Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Neapolis 3 stars

Via Francesco del Giudice 13, Naples Historical Centre, 80128 Naples, Italy

#79 of 158 hotels in Naples

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 317 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signage outside not very clear particularly in the dark, the entrance is from an inner courtyard, and although there is a lift up to the hotel there's nothing in it to tell you which floor.

    Wonderful location, quiet despite being right in the heart of old Naples. Helpful staff, comfortable rooms - we like a hard bed !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was incredibly uncomfortable and as our room was next to the reception, we could hear everything as the room wasn’t very sound proof.

    Staff are where really friendly and accomodating. Location was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was incredibly uncomfortable. It was two singles pushed together, not a double. The mattress was thin and hard and was set in the shape of a previous occupant. There was often a smell of sewerage which seemed to come through the air vents in the room. The desk staff were usually on the phone and not very helpful. There was no English language TV.

    The location was great, within walking distance to most sites. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very, very basic Very, very noisy Matress very thin, like a prision bed! Shower blocked and broken Sink blocked Advertises a roof terrace bar but there isn't one!

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room would have been better if it had been warmer (November). The bed was very creaky. The shower was pretty cramped.

    Breakfast was good and an extremely reasonable price. Central location was a plus. Room thoroughly cleaned every day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was noisy due to it's location and corridor noise. The shower cubicle was so small you had to leave the door open and flood the bathroom The bed creaked terribly and the mattress was cheap and thin.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our taxi driver couldn’t find the place at night Some staff did not speak English

    Very lovely breakfast, friendly helpful staff, lovely room and bath

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a walk from the station with cases but definitely doable. We arrived at midnight and had to walk through dodgy areas. Worth knowing if you're girls.

    Good location by bars and pizza take outs. And good spot to explore the city from if you've only got a short amount of time. Room is really spacey and bathroom nice. Breakfast really good quality for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooftop bar never open - and once closed off for private function. Adjoining wall was with a private family residence and they turned the TV on loudly at 7.30am every day. Reception repeatedly tried to give us the wrong key - so we decided to keep our key on us at all times as it didn't feel very secure.

    Big 3 bed suite - so double bed and a sofa. Good sized bathroom with huge shower. Small balcony with big window. Decent aircon. Rooftop bar with spectacular views. Super central for good restaurants and busy local streets. Breakfast is cheap but not super well stocked.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found it difficult to get a taxi from the station and the driver tried to drop us at the wrong hotel in a really DANGEROUS area. Make sure you have the address on hand or a GPS before getting in a taxi (luckily we did and he eventually found our hotel!)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning, like in most places I have visited in Italy, is not strong. Plan to sleep with no covers. However, at this place at least it worked!

    Driving in Naples is extremely challenging. Roads very narrow, people drive in pedestrian zones, etc. I could not find the designated garage, so the hotel staff offered to meet me a few streets away. They parked for me and, at the end of the stay, un-parked and got me back to a part of the street where I felt comfortable driving. I am used to New York City driving but this is an experience apart! Also, their English is quite good (though not totally fluent) and they were able to communicate clearly with me since I, sadly, speak no Italian. They were supportive and friendly. The room was not fancy, but clean and not hot. Location couldn't be better - easy walk to anywhere in the old city. Don't miss the museum!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No double bed, just squeaky single beds pushed together. Lift availability require frequent use of stairs.

    location was good. Staff spoke Engish and were polite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This room was a very pleasant surprise. It was very big and spacious with two very large full length windows looking out on the streets of Naples below. The location was perfect- right in the middle of the action!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was rather hard to navigate , but once you get your bearings , all is good,

    Hotel is a little hard to find but once we did we where very impressed , facilities where excellent and location was very central amongst bustling streets with many bars, shops and restaurants

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Rates; highest I paid for a 3-star in Italy and that too came without any room amenities. - No tea making equipment; no one will get you hot water if you request. All you get is an empty fridge. - No international channels - which is okay - BUT I was promised and the staff just kept saying "we will let you know the exact numbers in 30 minutes" every time I asked. - Walking distance from the nearest metro but very steep; easy when you are just wandering around but highly tiring if you have luggage with you. So "close to the metro" thing doesn't work and the hotel itself told me to get a taxi to reach there. Problem is you won't find any taxis near the hotel when you're leaving the place because of narrow streets (not hotel's fault, of course) and have to go the metro area anyway for taxi. - Absolutely disliked the staff for their rudeness and behavior. They either say a big NO to your requests (be it hot water or that you want to leave sooner and are willing to pay penalty but not the full amount for all 3 days). Worst staff I had to encounter throughout my 30-day trip. Tip: I found a better place with spacious room and amenities just a 1-minute walk away from this hotel so please follow Google Maps and find something else. There are many in the area offering double rooms with kitchen access for under euro 50. There are also many who cut the rates because they don't have a 24-hr reception but they give you codes, which makes it extremely convenient to reach no matter what the time of the night may be. PLEASE don't get stuck here! If you are paying euro 70+ for a double room, there are absolutely GORGEOUS hotels in the nearby streets in that rate, so SEARCH!

    Right in the city center. That's all good there is about this hotel. Although I came to realize that the area is FULL of B&Bs and hotels, offering way more convenience and facilities than Neapolis with better rates.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    directions on how to get there by public transport could have been cleareer

    bedroom 215 very small but adequate. Noisy if opened window at night as restaurant below. Location excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is located in a noisy area. The courtyard and streets nearby were loud at most hours of the night. I was able to sleep because I had not slept in @24 hours.

    The hotel was near the Archaeological Museum- that was the main reason I picked it. Also, it had a single room and it offered breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was outdated and small. The shower and plumbing in general need renovating. The air-conditioning needed adjusting several times to make it work. The street outside is noisy

    Excellent location for the historic centre so easy for sightseeing in the area. A short walk to public transport. Lots of good restaurants close by

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i did have to change my original room, because it was two single beds put together and not the double bed I asked for. However, it was changed quickly and without fuss, although I did take a smaller room. On the plus side it was quieter than the original and still had the same facilities. the bed was pretty hard, but the receptionist gave me some extra blankets and these placed under the sheet helped to solve the problem.

    the location was fantastic, right at the heart of the historical part of the city, with plenty of restaurants etc nearby. the room was clean, with all the facilities you would expect, not luxurious, but perfectly apt. Staff were for the most part helpful and polite. One member in particular was very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Language barrier seemed to be a bother for some at reception. I could have benefited from a clearer orientation at the top of my trip. Breakfast room fairly windowless, and food was mediocre & repetitively so. Better knowledge of espresso coffee types needed (ie latte, but pleasant & eager all the same). Beautiful roof deck w view & chaises, but was unavailable to guests (closed for season)

    Location, location, location! I fell in love w Naples by being perfectly located in its historic center. Also, incredible restaurant below (Grifo, w a10% discount for guests) became a goto that beat out every other place I tried. Some front desk staff eager to help out, and able to communicate & direct clearly. Cleaning staff respectful. Room scale & comfort was excellent. Enormous ceilings w sound-proofing french doors to small balcony. Modern & spacious bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, I had a room overlooking the very noisy street and it was a Saturday evening, so a lot of noise from the cafés, including loud live music. The hotel was full, so no chance of changing it.

    The staff were v welcoming, helpful and friendly. My room was spartan but large and clean. If I could ensure a quieter room on a future occasion, I would definitely go back.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremly noisy room (209) Entrance not easy to find through courtyard and hidden in a building in the back on 3rd floor - check before arrival

    Amazing location in the heart of historical center, helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to find it, in a inner courtyard, to take the lift ar 3rd floor

    In the historic centre of Napoli, very good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi was awful in room 213 which made planning the day difficult.

    Coffee was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely squeaky & creaky beds with soggy mattresses, unhelpful staff, very basic breakfast

    Clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, comfort.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really uncomfortable

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small and very cold (in March), poor breakfast.

    The location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast no fruit or room for all guests

    Cleanliness , size of room , location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An atmospheric location in the old part of the city, handy for sightseeing and plenty of good places to eat and enjoy a drink or two!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad breakfast, noisy street and terrible beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    car was parked down the street in a tiny garage that was not accessable

    friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No chairs or sofa in the lobby

    Friendly staff, very good air condition

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi access in the room!

    Big room, great location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the hotel took awhile,

    Close to area of interests.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location in the heart of historical center

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    clean, comfortable, helpful staff, excellent location and all facilities accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The best part was the location of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a great site and the location was excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location in old Naples.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Room had overpowering odor of stale cigarette smoke. Opening the windows helped a good bit.

    Service fine, people friendly, breakfast at 5 euro was full and a good deal.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The first two nights were very cold in our rooms, so that I had to sleep fully dressed and even then felt the cold (it was winter, but not so bad: external T about +10 C). There was no extra bed cover, and it turned out that they had turned off the heating (via air cond) in our rooms during the night, probably to save energy. I complained the next day, but it was cold also the second night, only from the third night on it was adequately heated.

    Very good location in old town, small, but fully equipped rooms with bath that even had two hair dryers. Quiet rooms.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No I liked the fact that I asked for a double bed and got two. Breakfast is open too late, I propose 7 am.

    Well, I liked the hotel's location, cleanliness and friendliness of staff The hotel is right in the historic center of Naples near tourist attractions.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only applicable when arriving with own car: rather difficult to find and to reach as location is in a very tiny side street of a pedestrian zone; car will be parked in nearby garage (had some small scratched later...)

    Great location right in city center;

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were given room in what appeared to be an adjoining upstairs hotel managed by Hotel Neapolis. Lack of security due to room keys being left accessible to anyone staying in hotel, not as good quality as 2 years ago

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it is bit off any public transport.

    it is right in the center of the neighborhood, and walking distence to the Duomo and MADRE Napoli. those night spots (live music performances) are money can't buy!

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was poor (some frutis would be really nice).

    It's the best localization in Naples. You can walk everywhere & it's probably the most lovely street in Naples. You have the best pizza in Naples right down ;)

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor AC during heat wave. It would auto shut off at midnight. Need to take a taxi to train station.

    Centrally located in one of main shopping street. Close to Pompeii museum. You can really get a good feel for the vibe of the town. Hotel had a small lift (a must as its on the 3rd floor). They also offer a driver service to multiple sites. We did Pompeii and top of Vesuvius. Well worth the 110 euros for all 4 of us.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast was poor. Scrambled eggs were dry and always not enough. Elevator did not always work and half the time I had to walk up 4 floors. Wifi didn't reach to rooms, though i worked well in the reception.

    Location in the old city. It's on the 4th floor of a residential building. It occupies the entire floor fo the building. It's in a courtyard, a little difficult to find. The hotel inside has a nice design. Rooms are quiet. Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very funny type of hair drier. Soap and shampoo provided only the first day. No safe in the room. No much light in the room.

    Near San Severo Museum. Centrally located. Good personnel, explained main attractions of the city. Breakfast fair, not good quality cooked ham, same small cakes were offered for 3 days.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extra simple amenities, such as glasses or real soap, would be apreciated.

    Even loader noise during some evening events, the location is appropriate to get the flavor of Napoli. Good access to restaurant and night life.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were not comfortable at all. Hard and no padding at all. The pillows were just as hard. I like hard beds but this was like sleeping on a box spring only. The breakfast could change every few days. We were there for 4-5 days and it was the same everyday. Eggs and hot dog/sausages.

    The staff was more helpful than I could have asked for. They called places during the holidays to see if they were open for us to tour. They greeted us every time we can to the desk.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lift was out of order, the shower needed some mantainance

    The location, the cleanliness, the price, the courtesy. My room had a stunning room.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No communal area, no lounge, no bar

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows were inadequate

    Terrific position in the centre of Historical Naples

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was rather poor. Scrambled eggs not fresh and cold.

    Location was great. Staff helpful.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: