get back in a heartbeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location - the little park outside is very nice and the street outside offers street vendors, shops and places where you can eat or drink. 10 minutes walking to the Colosseum thru nice neighborhoods. Staff - this is my favorite part of the hotel - the friendliest staff you can imagine Breakfast and restaurant/bar - loved the breakfast and having beer/wine in a nice environment after long day was just awesome!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Staff was friendly, room was spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area wasn’t nice, although it was within a walking distance from the colloseum, it didn’t feel safe, it’s fine if you’re travelling with a group of people I guess.

    Staff was friendly, room was spacious and clean. Theresa subway station right he door if the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Clean, great staff, good food, but the hotel and room layout is not convenient, optimal or modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of steps, small elevators, very small room, very small shower, bathroom layout not convenient or optimal...toilet stuck back in corner behind sink.

    Staff was very nice and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    The rooms were clean and very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surrounding area outside the hotel was a bit run down and dirty

    The rooms were clean and very quiet. The staff was fantastic and very accommodating !!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    Great staff but not the best area in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very old and needs a lot of work doing. Small rooms, we had a family room with no view only one window facing the garden blocked by fire exit stairs. Not the hotels fault but the park outside the hotel doesn’t feel safe with litter in many places. Full off drunk all age people using drugs too. It’s definitely not the best area in the city maybe because it is close to main station too. Tip for our older generation - you will have to take 2 separate and very small lifts to get too your room if you want to avoid stairs to get from the reception to the hotels main area.

    Breakfast included and metro outside the hotel. Polite staff, great service and confi beds. Not great but good value for money in Rome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.8
    Convenient location and acceptible standard of room and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not ready for 3 people (as it was booked for 3) on our arrival. There was never a third bath towel replaced, had to request it every day. The breakfast was on a poor side, with a very limited selection and low quality foods. Coffee was so bad!

    Proseco for my birthday brought to my room was a very pleasant surprise. Conciege was very friendly and gave us some tips on metro and walk around the city. Pre booked taxi service was exellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We arrived 3 hours early, this presented no problem as our rooms were ready. The staff here are excellent and extremely helpful. The hotel is old, very clean and very comfortable. Dining at the hotel was also very good, be it breakfast, dinner or just a snack. You are made to feel very comfortable during your stay. High quality service is the way they do business.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Lovely staff perfect location home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we did not like about this hotel

    My husband and I stayed here from the 9th of March till the 12th some brilliant points about the hotel wich include The amazing friendly staff The bar staff with the cocktails and wine tasting The decoration of the hotel with sculptures and painting flowed with the hole theme of the hotel and the city Clean and tidy Spacious rooms Whist we stayed here it was my birthday the night when we returned to be hotel I received a bottle of presseco which was delivered to the room with a note wishing me a happy birthday Wich I thourght was so nice and shows how the hotel really dose care about the guests it was this act of kindness and all the above comments why if we return to Rome we will defiantly be booking in to Regis hotel Thank you for a amazing and memorable stay Would defiantly recommend

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Extremely well appointed and professionally run. The location could not be better (metro outside door), very close to all major tourist sites. Excellent value for money, and we will be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a little basic - which was surprising considering the high level of room service the evening before.

    The room service (for dinner) hands down the best we experienced in Europe over almost 3 weeks. Just great value for money. The hotel staff were also just fantastic. Allowing us to keep our room (after normal check out at 11am) until 6pm that evening (late flight) without any difficulty and not even a suggestion that we needed to pay extra, was really appreciated :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.0
    Very disapointed with the rooms and the area of the Hotel,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All rooms offered to us (3 off) had frosted glass !! which made the rooms dull and dreary. Hotel is very tired and requires updating. Area of hotel very poor with closed park opposite, litter everywhere and a lot of people sleeping on the streets.

    Staff were polite and helpful. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Very good transfer service at only a few Euros more than the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We thought that the transfer service would be included in the room bill but it isn't unless you ask. Luckily we had enough cash left over.

    Very good transfer service at only a few Euros more than the train would cost. Got us to the airport with plenty of time to spare on the way back. Staff were very friendly and helpful and speak very good English. There is a Metro station just outside the hotel which was very useful! The Free Wi-Fi is the best Free Wi-Fi I have ever had anywhere! Air-con worked perfectly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Hotel Napoleon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were fantastic!! So helpful and friendly. Owner hosted a wine tasting night and my husband mentioned we were away for his birthday which was the next day. Concierge wished him happy birthday the next morning and bottle of fizz was delivered to the room later on. Location was great-lovely and quiet with metro stop at the front door which took us all over Rome. They let us keep our room until 5pm as we were not flying until late evening. It is a family owned business and the owner has taken care to employ great people and for that reason alone we would stay there again and recommend it to anyone - it was a refreshing change from so many 'impersonal' hotels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    The Napolean was like home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Napolean was like home...wonderful staff with a gracious host at wine tasting on Saturday night. The dinner in the cozy dining room was fabulous. It was Chinese New Year and the park across the street, forming the Square, was filled with the celebration...all in all a wonderful visit to Rome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    I loved everything about this hotel, it is a great place to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved everything about this hotel, it is a great place to stay at Rome, with very nice staff, best location and like a small museum, the breakfast was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant enough but not spectacular
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bed was too hard for me Coffee was pre-made and kept in large container for breakfast. Two mornings it was only lukewarm. The staff started clearing breakfast things too early. If I came down at 9.40 they were starting to clear - breakfast was until 10.

    Immediately beside the Metro stop Concierge staff very helpful Nice lounge on first floor Kettle in room Room was comfortable except for hard bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    The Staff here are amazing, so helpful and friendly, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The Staff here are amazing, so helpful and friendly, great location, Metro straight outside the door where by you can see all the wonderful sights with ease, The hotel is very clean, the Restaurant has beautiful food and lovely wine, the staff can organize any booking for you whether it be Restaurant or trips out, Located near a Pharmacy, Supermarket and a Cocktail Bar next door, easy walking distance to Indian and Italian Restaurants, they even have a gym upstairs, but by the time you have walked around Rome taking in the Breathtaking views, buildings such as the Colosseum and the Vatican City you won't need it !!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel, good location, fair value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn’t comfortable and pillows were terrible. Ceilings and walls were thin and we heard other guests, which was a problem.

    The concierge. Metro right outside hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.6
    Would highly recommend this hotel to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    TV small. Breakfast- croissants not up to expectation, could have more fresh fruit.

    Nice size room. Staff excellent. Clean. Dinner in Hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.3
    A good stay but it could be excellent if the breakfast would change every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is excellent as ithe metro is at the door step.i did stay for 4 nights the only thing which I don't like is the repeatation of breakfast.the room cleaning is very gd.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our visit and would use this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early morning coffee was a bit strong, but the rest of the breakfast was very good

    Staff very considerate. Beds excellent for sleeping. Food great and the owner’s wine and cheese was a gear treat.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the area surrounding the hotel is not the best ,and I have to say that we only ate in the restaurant once as we found the food to be very poor standard,I have never had to carve spaghetti with a knife and fork before!

    The hotel itself is very lovely old style quality furnishings.We were invited to a complimentary drinks meeting on New Years Eve by the owner which was a nice touch. The room was quite small but comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water was a bit hit and miss. I did not report it as it was warmish just not hot. Also, toiletries like hair conditioner, shower gel would be appreciated especially when travelling with hand luggage only. Shampoo/shower gel provided (2 in 1).

    Late check out, friendly staff, cleanliness and location. Wifi was good too! Breakfast was great. Would definitely recommend and return!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.3
    All good except Break fast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Break fast quality and items available in BF.

    The breakfast was worst since quality was not up to the mark comparing cost we paid. we paid highest rent in all places we visited to this hotel. Normally you select hotel for 3 reasons. one is location, room size which includes comfort and breakfast. Location was good as its opp Metro station. Room was ok too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Overall we had a positive experience and would stay here again. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was adequate but rather basic. The bread selection, for example, was rather plain. The bathroom was a bit cramped to enter and exit.

    The room was spacious, the beds were comfortable and everything was clean. We were glad of the bedroom heating system as the winter weather meant we were soaked! The bar and lounge were comfortable and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    Location is good but not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Break fast was not ok at all. we paid the highest cost for the room in entire Italy but its not value for money since facilities in the hotel was not that great.

    Location is nice since its right opposite to Metro station. Staff were nice too and co-operative.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    The best hotel in Rome !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was really helpful, very nice and always with a great attitude. They helped me get my stroller back from the airline and helped me look for a baby store. On my husbands birthday they sent champagne, the room was beautifull and the breakfast was great. We loved that the metro station was just outside the door . We will be staying here again for sure . They arranged for a van to take us to the airport and the staff was super kid friendly. Great hotel ! Great stay !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    Rome by foot is great with the right shoes, but even in the off-season it is very crowded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took a while to walk to places. But the subway is right outside.

    Elegant building in the middle of the piazza. We were invited to a wine tasting our first night. Staff is very helpful and spoke English.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.3
    Adequate accom with good location. But not a great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a city tax of 6 euro per person per night. THIS WAS NOT INDICATED CLEARLY ON BOOKING.COM. Thus, the final bill was presented as 32 euros more than what my booking receipt indicated, and it was a nasty and disappointing surprise at the end of the trip. Also, the hotel is rated four star but in reality it is three star. The decor is not great and things are old in the hotel.

    Location was great. Staff were relatively attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls separating the rooms were thin. We could hear the television of our neighbors.

    Staff was very helpful, especially Franco and Dominico. The owner, Roberto, hosted a cocktail reception one evening for guests. The breakfast offered a lot of variety. There was a restaurant in the hotel only for guests which served very good food for dinner. The neighborhood isn’t great but the central location of the hotel is excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    I wouldn't hesitate to be welcomed back to this hotel in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area streets were busy.

    The staff were very receptive. The hotel is family operated and spotless. The breakfast room and multiple foods offered were fresh and clean. The location is perfect although somewhat removed from some of the venues we were interested in although it was walkable to many others.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location being in front of the metro.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was thin and hard and needs to be replaced. The service in the restaurant for dinner was awful.

    Great location being in front of the metro. Breakfast is good for a 4* hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    4.2
    Will never stay in this hotel again and will not recommend it to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room with a balcony and was not given this room , when asked about this I was told I wanted a large bed and that ment staying in a room without a balcony I think I should have been told this right away when I booked as I booked weeks ahead of time, not impressed at all.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    Staff was amazing and always ready to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was not always properly supplied, e.g. the tissues and toilet paper ran out and were not restocked.

    Staff was amazing and always ready to help. Umbrellas were a handy thing to provide. Breakfast had good options, and the coffee was amazing!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Really, really enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has been family owned for two generations, with members of the third generation working full time. Also, a number of the staff are second generation. You feel the love in this hotel! Roberto, at the front desk, and Roberto, the owner are both a 12 on a scale of one to 10. We spent two nights at this lovely hotel before departing for a Mediterranean riviera cruise. Our stay was a perfect start to our vacation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    I would return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was good. The staff were very helpful, friendly and were a good source of advice and info,maps, even metro tickets The location of the hotel was great, close to the metro, train station and lots of bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Superb. Great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, all was great.

    The staff of this hotel is exceptional. Especially Alberto at the front desk. Many hours after check in he remembered us by name as we departed for sight seeing. Their recommendation were perfect. Service in getting our transportation was also exceptional. Location is great. Steps from the Metro and walking distance to many attractions. Stayed there twice in October 2017. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Everything about our stay was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about our stay was excellent. Location is perfect for getting around. Staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are lovely, have everything you need.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.0
    The accommodation was a poor standard, i paid more for this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Runny unappetising scrambled eggs. Tinned fruit cocktail. tinned spinach and kidney beans. Awful bed and headboard. Worst bed i have slept in a hotel. wardrobe musty smell. Dated bedroom furniture

    Breakfast was cereals/porridge, cold items like ham and cheese, and lots of selection of croissants but lots of cakes and biscuits for breakfast! selection of fresh fruit. scrambled eggs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    only there one night and chose it due to location near the train station (10-15 min walk w/ luggage)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed sheets could be improved. Bath was nice. No view from the room even though we had supposedly paid for one. Overall a good, not great hotel. It would not be a four star in the USA

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was puzzled by the entrance to the hotel lobby. The pictures I viewed before our trip were of the lounge and then when we walked in, I wondered. Turned out just fine though.

    Breakfast was very good, beds comfortable, staff very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    Would recommend as an authentic, family run hotel which met all requirements and provided good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My only real complaint about the whole stay was that, having advised in the booking that I was gluten free, no effort had ben made to provide bread for breakfast. When I asked (twice) - packaged bread was provided.

    This was a charming hotel - a little dated, but nicely so. The rooms had everything one could want including tea and coffee making facilities, and were very clean and comfortable. And, unusually for a continental hotel, an iron and ironing board were both available on request. The location was good - right opposite a metro station - and ,though not that central, it was only a 10 minute walk to the Coliseum. Breakfast was standard. The lovely thing was that, twice during our stay, we were invited to a complimentary wine tasting where we met the owner who was delightful. Would recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    Very handy for the metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was a bit shabby and tired in places.

    Very handy for the metro station. Very central location. Within easy walking distance of Termini and Colloseum.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast is not bad, generally the front desk manager helps...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service generally is ok, but the community makes me feel a little bit unsafe walking nearby ( though the location is indeed good, just at the very exit of metro)

    Breakfast is not bad, generally the front desk manager helps a lot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    We enjoyed our stay in Rome because of the comfortable accomadation on our return from sight seeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff attention was wonderful, it was in a good location, Metro station at the front door and so easy to use. The rooms were lovely and quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place to stay in Rome. Great location with a subway exit right out of the front door to anywhere in Rome. Roberto Lombardi the concierge was fun, informative and extremely helpful. Rooms were beautiful, large and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Amazing. Thank You Hotel Napolean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Remove this question from Survey. A perfect stay.

    Amazing facility, staff, we truly loved everything about this facility. The metro entrance is fifty feet from the front door. Roberto At the front desk is absolutely spot on. You need something, reservation, travel, transport, ticket. He is the man.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately toiletis include only shampoo and soap, no body wash, no hear conditioner.

    Hotel is great, location is perfect, clean, breakfast has everything for everybody. Room is big.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel for a first trip to Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not really the location for tourist as its not close to most of the sites, but it is convenient if you want to be near the train station. Not as many good restaurants nearby but enough to satisfy you if you can get in.

    Staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Breakfast was above average for European menu. Room was comfortable, quiet but lacked a view as did the roof top lounge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Everything about The Napoleon was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything about The Napoleon was wonderful. The staff was so helpful for us. It was our first time in Rome and since we are an older couple everything that we needed from the staff was taken care of, from the bar, the breakfast information about local places for dinner they did not miss a beat. Made our stay in Rome easier and very memorable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    OK to get in and out for a short stay, but cannot recommend for an extended stay. Thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is tired and the location was not nice. The area around the square was dirty and not welcoming.

    We liked the staff who were very helpful and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Napoleon traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: