Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of NH Firenze Anglo American 4 stars

Via Garibaldi 9, 50123 Florence, Italy

#231 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1005 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Very good value hotel in Florence / definitely recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very nice with some good choices but way too expensive at €16 per head. Also no food served at the bar until 5pm was a little disappointing.

    Interior and style is gorgeous, size of bedrooms is great especially for the triple rooms. Very nice and helpful reception staff who even allowed us to use the shower to freshen up after we checked out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.2
    Will nto stay in this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms not up to the standard expected. Maintenance was done on two consecutive days- one day cleaning water system which left terrible smell throughout the hotel for a number of days. very unhygienic. Rooms were in terrible state of repair. Tiles lifted from floor and a couple of reception staff were very unhelpful and dismissive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely loved my stay at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved my stay at the hotel. It is situated in a nice, quiet area that is steps away from the US consulate. It’s around a 5 minute, or less, walk away from the city center. The facility is a greatly renovated old monastery, but the way it was modernized was top notch. Ended with up a cool modern design in one of those big high ceiling rooms! Lastly, the hotel’s greatest asset is it’s staff, especially Giancarlo from the front office. He took excellent care of us from the moment we arrived. Provided us with excellent eating recommendations, sightseeing tips and much more. Definitely will stay there again next time I visit!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely old hotel with lots of character within a 15 minute walk of the main sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t fault hotel was exactly as described

    Staff helpful, we arrived Sunday and were told of a free car park till 8 am Monday morning when we then moved our car to be parked by the hotel at 25 euros per day saving us 25 euros

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location, nice and quiet, everything is within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, there is none

    Great location, nice and quiet, everything is within walking distance. Nice staff. Nice, clean and spacious rooms. All in all a nice stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.8
    only good for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was very small , room and bathroom are outdated , carpet in hall was old and not very clean,breakfast is basic for the price paid , elevator too small for 2 persons with luggage

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice area but bathrooms need upgrading
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very poorly lit and appeared gloomy. There was no shower curtain . The plug sockets in the room were difficult to reach , tucked under a table in a corner. We had a snack sandwich in the bar on arrival which was very poor & badly presented, it looked like it had been slapped on a plate. The check in process seemed to take a very long time. The lifts were tiny & we were directed to the lift that could only hold 2 people with luggage, it seemed to be the service lift !

    The hotel was in a nice area ( near the US Embassy) , it was very impressive as you walked in with an internal garden area with seating. It’s decorated in a traditional style. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable o/nt stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Extra bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Rm was large clean quiet and comfortable with a fabulous spacious marble bathroom. Availability here at short notice was much appreciated after long travelling day. With a storm looming and feeling rather weary, it was disappointing to hear restaurant closed. The availability of light meals in the bar such a great idea however and nothing was too much trouble for our lovely waitress who served us a yummy lasagne and salad!! Bkfst rm staff and at reception all very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    We did love this accommodation, I recommended it already to my sister.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    About the parking we would have loved to get the information in advance because of planning and extra costs.

    The location was perfect and the rooms very very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.8
    Too expensive for actual quality of facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was OK, though air conditioning was inadequate, but the building itself and common areas are in need of maintenance and sprucing up.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    I know some people complained on Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know some people complained on Booking.com about the cleaning services, but our room was thoroughly cleaned every day. The breakfast was OK. The best thing about this hotel is definitely the personnel, they were really nice and welcoming and even offered me a cupcake with a candle on my birthday:)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent receiption desk and room cleaners - all staff excellent in brief!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dining room is very noisy due to lack of something -some insulating material - either on the floor or on the wall to absorb the sounds and noises that are echoed and multiplied. The breakfast would be more pleasant without this noise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Staff were super helpful, on check-in giving restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was large and lovely with wooden floors, but this can be very noisy - room above with children running around very late in the evening was as though they were in the room with you, at midnight not welcome! Wi-fi not good

    Staff were super helpful, on check-in giving restaurant suggestions.. Very large room and bed. Location was great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    The best hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved staying in this hotel, its on the center of the city the train station takes 10 mins walking and most of the tourist places are so close , the staff provided us with some tours there and we took one to see Pisa and the Leaning Tower. There were many choices for the breakfast and it was delicious I adore this hotel and i am definitely going to stay there in my next visit to Florenca

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    Staff were all very friendly, helpful and went the extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My bed could be more comfy

    Staff were all very friendly, helpful and went the extra mile where possible. The room is comfortable and a good size by European standards

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay in a suitable location to the centre of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms need updating - bathroom very tight and some repairs need to be carried out eg the bathroom door did not close

    Staff friendly and helpful. Lots of good choice for breakfast. Good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel. Will stay next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was actually cold, but bathrobes were brought. There is not enough light in the room. The hotel locates little bit far from historical center but near the river.

    The hotel's and room's interior is nice. Breakfast is ordinary but served nicely. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The room was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.3
    Classic accomodation soon due for revamp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little bit run down (cracks in the walls, stains in the ceiling, faded carpet). Loudly echoed voices and shouting coming from the street at night.

    Great breakfast, good staff, large room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.0
    The bed in the superior room was big and very comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There could definitely be a bit more furniture in the room. The walls looked empty and in general the room should have been decorated a bit better. Also no slippers or bathrobes provided in the room!! Options at breakfast were the same every day - staying for 4 nights and having the same choice every day was not ideal.

    The bed in the superior room was big and very comfortable and the location of the hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent service! Excellent atmosphere! Excellent buffet brekky! Room was lovely and so were staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could mention to improve on would be the wifi, it was very slow.. I do understand there is a paid premium version, however I think this should be a given when staying 4 nights.

    The hotel room and buffet breakfast!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    High value reasonably priced hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay here. The staff are very friendly, kind, gracious and so helpful. Our room was standard... very clean comfortable and warm. The hotel has no parking so we took advantage of the valet parking service, 50 euro for 2 days. This made our arrival and departure so smooth and easy... twas worth the money. Breakfast is excellent. We left the table replete and well nourished to face the day..... Do book in. Enjoy, ciao!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    Friendly staff, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no heating in the bathroom and for December that was not a nice experience. The air conditioner in the room was noisy and annoying.

    The receptionists were extremely friendly and have helped us with valuable sightseeing tips.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    Like always in NH are great breakfasts.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like always in NH are great breakfasts. Location is also good, we did all our trips and meetings by foot. Reception level and restaurant looks great, rooms are already old but still very comfortable. Thanks for very nice staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to drop off and pick up . No kettle provided for coffee/ tea making which is essential in cold weather. The breakfast is the same everyday.

    The rooms were spacious.The staff were very friendly, helpful and polite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.1
    Safe area;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    AC didn't work, had to keep windows up and bugs came in. There was a smell in the AC unit, staff came to fix it but the smell did not go away.

    Safe area; clean facility, staff was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Hotel was away from downtown area but that meant it was nice and quite. We walked to downtown many
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room needs to be refreshed with paint and crack repair.

    Nice breakfast options - plenty of coffee of your liking. Staff was very helpful. Taxi's were readily available when Hotel called for them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    3.3
    The bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No socket for the computer cable at the desk in the room, only in the bathroom!! Are you supposed to sit and work in the bathroom? Old and not refurbished room, more of a 2 star room. Loud noice from the inner garden until 1 pm so no sleep. The hotel looks very outdated and more of a 2 - 3 star hotel, definitely not a 4 star hotel, which means that it is extremely expensive and no value for money. I will never stay here again and I would not recommend anyone to. Either lower the prize to a 2 - 3 star level or repaint, refurbish and renovate the whole place. The breakfast room was horrible noicy and uncomfortable. The breakfast itself very simple for a 4 star hotel.

    The bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    A very friendly welcome
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited facilities e.g only small bar and terrace. No gym etc. But you know this from website and price.

    The staff were incredibly friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    A great facility but do not plan to drive there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being near the Embassy, many streets were blocked off. We picked this hotel because it was two blocks from where we needed to drop off our rental car. It took us over an hour with dense traffic, lots of detours and plenty of frustration to accomplish this simple task.

    Loved it all: beautiful facility, friendly staff, great room, lovely breakfast. Enjoyed the welcome cocktail.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.8
    Sleepless night for 260 euro!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    they called us in the middle of the night at 5 scaring the hell out of us saying that maybe we left one bathroom tap open as there was a leakage but there was no tap open! How can u sleep having water flashing continuously?!? Anyhow they called us and then we couldn't sleep well again so they ruined our only night there and we were not ok for the whole day due to the lack of sleep. BUT during the check out the lady (a trainee) didn't even bother to say sorry for having woke us up in the middle of the night and check on us. Once I mentioned she replied ah yes I saw it in the profile note! Staff professionalism zero! Service recovery zero!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    4.2
    Classical design .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated . Air conditioning didn't work properly and was old and noisy Parking absolutely shocking Three consecutive days mini bar not replenished. First day no large towels available. No iron in rooms. Had to iron in a room downstairs ... a disabled toilet!!!!

    Classical design . Character.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing, Enjoyable experience, with Fantastic helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved it all... Nothing to complain about at all fantastic stay

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, location of the hotel was fantastic as could walk to centre where all bars and restaurants, designer shops etc...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    Good value for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 4 star hotel, the room itself was a little too plain. Also wifi connectivity that was provided for free was really poor and you would need to pay for a better connection

    Good value for your money. Nice breakfast and really kind and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    The bedroom was absolutly beautiful but the AC on the second...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was absolutly beautiful but the AC on the second floor did not worked as the one ins the firt floor, so the master bedroom was too hot and the first floor only has a single bed. The rest was perfect.

    The bedroom was absolutly beautiful but the AC on the second floor did not worked as the one ins the firt floor, so the master bedroom was too hot and the first floor only has a single bed. The rest was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.7
    Ok to sleep at but offers very little else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities. The shower was cramped and dark the curtain clung to you. Continental breakfast limited choice, if you decided to have a cooked breakfast you were chagrged for individual items. In hindsight I probably would consider an apartment in Florence.

    Bed was good and the room was cleaned well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.4
    Nice getaway, beautiful city, hotel needs refreshing. Maybe a touch of paint
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small and was in need of a touch up on the maintenance side of things. Bed wasn't very comfy, the TV signal was poor due to short stretched aerial cable pulling out of the TV. Dirty curtains.. As above, it is what it was as I was alone but if with my wife or family, I would've probably requested a room swap to a nicer abode.

    Staff friendly. Nice reception area, decor in communial areas lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel but old carpet make bed picture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is old and it is time carlet to be changed. Realy old carpet make overall picture bed. Alsow drink and food are very expensive!

    Staff friendly and close to the airport

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The previous descriptions of the property I had read were accurate. The room was tired and the aircon only just managed to hold it at a reasonable temperature. My son (who likes his full English breakfast!) was a little disappointed by the cooked offerings on the breakfast buffet.

    The staff were very helpful. The breakfast was good - a nice selection of pastries, fruit and cereal and never too busy. Our room (a superior one) was spacious. The location is very good if you want to be in a quieter location and do not mind the stroll into town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location, lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A tiny detail but there was no full length mirror in the room and very little natural light. The parking was insanely expensive, €25 a day, with an extra €5 each time you wanted to use it.

    The location was perfect, good walking distance to the centre. Good selection for breakfast, staff very friendly and spoke great English.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    lady on reception was very helpful and upgraded us to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel slightly pricey for what it was however there was an event on near by which I'm sure is what bumped the price up. location good however was a walk to city centre which isn't great on a night as the streets round about are quite secluded.

    lady on reception was very helpful and upgraded us to a suite. good choice at breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Loved the hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very elegant! There was something very old world Florence about it. The staff were really helpful and showed us where we was on the map in respect to the main attractions. The room was brilliant, we stayed in a junior suite and was well worth the upgrade! The bathroom was lovely, had a separate shower cubicle as well as a bath which also had a shower in it, which was brilliant. The room was tidied everyday which was lovely. Breakfast was very good, had lots to choose from and was from 7am - 10am which was a welcomed on our second day as we needed a lie in from all the walking. The hotel is very close to the river so was very easy to follow back from the centre at the end of the night. Was also 5-10mins walk from the train station and very straight forward getting there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    Great and quiet location. Great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good times of the hotel are over but rooms etc ok.

    Great location, close to the center. Quiet. Easy access to city airport and to highways. Best times are over but we liked the hotel. Great breakfast !!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Charming hotel in Florence
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed at this hotel three times for business and plan to book for my next trip as well. The staff are always professional and go out of their way to accommodate their guests. The hotel ambience is charming and I feel safe and cared for when staying here. The breakfast is excellent and the seating is in several very large lovely rooms on the main floor. The guest rooms are very clean. I like that the location is not right in the center of the busy city, but just an easy walk along the Arno to everything. I appreciate the quiet and pretty tree lined block that it is situated on.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.2
    Hotel in a quiet location but close to the river and centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    Very large room which was cool. Bath and a shower. Lovely buffet breakfast lots of choice. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.5
    Great hotel. Shame about the parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking! It cost €25 a day for them to park our car in a garage.

    Lovely hotel, clean & comfortable. Good selection at breakfast & it was great having tea/coffee in the room. Hotel far enough away, in a quiet area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    2.5
    Terrible Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is runned down. There is no way this hotel deserves a 4 star rating maybe 2 at best. The wallpaper in the room is torn and coming off the walls. There is scuff marks all over the walls and baseboards. The hallway carpet to the rooms are stained. The bedroom and bathroom are incredibly small and uncomfortable. The bed was like a brick. The air conditioning barely worked and wifi was bad. The breakfast was bad. The eggs were ice cold and the juices were warm. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

    I liked the entrance where you registered. Other than that the property is rubbed down. It is no way a 4 star rating maybe 2 at best. The wallpaper in the room is torn and coming off the walls. There is scuff marks all over the walls and baseboards. The hallway carpet to the rooms are stained. The bedroom and bathroom are incredibly small and uncomfortable. The bed was like a brick.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    3.8
    Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean bathroom it was old and carpets had stains

    Old and not clean. The air conditionner wasnt working well and made too much noise. We couldnt sleep.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.9
    Faded grandeur but central and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We expected it to be slightly more luxurious (and not so tired looking) Description and photos on line made it look slightly more luxurious than it was.

    Location was good - slightly out from centre of town but by the river so easy to find and 10 minutes walk from station and 15 minute walk along the river bank to town Breakfast really good with choice of continental and English. Nice seating area in courtyard on ground floor and 24 hour reception.We did not have a balcony as described but we were upgraded to a room with a better view instead of overlooking the road.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    6.3
    NH Firenze Anglo Smerican needs to be refreshed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in great need of remodeling and upgrade in many areas. Room lacked working outlets until maintenance fixed issue; tea pot to heat water was also not working until it was fixed; hair dryer did not work and it had to be chsnged! Drapes in room are very old. Carpet in hotel is in bad shape.

    Breakfast very good and varied

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    The room we received had a window overlooking a small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we received had a window overlooking a small alley/courtyard of the hotel. We did not have any natural light in the room, but otherwise perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.9
    Amazing staff, big variance in room quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room lottery: some rooms are renovated, some aren't yet. It seems that upon booking, it's quite impossible to know which one will be assigned to you. The grade I gave hopefully strikes a balance between the initial rooms we were given, and the far better ones we were provided with after we asked to change.

    The staff is amazing. The NH Anglo American is in an old building and in certain rooms, it shows. We were unhappy with the first room we had - tiny (though in fairness we had booked standard rooms and knew their size in advance), moldy smell, and severely in need of a renovation: wallpaper peeling off, chips and bangs in the walls, a hole in the bathroom door and there was an actual footprint on a wall. We asked for replacement rooms - we were a party of four with 2 rooms - and the staff was incredibly helpful even though this was high season. The next day we were relocated in far better rooms. They probably could use a renovation too at some point, but they were more spacious and charming, and we were fully satisfied. On our last night (we left for a few days then spent a night in Florence before leaving) we were upgraded to one of their recently renovated rooms, which was also very nice. Throughout this, the staff was never anything less than graceful in the face of our complaints, as helpful as one could ask. They not only resolved our room-related issues but also assisted in booking taxis or restaurants, and provided directions and (excellent) dinner suggestions.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    8.3
    Room 347: spacious, clean and quiet, Wifi terrible signal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    General overview: House itself is nice, but to be honest it has past its prime. Carpets are very used particularly in the public areas.... ....the "Espresso" was not at all "italian"!!!

    Room 347: spacious, clean and quiet, Wifi terrible signal! Early checkin was no problem at all!! Breakfast was very ok & rich, staff very friendly and fast!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Décor was very tired with threadbare carpets, chipped paint work and peeling wallpaper. Room was dull with old fashioned bathroom. There was no walk in shower so I requested on two occasions a bath mat as the bath was quite slippery. I had to google the translation for the reception staff as they were unable to understand. I am recovering from a back operation and was quite nervous getting in and out of the bath as the shower facilities were attached. Neither of my requests were replied to. The restaurant was not open in the evenings, yet it had not said this on the website when we were booking, but were advised we could eat at a sister hotel nearby or in the bar. We ate in the bar on one occasion but it was not very nice, microwaved pizza and lasagne! On a couple of mornings after a walk I went to the bar to get a cup of tea but there was no one available so I had to go out again to a local café. On the morning of departure the receptionist, whom I had asked for a bath mat, never enquired had we a nice stay and was everything to our satisfaction. We were not shown our bill before payment was debited. My husband was attending a conference and had been given the details by the organisers. Overall the hotel was not to our satisfaction and we would not readily recommend to family or friends. Very disappointing overall.

    The staff were very friendly. Rooms very clean. Good breakfast. Location was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.1
    good but not for a leisure trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite far from historic centre. Our room was small and had no balcony (and I've choosed the room with balcony when booking). And it needs renovation, the walls are shabby. There also was only one free power socket for plugging and charging our devices (and we had laptops, phones, tablet and cameras - as many other hotel guests I suppose). I tried to use another sockets, but the one near the bed (it has a table lamp plugged in) was not working at all ((

    Friendly staff, good breakfast. Bathroom is big and clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    8.8
    Overall good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Furniture in the rooms a little old. Bathroom fixtures old. Only 1 power socket (and that needs an adapter) for plugging my laptop, not to mention that it was near bathroom.

    Nice location. Very nice breackfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    6.3
    Dissappointing....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms defintely need renovation for this price; both in bedroom as in bathroom. Location a little bit far, plenty of alternatives to stay closer to the sights. But if you like quiet its a nice area. Will not stay here again, since it really needs renovation. Building itself is nice though.

    Very nice breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    8.3
    Long weekend in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt a bit mouldy at first, it just needed to be aired out and then was fine.

    Great location. Beautiful hotel with spacious & clean rooms. Friendly & helpful staff. Lovely capuccino's served at breakfast. Would reccomend to others as very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    7.5
    Good location and excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The whole hotel and the rooms in particular need refurbishment; walls, carpets, elevator, etc. are not in a very good state.

    Good location and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    3.8
    Don't EVEN think obout it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was poorly ventilated, scratched walls. Water dripping from the bathroom selling, it could be from the upper room bathroom !!! The bath tube was not draining.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel, very nice service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast can be little better, but was ok.

    Staff was very nice. They set up for us parking car was back on time. Lovely receptionist Sara, she welcome us go through check in quick and explain all city attractions and recommend good restaurant. I thing she is very proud of her city and hotel, and she show this in very nice way. Hotel got good size and clean rooms. Good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    7.9
    Staff are very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the breakfast box provided as I had to leave before 7:00am.

    Staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a very good variety of breakfast. Our room is very spacious and the cleanliness of the hotel is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    8.3
    Great for a short stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you like to be right in the middle of everything this might not be for you as there's almost nothing in the immediate location. You need to walk about 20 mins to the centre for shops, attractions and restaurants.

    Breakfast was included in our booking and there was something for everyone, we also used the offsite parking which was no hassle at all.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    7.5
    Nice to see Florence but not impressed with the value for money for hotels and parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well this hotel is quite old by the look of things. The bathtub and shower were a little cramped and awkward. It was designated as a "Superior Room," but not very large and not impressive compared to standard rooms in other NH Hotels. The parking is convenient because they bring a valet to take your car to a safe location and return it when you are checking out, but it isn't cheap. They charged us 27 Euros per day for parking. They also charged us more for a two day stay in the NH Anglo American Hotel in Florence than we paid for three days in the NH Carpegna in Rome where we had free underground parking on site and a more impressive hotel. So I am not impressed with the value for money at Florence NH Anglo American compared to more comfortable NH Hotels elsewhere.

    The girls at the front desk were very knowledgeable, friendly, courteous and helpful. Our room was very clean which is what we can always expect from NH Hotels. The breakfast was pretty good with many choices and courteous staff. The location was good because it seemed like a safe quiet area and within walking distance of downtown where all of the historical sights are.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    10
    Will definitely be back to Florence AND this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Staff a pleasure to deal with. Location a short distance to the centre. Loads of restaurant choices just across the river (perfectly safe to walk along river at night ... we were two women on our own). Room spotless. Breakfast fab!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.2
    Good deal and most helpful people working there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gym or pool area

    Breakfast, super helpful and nice people working there! Very polite and interested in the wellbeing of the people. Good room and fairly clean. In 15 minutes in downtown

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    10
    Highly recommend a stay at this hotel. We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were a good size, bathrooms well equipped. Clean, airy and spacious hotel. Breakfast was good value, staff polite and friendly. Within walking distance to most places. Located in a quiet area, so no noise at night. We travel to Florence every 2 years and have stayed in a different hotel each time - not any more, we'll be back to the Anglo-American.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    Excellent staff, food and position but slightly jaded room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very careworn. Needs a refurb soon. Our friends who stayed in another room said that they felt the same.

    Breakfast choice exceptional. Good hotel, large rooms and good location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Good Property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Extra bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Staff. Service. Breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.3
    I would retur
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size and AC were excellent

    Yes

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    The neighborhood and breakfast area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms area is old and needs to be rehabilitated

    The neighborhood and breakfast area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Accessible and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice quiet hotel. Perfect to discover the city. Confortable and easy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    beyond expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nope

    good breakfast good condition of room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Extra bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, tidy and generous suites

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    The property was in a quiet area of Florence but still in the historic district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous Hotel. We were given the roof top terrace. Beyond beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Place, room quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always busy reception. Long time waiting for in room service (1 hour). Not possible to reach reception by phone. Expensive

    Place, room quality

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse NH Firenze Anglo American traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: