Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of NH Bologna De La Gare 4 stars

Piazza XX Settembre 2, 40121 Bologna, Italy

#50 of 99 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3813 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.0
    Excellent hotel conveenient for satation and sights in Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, would return if visiting Bologna again.

    This is a modern hotel with a mix of business people and holidaymakers, situated 5 minutes walk from the station and 15 minutes walk from the main attractions of Bologna. It is therefore very well positioned for anyone arriving by train who wants to be able to explore Bologna easily on foot. Facilities are good and the hotel was clean. Particular mention must be made of the excellent buffet breakfast which is substantial, varied and of superb quality.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Best to stay two nights and enjoy all the NH Bologna De La Gare has to offer, its a great spot to st
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water pressure for the shower was very poor, particularly after a long flight but the bathroom was excellent.

    The hotel facilities were superb, my greeting was cheerful and informative, my room was very comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast was amazing and well thought out to cater for all people. The bed was very comfy with lots of pillows and room. The hotel is very central to inner Bologna nd a place well worth considering when staying in Bologna, its close to the train station and also only a short walk to the parks, markets and piazza. There are plenty of restaurants close by but the inhouse restaurant is excellent, great service and good value for money. I would recommend a two day stay so you can enjoy all the NH Bologna De La Gare has to offer, you will enjoy it.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Bolonga food tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC needs to be serviced, the temperature would be great for a while and then would lose its effectiveness.

    Size of the room and the bathroom. Location to shopping and the centre of town was great. 3 or 4 minutes walk to the train station.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    6.3
    too expensive for a hotel with such a poor old rooms, but very nice location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms badly need renovation, wallpapers are coming off the walls... reception/restaurant renovated and looking nice, but really disappointing interior of very old rooms... pricing too high for a 4* hotel with such a poor rooms... beds really comfortable and big, everything clean, bathrooms looking better than rooms but still pretty small and a bit outdated

    very, very good breakfast, wide selection of vegetarian food too... very nice location, only 15 minutes walking distance from main city square - basically only one long street towards city center and this street is full of restaurants/shops/bars so its less than easy 10 minutes walk away from the beginning of central pedestrian area

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Perfect for what we wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was a bit fiddly. Change the temp up or down and it would seem to do the opposite of what you wanted. No big deal really.

    Rooms were very clean and modern.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Great location and comfortable stay in the city center.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was fairly expensive (15EUR), but there's plenty of options (cafes and bistros) around the area.

    A great place to stay near the Bologna central train station. It's close to city centre and all tourist attractions. Quiet, clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    3.8
    stop selling awful rooms to people. we are not rats
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very awful. everything is so old, bad, demolished, smelly. It requires very serious renovation and it is no way near to the expectations for the price and pictures. Do not trust what you see and go to another hotel. ps double bed is two singles attached together.

    Hotel is close to the train station. We got a free town map and we checked up a little bit earlier.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Well situated for the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was OK, we were only there one night.

    This was an overnight stop, so we wanted a hotel near the station. It was easy to walk into the centre, and we found the Cathedral. We found a sort of market cooking and selling food, so we had some excellent pasta with ragu! Our hotel room was upgraded, so it was huge, with sitting area, and a partition wall with a huge TV, facing a large bed. Large bathroom. It was very much a corporate hotel, so efficient rather than cosy, but very pleasant. Kettle and hospitality tray. Good breakfast with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Good location close to station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really very close to the main centre of Bologna, around 1km walk to the central historical areas

    Good facilities, easy access from the station, chosen as we were arriving late and leaving early to continue our journey. Good breakfast facilities and food choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    An excellently located Hotel offering Bologna at its front door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One would be hard pushed to find any dislikes.

    Felt welcome the moment you walked in the door. Sylvia, and forgive me for not having a surname was most helpful and a delightful Ambassador for NH Hotels. The room she chose for us was excellent and all the amenities were to hand.well priced for such a location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    top
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing..all perfect

    staff was friendly, helpful and kind. The room was clean, spacious, silent..Tea coffee maker snd cups, nice minibar with healthy almonds. All top ;)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    Close to the train station, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs updating the carpets are very old and a bit stained the hotel is otherwise ok. Some of the staff were less helpful then others.

    Close to the train station, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    My stay at Bologna.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the hotel location. It was very close to two major bus stops. Thereby one could cover the entire town from this hotel. I liked the staff they were very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my over all stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    Centrally located, close to train station, superb breakfast, professional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very efficient and accommodating, and we were able to leave our bags until our train left. The location was fantastic; very close to the train station and right near the centre of Bologna. Our breakfast at the hotel was outstanding, the best we've had anywhere whilst travelling.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Closest hotel to old town to access by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing much to complain.

    Perfect location. It's located outside of ZTL, so no worry to get there by car. Breakfast was nice as other NH hotels. Room has nice view, and spacious. There was no in house parking, but secured parking lot is available 30m from lobby. costs EUR 20 per day, and easy to access.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    I’ll prefer to stay again in NH because of it’s location and overall comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old block is entirely different from upgraded block, and this time I got rooms in old block which was really not a pleasant experience.

    The hotel is very close to central train station and main commercial avenue, both can approach in just few minutes walk. Instead staying in Florenc and Venice we preferred to stay in Bologna as base camp and it was wonderful experience and NH added value to our decision. Although it was my third stay here in a year time. Reception team is very carring and attentive. Good breakfast with verity of items.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    Easy walking distance to the station and to the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with some renovation work in the corridors. Building itself is ugly.

    Easy walking distance to the station and to the centre of town. Quiet and nice room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The faucet in the bathroom was broken and a little uncomfortable. But the staff came and kindly came up with an alternative plan. And at the reception, I felt good with a formal apology for it.

    The hotel lobby was served with drinks and refreshments for visitors. It helped a lot in the hot weather. The staff were kind and helped quickly. The room was very big and clean. Except for the faucet, the bathroom was perfect. Out of six cities in Italy, breakfast and coffee were the best. It was convenient because it is located very close to the train station. The distance from the tourist site was close so I could walk around. There was a pretty park in front of the hotel, so it was good to take pictures of the night view. I asked for an early check-in but it was impossible.But instead, the hotel did their best by taking care of the bags. I am very grateful. If I visit Bologna again, I will go to this hotel without hesitation.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed and I hope Booking.com could provide me an explanation.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin New Style Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked my room via Booking.com, it was stated the room size is 25M2. However, when I checked in, the room is smaller than that. The NH Hotel said the 25M2 was occupying by other guests. They didn’t lower my rate although it was a smaller room.

    Good location as it is just 5 minutes walking from the Bologna Centrale

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.0
    Got a free upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not clean enough, the mirror there looked as if it has never been cleaned. Very unfortunate. Big terrace however not even a chair to sit - unlogical. No parking spaces so you have to leave your car in a city parking which costs 20€+ per whole day...

    Got a free upgrade.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Very good! Absolutely recommendable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    --

    My second time in Bologna and my 2nd time in NH De La Gare. The breakfast Buffet is excellent!, perfect service in the reception and in breakfast room, the location can't be better!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Does not have its own garage.

    Very comfortable and clean hotel. Staff was really nice as well. Very good breakfast, Located near the city historical center (15 min walking at most).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    Perfect hotel for our short stay in Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only planned to stay a single night in Bologna as we flew to Barcelona the next day. Our only negative is that we didn't allow ourselves enough time to explore this lovely city.

    Perfectly located hotel just outside the arch that lead to the city centro. Comfortable hotel with a well sized room with a modern and clean bathroom. This was a great place for our too short stay. The hotel staff, especially Agnese, was super helpful in providing a local map with recommendations for areas for landmarks, restaurants and even gelato. Later that night she also print our boarding passes for us that we'd learner were required for our flight. Also a short drive to the airport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Perfect, surprisingly quiet location for an extended stay,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift, absolutely! Too tiny a thing for even a person with medium-sized luggage. Then again, there is one!

    Perfect, surprisingly quiet location for an extended stay, like ours. "Centrale", as in a hub. We kept Bologna, my hometown, as our 'base' whilst travelling from Roma to Venezia to Firenze to Pisa to Livorno and back. I'll miss the place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Upgraded to a junior suite, the room was clean and of a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin New Style Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a bit cramped, no staff at the bar when I wanted water.

    Upgraded to a junior suite, the room was clean and of a good size. Location is great just a 10 minute walk to center and right by the station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Well run, spacious, modern hotel with great staff but a door banging problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Avoid the fourth floor, unless controlled by a considerate hand all doors close with a slam, we counted 20 bangs between 7am and 8 am, not to mention midnighters coming in late.

    Comfortable and spacious, great modern taste hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Very helpful and friendly staff, free upgrade to recently...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevators are very small.

    Very helpful and friendly staff, free upgrade to recently renovated room with excellent A/C and new bathroom. Great location for Bologna city center and train station, and very quiet since not located on a major street.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Would recommend this hotel to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin New Style Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Speedy checkin. Receptionist very informative regarding sightseeing and cultural sites. Room big and airy with great bathroom. Excellent location for bus, train and airport shuttle.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Proximity to train station and short walk to major...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil, it was a positive experience

    Proximity to train station and short walk to major attractions, welcome drink, room was spacious, great amenities, modern, comfortable, helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable stay. Excellent, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower over the bath, prefer a separate shower.

    One of the reception staff, Agnese, was particularly helpful and pleasant to deal with. Our room was a very good size with a comfortable bed. Close to station and an easy walk to the centre of town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.0
    Very average place in a marginal location for tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a serviceable choice for a day or two in Bologna. It’s close to the station, but far from the tourust sights, The staff is fine but no more than average. Breakfast is not included. The decor is like an older Holiday Inn with dirty rugs. I would not stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    This is an excellent hotel. The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    To be honest very little.

    The location of the hotel is perfect, with good rail links (about 5 minute walk), in terms of accessing the historical part of Bologna is ideal. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    best choice for bologna centro, great staff and very fine rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    scrambled eggs were way too liquid ;)

    we received a room upgrade. we got a lovely suite al the last stage with an amazing view of the town. nh is always our best choice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Good budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Safe in bedroom did not work and despite reporting this to the hotel staff on the first day of our 7 night stay the problem was not addressed.

    Hotel is in a very quiet and safe location, close to the railway station and is very clean and well presented.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Unexpexpected upgrade was very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unexpexpected upgrade was very nice. Location is one of the best in Bologna. Near the train station and the center. Rooms are very clean and staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Amazing breakfast, very comfortable beds, good air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing breakfast, very comfortable beds, good air conditioning, very close to the railway station and well connected with the city center (even though it's a 10- minutes walk to the main square, it's by a main shopping street, under shades - don't worry about too much sun or rain. You'll be fine).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent room when upgrade taken, and convenient to Bologna rail station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out was slow, but staff were friendly.

    We were offered an upgrade to a junior suite on the top floor for an extra 35 EUROS. This was a great room with plenty of space, good quality bed and furnishings and a large balcony - well worth the extra. Cannot comment on the double room we originally booked.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Great to have a bathtub in room after long trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I needed to wait for 10 min for check-in when I arrived at 23:30. But it was not big problem.

    Great to have a bathtub in room after long trip. It's close to Bologna central station. The room was very comfortable. (double room-sigle use)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Satisfaction in all aspects.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too minor to even recognise.

    Staff very friendly and happy to promote their City. Rooms very comfortable and WIFI excellent. Overall an excellent property in Bologna. Having stayed in other properties, this will be our preferred for future stays.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable hotel in good position near station with rather abrupt staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at check in were very strange - almost rude! Shower not brilliant for such a new establishment, though rest of bathroom okay except toilet roll holder was put on upside down so it kept falling off!!

    Good location near station but on main walkway to historic centre. Comfortable large bed and good air conditioning. Nice view of steps to park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    The personnel at Reception was very very nice (offered me a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The personnel at Reception was very very nice (offered me a coffee!); the location is great (near the train station and at walking distance of arcades with shops and bars at the historical centre of Bologna); the breakfast is great, also for non Italians (ie lots of savoury things Italians dont eat for breakfast but e.g. Germans do).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    An excellent hotel for sightseeing in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were friendly and efficient. The room (a superior room) was a good size with comfy beds and was quiet. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of variety of hot and cold food, fruit, yoghurt, gluten free food, etc. It was in an excellent location near to the train station and not far from the centre of the old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    It is a good choice for business purpose.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin New Style Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It will be good if the hotel could provide parking services, or co-operated car park.

    Good location as it is walking distance from the train station. Most of the guests who stay their are travelling for business purpose. It is a good choice for business hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    I have stayed at Portici and Starhotels Excelsior. They were much better.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny and the room decor was old- red carpet and yellow walls. The edges of the carpets had turned green with fungus. The air conditioner was turned on 3 pm and switched off at 8 pm even though it was hot in the night. We had a particularly bad view from our window.

    The location next to the railway station and center of town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Very nice hotel on a great location. Spent multiple times here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin New Style Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could have been a little bit better maintained. Still very nice though, but you could see the wear.

    Very comfortable bed. Great location with the central station nearby and a 10 minute walk to the cities historical centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    Decent hotel and good location, but overpriced for experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin New Style Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    "Junior Suite" (Room 504) was a little worn around the edges. (Marks on walls, staining on chair. Overall decor quite average.) Coffee machine plug (grounded) didn't work with the outlet closest to it. Had to carry machine across the room and set it on the floor next to a different outlet so it would work! Lumpy pillows. Breakfast not included in rate. (212 Euro/night) The staff was nice enough to upgrade us to this suite; however, we still felt like the price was high for what we experienced.

    Convenient location via car or train. Convenient monitored car park across the street. (Independent garage; 20 Euro/day) Shopping and main piazza within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Central location, near everything that matters, or just to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, cool hotel!!!! 😎

    Central location, near everything that matters, or just to walk the wonderful streets of bologna! A few minutes to train station and yet really quiet! Wonderful staff, friendly and helpful!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.4
    This is a 'business ' style' hotel and not a leisure hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff indifferent to guests and more interested in their computer and no eye contact except on checkout.

    Housekeeping staff were superb and our room and bathroom was spotless. Breakfast was buffet style with a fair selection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    4.2
    I felt ripped off. I did not feel like a valued customer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Filty Carpet Filthy walls Broken furniture Lamps didn't work Shower door coming off wall Over all disgusting. I covered the floor with towels rather than touch the carpet

    I've never been in a hotel with carpet and wall as dirty as this hotel. The website shows newly renovated rooms but the room I was given and the one I refused were old, filthy and disgusting. I stay at NH frequently because they are clean and comfortable. If this represents the quality of their product I should look for another hotel company to stay with.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    It is beautiful hotel at a good price quality ratio.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The drinks in the mini bar are too expensive, if you consider that there is a night shop on the other side of the street that sells the same drinks for half the price. Bar is OK , but not a real place with ambiance to meet some people.

    The Breakfast was nice and also the location of the Hotel with all nice restaurants around the corner is OK.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.1
    Good place for 2+1. 10 min walkt to center. Perfect for visiting nearby cities by train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing particular in the hotel maybe the beds were too soft to my taste. Shame that one cannot enjoy the pretty park nearby as the shortcut to bars/restaurants due to groups of idlers hanging around - but one can just take main/porticoed via Independenza also at the late hours.

    Spacious superior/triple room. Great for 2 parents + kid. Hall with good wardrobe, desk. Big bathroom with both shower and bathtube inl. radiator to dry towels and keep good temp. when travelling outside summer. Well isolated/quite. Very close to central station but not overlooking it (if someone doesn’t like that kind of neighborhood/traffic). Two markets closeby (at the square and at the station). Restaurants - require 5-10min walk in the direction of the historical center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location, comfortable bed and friendly staff
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loads of dust in the junior suite - also seemed tired and worn out. Glad I didn’t pay the junior suite rate...

    Upgrade to a junior suite was a lovely surprise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel, but some more maintenance effort would be a big plus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From a distance all looks new and clean, but there is lot of small worn-out details that really need some care and repair (shower head, shower hose, bathtube drain etc.), the room itself was nice and clean, bed and pillows ok.

    Great location, few steps from Bologna train station and 10 min. walking from main square, helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel in central Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report.

    Hotel is close to the station and a short walk from the town centre. Room was clean and very comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel. Lovely people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything. One of the best hotel experiences we’ve ever had.

    Great location, handy for everything. So easy to get to and from the airport. Lovely staff, so accommodating.Hotel was spotless.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.3
    Acceptable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it is little old property. No bathroom scale, no water heater, no ironing board in room. Average WiFi. Very small sized lifts, could barely accomodate 2 persons with luggage..

    location and good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Feel spoiled in the heart of Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My favourite place to stay in Bologna not only for its location (next to the train and bus stations, yet in the city center, near some great places to eat local) but also for its facilities. Excellent room, kind and helpful service and rich breakfast. This is a place I love returning to.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    4.6
    Sufficiently confortable not to make a fuss; helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was dated and tired, the bathroom had poor ventilation and poor lighting. I am not a fan of shower curtains.

    Breakfast & polite and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    Just alright!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decour was dated, no gym, breakfast was poor, pillows were not supportive. Water pressure in shower wasn't good. Not enough plug points (only one that worked!)

    Location is ideal. It was clean. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.0
    We were able to check in one hour before stated time and in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated decor and old carpets. Not many plugs in the room. The area is full of very suspect individuals.

    We were able to check in one hour before stated time and in next day they kept our luggage secured.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Very satisfied and would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the restaurant. Rooms good size and comfortable but could do with redecorating.

    Overall I found this hotel excellent - pleasant and efficient staff, good room and breakfast and great location for easy access to station and airport but also to the centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Exelent location, good breakfasts, very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exelent location, good breakfasts, very friendly and attentive staff. Especially we would like to thank hotel manager Laura and hotel senior manager for their assistance and sincere desire to solve our problem (it seemed to us we lost some our things, in fact no). I recommend this hotel with pleasure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    The location of the hotel is very good (about 3 minutes from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that I could not get late check out as it was specified on the booking.

    The location of the hotel is very good (about 3 minutes from train station and 15 minutes from center). Although is near train station it is very quiet. The breakfast was diversified and the coffee was very good. I liked the receptionist the night we arrived. He was kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Very good buffet breakfast and great bed in a spacious room.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms maybe need to be refurbished. For example: to have plastic curtains in the bathtub is not very nice.

    Very good buffet breakfast and great bed in a spacious room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, afordable and spacious accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reasonably priced, very spacious room. Very quiet - no noise from the street. Location ideal if travelling with heavy luggage - very close to the central station. Main tourist attractions such as the central square and the cathedral are about 20 min on foot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.1
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin New Style Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in time at 15.00, check-out at 12.00. But at 11.30 room's key was already blocked - say good bye. Also would be nice to inform the guests about the amount of city tax in advance.

    A worthy representative of the chain NH. Room is quiet and clean, with teapot set and good kit of toiletry. Parking is available near the hotel in public garage (20 euro/day) But you have to give the car's key to the parking attendant. Good variety breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.4
    Good bed without dinning.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The miss in reception had a very bad English, I paid 5 euros for a Moreti, don’t have restaurant service either bar... no coffee, it was raining and I couldn’t find parachutes

    I liked the bathroom lunminosity, the bed, and the old fashioned room deco

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, clean, functional hotel very conveniently...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One staff member was not courteous while leaving luggage upon checkout. Otherwise good staff.

    Comfortable, clean, functional hotel very conveniently located.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    5.0
    Rooms Stink of Tobacco
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were allocated stunk of tobacco smoke. I was checking from it on the first night and had to move rooms. The corridors were filled with the stench of cigerettes as well. Ash trays in rooms clearly means they don't care people smoke like chimnies in the rooms. GROSS!!!

    Well located

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent room with spacious bathroom and very comfortable beds. Staff was speaking many languages making our stay very pleasant. Room was also very spacious allowing for big luggage. It also had a big wardrobe and plenty of space between the beds. Wifi on the hotel was good too for streaming Excellent location <5 minutes from the train station and <10 minute walk to the main piazza and various restaurants. Great breakfast Value for money indeed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect overnighter
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast included.

    Very close to the station, fast check in with a smile. The hotel is very close to the station and perfect for a stopover in Bologna. It's a little soulless and rooms could do with refurbishing, but overall it's clean and comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice clean hotel in great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lifts were very small for only 2 people and large suitcases. The décor in the rooms was outdated and messy. My free Wifi was cut off in the morning, preventing me from checking in my flight.

    Nice lounge downstairs with friendly staff. Room and en suite was a good size. Get a front facing room for great views of the steps.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is a bit tired but it didn’t matter, would stay again if in Bologna

    Great breakfast, comfortable large bedroom. Convenient location and friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.1
    Overall the location was great but don't think I would use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no tea/coffee facilities in the room. No Television channels in English. Only a very limited bar Menu for food on a Sunday evening and the cost of 4 beers and 2 Marguerita Pizzas coming to nearly EUR50 including tax.

    Comfortable beds, clean room. Excellent location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    The quality of the room is on the top level, especially if...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee on the breakfast was not top level.

    The quality of the room is on the top level, especially if to compare with other hotel of same level in Bologna

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse NH Bologna De La Gare traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: