Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Palazzo Livorno-MGallery by Sofitel 5 stars

Viale Italia, 195, 57127 Livorno, Italy

#11 of 23 hotels in Livorno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2113 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin/Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No point having the rooftop pool/bar, you're just constantly bothered by huge seagulls and pigeons landing next to you or on your table

    Large hotel with friendly staff and good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not as great as it could have been. Noisy a/c (which they did fix for us), safe wouldn’t open (reported but wasn’t fixed and no follow up with us), blood stain on the wall was off putting. We asked for change of room but was told no rooms available.

    Loved the rooftop pool and bar. Restaurant service a little erratic but food excellent. Breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin/Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Livorno in general is not the best place to stay (we found it the least interesting place during our stay in Toscana). The property is a bit tired and is not clean at all. It is definitely missing something that other 5-star hotels got. Neither the food nor the service in the restaurant was exceptional. There is not much things to do neither around the hotel neither in the city.

    A nice historical building (that must have been luxurious in the past), spacious rooms, stylish furniture, good breakfast and convenient parking on site. Given that Livorno's city centre is dirty, this is probably an optimal place to stay. The staff was friendly to us and spoke English well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about the hotel was 5 star. The room, the view, and the dining were top notch. The pool area was out standing. Enjoyed my stay wish I could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful rooftop restaurant with great menu and quality food with sunning view across the Mediterranean. Very comfortable bed with high quality sheets and proper quilt and not the normal bedsheet and rock hard mattress y9ou find in the other hotels here Car park is very convenient

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Group
    • Superior Twin/Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room temperature was 26 C and the air con was powered off! Start of breakfast earliest at 07:00 a.m. A quarter up to half a hour earlier would be great.

    Nice location and short ways

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin/Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the general attitude of the staff. Nothing to complain about, but I've been to lower star rated hotels and felt more welcome.

    I liked the spa and the restaurant and pool on the top floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that in such a grand hotel, it was a shame that there were no colourful, welcoming flowers on the large round table in the reception area -- oddly replaced by a dull and lifeless silver cup inscribed to some unknown English viscount.

    Easy parking. Comfortable bed. Spacious room. Delicious dinner in lovely dining room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Twin/King Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is lacking in many areas. Not sure how they qualified for 5 stars, but there is nothing in Livorno that is a grand as this.

    Great bed and spacious room with high ceilings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Twin/King Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The marble floor in the bathroom was shattered and had to be replaced while we were there. There is NO MOVING AIR allowed - no AC, no fans, etc. until the local government allows it later in the season. So, if you suffer from allergies or asthma or don't care for mosquitoes in your room late at night, this is not the place for you. Five stars? What a joke.

    The view was fantastic. The hotel has not been maintained, however, and it shows.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin/Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedrooms are pretty standard for a large hotel chain and lack the character of the places we stayed earlier in our travels. The room was in need of a little TLC with the paintwork chipped and scuffed where pictures had been taken down and moved. The air-con did not seem to work even after I had gone down to the reception to have this switched on. I'm sure that had I gone down a second time this would have been rectified.

    The entrance to the hotel is impressive, the lobby open and airy. Parking right outside the hotel itself made the check-in experience smooth and easy. The restaurant serves exquisite tuna (of which I'm determined to somehow get the recipe) and the view was beautiful during the evening. Prices for food where pretty much what I expected and the staff were mostly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin/Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here several times in the past. The property is poorly maintained, wardrobes are not repaired, walls are not painted since a while, the shower is in no good condition. The staff wanted to give us a room that we previously booked as standard room even if this time we booked a superior one. The breakfast is no special and you have to pay for your choices of eggs. One of the worst five star hotels we have ever been in. I do not know how long they will manage to keep their stars. The rating of the hotel also went down a lot since we stayed here.

    The hotel has a great location in front of the sea and with many good restaurants and ice cream places nearby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin/Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility of room is not quite good. The wall need to be re-painting.And heater in bathroom need to be replaced.

    Good breakfast and very kind of staff. The room with sea view is very good. Free parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin/King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything , the staff were rude and unfriendly, the room was disgusting not cleaned properly marks on the furniture and walls and carpets no shower door and the floors got drenched when using the shower , We changed our room for a sea view junior suite which was a cheaper room without a refund , 560 euros for this dump is disgusting, breakfast is not 5 star facilities are not 5 star room conditions are less than 2 stars ...

    Absolutely nothing to like !! the worst 5 star hotel I have ever stayed at

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not a 5 star hotel but it was ok. It is not worth the price. Our room was run down which is unacceptable considering it’s a luxury hotel. Breakfast pretty simple nothing special.

    Location is good and the staff at the restaurant was really nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was further from the city center than we expected, we needed to take a taxi as it was approx 3-4kms.

    Renovated rooms within a stately building

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast. cleanness. position. structure. comfort bed. silent. beautiful view from the room where braekfast is served. easy parking. good location, close to the centre, in front of the sea. great terrace

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 star infrastructure but 3 star service. Room was not ready on arrival and after we were informed it was ready, itwas not and another room had to be assigned. Do not understand the logic of a 5 star spa hotel charging you for the spa ain low season as you only have a standard room.

    It is a belle epoque structure with a great seaside location and restaurant food and view was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spa centre was devine, food was delicious, facilities were wonderful, staff were lovely, location was spectacular. Just a short taxi ride into town, the view was spectacular and worth being that little way out of town for the magnificent beachfront location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no mini-bar in the room. The heating system was poor. The heating element in the bathroom wasn't working. I repeatedly tried to resolve without success or any apologise from the hotel staff. Everyone very nice, but not supportive or helpful in any way.

    Comfortable beds and great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from town , pool closed

    I wasn’t charged what I thought I booked through booking . Com when I arrived I was charged MORE and No breakfast included Can you pls check what I actually did book ? Please

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is definitely not a 5 star one - no bathrobes (only for extra fee), no cotton discs, no iron in the room, tv in the room was not working ( staff didn't help with that), pool was avaliable only at spa for extra charge but working hours wete absolutely not convinient (from 10.30 am till 7 pm), that means if you come for business you can hardly use it, the same if you come for one night in the evening and leave next morning before noon.

    good location and very nice view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was a bit disappointing for a five stars hotel..

    Overall staff were very friendly and helpful. Simone at the bar and Sonia at the reception desk were very friendly and professional. Checkout was easy and hasslefree and Alessio was very friendly. The seaview room we stayed was absolutely amazing, fantastic view, very spacious, clean and comfortable with all the amenities you need.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so happy overall :( We’ve booked a double room, checked in as a couple, so you’d expect to get WLAN for two mobile devices. Was not the case - we had to ask for a second one after we found out that the login was only working for one device. Also you’d expect two big bath towels for two people in a five star hotel. We only had one. No glasses except for plastic ones we found in the fridge. One of the coffee cups was very dirty. The TV was installed in a 90 degree angle to the bed :/ Lots of little things in the room that made it impractical for us (blinking devices over night, location of the power sockets, TV location, ...). Even though I’m happy they are dog friendly, I think €25 per dog per night just too much, sorry. The lady at the reception was not as friendly as you would expect in a Sofitel. The breakfast was not at all comparable with the breakfast at eg Sofitel Munich, Germany. I have to say I was somewhat disappointed and will rather try a good 4 star hotel next time :(

    Nice building. Dog friendly (€25 per dog per night)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was rock hard. Paint was chipping from the walls in the room. Room service menu only included sandwiches and salads.

    The bathtub in the room was huge! The shower was nice. The decor of the hotel was beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some maintenance i.e. Shower handle fell off in my hand , patches on the wall, Chipped paint on corners, unable to stop shower from leaking extreme amounts of water on to bathroom floor causing slipping danger, even though we placed a breakfast order on the placard card provided and left it outside our door in the evening, no breakfast was delivered and the card was still there the next morning. Quite disappointing.

    Comfortable bad, Beautiful hotel, lobby, Room. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing negative to say this hotel is excellent

    everything was superb, staff were super friendly ,especially the reception staff , the rooftop bar was great to sit and watch the world go by , super all round

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property, wonderful breakfast, and friendly and helpful staff Sunny, peaceful pool I enjoyed learning about the history of the hotel and Livorno

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maid service for the room was extremely erratic. There were no cups or teaspoons left in the room every day and we had to ask. On another day dirty cups were left in the bathroom obviously forgotten. The fridge was only restocked on the second day. There was no room service menu in the room and we had to ask. Beds turned down only once and chocolate left only once. Not enough coat hangers in the closet. However our biggest complaint was the restaurant at night. Apart from one server the other staff were off hand and uninterested. On arrival at the restaurant on the two nights we ate there, staff ignored us and walked past us and we were left to find a table by ourselves and sit down. The waiter who brought the wine list was particularly unhelpful and uninterested in making any suggestions. It took several requests to get butter and the server seemed impatient.

    The beds were great as was the bed linen and towels.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin/Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing that they charge 5€ for a pool towel.

    The beds were exceedingly comfortable, the pillows very comfortable. Spacious room. Fantastic view. Roof top terrace restaurant was very nice. Food very good. The breakfast selection was incredible.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin/Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Left our breakfast in room request on the door hanger, still there in the morning! Only just got to breakfast room as they were starting to clear away.

    It was ok for us as a stopover

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature of the pool on the rooftop was too cold. The parking area was too crowded to find the right place.There needed someone stuff to guide to.

    The guest room was very clean and gorgeous,excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The ac was not working and despite aseveral requests to repair or solve it nobody pais attention; alhough the foh manager was very polite but at the end nothing happened; we had to leave the property on the 3 day as my wife suffers form a breathink condition and she could sleep any of the nights; we were not offered any compensation and were charged for the full week;; very unpleasant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in and check out could win a world slowest check in/out award! So slow and unprofessional we have never expirienced. The service in the restaurants could win the same award too. The quality of the food in the restaurant is very v poor for what they claimed to be. I have got oysters that where stinking so badly that I almost through up when they brought it. I complained and they got me another exchange portion with the same stink .. absolutely no go, I am wondering if the person who opened it was wearing the gas mask. In the pool u get towels - nowhere written they are not for free for hotel guest. I took one extra because they are too short, during check out we figured that it is 5 euro per towel! Breakfast, is very poor for 5 start hotel. The service is of the same quality as above.

    The location is very nice and the building is authentic. Rooms a spacious and clean (not the new though anymore). The view from the roof top restaurant is really nic, specially sunset

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel certainly looks 5-star from the outside, but inside, I didn't think the hotel was 5-star. Some of the staff were unhelpful and rude, the paint was peeling in the room and the shower had black mould and there were hidden charges - you have to pay extra to just sit by the pool!

    The breakfast was tasty and the room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a really great hotel. In all ways. My one gripe is the internet is really terrible. Not a good place to go if you need to work on your computer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Twin/King Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very shabby - we had expected better for the price we paid. Very badly maintained with too few staff. Breakfast was disappointing- scrambled eggs were solid! Avoid this hotel!

    Restaurant (not the Breakfast one) was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thanks to the hotel employee, the entire trip was damaged. The girl at the hotel reception did not return the passport at the check in. The girl had to call the room immediately when she realized that the passport was not returned. The next morning the same girl worked, but even at the checkout she did not inform us that the passport was with her. Then when we were 600km away from the hotel we realized that the passport was in the hotel reception. We called the hotel to help the hotel resolve the problem, but at the hotel reception they were kindly response: "It's not our problem, come along after it or call the courier." So we called the courier, but the hotel did not answer the calls several times (more than day), so the courier could not bring the passport in time. In the end we went 12 hours (!) to the passport and did not even get an apology. That is not 5* hotel service!

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities

    The hotel is an old glory but the facilities are poor the pool is only A large bathtub The rooms were reasonable But the beach is not part of the hotel The city is not pleasant and is only a sleep over point to take the ferries to Corsica and Sardinia

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Twin/King Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Showers had a weird smell, SPA personal hardly spoke any English, using the pool costs an additional 5€,

    Nice view from the rooms and the rooftop Bar spacious rooms, friendly and efficient check in

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security is not up to scratch. Anyone can just walk in and go to a side corridors where there are elevators.

    Views, location next to Lido and boardwalk, good looking hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very unfriendly and unprofessional staff, the shower in the room was dirty and smelly, entry for the pool and wellness spa extra paid

    comfy bed, near the beach, beautiful view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty old shower, pool at the roof is very small. Breakfast ist not good enough for a 5 star hotel, no Champagner or prosecco, poor choice of cheese ... max a 4 star hotel...

    Direct on the sea, no beach((( parking is free,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never met such miserable staff. Top floor restaurant food and staff were very poor. Frightened of asking for anything because you would get a look of horror. Will not be returning.

    Nice and clean Good chose for breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The room wasn't prepared properly (used towels and used soap from a previous guest were still available). The room did not feel fresh because of this. - Service at the hotel - both in the restaurant and reception area. Service in the restaurant painful and should you need towels to your room (because the stock was not properly replenished from housekeeping), good luck getting those towels. - Use of the pool comes at an additional charge of 5 euros per person. - Really disappointed with this hotel considering it has the Sofitel name associated with its branding. I expected more from a 5 star hotel. It's more like a 3.5 star hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff are extremely poorly managed by a dishonest management team with no integrity or morals and the hotel has quite a poor staff culture as a result. The worst offender is the front desk manager. We experienced many issues during our stay which amounted to us checking out early due the severity of the problems. In doing so I was promised a refund by the reception manager which I have still not received 4 weeks later in a barrage of his lies and butt covering. Obviously a lie and bribe to for us to leave quietly given the disgusting treatment we received at this hotel. On top of the staff behavior the overall quality and cleanliness of this hotel are the worst I have ever experienced in 25 years of international travel. I have attached some photos as an example. In all honesty I would completely recommend that you avoid this hotel, it claims to be 5 stars but it would struggle to achieve 2 in most parts of the world. Read below of others experiences and you will quickly see the trend of discontent with this hotel. There is quite obviously a management culture in place which is having quite a significant effect on customer satisfaction with the establishment and its obvious decline. Feel free to contact me if you wish for any further details of our experience, it really was quite horrendous, given the conduct of management during and after our stay I have no issue with informing others of my experience.

    Nothing in the end

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin/Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The torn duvet, the lack of 5 star quality. Our room was lovely but we did not get a balcony. The pool is a bath and was leaking. Breakfast is a disaster. Bad scrambled eggs if your lucky. One toaster with a permanent queue. A warm, not hot, water urn that takes 5 mins to fill a pot , no lids for the teapots. 5 euro per day per towel is outrageous. Sundeck bar is the only one available which is also poor for a 5 star. THERE IS NO BEACH..JUST LARGE BOULDER ROCKS AND CONCRETE. This is not obvious when booking a holiday in Livorno. Won't be going back.

    The building

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The scrambled eggs were poor. The have to be good :-) The staff was not very engaged. To time to get a cup of coffee I the breakfast terrace should be a no-mobile-phone-zone

    The view, the room and some of the breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no iron in the room, moreover there is no iron in the whole hotel. I had to iron my shirt quickly, but it was impossible in a 5 star hotel. The parking is full, the staff offered to park the car in the street, which is also packed with cars. The bar closes at midnight, if you want to drink after 12, you should go outside.

    The only thing that is good in this hotel is the building.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin/King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC, no wifi, floor filthy, shower door missing, towels hidden in a cupboard, damp, chipped paint, loose fixtures and fittings. Room full of mosquitoes Food not great, service awful but they removed the cost of the food 😊. Some chirpy and attentive staff made up for some very miserable toads. Expensive and not worth it.

    Views and location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin/Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service Not enough staff Staff didn't speak English One receptionist at night acting as housekeeper, receptionist, concierge, etc etc!!

    Friendly staff Thanks for the upgrade Exceptional thanks and gratitude to two outstanding employees of the hotel, these are: the Duty Manager Joseph (Guisiipe) and Francesca at Reception. They went out of their way to make us happy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You were not allowed to take your own towel to the pool but instead had to pay 5Euros per person per day to sit by their pool with their towel and if you refused you were stared at all day and not allowed any free water! The pool was very small, run down and dangerous. One lady fell whilst we were there and was taken to hospital. That is just to start with I could go on about smelly run down rooms, stuck up staff and no complimentary water in the rooms which you would expect from a 5 Star Hotel, which this quite clearly is not!

    The breakfasts were good. The best thing about the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Twin/King Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly..there was no balcony with our room which I discovered you have to request even though I paid for a sea view..some do and some don't have a balcony...there was no beach..only sea with deck hairs on concrete and rocks.NOT THE PLACE TO GO FOR A SUN HOLIDAY..hotel pool is terrible..leaking and small ..ridiculous that your are charged 5€ for a towel daily..Breakfast was very poor...cold buffer and scrambled eggs if you were lucky..the queue for toast was shameful..one toaster..if you drink tea ..it takes 5 mins to get some WARM (not boiling) water out of a tiny urn ..again a queue..not a tablecloth in sight..had to request a teaspoon. My duvet was torn badly. I waited to see if it would be changed..it wasn't..there is a small bar restaurant in the roof and that's it..I don't know how this place ever managed to get 5 stars..don't waste your money ..its not a treat..we checked out early and apparently ..others did too.

    The building and the decor to a degree ..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had an odour of smelly drains and the shower stall could have done with a good deep clean as lots of mould on tiles and around shower tray, which lets the room/hotel down for us.

    Fabulous offerings for breakfast and staff were excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unacceptable that one has to pay €5 per person for a towel to access the rooftop pool; and the gym downstairs was very small and sparsely equipped. One expects more from a 5* hotel.

    Nice hotel outside the centre of Livorno (you will have to get a bus to get to the city centre). Easy bus access though, bus stops immediately outside the hotel both to Livorno and to other charming towns further south. Mostly friendly and helpful staff, nice rooms. Nice view from the rooftop pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service could be improved. The waiters were taking away our plates before we finished during brakfast. Some of them are young and unexperienced.

    This is a great hotel to stay in Livorno with a very good value for the money. The sunset view from the rooftop terrace pool was breathtaking. We enjoyed also the excellent breakfast from the terrace with sea views. Overall a very good stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin/Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was awful. I literally was sick. And it was very expensive so that was a double whammy - but to be fair on them they didn't charge me and offered me a drink (but I was too sick to drink it!)

    Nice staff (when you were there). Flexibility for a late checkout.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin/Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dreadful value for money! I booked two nights in Livorno as part of our Italian honeymoon. The hotel is miles away from the town centre in a grotty, run down area. The hotel looks nice when you approach it and the entrance is quite grand, although reception is tucked at the back behind a pillar and I only found it by the growing queue (4+ people) waiting for the 1 member of staff to check them in. I'd paid for a deluxe room with a sea view and they upgraded us to a suite (great you would think... no!). I think suite only meant with a balcony. When we opened the door my heart sunk and I was actually quite sad. The room looked nothing like any of the photos and was quite shabby. The carpet in the room was filthy (see photos) but it could easily be fixed by replacing the carpet tiles if they'd bothered. The desk area was chipped and one of the tiles above the TV was coming away from the wall. The bed had a small stain on the duvet. There were numerous coloured scuffs on the walls around the room (again could have been easily solved if they scrubbed them). The water marks on the wall around the sink could be avoided if they'd tiled it. The chairs on the balcony were covered in cobwebs. The bed was comfortable and big (slightly soft in my opinion but that's personal preference so some may really like it). I got the impression that we were an encumbrance to the staff. We went to the pool and asked for a towel and were told it was €5 each. I was paying over £200 a night for this hotel which 'claims to be 5*. It was by far the most expensive hotel we've stayed in in Italy this week and by far the worst - it didn't even include breakfast which everywhere else we have been did! The staff didn't replenish coffee or tea sachets in the room. We were given a small piece of paper with the wifi username and password on when we arrived.

    From the outside, the building looks impressive, as does the entrance hall.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin/Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointing and overpriced for what you paid for. Astounded that you had to pay extra money per day to sit by the pool, which to be perfectly honest wasn't that good. Will not be going back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room. Not 5 star quality. Slow wi-fi. Had to pay EUR 5 per person per day to use the pool. Overpriced due to these factors.

    Free parking. Breakfast. Easy and fast check in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant service was terrible. Had to wait for menu, then had to ask for a wine list, ordered food had to remind staff we would like to order wine, had to wait a long while until we were asked what we wanted, starters had arrived before the wine. The first course was good but main course of fish of the day was spoilt because the fish was overcooked.

    The room with balcony overlooking the sea was fabulous. The breakfast selection was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin/Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not 5 starts hotel at all for many reasons. 1. It is very old and needs serious renovation (in the shower room there is no floor so they put wooden tray which smelled with rot and was extremely not sanitary). 2. It is very dirty. 3. There was nobody who could help us with luggage, we arrived at 0.15 and were told that we should care of our luggage ourselves. 4. It is impossible to call to the reception, the do not reply. 5. The reception is useless - they can not help at all, the only thing they can do is just to say automatically sorry with empty eyes. 6. They gave us back view room though we booked and paid for sea-view room. 7. They say that have a parking and we informed about our late check in with request to book a parking place. When we arrived there was no places at all and we spend 30 minutes to park the car. 8. There is no room service at night.

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Twin/King Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    lack of understanding of english within the staff who cannot perform well because don t understand you. too many pigeons at the bar, can be easily solved with a owl statue rooftop pool is neglected, water is blurry, need better cleaning process, they charge 5euros for the site and 5euros for each extra towels.inconsistency in service, sometimes pool amenities such as fruit skewers, somedays nothing.My friend had many issues with his room (dirty at check in, only one towel, broke the privacy sign with no mention on why...etc)

    the staff at the reception was very helpful and lovely.Francesca, maria Teresa, Giuseppe exceptionnally helpful with our queries the staff at the bar was very nice too Rino and maurizio and a young lady from the restaurant that came to help many time room comfortable and beautiful building.parking inside property but no valet the GM and front office manager acted on our issues and gave solutions to it

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at 17:00 hr Its was 34 degrees we like to swim in the pool up on the roof. We arrived at the pool you can lay there only when you pay for the towel (€5) Ok No problem after payment they say the pool is going to close at 19:00 hr 😳 Then Maybe to the wellness area (€30 pp ) ? They close at 19:30 hr 🙄 So little to early for us .......

    The room was Fantastic with a very Nice bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    During arrival and check out didn't help with the luggage, at breakfast couldn't prepare simple spaghetti for the child as the kitchen was closed(as was said) , but later could achieve it in 40 m , not enough towels , one set for 3 people

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Roof top restaurant. Over priced for average food and very expensive for wine. ran out of stock of Italian beer! Some of the service in this area was not great. Guests being charged to use hotel towels at roof top pool is very poor when price of stay is considered

    Excellent room with balcony overlooking the sea, Room very comfortable, Breakfast choice very good and staff serving where excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked the hotel because it had a pool. When making it to the roof top with the towel from the room (because I didn't know if they had one at the pool for the guests) they pointed me to a 'series B' lounge area, as the entrance to the scenic pool area required an extra 6 euro - including a towel... I wish they would write it on their website or let people know at check-in ...! I went to the 'bagno establishment' on the ocean right across the road for the remaining 3 hours of the evening (& 6 euro entrance fee). 'Not everything bad come to harm' as we say !!

    Luzary in great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    3km to shopping high street. Food was average

    The hotel is very grand and nice, rooms and beds were very comfy, pool area was nice but separate from Spa. No big deal Town shopping is 3km away but hotel is directly on the beach with a nice sea view Staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin/Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff was rather rude (especially at the breakfast they were fighting in front of guests and not answering when called) location is poor

    free parking, great view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For that kind of hotel there was only toilettry for one person, the staff was not competent (we were told breakfast was until 11:30 and it was only untill 11 + the operator never answered when we call

    The. Location and the building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We went downstairs to have breakfast, choose our table in front of the sea, choose our food, placed everything on the table and were ready to eat when a member of the staff forced us to take all of our plates and go away to another table just because another couple wanted our table and not another one. I asked if they reserved the table but no, they just saw our table and wanted to seat there, so the staff told us to go away with all our plates, thats it. Of course no more view in front of the sea, they placed us in the back. How is this even possible? how can you treat your clients that way? Maybe we were not good enough to seat there for them I guess! For the price you pay, please dont go there you will regret it. The hotel itself is old and need a refresh, the furnitures in the rooms are very damaged. We left one night earlier and didn't even stay one more night after that.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin/Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are traveling to Livorno you need to know Italian. IT is one of the last true authentic cities according to an Italian friend of mine. For me I didn't know the language and no one could help me. but if you know enough to survive you will love it!!!! its the perfect place to unwind and relax if you need a get away!

    The room with the ocean view was breath taking! You can't ever miss the sunset I'm serious. Its even better from your room, so book a ocean view, its worth the extra euros!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They stole my money, as you know there is city tax they charged it in check in , and that's ok . but in the check out they told me you didn't pay city tax and they charged again, they didn't want to hear that I paid already. Every body has to be carful from those Thieves. They are planning to steal it from the beginning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not very happy or helpful. You were charged 10 euros to use the pool. This was the most expensive hotel we stayed in during our visit to Tuscany and the most disappointing. We would not return!

    It was opposite the sea

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin/Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was terrible and staff miserable.charged 5 euros to use a towel for the pool. Had to call several times before we got tea or coffee for the room. Manger was not interested in our complaints. Totally overrated.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: