Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Palace 5 stars

Lungomare Mediterraneo 57, 91025 Marsala, Italy

#14 of 17 hotels in Marsala

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 112 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    My daughter ate the peanuts that were on the table thinking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My daughter ate the peanuts that were on the table thinking they were free and we were charged 6 euros for the small box . It should be written that they are not complimentary.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    a nice location, but maybe in the wrong place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the location along the beach is compromised by the messy yachting storage in front of the hotel. during our visit there were few customers in the hotel, which reflected in poor product offer at breakfast. Diner was offered , but fixed menu and hardly any choice. Price charged per person was not in line with the offer.

    The facility is beautiful and well kept, the location at the seaside could be better (see below), staff is friendly but some of them do not display full hotel and restaurant skills. Rooms were spacious, well equipped , comfortable and meeting expectations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    The hotel was almost empty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the Grand Palace Hotel was almost empty, we were put into a noisy room with a view of an ugly parking lot adjacent to the hotel. We requested another room which added 25% to the cost of the room. The same thing happened yesterday when we checked into the Hotel Miramare in Selinute. Your booking organization needs to warn your clients of this tendency. It's not good.

    The hotel was almost empty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.0
    Would asked my money back. + apology from booking.com and the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overpriced, Noisy rooms. For the late checkout (3 hours) they asked 60 € !!! Breakfast was worse and poorer than in hostels anywhere. When you open the windows, all u see is parked trailors and trucks that burn diesel right under your windows... Avoid. Hotel doesnt deserve more than 2 stars. - those are just for nice furnishings and easy parking.

    Nice exterior, clean rooms. Good coffee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    great hotel beautiful old town left me feeling relaxed and happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't stay long enough

    Very very friendly staff who could not do enough for you a very warm friendly atmosphere in a classic Grand Hotel .A very clean well decorated hotel with a fantastic pool and sunbathing terraces. A good view directly onto the marina 5 minutes walk to the nearest bars and the excellent bucaneria restaurant. We walked to Marsala centre every night it took no more than 15 minutes to the old city's Garibaldi gate on a seafront road .This hotel is peaceful and relaxing no road traffic noise the breakfast was fresh and varied you can have any style of coffee and the staff are haply to cook any type of eggs. My favourite was scrambled to which I added 2 types off cheese and the fresh tomatoes then I made a mix delicious!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    Dive in for a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A goodbmile walk into town - It didn't seem so far coming home tho'. Having to ask at the coffee bar for milk for cereal as there was none on the buffet bar... as if it was too precious for us to have in a jug. Small thing really!

    The pool was fantastic. With great pool side service. Easy parking Very comfortable room with a sea view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, with an old -worldly feel, within easy reach of many interesting places to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathroom a bit cramped.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff, very good breakfast and genteel atmosphere, plus lovely swimming pool, with built-in shade. Easy to walk into Marsala or drive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    5.8
    Not recommending at all
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wifi - it does not exist actually. Very slow and hardly ever working. Breakfast as for 5 star hotel is extremely poor. Almost only sweets which is ridiculous and if you're a bit after 8:30 AM then there is almost nothing left! The staff does not give what has been eaten! Wine in the room - at first I thought it was for free but apparently it is 10 euro each. I do not recommend this hotel at all. Very expensive and does not deserve even 4 stars. Three stars is best I can give. I guess the hotel stopped developing since 2005.

    Staff was very friendful and nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.9
    Spacious, quiet hotel with friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to walk into Masala as no footpaths along busy road for a short stretch. 20 min walk but easy to order taxi and arrange for driver to bring you back at agreed time. 25 euros return.

    Spacious, quiet hotel with friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    7.1
    Location in Marsala.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast extremely poor for a 5-star hotel. Charged for 2 espresso (€3) they served when we were waiting for checkin

    Location in Marsala. Nice Size room offered a Welcome drink and fruit Good Swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    7.9
    good hotel with good loation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Breakfast was until 10;30 and if you come down on 10,00 you cannot eat anything except sweet. You have to ask for everything. Too expensive bar !

    big and comfortable rooms, clean pool, not to crowded with people, very kind personnel, free shuttle bus to the beach (5min), 10 min walk to city center

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    The staff and facilities were fantastic, a special mention...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff and facilities were fantastic, a special mention for the receptionist Sandra who was extremely pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Marvellous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Warm welcome, professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm welcome, professional staff. Santino was a standout, great recommendations

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    It's very near from the sea
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's old furniture and the small television and all the channel is Italian only

    It's very near from the sea

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    4.6
    Try somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced for an aged hotel and trying to get towels in our room took 4 asks over 12 hours.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.0
    I stayed in many villas and for a 4star hotel disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures were deceiving it is not as nice as it looks and the one area that is nice costs €45 per person to visit.

    There was safe parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    They tried hard to communicate and to place calls for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    They tried hard to communicate and to place calls for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    de -Zwitserse gerant/ receptionist/manager was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    de -Zwitserse gerant/ receptionist/manager was uitermate aardig, beleefd en attent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    5.8
    Bed was good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View was on railway and street, in night street sounds was loud. Pool and area was dirty.

    Bed was good!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    6.7
    television just in italian language
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    television just in italian language

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    6.3
    Pool area, room size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very poor for a 5 star hotel. €2 to use pool towel unacceptable

    Pool area, room size

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    6.3
    Pool, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise(pipelines), breakfast.

    Pool, staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.2
    We Can't wait to come back to Marsala!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome and help full staff, wonderful property great location!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    7.9
    high quality accommodation, good bed, close to donna fugata...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no restaurant on site we were quite late for breakfast, no selection on salty food remained (there were plenty of different cakes and pastries available) the backside of the hotel (were our room was situated) is quite loud: next to railway and busy road

    high quality accommodation, good bed, close to donna fugata winery

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    8.8
    This holiday was our honeymoon, even though we are a mature...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was quite noisy and we couldn't therefore open our windows. The air conditioning was not working. Walking anywhere from the hotel was not pleasant because we had to encounter traffic. We would have liked the bar to be open.

    This holiday was our honeymoon, even though we are a mature couple. We will remember the hotel and Marsala. The hotel had a very pleasant atmosphere. The staff were brilliant and very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    6.7
    Good size rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was cake orientated. No bar that we could find. Silly charges for pool towels. No pool service/bar We stayed in Mid-Sept so hardly well out of season. No "atmosphere" in the hotel. No access to beaches, need a car to get about really.

    Good size rooms. Convenient location for Town

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    7.1
    Modern oasis on the west coast of Sicily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite a poor area, you need a car to access local temple sites and villages and the roads are not good

    Modern oasis on the west coast of Sicily. Staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    5.0
    Nice big rooms, great pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    As the hotel is located at the harbor, away from downtown, the smell of sewage is unbearable on hot afternoons. Rooms at the right side of the hotel are facing a deposit of ghastly. The high price is not worthy all luxuries presented, for even the breakfast was affected by the high amount of sweets and scarcity of bread, cheese and fruit. We tried to reduce our stay due to the frustration, but the staff didn't allowed for obvious reasons....

    Nice big rooms, great pool.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    The staff were more than helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Poached eggs took a long time to come out and they were very hard. Our only complaint.

    The staff were more than helpful. The pool was amazing. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    3.3
    Nice pool area, but dirty and with little to no services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rude and horrible staff. Did not wish to solve our problems with the hotel. Three stars at best, service makes it two.

    Nice pool area, but dirty and with little to no services.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.1
    The grand and vintage feel of the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The ropes around the pool and the antiquated bathroom. We were not impressed by the breakfast.

    The grand and vintage feel of the place. The amazingly friendly and helpful lady at reception who booked us a lovely restaurant in town and recommended a visit to the Florio Winery nearby.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    8.3
    We've been there for the super low price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was cheap but we got a train line behind a window. Not a big problem because of the low price.

    We've been there for the super low price. The personnel was extremely nice and helpul. We got lots of recommendations where to go and what to see in Sicily. What's important it weren't too known touristic spots but quiet and really nice ones. Breakfasts consisted of dozens of different things to eat put on a sweedish table.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast was not fresh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was not fresh

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.5
    Worst breakfest in Sicily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Worst breakfest in Sicily.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly staff - thanks to the recetion staff and to Mr...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff - thanks to the recetion staff and to Mr Santino!

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Browse Grand Hotel Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: