Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Novecento This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Via Dupré 11, 97018 Scicli, Italy

#10 of 84 hotels in Scicli

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 248 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    10
    A very relaxing stay in a lovely town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was difficult to actually locate the hotel, even with sat. nav. perhaps a detailed map could be shown when booking.

    Charming very helpful staff. We were upgraded to a suite but all the rooms were attractive with beautiful ornate ceilings. A delightful town & the lovely sandy beach at Sampieri only 15 mins. drive away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.1
    Location perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The worst room in the hole hotel!Couldn't sleep becouse they put terrible scented repellent for mosquitos,smell was awfull and intense,and if we pluged it out they were biting us!

    Location perfect!Staff great and helpfull.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    10
    Great location, friendly staff, clean. Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be nice to have different bathroom ammenities, other than that, it was all great!

    Perfect location, super helpful staff. Breakfast was simple and delicious, the local almonds are to die for!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    7.1
    peaceful location but nice and central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terrible trouble trying to find it by car. Pulled in our wing mirrors, but still had to reverse out of a couple of streets. Do not rely on satnav, it assumes you are on a motorino! Get the hotel to suggest beforehand where to park and then walk the short distance with your cases. Conversely, the really big plus on the area having recently been pedestrianised is there is almost no traffic noise. It's also not busy pedestrian-wise. We had the suite - an impressive room with great outlook. Nice bathroom. Bed a bit hard for my liking but OK, the furniture in the sitting room was a bit basic though. The sofa was a sofa-bed, which are never comfortable to sit on. If I book a suite, I expect a suite rather than a family room that sleeps 4. No idea what the other rooms were like. Staff nice. Breakfast is rather good, but they ran out of oranges half way through our stay so no fresh juice. Every other bar and restaurant in Scicli had oranges to squeeze as did the fruit and veg stalls. Just went out after breakfast for my juice fix. Having walked around town a fair bit and seen the other hotels of this level, I expect this is the most peaceful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, we would rebook despite the lack of second chair in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As with so many hotels, our double room contained only one chair. Where do they think the other person is going to sit?!

    The rooms were beautiful, the staff friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were perfect for us as we don't need a "full English". The location was brilliant and the town of Scicli simply stunning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    8.3
    A nice hotel in an ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were no glasses in the room to use for drinks or water, despite there being a mini bar. Only ghastly plastic tumblers.

    Scicli is a good base for the area, a typical town, with plenty of good places to eat and drink. Vincenzo was most helpful in arranging an upgrade to a room with a high painted ceiling and a balcony , which is what I had thought I had booked, and recommending places to try.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Perfect location for exploring Scicli. Good sized bedroom large comfortable bed. Large bathroom with excellent shower. Spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    8.8
    Small hotel in a very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Behind the hotel and adjacent to the courtyard there is a small yard - NOT owned by the hotel, but directly next to the hotel and the two are connected. It's infested with pigeons and very dirty. However, I understand that it can be difficult for the hotel to act on this.

    * The location was excellent and the hotel was very pet-friendly. We had our dog with us and our room opened out to the courtyard. This was great. * Excellent high-speed internet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    10
    Perfect for a short stay to visit the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is a little small. The door could be better insulated.

    The style, the cleanness, the privacy, excellent breakfast. Comfortable beds and quite area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    9.6
    A gem of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked everything!

    We so enjoyed ourselves in this beautiful hotel.we stayed in two rooms as we were upgraded on arrival to a suite.both rooms were beautiful.superb location for all town has to offer.beautiful breakfasts and nothing was too much trouble for staff serving them. We were made so welcome to the hotel and both gentlemen on reception were so helpful and a mind of info re the area and restaurants. Hotel lovely and clean .hotel also secure as night porter receptionist. The views of the town from the windows and balconies are super.we would unreservedly recommend hotel novecento.Hot water,good showers comfortable beds and bed linen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    9.2
    Ideal location in the lovely town of Scicli
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is in a quiet area right in the centre of Scicli - perfect for wandering the pretty town and finding somewhere close to eat in the evening. The room we were given was on the ground floor, very spacious and with direct access to the leafy terrace at the back. Parking was reasonably easy on the street about 150m away. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable about the local area too. Will stay here again when we return to Scicli, which is inevitable!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2016

    9.6
    Boutique hotel in historic town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was very little I didn't like about the hotel. The air conditioning system is a little outdated.

    A boutique hotel in a town filled with beautiful Baroque architecture. A good sandy beach is a short drive away at Sampieri.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2016

    8.8
    A great place to stay to explore Scicli and the surrounding area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Access and parking are a bit difficult, but after the first day it becomes manageable The air conditioning temperature is not controllable - only ON or OFF and a central time switch.

    Tremendous staff - nothing was too much trouble Only 8 or 9 rooms, so very friendly Good fresh buffet breakfast Very good sized room and comfortable bed Great shower room Several good places to eat within easy walking distance Pretty easy access to roads out of town for exploring the area

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2016

    9.2
    Clean sheets every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No butter.

    Clean sheets every day. Room made up immaculately. Nice breakfast room with wide choice of fruit, cereal and different kinds of bread. Coffee and tea, again plenty of choice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    8.8
    There is only street parking so, just keep that in mind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is only street parking so, just keep that in mind. Though street parking is free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    10
    Decor, layout, functionality, very friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor, layout, functionality, very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one pillow per person

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    7.1
    Common areas in good condition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Layout of the room. Little free space. Small bathroom.

    Common areas in good condition. Clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    10
    Very relaxing and romantic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfy and relaxing aura. Would love to go back here in the near future. The town is lovely and very "Sicilian"

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    10
    Nice hotel in a very nice city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very well located,in the city center, old town. Very nice public spaces, nice room, good internet. Easy to find parking around the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    8.3
    Location, breakfast and manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car parking

    Location, breakfast and manager

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    10
    Place was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    parking

    location hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    10
    just one word great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none

    everything was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay overall....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom a bit small...

    Good breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful especially with out lost luggage enquiries with the Alitalia airline....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    9.2
    Helpful staff and great location in heart of UNESCO area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good location for seeing Scicli. 900 year Old building modernised well. Amazing hand painted ceiling in bedroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    10
    Central location, easy to park outside to drop off bags and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Central location, easy to park outside to drop off bags and then off street parking close by. Staff helpful re recommendations and getting around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    10
    Lovely welcome to perfect hotel in perfect town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Brilliant welcome

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    10
    2 days in Sclcli
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room could be noisy at night.

    Breakfast was very good and staff very friendly-especially Vincenzo and Luigi.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2017

    9.6
    Central, quiet, quaint, modern and boutique.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet was spotty and did not work well much of the time

    Central, quiet, quaint, modern and boutique. Good basic Italian breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2016

    10
    Central and Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, staff and breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2016

    9.6
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Helpful staff. Delicious breakfast. Intimacy of hotel and it's excellent location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2016

    10
    Quietly in the centre of everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent hotel in a quiet area right the centre of the town. Lovely staff great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2016

    9.6
    A jewel of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    I agree with everything said previously, a jewel of a hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2016

    8.3
    Great for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms a little sterile

    Location was great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2016

    9.6
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Central, quiet, helpful staff, lovely groundfloor room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2016

    10
    Everything was perfect, the staff friendly, welcoming, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is wonderful, down an alley, over a bridge, up a lane, parking, perhaps in the alley, next to a canal, five minute walk from the evening passigeta. High stone buildings, small tine streets often with stairs, narrow passageways all hinder you GPS to find the hotel but persevere, worth the effort and more so! Dinner? hands down, see Osteria dei Tre Colli Piazza Italia, 14 short end of main square

    Everything was perfect, the staff friendly, welcoming, and kind with my attempts to resurrect my college days Italian, breakfast was great and the room lovely.

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful house in the heart of beautiful Scicli.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    A nightmare to find. Like in all medieval Sicilian towns all the roads are one direction and very narrow indeed. But the "damsel in distress" routine came in handy. All sicilian males are gentlemen.

    Beautiful house in the heart of beautiful Scicli. Nice night porter changed my room to one with direct access to the garden when I told him I'm a smoker.

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2015

    10
    Lovely small hotel with good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only downside is that its central location means Italian traffic for access if driving there.

    Lovely small hotel with good facilities good central location, friendly approachable staff, good breakfast. no dinner available is not a problem as there are many good restaurants in easy walking.

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2015

    10
    The staff were very friendly and spoke good English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just finding the place is a challenge. Would recommend a good sat nav and small to medium car as some streets are narrow.

    The staff were very friendly and spoke good English. We had a good induction into the area and we were given a map and directions for all the sights and eateries etc. We had a lovely spacious superior room and the nicest choices of breakfast food of all the 3 different places we stayed in Sicily. Great town and great hotel.

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2015

    9.6
    Everything was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is just a bit hard to find the hotel, it is tucked away on side streets making it hard to find, but once you are there it is heaven.

    Everything was great! The staff were incredible, professional and yet down to earth. The owner even prepares fruit ices for your breakfast and often manages the reception desk. Breakfast wonderful, cheeses, pastries, meats, cereals a perfect European style breakfast. They gave us excellent tips for meals, we ate at three of the four because our stay was only three days. All excellent and unique experiences. They could even give insights on the Montalbano hotspots in Scicli. A perfect stay for us and one of the best few days I have ever had.

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2015

    8.8
    Veel persoonlijke aandacht van het personeel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Geen negatieve ervaringen.

    Veel persoonlijke aandacht van het personeel. Met tips voor restaurants, bezienswaardigheden etc. Een fantastisch ontbijt met lokale producten van topkwaliteit.

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2015

    9.6
    Modern boutique type hotel within old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Despite listed features there is no restaurant here.

    Modern boutique type hotel within old building. Very central to explore the lovely baroque town. Ample car parking. Balcony.

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2015

    9.6
    This is a an exceptional boutique hotel, offering great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A little hard to find, but a grerat central location.

    This is a an exceptional boutique hotel, offering great rooms, lovely courtyard, friendly staff and fanatasic breakfast. Set in a genuinely wonderful small town of Scicili this hotel is a stand out. And the town is worth a visit.

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2015

    10
    We very much enjoyed our stay at 900.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all.

    We very much enjoyed our stay at 900. The ubicacion is right in the middle of the little town and all the interessting sights are in easy walking distance. The Hotel is charming, comfortable rooms with everything needed. Excellent Delicious , plentiful breakfast and above all very friendly and helpful personal . We can only recommend it .

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2015

    8.3
    The location is excellent, with easy access to the heart of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had wonderful rooms but unfortunately one of them was let down by very poor lighting. There was a fault with the electrics that when rectified partially addressed the issue, however, the staff did not seem to understand why there was a problem and hence unlikely to be rectified long term. Shame as it is very easy to resolve and the other room was fabulously lit. There was a minor disagreement over total price, but this was clearly an error of translation and genuine misunderstanding on both sides (and was amicably resolved in the end, but rather took the shine off of the stay).

    The location is excellent, with easy access to the heart of the town through the narrow streets. The staff tried their best, although there were some minor misunderstandings.

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2015

    9.2
    Great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room whilst very comfortable had little natural light provided only by doorway onto street

    Great central location. Helpful informative staff. Beautifully decorated.

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2016

    10
    Our ground floor room was noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our ground floor room was noisy

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2015

    10
    Great location and very kind and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really

    Great location and very kind and helpful staff. Room was very nice. A lot of artworks by local masters. Sumptuous breakfast

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2015

    10
    Great place to stay frienly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great place to stay frienly staff

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2015

    10
    Fantastic location and wonderful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good

    Fantastic location and wonderful place to stay Loved every minute

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2015

    8.8
    Wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wonderful location Friendly helpful staff

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2015

    9.6
    staff were great and the hotel in general is very smart,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff were great and the hotel in general is very smart, modern and clean

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2015

    6.0
    Excellent Location, very clean, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No atmosphere, renovated in a modern style that felt superficial

    Excellent Location, very clean, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2015

    9.6
    Staff very helpful and friendly, excellent location 2 mins...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff very helpful and friendly, excellent location 2 mins away from the centre and 20 mins away from Modica and Sampieri beach.

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2015

    10
    Building full of character in great location in the town and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Building full of character in great location in the town and for exploring the surrounding area.Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2015

    10
    Excellent service from Luigi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent service from Luigi. He was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2015

    9.2
    Excellent central location with helpful, friendly staff in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Excellent central location with helpful, friendly staff in a well managed hotel.

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2015

    10
    Excellent central location with easy parking nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent central location with easy parking nearby. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2015

    9.6
    Very clean, comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Type of room changed from that booked without consultation

    Very clean, comfortable and convenient

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2015

    10
    Providing us with anything we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Providing us with anything we wanted. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2015

    8.8
    Very clean and beautiful interior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I woke up with a cleaning staff (?) sang songs loudly in early morning.

    Very clean and beautiful interior.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: