Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Novecento This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Via Carlo Emanuele I 12, Central Station, 00185 Rome, Italy

#598 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1070 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    7.1
    Very handy to train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The smallest hotel room I have ever seen! Couldn’t even walk around the bed! World’s tiniest shower!!

    Very handy to train. Good breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended. I will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast could be more varied.

    I'm very impressed. The stuff are very nice. The room was very big, very clean, with lots of sun and with a view on the patio. The roof terrace is an added value. The nearest metro station is just around the corner. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    9.6
    Nice area, close to Metro, clean hotel, nice staff. I recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The ceiling of the bathroom was not so white, with few spots and scratches and it gives you not a very good feeling. Anyway, the bathroom was clean.

    Very nice hotel, in a good area, just 5 minutes of walking from the Metro Manzoni and 20 minutes of walking from Colosseum. Breakfast could be more varied, but it was very good. The terrace was amazing, we stay there in a night, with few beers, just perfect. We stay in a room with a small balcony with 2 seats and one table and I liked it. Staff was great and very kind, we found the room cleaned every day when we came back from the city. When I'll come back in Rome, definitely I'll choose Novecento Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    5.8
    Home style stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite far from the station (1.8KM) it was very difficult road to hotel to walk with luggage . And no elevator. So it was very hard job to carry luggage to our room

    Peaceful residential area with Restaurent’s and supermarkets. Home atmosphere . Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Great location. Close to the trains and easy walking distance to restaurants and the colosseum. The staff were really helpful, kind and accommodating. We arrived about 11am worn out from travelling overnight and the room was ready so they let us have it early! Lovely upstairs garden terrace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    8.8
    Nice and clean but small rooms, realy friendly staff, great...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice and clean but small rooms, realy friendly staff, great location (3min to metro station Manzoni, 15min to Colosseo - by foot), good breakfast, nice rooftop garden...I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    7.1
    The stay was satisfactory.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was the same for one week.

    The staff were very helpful..the place is a quiet and clean. The breakfast is somewhat monotonous..but good enough

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel outside city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The closest thing to see is colosseum and that's 20 minutes away, the rest in Rome is even further. And walking home in the night becomes a far walk after you've been walking all day. Breakfast selection is mediocre and only sweet bread or yoghurt.

    The room was equipped with all things needed for our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    7.1
    We enjoyed our stay and would stay in this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location of the hotel was great,but the area was dirty with dog poo,graffiti and rubbish in the streets.

    The staff were very friendly and the room was clean and comftable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    7.5
    They didn’t change my used towels on the 2nd day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They didn’t change my used towels on the 2nd day. All my used and wet towels were left on the side of the bath tub. Had to ring reception for extra towels because we have nothing to use. Other than that the hotel was good and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    7.5
    Very much enjoyed our stay. The staff were extremely helpful when asked. Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have enjoyed access to a kettle or tea making facilities in our room

    Friendly helpful staff and good solid breakfast An easy walk to the Colosseum and train station Termini Rome

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    8.8
    The location is quite good -- walking distance to some of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seems like it's not a European thing, but at least having boiled eggs at breakfast would be nice.

    The location is quite good -- walking distance to some of the essential Roman sights.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    8.3
    Close to Metro, friendly staff, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was a bit ‘meh’. But plenty of nearby options. WiFi was poor.

    Close to Metro, friendly staff, good value for money. Rooms were nice, shower a little narrow, but well finished & clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some travellers might regard the room we had as rather small (fine for us) and you don't have to walk too far to get to the areas around the station where some travellers might feel a little unsafe at night (rough sleepers)

    Very clean and well maintained hotel with helpful, English speaking, staff on the front desk. Hotel was comfortable and during our stay quiet. Location is excellent for the main station, airport bus link, metro and sightseeing. Breakfast was pretty good considering it was included in the competitive room rate.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, warm staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast.

    Kind staff, excellent location, small, cosy hotel, breakfast is not the strongest part of this hotel, but this does not matter to a person that went to Rome not to eat but to see this majestic city!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2017

    6.3
    Nice but the breakfast take 2 stars out.!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was poor and only sweets...the worst breakfast ever.....full of sugar.....it was a shame for the hotel..😢😭

    The staff in the reception was polite and the tempature in the room was perfect and good located

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    7.5
    comfort in the room, balcony, pleasant staff, good coffee,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    only Italian breakfast, old blankets.

    comfort in the room, balcony, pleasant staff, good coffee, near the Manzoni metro station...and other public transport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    6.7
    Decent for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Surprisingly small room. Bed was two twins pushed together on a platform. Air conditioning was awful - had to open a window most nights. The shower was tiny. The toilet is crammed in next to the tiny shower with very little space. The location wasn't great - not a lot of places to eat nearby.

    Staff was friendly. The room was clean. The room was quiet. Breakfast was basic with cheese/deli meat and coffee, but actually quite good for free. Shower was tiny, but the water was always hot and had good pressure. Close to metro. Free slippers. Wifi was ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff are extremely helpful and welcoming - in particular Andrea who is a true gent. Novecento is located in a prime location as the hotel is really close to the Colosseum and two minutes from the train station. Everyone made us feel welcome and safe.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    7.9
    Calm hotel, clean rooms, nice terass, not the best breakfast, but is good for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    . The breakfast wasnt that good, not so much options to choose from. The room was nice but very small, but fit us perfect. I will recomend the hotel for 2 persons, if friends or couple, but for family no.

    The best part of it is that its really close to the Colosseum and termini station.The cleaning was good, the two men who cleaned was very patient and nice people. The reception was very helpful, and gave us maps and best places to go to in Rome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    10
    Met our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a beautiful hotel located in a quiet area , staff were friendly, front desk always manned, the outdoor area on the top floor was a nice area to sit after a busy day, very close to the metro , trams and buses. An easy walk to the Termini and Colosseum, we enjoyed our stay there

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    8.0
    Location was very convenient near a metro station,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room and bathroom were tiny. The wifi was flakey, needed to keep logging and sometimes logging on was difficult. Breakfast was very basic.

    Location was very convenient near a metro station, restaurants and shops nearby, 25 mins walk to the Colliseum. Staff were really friendly. The shower was the best we experienced in Italy, excellent water pressure and copious flow.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable first time in Rome. Everything is in easy reach of the metro stations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Water pressure in the shower cubicle was low but adequate.

    Hotel situated 5 min walk from metro Manzoni, 20 min walk to the Collosium and local restaurants and cafe bars. Rooms are air conditioned, breakfast is buffet style, really comfy bed and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2017

    7.9
    cosy little hotel in a quiet area with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    clean the external wall of the lift offer fruit salad for b'fast (on top of/instead of/ the individual fruits)

    the quiet area the friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2017

    9.2
    It was on a quiet street, but we could get to wherever we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For a triple room, we expected the room to be a little bigger, everything was close together and it got a little cramped

    It was on a quiet street, but we could get to wherever we wanted quite easily. There were some really nice restaurants nearby and a super market. The main attractions were all at a walking distance as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2017

    5.4
    We were given a room with big balcony n that made our stay a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would be better if part of main entrance stairway have a slope for luggages. It was quite an effort for guests to take their luggages up n down the stairs. I like to thank Marco n another staff who helped us with our luggages upon arrival n leaving.

    We were given a room with big balcony n that made our stay a little more comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    7.9
    Great staff & good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Bed (two single bed attached together

    Location was great as its two stops from Termini & very quit Area. The Room was nice & clean too small tho. Even tho I booked for double room, I got a room with two singles room attached together which is uncomfortable at a time. Staff are very nice & friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    4.2
    Location
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed is not comfortable. Clean towles are only available evey 2 days. Not every day. Lot of noise from other people. The noise of waterboilers or waterpipes kept us awake early in the mornings! After complaining several times, also about the towles, they offered us a new room for our last night. Breakfast was not good.

    Location Roofgarden

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    8.8
    The price-performance-ratio is really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast could be better.

    The price-performance-ratio is really good. It`s near the metro station and the colosseum is within walking distance. Moreover it was in a quiet area. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2017

    8.8
    Cute hotel, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would've preferred to be located in an area with more restaurants and shops there really isn't much around here so you unless you catch the metro there isn't much to see

    The hotel was cute and clean the staff were great . The metro was around the corner which is a bonus

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    8.8
    Great breakfast and location, recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was good, but if I did have to give advice on improvement. Maybe the rooms could be updated a little.

    I really enjoyed the breakfast they provided, a lot of variety and you can eat as much as you want, before a long journey ahead. They also had an outdoor garden seating area for people who wanted to relax. It was nice to come back to a cool room, after a hot day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    8.8
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No card payment (terminal wasn't working). It wouldn't be such a big deal if the nearby atm could give us the whole amount at once. But there is some security protection and we had to withdraw smaller amount twice.

    Everything else fine, small room but we knew that, english speaking staff, helpful, nice and smiling, near to Colosseum.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    7.5
    Very close to the metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The neighborhood didn't seem the best. One of the days we were talking around, we had a woman pass us and she then whistled and a man looked at us and what we were carrying. He stayed back looking where we were going. We noticed and went straight into the Metro station. Granted that's not the hotels fault I'm just talking about location. The bed was a little too firm for our liking, and my husband needed to use two pillows. The room could possibly be aired out more as it did have a slight smell of closed in moisture. When we arrived we paid the city tax upfront but when we left, I assume it was the owner, told me that we still owed an additional €8 cause her colleague made a mistake. Because we were running late, I couldn't discuss it. I know mistakes are made but as a hotel staff, you are trained on this aspect. They deal with this daily, that's why this mistake seemed odd. We paid the additional €8 and left.

    Very close to the metro. Clean room, the terrace adds to the experience. Bathroom was clean but We used sandals. Breakfast was okay - very simple. Air conditioned. Provides slippers and clean towels, shampoo and soap. The staff was friendly. Overall, you get what you pay for. This isn't a luxury hotel so don't have those kinds of expectations. It was simple and clean, we were only there to sleep and shower. If that's all you need, then this place will be enough.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    10
    The staff were lovely and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. :)

    The staff were lovely and helpful. Hotel roof top garden was beautiful. Room was clean and our bedding was changed every day. Breakfast was amazing too. Really loved this hotel. If I was to go back to Rome I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    8.8
    The staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff were friendly. The location is close to transit, grocery stores and restaurants. The location is close to the colosseum and walking distance to the Basilica di Santa Croce in Gerusaleme (Holy Cross in Jerusalem).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2017

    8.3
    Roma style hotel, nice balcony, and terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From Termini Station to Hotel by foot is not very nice and clean, also not safe at night.

    Roma style hotel, nice balcony, and terrace. Very calm and nice atmosphere, Good and friendly staff. Near to hotel is located tram, metro and bus stop. The n51 bus goes straight to Colosseum, Piazza de Venice, trevi fountain, and center. In two stations is Roma Termini station. Pizzeria Luzzi is on the way to Colosseum, Advice to taste. Free water and mobile charge box in the streets.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2017

    8.8
    Great stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No complaints.

    The staff were amazing, they couldn't be more helpful. They upgraded our room on the second night and helped us with anything that we needed our whole trip. Breakfast was basic but very good. Location is excellent, only a 10 minute walk to the colosseum. The roof terrace is a lovely place to sit and have a drink when you get back to the hotel at night. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel, clean and confortable. Excelent personal, near to metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Every day the same breakfast, no variety and very poor.

    The room was clean, personal very carefool and kind. The economy room was very tiny but it was ok. The croissant...excelent croissant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    5.0
    Well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ohhh how can I begin. Well one of the receptionist was so rude from the moment we check in. Room was ok , a bit small, breakfast terrible. Hotel doesn't look like their advertised

    Well...location that's all and not even

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2017

    10
    Excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff very friendly and helpful, extra services, earlier check in, baggage storage and utilising their roof top area before our transfer to the airport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2017

    7.1
    5 days stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    should change at least the shower towels more.

    The hotel is next to the subway station Manzoni. Also you can walk from termini station (two train stations from Termini). The hotel is on a quiet area, there are some restaurants near where you can eat, supermarkets. The hotel is clean, there is always someone at the reception. The breakfast is ok, bread, toasts, croissants, milk, coffee, juice, tea, yogurts, fruit, ham/cheese, fruit jam and honey.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2017

    10
    great time in Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff is awsome and very helpful. The room is always tidy. The breakfast was nice and tasty. The environment is awsome. Near the Metro station, train and restaurants by foot. Thanks Hotel Novecento!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    7.1
    Good quality for money, dont expect too much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is smaller than it looks in the photos. Our toewls and aheets were changed just once in a 5 night stay. The breakfest is poor could be better if they just add some fresh vegis

    Easy to get to the hotel feom Termini station. Just a little walk from the center of the city

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2017

    10
    To Rome with love
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Staff is really attentive. In spite of my late arrival, they were waiting for me with patient. The toilet was very clean and thats very important thing for me. By the morning singing of the birds wakes you up, thats amazing! The interior and staff makes you feel like you are at home, this is Italy and Rome - lovely and warm!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2017

    9.2
    Hotel is worth off your money. Clean and cosy room. 300 meters from the metro line A- Manzoni.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast could offer some more food. The rest was all ok

    The hotel offers breakfast between 7:30 and 10 pm. Breakfast is very basic, bread, Tovst, butter, jam, yoghurt and fruit. They also provide coffee, tea and juice. I traveled with a boyfriend, we stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and breakfast we was ok for us. The room was small and comfortable, clean bathroom and clean sheets, which is very important. The hotel has four floors, each floor has 4 rooms. The last floor is a terrace, which is open 24 hours a day. The location of hotel is excellent, 300 meters from the metro line A- Manzoni. Across the street from the station is a small shop, which offers all the drinks and food. The neighbourhood in safe. The last day we were able to leave our baggage in the hotel's Lodge. Hotel is worth off your money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2017

    9.6
    Nice and comfy place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really comfortable room, if come to Rome and want a nice room to sleep while you spend the day touring the city, this is a good option, metro and tran via are really close and a couple of minutes of coliseum, a walk from one the most beautiful of the papal basilicas in Rome and a couple of metro stations of the main train station, Termini.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2017

    8.3
    The most perfect thing was, that Metro is really close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was ok for 3star hotel, but I woud have enjoyed it more if I coud have normal coffee, not instant coffee.

    The most perfect thing was, that Metro is really close to hotel and you can use one metro line for traveling to Vaticam city and Central station.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2017

    8.3
    Nice Budget Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Several reviews have said the location was within 10 minutes walk of the Coliseum but it is more like a 25 minute walk. ( an we are not slow walkers) The first possible hop on hop off bus stop is about 35 minutes walk from hotel - the opposite side of the Coliseum. Taxis into the city center averaged at €12 so you need to be prepared to walk alot if you stay here and not incur high taxi costs. The Hotel doesn't have a bar or restaurant facility, but you can purchase very reasonably priced soft drinks and beer from reception.......if available!

    Good value for money 'boutique style' budget hotel if you dont mind not being in the City Center. Very quiet location away from traffic noise in a residential area. Hotel was clean and comfortable, although rooms are small with very little circulation space around bed. Our room had french doors and a small balcony with table and chairs which in good weather gives the perception of a larger room. All staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. Hotel is located around the corner from a few nice restaurants within a few minutes walk. Metro stop is a couple of minutes walk from Hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2017

    7.5
    We had a clean room, the wi fi was working, it is close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price was diferent at the desk comparing with the total price from booking.com 40 euro more as a turist taxe. During the night was really cold because they use the air conditioning system to warm the room and that one is too noisy. They have few choices for the breakfast.

    We had a clean room, the wi fi was working, it is close to the Colosseum.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2017

    5.4
    There's loads to say about Hotel Novecento, both...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's loads to say about Hotel Novecento, both positive and negative. We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Novecento. The room was quite small. Smaller than the photos that we saw of the room at the time of booking, anyway. Whether all the rooms were actually as small as ours or whether we might have just happened to get a smaller one on the night we checked in, is something we will never know. Having said that, if you are going to be out all day and in the room only at night, then it does suffice. The hotel is located close to Manzoni Metro station (about 5 minute walk), which is great if you are going to use the Metro often whilst in Rome. There also are some inexpensive (albeit touristy) restaurants around that are serve meals till quite late. Again, quite handy if you coming in to the city on a late flight on a Friday night (like we did!). Biggest issues we had were the WiFi and the heating. The WiFi signal was terrible and kept disconnecting, asking you to log in each time, not staying on as a saved network and the heating was just not up to the mark. Yes, we were not freezing, but we were not comfortably warm either. This might work for some people, who are quite happy to bury themselves under multiple duvets, but that was not the case for us. This may also not be an issue if you visit in the summer months. We did flag to the staff regarding the heating, but were told that the heating is on and they seemed as puzzled as to why the room was not as warm as it needed to be, given the temperature settings. We paid around €68 per night for the room. This includes the city tax that you pay at the hotel and breakfast. While this does sound cheap and cheerful, we do feel that the breakfast could have had some savoury items (cold cuts) instead of being mostly full of sweet items (buns with jams, nutella, biscuits, croissants). On the first morning, we did manage to get some ham, but on the other 2 mornings we had to make do with cheese or all the sweet stuff!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2017

    8.3
    Great first stay in Rome - near a metro and beautiful roof terrace!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As I said the room was very small compared to some I have stayed in however after being there a few days it was definitely livable and we were barely in it anyway! There wasn't a large light in the room, only small lamps/lights dotted around which was quite strange but again, we definitely managed.

    I have just returned from a 4 day stay here with my boyfriend and we loved it. The hotel is located 2 minutes away from the Manzoni metro stop and less than 15 minutes walk from the Colosseum. The room was small but for what we paid it was clean, had a huge wardrobe and a nice bathroom and shower. The room also came with air con and a mini fridge which we used throughout. The roof terrace really is the best part of this hotel - it is spacious and lovely to sit out in. We would definitely recommend staying here; the staff were lovely, it's a great location and ace value for money!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2017

    6.3
    A decent hotel for a couple of days in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast could be improved, the room had no towels when we arrived (though we were given once we asked), pillows were not comfortable, bed is a little bit hard, strange smell.

    The position, the staff was very available and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2017

    7.5
    Nice staff and quiet hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was not bad on first morning but then very poor on next one. mattress could be better.

    quiet hotel, not far from main attractions, metro station down the street.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2017

    8.3
    Good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - breakfast was disappointment - only one type of cheese without any ham at all. (that's why we ate only the sweet stuff) - without any type of vegetables for breakfast :( - little bit smaller rooms (but since we were the whole day at the city, this wasn't a problem for us)

    - great location - Coloseum, Archbasilica of St. John Lateran, Metro station (Manzoni), Market near by - great guys on reception (they will help you with anything) - nice roof garden (great for the glass of wine after the tour through the city) - refrigerator at room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2017

    7.1
    Go for it - the price/location/service ratio is well worth!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    modest breakfast ;) / too tight doors of the bathroom cabin

    friendly staff / located close to a METRO station / located at a close proximity to the Main Railway Station (1 km)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2017

    6.3
    decent hotel, but would not come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    i had to pay $20/day to have my fiance stay with me in the room, which was not mentioned when i was making a reservation

    the location was great for the money i paid for it

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2017

    2.5
    I have never complained before and I have been booking many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have never complained before and I have been booking many hotels all over the Europe. For this hotel Novecento I must say that there is no normal heating in the rooms. When we complained to the director he said that "nobody is cold in Rome". Basically, service at the reception turns off heating at 2 am. We arrived at 11 pm. It was freezing in the room and we spent first night trying to warm up because the temperature was the same as outside (we arrived on 1.january to the hotel). After we complained to the employee at the reception he confesed that he was told to turn off heating in the rooms at 2 am, but for our room he has also forgotten to turn it on when we arrived. The next day they offered us other room and claimed that heating did not work in the first room. However, they continued turning off the heating every night. He offered at the end 10 euro discount for the first night which did not make up for the cold we had got at the beginning of our vacation. I would add very poor breakfast and extream unkindness of employees at the reception. Finally, the employees at the reception do not offer assistance when help was needed to fix the serious shortcomings in their hotel. Basically, this hotel was wrong choise.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2016

    5.0
    Bad hotel amenities, not 3* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I did a reservation for three star hotel and felt robbed as this hotel is not as advertised. The hotel looked like it was not renovated from the time that was built. Tired blanket and flattened by long use pillows, but the worst was the window curtain, that stayed infront of my eyes for five days. My room had one single window with torn curtain in patches, as the curtain material life was gone, but instead of replacing it, as it supposed to be a decor of the room, the hotel managment just pached it, all over, and continue selling the room to the people! I have made pictures to show you as this is hard to believe that exist in any, how about three star hotel. The breakfast included in the hotel's price was very important when choosing it for our five days stay in Rome as we needed a good start before sightseeng. The hotel states on the official site that offers "Breakfast with sweet and salt food" - and traped me with that! Europian hotels offer usually enriched continental breakfast, but even the simpliest continental breakfast includes ham. The breakfast area had a buffet and included cofee, tee sachets, milk, cocoa powder, jam, butter, bread and croisant. Being in Italy, the country that is famous with their formaggio, salami, prosciuto...The only salt choice was sliced individualy wrapped american style soft cheese, and that was the only one cheese offered every day, and from our five breakfasts once the cheese was ...replaced with mozzarella. How much of a hotel's spence would be to place on that buffet a sort of ham, how much is the cost to have one boiled egg? Shame! The advertised satelite TV is another lie - there is no satelite TV, only regular TV with italian channels, no Euronews, CNN, MTV, etc. And on top of everything, after seening that horrible room, we couldn't take a shower as the water was cold-tepid, there was a problem with the hot water as the receptionist explained.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2016

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was a little a bit fusty but it was clean.

    Hotel Novecento is a small hotel near the Manzoni metro station. The staff was very friendly. The room wasn't so big but its good for sleep. The breakfast was a little bit poor but is a small 3* hotel in Italy, for our price it was good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2016

    7.9
    Nice place overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is actually not a dislike since you should not expect abundant breakfast from a 3-star hotel, but the breakfast might be richer of varieties. Still nice to have it, so no worries about it.

    The hotel has the most decent place; just outside the Termini's bad neighborhood so you won't experience that, and also 5 minutes walking away from Manzoni metro station which is very convenient. The staff was helpful in my opinion, and nice people. Nothing about the hotel bothered me and my friend, we enjoyed our stay for sure.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2016

    9.5
    Peaceful and relaxing days in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fourth bed was a sofabed, we would have liked a proper bed

    The location was perfect, good breakfast, nice roof terrace, very clean rooms and the personnel was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2016

    7.9
    great location for good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - breakfast could be better - no vegetables, limited sort of fruits and salami & chees was really not much exciting - terrace was fine, but there was not much reasons to go there, because the breakfast is served on the ground floor - room was quite small, but it’s typical in Rome I guess

    - location is perfect - 10 mins of walk to the Colosseum - hotel staff was kind & friendly - hotel room was clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2016

    8.8
    A Great min-break in Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We liked everything!

    Staff were very friendly and very welcoming, the atmosphere was relaxed and contributes to a great mini-break, the Hotel and its location gives a real taste of Rome, and if you walk in any direction, there is a site or church or monument worth seeing - fantastic!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2016

    7.1
    The hotel is very clean, the rooms and bathrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The AC was not working well The fridge doesn't work well

    The hotel is very clean, the rooms and bathrooms The location is closed to a metro Station and colosseum The location is quite

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2016

    4.6
    Read reviews from various sources! :-(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Value for money was awful, room tiny. Our rooms Air con can be heard on every floor so couldn't sleep with it on, asked it to be looked at and told that it had been. Toilet stank of drains and extractor fan so full of dirt it didn't work. Bed was. Double mattress over a 1.5 bed frame so we had to keep huddled together. Roof top terrace not accessible by stairs as its being used as storage. Breakfast was stale and not that fresh. Also called hotel 900,some review this hotel gets 7 and other it's a 1 I wonder if it's something to do with a name change?

    The location is great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2016

    5.0
    Better check other more modern properties.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked a room for three and by mistake, we were able to check another room for two that was exactly the same size as ours. The corridors are smelly and the shower was so small that we couldn't take a comfortable shower in it. The breakfast was just ok, and we always asked ourselves how an Italian hotel offers American cheese in the breakfast. Again, the breakfast has nothing special or good to mention here and the cafeteria was too small but at the same time they run out of items and food as soon as its six or seven tables we full. The rooms seemed old and the corridors have a smell to cigarettes. We asked if we could apply for a refund as after staying there one night we wanted to change to a more modern hotel and they gave us a radical no as answer. Sadly, but this was the only black spot of our stay in Rome. We stayed in better hotels in Italy for less the money we payed here. As a family of three we found it very uncomfortable and very unpleasant considering very expensive for the facilities this hotel offers. Lastly, the elevator is a joke! When we arrived, only one of us was able to use it with two pieces of our luggage. We never use it again!

    The attention received by the reception, specially the owner was the best. She is a very kind old day who provided us with good pieces of advice whenever we required it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2016

    7.5
    2 nights in Roma
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was poor on the 2nd night

    Location was good, breakfast was acceptable. Wifi signal was good in the room on the first night. Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2016

    8.3
    Good choice to stay if you come to Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities are not that new.

    The staff are very friendly. The Metro station is very close and there are only two stops of Metro from the Rome termini. There are a few Chinese restaurant nearby.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2016

    8.8
    Tourist Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Entry to the lobby requires going down a flight of steps with your luggage. The elevator is very small and limited to three people without luggage.

    Clean and efficient. Good location in residential area a block and a half from the metro. Restaurants and supermarket are an easy walk. The staff were friendly, courteous and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2016

    9.6
    fantastic hotel in walking distance to the collosseum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There could have been a better variety of breakfast items.

    Staff was very nice and helpful, quiet room with balcony and nice view into the back yard, awesome rooftop terrace, pretty interior.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2016

    10
    Definently comming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was a bit boring with too much suger.

    The staff was lovely and Really made our stay outstanding. A big plus was the little cute gecko up in the roofgarden, we named him Chibata!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2016

    8.8
    Nice and Affordable wirhe Top Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Originally we booked "economy room" for 2 persons. But they are really a nice sibgle.room. So we had to upgradr to "claasic" room. They will not accept credit card for city tax nor the upgrade.

    Fantastic location Breakfast included

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2016

    7.9
    Not bad at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ac could've worked better. A bit of a walk to the city center but not too bad. Just became a lot after 3 days and the closest Metro doesn't go directly there

    Decent breakfast. Not far from a metro stop. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    5.4
    I will never go back to this hotel or recommend it to any one
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small room. U canot move around the bed. They turn off the AC centrally and they did not turn it on even if you call many times.

    Locatio

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    10
    Location is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was a bit bare, no hot breakfast only cold. No bar.

    Location was amazing right next to metro station. Great roof Terrence to sit in the sun!

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Novecento Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: