Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of NH Catania Parco degli Aragonesi 4 stars

Viale Kennedy s/n, 95100 Catania, Italy

#36 of 56 hotels in Catania

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1112 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.5
    We enjoyed our stay but would have been much better if admin staff had been more helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had an obvious leaning towards business people and not holiday makers.No leaflets information etc about activities on Sicily or help from staff re trips etc available.An awful bus service into Catania and again no information from staff re tickets or time tables.We were in formed when booking that the city tax was included but reception staff insisted we pay again.I must say the reception staff were not at all helpful throughout our stay and I would say are in need of much training.

    The room was very good as was the breakfast.The swimming pool and beach area were very good even though the area around the beach appeared to be very run down.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    The staff were very friendly and recognised me each morning.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I paid for a sea view but from the second floor I could not see the sea. The location was very bad. The walk to Catania was at least 40 minutes and there isn't even a mini mart anywhere close by.

    The staff were very friendly and recognised me each morning. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    We stayed at this hotel in order to be near the airport do...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived on a cloudy day and the beach was CLOSED due to the “weather”. I think this was BS because it did not rain. Also even if it was sunny, the beach closes at 7 pm. We then went to the pool only to find out that the pool also closes at 7 pm. They charged us 18 euro for the use of beach towels for the one hour we spent in the pool which is a total ripoff. I could have bought towels for less than that. While most of the staff was great there was a tall blonde lady at the desk who was quite surly as she explained all the beach/pool/towel rules. The shower is awful too. No shower curtain (just one of those stupid half sheets of glass) so no matter what you do water sprays everywhere. A 5 Euro shower curtain would fix that.

    We stayed at this hotel in order to be near the airport do that we could catch our early morning flight. It is very close, perhaps only a 10 minute drive so it was very convenient. Also it is across the street from the beach. The lady who checked us in (Debora) was very sweet and spoke perfect English.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Not quite what I was expecting, but fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel is on a very busy main road, in a very urban area. I was expecting the superior room to be a bit bigger. The balcony was small, with not much privacy as it was in a line with all the other balconies from the adjoining rooms. The swimming pool is much smaller and less grand than it appears in the photographs.

    The Hotel was comfortable, the staff were friendly and the room was OK.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    Weekend in Catania
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High prices for food and drinks with little variety for both. Restaurant schedule. Beside taxi, the only way to go into town is a bus.

    Very nice staff, the pool, private beach. Breakfast was good and the staff was careful to replenish the finished products.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    beautiful sea/beach-view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    if you have a plan to visit the City too, look for bus-timetable and bus-stops - we tried to walk a little bit after dinner but soon ended the pedestrian-way, so turned back

    close to the airport, cca. 15 minutes drive private beach excellent and rich breakfast-variety, breakfast possible at the terrasse sunrise and sea-view from the hotel room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    If you’re looking to balance a private beach and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the location, a taxi from the hotel to city center cost €15. but on the other hand hotels in the city center doesn’t have a swimming pool and this is something you definitely need if you’re traveling in the hot months of the year.

    If you’re looking to balance a private beach and the swimming pool with city center experience NH is the perfect location and place ! the moment we walk into the hotel until we left everything was amazing! the facilities the staff and more, everything was on point.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn’t return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great stay. We chose Parco degli Aragonese as an overnight stop close to the airport at the end of our trip after travelling all over Sicily. I’m glad we did not stay here any longer. The biggest issue is location. I read on booking.com that there was a « public shuttle » to and from the airport every 10 minutes, but that didn’t exist. We had already dropped off our rental car and the only way to get to and from the hotel was by taxi. The taxis have a standard rate for this of €20!!! What a rip-off for a 7-min journey. There was supposed to be a bus into town as well from outside the hotel but we waited for 30 mins and then gave up. I never saw one through the whole stay. We ended up walking (not pedestrianised, took around 1 hour) to central Catania in the evening and getting a taxi back (for €15). There is absolutely nothing nearby. We had arrived at 12, too early to check in which was fine, I did not expect the room to be ready but thought we’d be able to sit and eat something. Left our bags. Unfortunately bar not open at all, and like other reviewers have said, it never did; but we were directed to the poolside bar which had very slow, if friendly, service, and nothing appetising to eat. €9 for a lemonade and small beer! Sadly the restaurant did not open till 1pm, nowhere nearby serving food either! When it did open food was ok but prices astronomical! Very slow- one waiter for all the tables and no one else in sight. Same idea for the breakfast, which was fine, but €17 pp!!! Should be no more than €6!! Room itself was fine, comfortable though no drinks area except for the extortionate minibar including 500ml bottles of water for €3 - joke. Clean room but a bit battered and the bathroom had very mouldy grout in the shower. Through the whole trip the hotel just seemed very understaffed. All in all if you are like us and prefer to travel around and do Airbnb this is never going to be the best stay ever.

    The staff were all lovely, very friendly and helpful - but there were so few of them! The private beach (which is like a fenced-off section with sun beds and a bar with only overpriced beer, rarely manned) was actually lovely and the highlight of the trip. Very clean and safe. Pool area fine though close to the road so a bit noisy. Nice balcony though not private.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    A very good hotel, large and clean rooms, comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with View and Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location in Catania outskirts (D line bus connection to the center but quite irregular schedule). But this is the best location to be close to the sandy beach. Dirty neighborhood, esp near the beach (public beach areas are not cleaned up).

    A very good hotel, large and clean rooms, comfy beds. Excellent breakfast (quality and variety). Extremely nice people. Very beatiful private beach (100% sand:) included in room rate. Sea water crystal clear and suitable for kids.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    The staff is very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For someone not interested in going to the beach the location is not ideal.

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. Good Utilities and equipment like bath robes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.4
    Average for leisure seems more suitable for a business stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices for meals and drinks were very expensive compared to outside of the hotel. Bar staff were not there for long periods of time. Location isolated.

    The room was very comfortable. The swimming pool was good. Beautifully decorated. Modern. Scenery. Private beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is clean and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is clean and nice. But it rather hard to get to it. A lot of abandoned places: the park behind the hotel, the shopping centre next to it. The hotel beach is clean, but next to it, there is free beach, which is dirty and full of rubbish. We haven’t been to hotel restaurant, went to Arcoboleno next to it. The pool is great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    An enjoyable stay which would have been so much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Verandas not private & only separated by a grill partition. Pool was nice but 40 + sun beds were crammed in three rows into a small space on one side. Service at the pool bar was poor & this was the fault of management. The bar in the hotel was closed for the entire time of our visit.

    The hotel was modern & rooms cleaned every day. Beds comfortable. Staff friendly, helpful & hard working. Nice restaurant but overpriced. Good breakfast apart from the bacon!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent for airport stopover and quick visit into Catania
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location isn’t very interesting in the evening with nothing much nearby.

    Modern relaxed hotel with very helpful staff. We booked in for 1 night as we arrived in Sicily for our holiday. It was meant to be an easy journey from the airport and convenient for our drive next day to Palermo. It fitted the bill perfectly. Very pleasant having evening drinks by the pool. In the morning after friendly advice from reception we managed a morning trip into Catania via convenient bus service outside. Well worth a visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location and staff
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not able to get food on a Sunday. Restuarant closed and lack of room service. Had go elsewhere and is hard if you don't have a car.

    Great location for people just about to jump on a flight in the upcoming days. They have great staff to help with anything, e.g. They were able to organise taxi to airport and arrived within 5 mins.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Clean, modern hotel with excellent breakfast very close to hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This wouldn’t be a good choice if your main goal was to visit Catania. Stay closer in to the city for that purpose.

    Good choice if you have to stay near the airport for a flight. Elaborate, varied and high quality breakfast. Large, clean rooms, each with a small patio/balcony. Very helpful staff. The best little casual restaurant across the street! It doesn’t look like much but, wow, it’s fresh, authentic, modestly priced. Friendly waitstaff. Both locals and travelers frequent this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.2
    unpleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first impression was not good, arrived at the reception and the receptionist Lucrezia was talking to her colleague and didn't greet us, we wait couple of minutes until she finished her conversation. We make the check in and went to our room around 1pm, the corridor was full of blue bags with dirt linen and a vacuum cleaner on the path. The room size is small but ok, the bathroom is very very small that you cant go to the loo with the door opened, not very well cleaned. The doors to the garden was very dirt that you couldn't see the beautiful garden. Went to rest after lunch at 3pm, 30 minutes later a lady from minibar woke me up because she forgot to replace the minibar and said if she didn't replace it the Hotel would charge me for something from the previous guest. The worst thing was next morning, went to bed at 5am and at 9 am the housekeeping was with her colleague talking and laughing so loud that I had to get up and complaint. Will never go back to have the same experience.

    The place it is beautiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.4
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) Your scrambled eggs are the worst ones I ever tasted 2) Your night reception man did not explain the WIFI login so I had to run back so that he could explain again 3) I was sitting on the restaurant pateo in the afternoon and nowhere to buy a refreshing drink. Everything closed (pool and restaurant) 4) Many of your staff do not speak English. And more. Will never come back!

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Very nice bathrooms, pool and gym is way smaller than it...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice bathrooms, pool and gym is way smaller than it appears in the pictures. Hotel doesn’t really seem like a real 4 Star advertised. Nice stay and very close to a beach but the beach is a little dirty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    4.6
    Good restaurant but management must attend to mozzies and airco issues, also open pool/beach in May.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sweltering in May but pool and beach both closed till 15th June! Then closing again mid-September! Beach is other side of dual carriageway. Restaurant terrace and (roped-off) pool blighted by traffic noise. We wanted quiet room so at the back so ugly view from balcony. Not what I would call 'gardens'. Biting insects on restaurant terrace and in room; no attempt by staff to discourage them either by lighting coils on restaurant terrace or providing in-room plug-ins. In-room airco an illusion; you think you can trigger it by lowering set temperature but after a couple of minutes it switches off and re-sets itself to 23 degrees (and it felt hotter, far too hot for us, anyway). When we mentioned next day, assuming it was faulty, we were told it is centrally controlled and actually if you want a different temperature you have to ask reception. Not clear to me how anyone would think of that at 2 am.

    Close to airport. Free off-road parking. Room and bathroom clean and modern despite slightly scruffy public areas (but we were maddened by mosquitos and in-room airco was useless). Excellent restaurant for evening meal - compliments to chef. Varied choice at breakfast, generally good (except yesterday's cannoli which had gone soft, obviously).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.3
    would not do it again for that price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel advertised a beach but beach was not open and no pool service either...would not have taken hotel if we knew the beach was not open. Reception Staff unfriendly. Compared to the Vialmil in Palma a real dissapointment.

    Aspect of hotel was overall ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.4
    Ok - but expensive for what you get !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet outside our room was very dirty, very stained and very off putting. The bath had marks which looked liked stains but were scratches - generally tired. We were offered a "offer upgrade " for dinner for €25 which was supposed to be a main course and dessert but desserts where not those on the menu so a bit of a rip off ! Good breakfast.

    The staff were very polite and helpful and the room was quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff, good breakfast, comfortable room, good WiFi,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel area was itself clean but outside the area was dirty and lot of garbage. The garbage was everywhere - on the beach, on the road to the city, in the city, everywhere you looked. It seems that nobody does care of cleanliness of this area. Lot of abandoned constructions and houses.

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, comfortable room, good WiFi, good parking facilities!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.8
    Convenient stop for the airport and early flights but over priced at present.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is bit shabby but clean and pleasant. Pool being closed, I missed the note on Booking about being closed till June! That was a great disappointment. Beware that the hot water system cannot cope with everyone needing showers, had to wait an hour for hot water. Also had to ask for the air-conditioning to be switched on, once done really made a difference.

    Good situation for the airport, great local bar across the road. The staff tried their best to make things good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice rooms with a small terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think that prices at the minibar are astounding while the choice of beverages and snacks is rather poor.

    Nice rooms with a small terrace. Everything is very clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Restaurant and bar are very convenient since hotel's location is a bit away from the center of Catania. Parking at the property is a huge plus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    A good hotel in the wrong place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was dreadful - on the outskirts of Catania which is a horrible city - with closed and derelict buildings near by. There was nowhere to go in the evenings which did not involve a car drive and driving in daylight was difficult enough.

    The room and bathroom were clean and well appointed, the breakfast generous and the staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good. I would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not located in the city center, however is very conveniently close to highways accesses and the airport. Having a beach so close by is also a plus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    Another good stay at NH
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building alarm (not part of the hotel) went off from 12.30-5am intermittently. Whilst the staff informed police it did disrupt a whole nights sleep as it was so loud like a car alarm outside the bedroom door. It would be nice to have a kettle in the room

    Lovely hotel with pleasant staff. Location is perfect in summer with the private beach across the road. There is a fantastic small restaurant about 10 min walk which was the only place open outside of high season. Food is spot on & it’s open 12.30-midnight

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    All aspects of the property were very good, room was great...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A larger gym with extra cardio machines would make this place perfect!

    All aspects of the property were very good, room was great and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.1
    It is a good hotel but in a strange location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a good hotel but in a strange location. Its actually not at the beach...breakfast is quite good, food in restaurant is okay but rather expensive for what it is. Rooms are okay...a bit old but mostly clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Decent hotel, very suitable for airport transfers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very small. While drying you almost had to stand in the toilet. The shower head was sprinkling water all over the place, despite the screen. They could have left the bathtub out and just made a decent shower-cabin.

    A big and comfortable bed and a location very close to the airport (10 minute drive) and with free parking facilities. As it seems, all rooms had a balcony.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    NH hotel is very clean, nice location when you arrive or leave from the airport with a rental car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The NH Hotel is between the airport and the beach with white send, it is really 10 minutes from the airport where you rent your car. It is easy to get there with the GPS (a lot of traffic circles). there is a gate to enter so you can park your car for the night in a closed space (very important in Catania region). The room has all the comfort and you have a terrace if you which. The Wi-Fi is perfect. Very large selection at breakfast. Dinner is very correct and they give you a little test of bobble wine. Very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    A decent hotel located near to the airport,would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant wasn't great.Very slow service,no atmosphere and food very ordinary in the evening.Breakfast was a little better.Would suggest going elsewhere to eat.

    Comfortable bed and clean room and good location close to the airport

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.8
    Poor service versus perfect location, pool, private see side beach and distance from city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View and Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We were highly disappointed from the attitude of staff which is highly in contradiction with 4 star standards. Cleaning of the rooms on very law level, staff at the restaurant and swimming pool bar at very low level, people had to wait up to 30 minutes after ordering glass of wine or small snack....many times the staff was hiding or not present. In contrary, lifeguards were very friendly, helpful and professional. Morning breakfast with overcrowded number of guests caused by business conferences resulting in waiting lines for coffee, lack of food and prepared tables.....

    The location and combination of the pool and sea side private beach while being 15 minutes from the city centre is making this place a very interesting combination. Positive is also the short distance from the airpot, less than 20 minutes by taxi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    We really enjoyed the pool area and pool bar and the...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some receptionists seem to be bored by their job. Kitchen smell in the room, from the restaurant building opposite the room.

    We really enjoyed the pool area and pool bar and the approachable stuff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.4
    The airconditioned did not work and I could not even open...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The airconditioned did not work and I could not even open the windows for the dampness and tons of mosquitos coming in. I asked twice to start again the airco but nothing happened. I slept only few hours not comfortable at all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.1
    Very good position for an early flight from Fonterossa...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beach was closed on 29-th of September - unfortunately. The bathroom wasn't really clean.

    Very good position for an early flight from Fonterossa Airport. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    4.6
    Find a better place to stay!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was extremely warm; hotel controls AC which is set at 23 C and shuts off at night and during the day. hardly slept at night. I called numerous times asking them to turn my AC lower to no avail. The hot water is basically warm. My shower consisted of all hot water and no cold water and it was basically luke warm. Pool was closed for "clorination" Lobby is hot, personnel marginally welcoming. Area around the hotel is terrible! Beach is covered in trash, buildings are empty without windows or doors and graffitti covered, there is a small area down the street with people living in cars! I would not stay here again if the room was free, I am sorry! Lack of restaurants close, only within driving distance.

    The breakfast was adequate; the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    2.5
    Yo don't get your money's' worth.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is not on the beach, the beach is outside across a highway, 300mts from hotel. Also, pool and beach areas close at 6:30, very early, when the sun is still up. The rooms are old, AC doesn't work very well, bathrooms need remodeling. Internet is not fast. I had a booking with check out at noon, and they change that and made me check out at 11. Not recommended for leisure or business travel, you pay for resort accommodations they don't have, and location is far from the city center.

    The restaurant food was ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    close to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    "at the moment the baggage service is not available", it was 16:00, and I had to carry 4 suitcase on my own. thanks. parking far from the entrance no sea view no window and no vent (broken?) in the bathroom

    close to the airport nice breakfast clean and confy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Good, but needs renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    1) In my opinion requires some renovation. Stuff like bathroom equipment was used for a long time. 2) Poor breakfast. Not enough real food, mostly fruit, corn flakes, ham and desserts. 3) No direct bus from the airport, only two buses with opaque time schedule which do not pass near the airport (600 m from the exit). Taxi for 10 minute trip is 20-25 euros. 4) Very small terrain around the hotel building. 5) Near the airport - so a bit noisy. 6) Expensive (at least 40-50 euro for two persons) dinner in the restaurant and poor food choice.

    1) Very good location from the private sandy beach - just cross the road. If you choose a hotel in Catania center you will have to go to the beach on the bus which is frequently full and goes every 20 minutes only. There is nothing to do in Catania more than 1 day, all main touristic sights can be seen during this day. So it is better to have the hotel near the beach. 2) Free beds, umbrellas and towels for the beach and swimming pool (one per day). 3) Direct 1 euro bus to the city center (10 min to the center). 4) Air conditioning inside the building. Temperature is adjustable inside the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The private beach was not peaceful on the weekends, since the restaurant beside it had very loud beach ball games and music on Saturday and Sunday. Perhaps, if you are looking for a more tranquil environment, it is best to give this a pass. The swimming pool area was equally a disappointment, there were too many chairs squeezed together on one side of the swimming pool area. Additionally, the sea view advertised on the booking site, was completely blocked by the middle hall of the hotel (see pictures). The staff was slightly rude when we complained about the noise on the beach - they could have been more helpful or understanding.

    The hotel has a very handy private beach, with chairs, sunscreen and towels. The sea is very good for swimming. The buffet breakfast was delicious and the restaurant staff very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    I do recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be more strict rules about NOT WALKING AROUND THE HOTEL IN THE SWIMSUITS.

    Great breakfast Towels and beds free of charge both by the swimming pool and seaside area. Very nice and kind personel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.9
    Night before flight. Good location, hotel, restaurant and beach access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked and paid for a double (superior room) but it was only equipped for one person and they took some time to provide most of the things missing for two people. Did not understand that there should have been two of everything in a double room!

    Location and access to beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    This hotel was very spacious, the rooms were big and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only disappointment with the staff was that one of the girls at the reception misinformed me abut the transportation means on Etna. The information that she provided me would have costed me 200 extra euros, she having said that there is no bus to Etna and that I should take a specific visitor's packet from a firm that provided transportation in that place. The bedding should be changed more regularly, even if the rooms were clean, this aspect bothered me. The eggs we ate at breakfast had a weird taste, but except for this everything else was great.

    This hotel was very spacious, the rooms were big and the beach was very clean. We had AC, a good breakfast with lots of cakes and juices. The staff was friendly and helpful, they explained what we needed to know very well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant airport hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We spent more money than we would have liked, it's not near the town, but it has all the amenities for a pleasant stay.

    Very comfortable room, nice pool and good beach, with free beach towels. Great buffet breakfast with good service. While some other reviewers complained about the view from the beach, we thought it was a nice clean sandy beach with good swimming and the hotel provides free lounges and umbrellas. The pool area was also pleasant with lounges and a bar. The food was very good. We stayed here because of its close location to the Catania airport. It's located on a busy road, while the grounds are nice there are no great views from the hotel. Everyone on staff was competent and nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.3
    Beyond our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a leaking tube in the bathroom. Despite the website claims that the hotel can be easily reached by bus, it is not true, the only way to go to the hotel from airport is by taxi, that will cost u at least 20€. The are no bars, pubs, clubs or any other items of the infrastructure in the vicinity. So if you'd like to eat out or have a stroll, you need a taxi or to rent a car.

    The breakfast is not bad, the hotel has a private beach that is free for the guests of nh

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Swimming pool is open to 7pm - as well as the private beach. We didint know it before we come, and did not prepare any extra plans for te evening. To the city is not so close, so it was a liitle bit sad with closing the swimming pool in my opinion so early.

    Hotel is very close to the beach, nice breakfast, super kind staff, beds are comfortable. Awesome and clean beach (comparing to the public one), bar on the beach, every day clean beach/swimming pool towels. Aircondition working well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing and we definitely would not recommend this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We are really disappointed from the get go! The receptionist was rude and unfriendly - it was extremely hot when we checked in, and wanted to head out to the pool. We unpacked and headed downstairs....by this time it was 2.30 pm and we were looking forward to ordering a beer by the poolside. There was a phone with a sign, prompting you to ring a number for bar service, which we did. We were told that the bar doesn't serve drinks until 3.30 pm. Okay then.....not a great service given the 32 degree heat. The next day from about 9 am - we noticed there wasn't any water - and I mean, NONE, in the rooms at all. We went out, returned about 3 pm, hot and sweaty, hoping to shower. Again no water. I rang downstairs and was told that there was a plumbing problem - and yes, indeed there was no water.....for the entire day! When it did come back on - we had no hot water. By that stage, we had decided we couldn't wait to vacate! If we had been offered a complimentary glass of wine, or coffee or something to compensate for the inconvenience of not having ANY PLUMBING for 24 hours - might have offset some of our disappointment. The hotel in general needs a revamp - its all quite tired and shabby. The gardens are also fairly unkempt. It was not even reasonable value for money. We definitely wont be back or recommend it to anyone.

    Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel, I intend to stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The hotel location is decent, it is near the beach and away from nightlife so the evenings are very peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    Excellent hotel but overall location very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Apart from the fact that the hotel was located next to the beach it's overall location was terrible. Limited number of restaurants nearby and if you don't like seafood even less. The lack of footpaths was a concern, you could not walk very far in either direction before footpaths disappeared leaving you on the public road where the driving is a bit erratic to say the least. On Saturdays and Sundays the people going to the beach park on the footpaths so there is none. If you are disabled in any way I would avoid this location for sure. The area in general within 2 to 3km of the hotel was very dirty and looked like the streets and definitely the beaches (apart from the private ones) had not been cleaned in a long time. The sea water in the private beach attached to NH Hotel was clean but if you walked along the beach left or right of it there was an loads of green algae in the water which was a bit off putting. I would not return to this location. No complaints on the hotel itself just the location of it.

    Hotel was good and clean, Staff were helpful and friendly, hotel was close to the private beach across the road, food in the hotel was good but limited, check in and out was easy and efficient

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.9
    Very helpful and kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could have food and beverage service at beach if they want to make some sales.

    Very helpful and kind staff. Good locstion, close to airport access to nice and private beach

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Airport hotel next to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is located next to very busy road so you can hear cars crossing by when you are relaxing on the pool. Hotel beach is clean however it is very small (narrow), surrounded by very dirty public beach. Due to the short distance to the port the sea is not very clear.

    Close to the airport, small but privat beach and the pool, great breakfast, hotel ideal for 1-2nights before/after the flight

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    3.8
    Nightmare, worst place ever and I travel a lot and seen many things!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was disappointed like never before! First time ever I started to search for another hotel upon arrival. Lets begin my story: Generally it took them like 2 weeks to respond for messages either via booking or email. Before my arrival I dropped them an email that I will be at the hotel around 11:00 a.m. asking for some room. Then upon arrival receptionist was telling me that she is the one to respond for emails and that she for sure didn't get my email (by the way they replied for it... when I was already back home 1 week later). No surprise as generally they reply with 2 weeks delay. Then of course our room was not ready yet. So we asked where is the nearest restaurant or bar. All what receptionist was able to tell is that hotel restaurant is closed. So then we took a walk to search some nearby restaurant. There was one restaurant but smelled so bad we just went around. Generally in that crazy place all restaurants in whole city are closed till 20:00 so after breakfast we were starving till late evening. Going back to hotel around 12:30 our room was ready. It was hot as hell so I started to work out how to turn on AC. Gave up and called reception and this is what happen next: Me: Hi, I am just trying to turn on AC, can you tell me how to do that? Reception: I have to turn it on for your room Sir! Me: So please do it R: Check now, should work M: seems like AC panel is finally alive but still can't set temperature, can you tell me how to do that? R: This is a centralized AC system, I set you 20 degrees and this is how it is. M: So I can't set temperature? R: You can call me, now I set 20 degrees but no one wants to have AC turned on at 13:00. This is how we do in Italy M: So every time I want to turn AC on or off or change temperature I have to call you? R: Yes sir After that I went crazy and first time in my life started to search straight away for another hotel but there were no one better.

    Me and my girlfriend still laugh from hotel staff famous statement: "This is how we do in Italy, what can I do".

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.7
    NOT a hotel for a holiday, but used for business/airport proximity
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were there end of May/beg of June, when everybody says it is THE season for Sicily...except that in Sicily they are not aware of it, so nothing was ready - no beaches, no restaurants...even the hotel beach was not open yet - it opens on June 15th - information NOT mentioned anywhere when we booked! The other beach just in front of the hotel was mega dirty and the hotel in general is surrounded by ugly ruins. You cannot do anything without a car there, so we lost 1 day to book a car. Taxi to the city costs 15 euros even though it's a 10min ride. The restaurant has double the prices of the restaurants in the city with medium quality. Very loud cleaning staff in the morning. I had to ask them to clean the sand from the room's floor. They are just not used to people staying one full week for a holiday, they are used to clients just passing by. In general, the hotel is mostly used for business conferences, meetings, an overnight stay before a flight, due to its proximity to the airport and not for a real holiday.

    We had a superior room, so the room was quite nice, with a balcony and a little view (view not possible as the hotel's top floor is 2nd and the view is blocked by another building)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.3
    Nothing was open, including the hotel's own facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was excellent. Also the receptionists

    Nothing was open, including the hotel's own facilities. Transport into town was expensive by taxi and very difficult by bus. The hotel had no information about public transport

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    4.2
    Rate quoted on Booking . Com109 euro Confirmation Email 129euro charged 152 euro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach filthy with plastic driftwood and refuse

    Pool and beach not open No airport shuttle TXi quoted as 20 euro cost 26.50 No transport to Catania Beach filthy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    5.0
    This hotel is not NH hotel worthy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are very hard Toilet wasn't mounted straight The taps were hanging loose on the wall Unfriendly staff behind the reception (the real workers were the exceptions)

    The breakfast was really good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    5.8
    Nice pics but modest conditions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited food options Cleaning service was awful No flexibility with checkout for extra hour - charged 10 euro No open pool in may

    Good croissants Nice balcony Confortable bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    6.7
    OK hotel for airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food at dinner and breakfast not as good as the other 2 places we stayed at. Dinner in particular was expensive. The hotel needs to sort out its policy on air-con in the rooms. Apparently you have to request it to be switched on at reception - how would you know this if no-one tells you? There should be a notice in Italian and English in the rooms making this clear. Even better, the reception should tell guests this when they arrive, often tired after a long journey. We had a poor night's sleep in a very hot room!

    Very convenient for the airport and our flight home. Comfortable bed and nice balcony.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    5.8
    OK hotel and staff fine, but badly located and dangerous for guests who like to walk to sites etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location appalling - dangerous roads, no footpath to town, no shuttle service, taxis only viable means - extremely expensive eg €20 for a 3 km journey etc.

    Staff were fine. Food very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    6.3
    good breakfast but room can use some upgrades
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked for a double sized bed and got 2 mattresses together - so not comfy and there is noise in the room from the ventilation. Hotel is 2km near the airport, but it's very hard to reach it: you have to take 2 bus lines or a taxi for 20E and there is no chance to walk to reach it, because of the "magical" streets in Catania. Hotel does not have a service to drive you to the airport, despite being so close to it.

    Excellent breakfast. Close to the beach, but if you are in extra season there is nothing open around.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    3.8
    Stay away unless you're passing through for business or something.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool closed. Dirty, polluted, public beach. Hotel is pretty old and renovated. Room ventilation meh; many mosquitos. Food quality marginal (dinner and breakfast); and the dining area is very awkward with blue light and huge tables with mostly people eating alone and staring around. Coffee comes from a machine and is a disgrace to Italian standards. Staff is mostly careless. This, and a ridiculous price per evening makes this hotel hilarious. The only people here are in-and-out for business purposes; other than that: stay away!

    Good bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    5.4
    Good, but not special.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Despite the option to choose bed type during booking; the hotel has only single beds, no twin beds. The bathroom is old fashioned.

    Good breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    8.3
    Stayed 5 nights enjoyed every minute. Thanks to all employees.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Thanks to the great service we received we will be visiting the same hotel in the near future, however, we would like to find better cleansing in the bathrooms.

    All members of staff were very friendly and ready to help; provided excellent service. Internet was good, and the hotel location worked wonders for us. Our room included a private patio which was a great bonus.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    9.2
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very thin walls, can hear everything. NOT the fault of the hotel, but lot of trash on the sea side near the hotel.

    Free big parking place inside hotel, Close to sandy sea side, Rooms cleaned every day, nice breakfast, easy to find, quiet

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.3
    Convenient hotel for early morning flights - with parking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets had stains on them and housekeeping thought it was a great idea to vacuum them at 8pm at night. The restaurant was way understaffed, it was impossible to get any proper attention; they forgot to bring water and one of the 4 meals that were ordered. Breakfast was just ok - lousy coffee, nothing worth eating.

    I liked the fact that the hotel had everything you could need, a restaurant, bar and parking. It was an excellent choice to stay the night before an early morning flight. The sheets were crisp and clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    Clean Modern Rooms with Lovely Friendly Staff and great Cocktails !
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a lovely breakfast left for us as we checked out very early but they left no milk so we couldn't have coffee or cereal on offer but this was a minor thing as overall it was a great stay

    The room was clean and modern with lovely extras

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    2.9
    Total rip off
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not on the shuttle line you have to walk for ages down a road with no footpath and then try and find the bus stop while trying not to get killed by the crazy drivers around. The taxi from the airport which was a 3 minute drive away, cost 25 euros. The staff were not friendly and room service is a rip off, although the salad wasn't too bad. We also had to go and order our room service from the bar as the phone was so old half the keys could not be pressed. The room door wouldn't shut easily and the bathroom was quite smelly. The hotel is in the middle of no where has a dangerous vibe, absolutely nothing to see and town is an expensive taxi ride away.

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    5.0
    Good location, but noisy and needs some refreshing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very loud hotel. Poor soundproofing. Big party with band late into the night. Door to room did not lock unless you slammed it shut. Many things in the room were "distressed" and needed to be repaired.

    Excellent location for an early morning flight out of Catania.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.5
    A good hotel spoiled by poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no menu for the desert course and the male waiting staff were either indifferent or rude. There was little attempt to explain to us what deserts were available and when we started to place our desert order the waiter walked off. He then ignored us for 15 minutes before coming back to take our order. In contrast the young waitress was extremely busy, positive and helpful. In many ways the hotel is typical of those run by large organisations but in this case they have not got the management of their waiting staff sorted properly. They need to reconsider who is in charge of the restaurant! If you want to eat elsewhere it is a 40 minute walk or a taxi ride.

    This property is very conveniently located for the airport and city center. The rooms are a good size, clean and have balconies. The reception staff and the young female waiting staff were extremely positive and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.2
    The hotel was clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It usually took about 25 minutes to drive to downtown Catania for dinner. This hotel is great for the beach, but not great if you want to be downtown.

    The hotel was clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly, the breakfast spread was large and delicious, and the hotel is right across the street from a private beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.2
    Very comfortable, clean hotel and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's out of the main city, but we wanted that, handy for the airport and opposite the beach.

    Very helpful staff, keeping our luggage safe for us for a week when we returned to collect it, thank you. Very clean and comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.3
    We loved Sicily, we loved the hotel, we had a wonderful holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The bath was rather in need of refurbishment. A walk-in shower would be better, it would give more room and also have been better for my disabled husband.

    The staff were smiling, friendly and helpful, particularly with my disabled husband, the rooms very comfortable, the breakfast excellent! We had problems with our booking through Booking.com. The receptionists did their utmost to sort it all out and gave us a very good alternative arrangement under the circumstances. We loved the pool and the beach and being able to practise our Italian on the friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.3
    Excellent arrival or departure option close to historic centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not traditional Sicilian if you are looking for authenticity or antique hotels but so close to centre by car.

    Not as sterile as most modern mid range chains. It was a great overnight choice for the airport next day and only 6 mins by car to the historic centre without any parking problems. Beach over the road and pool also good if some time before departure. We appreciated the free late check out on Sunday.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse NH Catania Parco degli Aragonesi traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: