Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Nuova Italia 2 stars

Via Faenza 26, San Lorenzo, 50123 Florence, Italy

#163 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1344 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Telephone in the room doesn't work. I asked for it to be repaired by the next day, could not fix. Needed to communicate with Hotel in the next city of my stay to make sure all in order.

    This Hotel is very Centrally situated with good restaurants etc. You have to walk about 200m with your luggage to Taxi due to this Hotel being situated in a Narrow lane where cars are sometimes not allowed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities at the end of a long day

    It was in a great location for all the central sights and the staff were very friendly , the breakfast was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Umm no elevator.. everything else great

    The room was small but enough for two people .. wonderful tall window that opened and you could sit and look out to the cute street before .. air conditioner good .. bathroom nice .. breaky wonderful really good .. great location .. restaurants right by the place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning didn't work (room was advertised with air conditioning) and it was very stuffy in the room. It was suggested to us to open the window. This would have been fine except for the street noise that kept us awake! I was traveling with my two adult sons and specifically needed three beds. the two twin or almost twin pull out beds were extrementy uncomfortable and the bars from the frame poked through the mattress.

    The location was great and the breakfast in the A.M was very nice. The staff were very helpful , especially in arranging for a wine experience at the last minute!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two flights of stairs were difficult for us because we are not uses to stairs. We enjoyed the walls of art works.

    Location, room small but satisfactory, close to laundromat and Mercato Centrale.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't thrilled with not having staff in the building after 2:00pm or before 9:00 am

    Breakfast was great. It was convenient to downtown site seeing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    bathroom better with no bidet - very cramped; some noise late at night and early in morning

    location, breakfast, staff, places to eat nearby, value, close to SMN station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to remember to leave key behind when popping out for the day.

    Great location near the central station. Right on the edge of the older area of town so good access for walking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING

    Owner was very nice & friendly Helped us get to where we were going Talked to us a little about the history of the hotel Enjoyed her stories

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed here previously and had a larger room. This time when we booked an economy room and it was smaller.

    Hotel Nuova Italia is a very small 2-star hotel located not far from the historic centre and close to the train station. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean but very small. Since we got the room for sleeping, it was perfect for our needs. The continental breakfast was fresh. Coffee was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in/out procedure was easy and efficient. The breakfast was adequate and the room was comfortable. The hotel is central, within easy walking distance to everything. So close to the Doumo and markets. There is a huge upstairs eating area by the market, with a variety of food stalls, it is within easy walking distance to the railway station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sockets for plugs above the bed were a bit loose, so chargers were not always connected; used the bathroom sockets instead, which were more effective

    Comfortable bed, excellent location, quiet street, but plenty of restaurants and market close by, within walking distance of the train station and all sights, so great for looking at art [we bought the Firenze card, it is worth every Euro and walked everywhere, eating in restaurants in the street in the evenings]. Loved the art works on the walls, especially the original prints. Breakfast included good coffee [that's all we had], fruit, flavoured yoghurts, cereals, roll, croissant, butter, processed cheese and various sweet toppings e.g. jam, honey etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a horrible scary painting at the top of the first flight of stairs, an agonised blue face, I try not to look at it.

    The staff are charming people, kind, helpful and amusing. This was our third visit and we hope to come again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was very small and the shower was fixed on the wall so everything around you gets wet. There was a lot of noise from street and other rooms. In the morning the breakfast sounds are going to wake you. Bad phone coverage, internet connection was not stable. The power sockets produced some interference so the iphones and laptop were giving a small shock. Yes you have to leave the key when you are going out but there is always someone at the reception.

    Perfect location, close to S.M.N. railway station and to Mercato. Friendly and nice staff. The room was clean. The bathroom was recently renovated. There is a modern air conditioning system but the temperature settings are locked. Pretty good breakfast for 2*

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is really small, i think you can get a bigger hotel with this money

    The location is really good, right close to the train station as well as the city centre having all the city's attractions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are the reason we love this hotel, extra kind, amusing, thoughtful and efficient. The location near the train station is why we chose it originally but the staff are why we will keep on coming back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would prefer not leave the keys everytime I leave the hotel. Also it could be nice to have a minibar.

    Great place, close to everything. Cozy, clean and warm room. My second stay there, certainly not the last

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I wanted to pay in Euros on arrival, but the full payment for the room was deducted from my credit card at the time of booking. We did pay the final Tax payment in Euros before leaving.

    Good breakfast. Very clean. Towels and bedding regularly renewed. Location was ideal for walking to all the attractions, and for connecting to the Airport Bus Service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean and tidy, if a little basic in the decor, but overall exactly what we needed for one night stay. The hotel is right around the corner from the train station (4 minutes walk), and across the street from an excellent trattoria featuring handmade pasta and fantastic food. The staff were very helpful in giving us directions of where to find the major sites and the easiest way to get to them. Very pleased with this hotel, it met expectations and fit our needs perfectly. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevators, not fun if on top floor.

    The hotel was well located well between major attractions and was very affordable. Nice staff, good wifi and a warm room. Staff also allowed us to keep our luggage after checkout while we visited Pisa.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no hot heater, just the air conditioner.

    It was our 2d stay in this hotel. The location near the trainstation and central market. The service was extremely friendly. The room service was always great, they changed the clearl white towels everyday. The quality and price is fair.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No elevator, it's a bit cold in winter in the rooms despite the heat.

    Very pollite staff; great location near the railways station; very clean rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no gluten free options for breakfast. Room was small and at the front of Hotel, very noisy. Not enough space for 2 suitcases to be opened. No elevator.

    Location was close to shopping, restaurants & the Duomo.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast could have been a bit more varied (at least have some eggs or meat), it was just different types of bread and spreads; yogurt; and cereals. The room we were in had a water leak problem from several areas that were a bit concerning. Another room was fine but had a wet room concept that not everyone might like. Really loud in the morning from front desk/dining area. Always woke up from clinging of dishes being thrown into dishwasher and front desk people chatting exceptionally loudly. We originally asked for a quiet room, got one placed toward a street despite reassurance and request. Had to complain twice, and finally got a room change facing an inner courtyard instead. An improvement, but noises can still be heard. At night can be loud depending on neighboring buildings and streets; can be loud because of tourists as well. Things close early in Florence. One day we noticed our towels were not washed despite being on the floor; someone just folded them and put them back nicely. It was a bit annoying and we did not know how many times they did this, but once confronted they at least gave us new towels. Sheets on the beds hadn't been changed during our stay either. No elevator, prepare to drag your suitcases. This is just our personal preference but it would have been nice if there was an electric tea kettle.

    Location, big room, staff was attentive to every comment. Staff was pleasant to deal with. They also were also highly willing to do things for their guests. Shower pressure was good. Big bathroom, though a bit oddly laid out, it was still functional. Everything was in walking distance. Good blinds and shudders for people that like to sleep in complete darkness. Grocery store and laundromat were right around the corner to decent price foods and clean clothes were always within site. Leather market and the mercado (food court) was also right around the corner. Duomo is about a 10 minutes walk away. Train and bus station is right around the corner as well, literally.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room could be bigger. Got to carry luggage up to first floor. Location in side street.

    Cleanliness, breakfast, good toilet facilities, English Channel news. Location is near to Florence sites.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not stay here! Terribly rude staff. The guy at the entrance during the night refused to provide help when the taxi to the airport would not arrive and screamed some italian bad words at us. Shuttle is a lie. There were none and I had to pay 30 euros for taxi. Space is very, very small and believe me when I tell you, you can hear EVERYTHING that's happening in other room and/or in the street. Do not ruin your vacation staying with such an impolite staff.

    Location is good. However, most hotels in the area have good location as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Just a lovely little Italian family run hotel

    Easy to get there from the station. We caught a. Us from Pisa airport. Very close to centre. The market was just around the corner. Upstairs was a fantastic food court and bars.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furnishings a little tired looking

    Close to station. Helpful advise on trains. Breakfast coffee was good, Vibrant area close to markets but the windows and shutters cut out any noise.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One way streets in the area were a challenge when driving. This would apply to all hotels in the central area.

    Good breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No kettle or coffee making facilities within the room. Breakfast could have been better, croissants and buns were prepacked (not freshly made).

    Clean and spacious room. Very friendly staff. Freshly made cappuccino at breakfast. Excellent proximity to the city attractions including the train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very basic but the location is incredible, right in the heart of Florence, a short walk to the Duomo and everything else. Another nice feature of this property is the breakfast which is included with the room. It's kind of a fun, family kind of experience. Staff are fabulous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioning in room at times a bit stuffy. Did not open windows too often due to noise outside but when windows were shut room was very quiet.

    Location excellent. Room very comfortable, nice new bathroom. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Best location I could imagine! Only 7-10 minutes to the train station, almost the same time to get to Piazza del Duomo. A lot of nice restaurants and bars nearby, but it was really quiet in the room. Very comfortable and big beds, bathroom with all necessary staff. Also good wi-fi. I would love to come back someday!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No place near beds tp put anything. No place to put suitcase

    room was tiny with small twin beds. it was quiet. Front desk staff was great. Bathroom was good and clean and made up for room. great shower and bidet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Somebody from the cleaning service opened the door at about 9am, I don't think I ever heard knocking.

    The location was really good, within 9 minute walk from the Firenze S.M station, a really cute street full of restaurants, souvenir places, supermarkets and even a laundry place nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was dark and needed lights on even during the day. The room is old and dated. Carpeted floor. The bed mattress is soft. The bathroom is very small and shower area is like a wet room which isn't that convenient as bathroom is so small. Used our own toiletries. Breakfast - limited selection and didn't seem fresh. Some croissants, yoghurt pots, fruit, toast, carton juices and tap water. Would recommend having a coffee and then eating out - lots of bakeries nearby.

    Fantastic location - 5mins from Florence train station and 10mins walk to Il Duomo. On an excellent street with lots of shops and restaurants. It was very hot and the location meant we could come back mid way through the day to take a nap if needed. The air conditioning is centralised and thought the temperature was okay. Give spare pillows and blankets too. Room size is big. Staff are very friendly. I think the travel photos are representative. Wifi is good. Overall we are happy we stayed here - as it was good value for money because of the location - and fine as a budget hotel for several nights.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy because of the merchants carrying their stuff early in the morning,maybe depends on the room. Breakfast was nothing special but I guess that's Italian style.

    Close to train station and to the duomo, extremely clean, helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator, so need to carry your luggage through stairs. That's not a big deal unless you carry a huge luggage.

    Family owned property, kind and helpful people. Our room was excellent, with all the amenities and nice breakfast was also included. Close to Firenze S.M.N rail station, hardly 6-8 mins walk-away. All the attractions of Firenze are in walking distance. Good restaurants & Central Market are footstep away. Value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no ventilation so was a little claustrophobic

    The central location of the property The friendly staff The cleanliness of the room and the loo

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was consistently disappointing and we had to beg for water. The key system was a little weird. We came home late one night to find the front door unlocked (with a sign stating this) and our key (with room number) just laying out next to the open door. The beds were hard, but that only bothered one of us (me).

    The location was fantastic, and much of the staff (especially the man regularly at the front desk) was very friendly. This was by far the best-value hotel deal we had during our stay in Italy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor needs to be updated, very dated, beds should be upgraded. Had a hostel feeling.

    Location was great and staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small

    Right in the center of city. Walking distance from the station(S.M.N). Our host was really lovely lady. Breakfast was good. Lots of good places to eat nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for money- continental breakfast is fine in the morning, be careful of the bed size both my partner and I are not large people however we struggled with the small double bed size and would suggest that two singles would probably be better. Location is great as the Duomo and other piazza's are a short walk. If its a bed and close proximity that's required then for a two star this is perfect. close to the station to jump on the Volstain airport bus. fiveminute up the road. Rightnext to il Gelato del Bondi-for great ice cream and a perfect host. Velutto Bondi

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are only 2 floors, but a lift is much needed.

    The place was a little on the inner side of the streets and lanes, but was optimal given the proximity to the train and metro station. Surrounded by eateries and supermarkets. Also the artsy decor is perfect! Feels like one is staying inside a museum. There is a picture of the Vitruvian Man on the first floor that I had to photograph lol.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They wanted to take our key when we left which was fine. But when we came back and asked for it we didn't have to show our ID or proof of staying there. And it was a different person that gave it to us.

    I liked the atmosphere. It was exactly what I'd expect from an Italian hotel. They bathroom was especially great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    good little hotel perfect location close to all attractions but there is no lift at this hotel and if you are put on the second floor it could be an issue.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift, we were on the top floor so struggled with luggage. Only flimsy plastic glasses in our room, what ever happened to glass? Noisy from outside causes (cafes/restaurants) until late at night and from early in the morning (market barrows being moved).

    About a 5 to 10 minute walk from the Santa Maria Novella train station. Great location to explore the attractions. Many cafes and restaurants close by. Small, but comfortable room, good size bathroom. Breakfast was served to us and was simple and ample for our needs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is poor. The shower head is mounted on the wall so that you cannot wash your body well. The showering sound and toilet-flushing sound in the next room is well heard so that you may be away sometime during the night.

    Very close to the central market and the main train station. The room is sufficiently large compared with the price. Even CNN news are available on the TV. The shampoo and cups are provided.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in the economic Twin room. The wash basin is too small and too close to the toilet, which makes it too hard to wash face.

    Location is very good. About 5 minutes walk from the train station. A lot of restaurants around. Very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is small, but they make very good espresso and cappuccino. No elevator, but the building is only two floors.

    Very clean, comfortable bed, very art, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had choose the hotel because of the high score and for the location, and I was very dissapointed, because is near the market and the noise is terrible! FROM the 6am to 11 pm. The price is very big for this hotel offer! The bed is old and not comfy at all, you have an old blanket, like în army or that The room is not clean and the breakfast very basic: only sweets , no vegetables, eggs, cheese, bacon, NOTHING!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was terrible. Just sugar jams, oat flakes and low quality hams. They could do better jobs for serving food as it is Italy. At least the restaurant in the surrounding compensated that.

    The location was perfect with many restaurants around. The room and bathroom were very clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very small. Couldn't open the ensuite door until I moved the bed. Comfortable enough for short stays but certainly not anything longer than 2 days. No lift.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was close to train station and easy walking distance to Duomo and other attractions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was at the end of the hallway past the cleaning area, staff washroom, and fire equipment.. no window but when I booked I was told I had a courtyard view.. did not see where a fire exit might be..only there one night..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't anything of real dislike with the hotel. Might be worth noting, if you sleep long or take siestas - it is on a busy little street with traders going backwards and forwards to their stalls - but this is Florence. I think that is a regular occurrence anyway in the city.

    The hotel is in a great location, a short walk from the railway station and close by the food market and Trattoria Mario (amazing bistecca!) The hotel is compact, but in a good way. The staff are super friendly throughout all speaking good English and the breakfast was excellent. Good coffee, nice croissants. All in all, a great stop in Florence to explore from.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The city tax had to be paid in cash despite it appearing on the confirmation email together with the cost of the room. So be careful to keep some euros back if you're on a tight budget!

    Nice decor with lovely prints and paintings in reception.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is fixed, and not removable.

    Location is great, room was spacious and warm. Bathroom clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good and the staff was nice and helpful. For that money it is more than one can expect.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Change the doors and put something on the outdated stairs.

    Hotel is family run and everyone is very friendly and helpful. Stairs look outdated but as soon as you enter on each floor, things look modern (except maybe doors). Room is very big in height (old building style) and it is very clean. Bathroom is smaller but very clean and well equipped.the room's heating is centralised so if you need a lower/higher temperature just ask at the reception and they will change it for your room with no problems. Location is excellent, few minutes until San Lorenzo, or San Marco one. Also very close to the train station (few minutes). Breakfast is excellent, above a 2* hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator. Might be difficult for people with mobility issues.

    Very clean linen and towels. Good breakfast served by friendly family. Excellent location for sightseeing and train station.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My twin bed is actually a folding bed and it is kinda shaky, so I had to move the mattress down to the floor when sleeping. :(

    Great location, just few minutes walk from the Firenze Santa Maria Novella railway station! Friendly and accommodating hotel staff!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    5 mins walk from Florence Central Station. Very kind & helpful people was in the reception. Hotel is at walkable distance from Florence Duomo & other historical places. Value for money for this place i can say only.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi connection was weak and there was no mini-bar/fridge in the room.

    Comfortable room, clean toilet, great shower and an excellent location. Staff were very friendly. Would love to stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was bland and without variety. Heating cannot be controlled from the room, request had to be made at the reception to increase the temperature (which they were always happy to do).

    Location was close to the train station and main attractions. Staff were pleasant, allowed us to keep our bags in the reception area because we arrived before check in. Room and bathroom were clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is ideally located very close to the station. It is situated closely to all the well known squares and places to visit. The staff at the hotel is brilliant and very very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast was quite basic but sufficient. there was some confusion about the receipts but was eventually sorted out.

    the lady at the desk was very informative about things to see and do. She also helped us with printing our boarding passes

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift so it was slightly difficult to take down all the luggages from the second floor. Also, there was no kettle in the room which was slightly disappointing as a nice cup of tea would have been great in the evening.

    Breakfast was really good and had enough to keep you going for the whole morning and afternoon. The staff was also super friendly and knew how to speak english. Lastly, it is perfectly located in the heart of Florence.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms in serious need of refurbishment but all was clean and good enough.. all come down to the price I paid and I realise that I should match this with expectation..

    It was as expected given the price I paid. Really can't complain, if I want better I have expect to pay more

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would prefer a duvet on the bed than blankets.

    Lovely comfortable hotel in a fantastic location, will most definitely stay here again. The only small criticism I have is that there was only one croissant between two people.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location close to the sights and the train station. The staff was nice and helpful. The room was simple but clean, fine for a few nights stay if you use it for just to sleep and take showers.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No elevator.

    Very close to the market and city center. Very friendly staff and OK breakfast. Comfortable and quiet room, perfect daily cleaning. Florence is a very nice city, and this is a good place to stay while there.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This lovely hotel is located in the street with many small restaurants, trattorias and pizzerias near the city center and main city attractions. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room and bathroom were very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was basic, but good with the excellent coffee. Good Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was on the ground floor and could hear the people speaking in Reception late at night. The pillows are quite hard and dense. This has been a factor in many reviews but not resolved. The Wifi wasn't working but was repaired the next day. The area at night didn't seem as safe as other places with groups of men standing around at all hours. I didn't stay out late which was a pity.

    Room very clean everyday. Breakfasts had fresh pastries and bread each morning with great pots of tea

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Inevitably, staying in an old building in the centre of town is a bit noisy - you'd get this even if you paid four times as much. The nice owner has a habit of standing on the doorstep and smoking, and somehow the smoke penetrates right into the rooms and you can even smell it on the bedlinen.

    Excellent central location close to the station and historic centre. Plentiful, quality breakfast. Helpful staff. Immaculate and well-appointed bathroom. Clean extra blanket and pillow in the wardrobe.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Future guests need to understand that it is on a street with lots of restaurants and bars, and that that means noise till late at night. This is not a complaint, merely a statement of fact. The windows however cut out a lot of the noise, and in low season it is probable quieter anyway.

    Very convenient location - close to the station, with lots of reasonable restaurants and cafes nearby. Over the years I have stayed in many hotels in Florence. This hotel, in its price range, is one of the best, i.e., it is not luxurious, but is clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom and wash basin in our room 27 leaked water onto the bathroom floor - needs sorting out! No lift but we were aware of this but could be a slight issue with more elderly people with large suitcases. Otherwise all good.

    Comfortable room, small choice but good continental breakfast, very helpful staff, very well placed hotel 10 minutes walk from main SMN Florence train station.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Nuova Italia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: