Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Nazionale 3 stars

Lista Di Spagna 158, Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy

#263 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 208 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    My stay was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room for a cuppa tea and the room was a little small

    Location was good to the train/bus for arriving and all so the ferry terminal was close

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast very simple. Dark room. Two beds together instead a double bed that I request.

    Location. Very near of the Central Station and Veneza’s attraction

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    4.6
    Extremely poor for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were problems with the electric instalation. The lights went off twice in two different rooms without us connecting anything. The elevator did not work all the time. The staff was not helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    venice still worth a visit, the hotel was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    breakfast although a 'buffet' was poor and boring ; coffee was instant and not the quality of what you might expect in italy ; staff@ breakfast room was friendly though

    staff is friendly and helpful ; clean hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.4
    Ok location. Staff not as helpful as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overnight receptionist was rather rude. The bathroom was incredibly small in the room. Also when we arrived there was no offer of any information about venice. No location map given. The welcome was not very charming at all. We were ushered off to our room and that was it. I found the overall cost of our stay was pricey considering all factors.

    The location was close to the train station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    4.6
    The location is good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights are so pale to see clearly of the room condition. I got some insects bite after a night from the bed. Feel like can't get enough air to breath. The room we checked in was missing a lot of houses keeping duties like refilling tissue rolls.

    The location is good . And briefest is fine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel with friendly staff - in a good loaction.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was great - Easy to walk to from Piazzale Roma. The staff were really friendly and very helpful - I was travelling alone with my daughter, and they ensured that we felt safe and comfortable there. The breakfast dining room was lovely and light and airy - the food was very good too. (Everything from a good fresh fruit salad to warm croissants) The Wi-Fi was an added bonus - it even reached our room on the 4th floor. I would definitely book to stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Location good, staff friendly most of the time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed could be better, very hard!!

    Location good, staff friendly most of the time (Friend at another hotel paid the same and had larger room and better !!)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.9
    Great location, room is tight, but a very nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was tight and kind of dark. One of the beds seems like it was more of a temporary bed.

    The location of this hotel is excellent - in a busy part of Venice, close to restaurants and shopping. The breakfast was very good and the lobby area was a nice place to just hang out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    7.1
    Good Location (near to Train Station, near to vaporetto...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good Location (near to Train Station, near to vaporetto Station; nice street). Room is nothing special and a bit dark. Breakfast sufficient. WLAN did not work inside the room but in Hotel area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.2
    Great location with a great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Usually I am not too picky about coffee, but their coffee at breakfast was terrible and tasted like sludge. Maybe we were just unlucky and got a bad batch. The rest of the breakfast was ok and like most breakfasts we've seen at hotels in Italy. The water temp in the shower would cycle from hot, to scalding hot every minute. My husband actually burned the skin on the back of his neck. The beds were a little hard for my taste and we could have used extra pillows. However, all of these things are minor and didn't overshadow the good things.

    The location was perfect. You take a left when you come down the stairs of the train station and it's about a 2-3 min walk on the left. The hotel staff was excellent. The gentleman that was there most of our stay gave us a fantastic suggestion for a late lunch the day we arrived. It was right across the street with outdoor seating on the canal. He gave us a free map and marked off some great spots worth visiting that are not main attractions. He also informed us of a great tour visiting Murano, Burano and Torcello. They were places I wanted to see anyways and this was much cheaper than other tours I had seen. I loved Burano so much we took a boat back the next day because we wanted to stay longer. My husband arranged for a bottle of wine to be brought to our room for our 2nd wedding anniversary. It was waiting when we got to the room with 2 wine glasses and a bottle opener. The hotel has a small roof top deck which we brought chairs from our room out to enjoy the wine and my husband enjoyed a cigar. I would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    4.6
    Extremely rude manager - don't stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The afternoon shift reception desk manager on the 24th September when checking in was rude & disinterested in us. When checking out on the 26th my wife returned and asked the same male manager if he could exchange some coins for public transport. Again the person was dismissive and disinterested. My wife was unfamiliar with the currency and he became irate and intimidating towards her, raising his voice. We have never experienced this before and it was quite a shock, as well as a very unfortunate end to our holiday. I would not stay at this hotel again and would suggest that this person consider an alternative form of employment that involves no direct contact with the public. As a side note, on the first night we were eaten alive by Venetian mosquitoes in our room! We let staff know (the polite and helpful housekeeping staff) and were provided with a plug-in repellent.

    Breakfast was excellent & handy position to train & bus terminals. Housekeeping & breakfast staff were very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    6.7
    Good location for transport links
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and felt dark and claustrophobic. Think we were just unfortunate with the room we were allocated as i saw inside some other rooms which looked better.

    Location is good as very close to bus and train stationas well as water bus stops. Warm welcome from the guy on reception when we arrived. Hotel is clean as was linen.Bathroom very clean .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.5
    It's right on the main street and very near to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little dark. Spotted mosquitoes - resolved after reporting to staff.

    It's right on the main street and very near to the railway station. Less hassle for the luggage.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    7.1
    The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the train station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very small, the WiFi signal is weak and unstable.

    The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the train station and surrounded by fine dining restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    7.9
    Good hotel for Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and the beds come apart frequently (the double is just two twins pushed together). They also did not offer a late checkout option, so if you want to stay even an extra couple of hours, you need to pay for another night.

    Breakfast is fantastic and air conditioning works very well.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.3
    Good hotels for train traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room and toilet. No fridge and tea coffee making facilities. No lift.

    Excellent location if you are coming by train. Generally good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.3
    Local
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower and bathroom very small!

    Local

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Venice is brill :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, the Hotel was in a good position and also a short walk from the tram and bus stop

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Romantic hitel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Nice hotel Romantic hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Love it. Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place.

    Wonderful Location. Angela and Paolo very helpful.not aplicable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    3.3
    Tiny bathrooms, uncomfortable pillows ,dirty ceiling and the...
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bathrooms, uncomfortable pillows ,dirty ceiling and the soap dish, not much selection for breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were clean and the location was good!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bread ran out quick angd wasn't replenished

    It was very busy and had to wait for a seat

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.3
    Coffee was very strong at the breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom.

    Coffee was very strong at the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice place to stay closer to transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice location, clean but facilities are average. Good value for the money though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room with installed in it bathroom. Breakfast was average.

    Good location, clean and with free WIFI. Nice and polite staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Staff was friendly and gave us information on how to tour...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room lighting could be better.

    Staff was friendly and gave us information on how to tour venice knowing it was our first time there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.1
    nice location, clean but slow WIFI
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    too many stairs

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.5
    The hotel's location was excellent and within a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel's location was excellent and within a few minutes walk from bus and train stations and vaporetti stops on the Grand Canal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.1
    Location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.1
    Stayed there before good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need lift from front entrance to reception area lots of stairs carrying suitcases

    Stayed there before good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.8
    Very central - great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a bit limited

    Very central - great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    great place to say
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms are a little small but they are clean

    very near the bus and train station and water bus / water taxi /

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    5.4
    Easy Access
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price was not fair Room was really small Breakfast was nothing!

    Easy Access Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.9
    Great for family for a nice carnival weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor choices @ breakfast. Labyrinth feelings.

    Location great, friendly staff, silent rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.1
    breakfast is poor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast is poor!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    5.8
    Good to stay a couple of days only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely small room and restroom.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.9
    Good locations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms ar too dark

    Staff was very frendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    6.7
    Check in is on second floor after climbing a long stairway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room and bathroom are relatively small.

    Check in is on second floor after climbing a long stairway. Good thing the person who carried our heavy suitcases upstairs is very helpful. Is quiet at night. Breakfast is good.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.3
    I like the location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff on reception and in the breakfast area could be a little more friendly and welcoming.

    I like the location of the hotel. Very close to train station. We went on a cruise after staying at the hotel. The hotel was very convenient for getting on a water taxi.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    7.1
    It is very close to the train station so very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was a little dark in the hallways which made it look a little sketchy. The breakfast could have shown a bit more variety.

    It is very close to the train station so very convenient. The staff helped us with our luggage when we came in and when we left. They gave us maps of Venice and helped us reserve a gondola ride. The breakfast was ok, and the staff was nice. The rooms are clean and the bathroom is one of the nicest ones I've seen while travelling around Italy.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    7.9
    Nice staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Shower small. Beds a little worn out. Poor wifi.

    Nice staff; sold us a great boat excursion. Quiet.Close to train station. Room enough for 2 adults n 2 kids-13 & 9. Beds comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    7.5
    Location- great to be close to the train so you don't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Would be nice to have a kettle/ tea making facilities. Have to get a new wifi password twice a day.

    Location- great to be close to the train so you don't have to drag bags all around Venice.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    6.7
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room colour design

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    9.6
    The noise from the station is problematic dutring night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The noise from the station is problematic dutring night...

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    8.3
    Friendly and helpful staff and very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly and helpful staff and very good location.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    9.2
    Hotel was close to train station, water taxi and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel was close to train station, water taxi and shops. Great location and staff where friendly and helpful. Great hotel for the price.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    6.3
    The staff was very helpful and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms are extrimely small, the beds are not comfortable at all.

    The staff was very helpful and nice. The location was great.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    6.7
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom. Very cheap equipped and very small. Plastic all around the place.

    The location.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    7.9
    The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The proximity to the station, water transport and food outlets.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    6.7
    plastic cup for juice/water for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    plastic cup for juice/water for breakfast poor breakfast table

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    6.5
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    small room, tiny bathroom

    location

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi

    Good location

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Browse Hotel Nazionale traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: