Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Octavia 3 stars

Via Giovanni Gaetano Bottari 38, Trionfale, 00135 Rome, Italy

#896 of 967 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 440 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    6.7

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.7
    OK budget hotel let down by things that simply should not be allowed to happen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The "bar" did not sell alcohol. I ended up walking to a local bar for drinks for my birthday. I had even explained two days prior that I would like to have a few drinks in the hotel and unfortunately there seemed to be a problem. I do not know how this can be called a bar since there is nothing available but coffee. The shower cubical had clearly been badly repaired several times since there was tape holding it together and it moved about making it very difficult to close it. Also it was so small as to make it impossible to wash oneself properly without hitting the sides constantly

    Breakfasts were basic but acceptable. Staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. It was very close to a railway station to allow travel into Rome

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    3.8
    Hotel was located in quiet place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the room. Bed was not comfortable. There were no slippers. Shower was very small and uncomfortable. The whole room was not clean.

    Hotel was located in quiet place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    4.2
    Will not return again! Worse than a hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was lousy especially in basement. The shower was way too small to stand in. TV and air-conditioning not working (batteries in remote problem??) Worst was my first night at 11pm for 15-30mins some guys came banging and shouting outside one of the rooms in the corridor. Also a friend came to visit me but was told by reception I chexked out when I did not, and my friend told me the reception showed him the check in check out log with full name. No sense of guest privacy at all.

    The breakfast despite what everyone says. For a continental breakfast it is very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice, little hotel with everything basic you need and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower could be little bit more comfortable, but it was ok.

    Big and spacy balcony with nice view, quiet surroundings and very good proximity to Octavia railway station. It takes around 20minutes to get to Roma San Pietro station, which right next to Vatican. Staff was very friendly and helpful, breakfast were nice and ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    4.6
    This business is not client oriented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) Soundproofing. We clearly heard everything that happened in the lobby and near our room. 2) Car parking. They say, they have FREE car parking inside, but it really feets for only ONE car. They may put there another car, and it becomes nearly impossible to drive out of that parking if there's an another car parked near you. 3) Bar. Please add a bar in the room - sometimes you just need a snack and don't mind paying a little extra for it. 4) Please allow visitors to make calls to the city / elsewhere from the room or from lobby.

    Finally, after roughly 1 hour of trying to park the car we've finally fell asleep, really tired and somewhat disappointed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.3
    Emergency lodging in North Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older, needs renovations. Dated but clean. Limited parking. Off beaten path and a little hard to find. But for the price you can not be displeased.

    Available at 02:00am, Great customer service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    Hotel is located next to the train station and some shops...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To watch the city taxes of 8 EUR per day whether they are included in the room price or not. Our room did not have a bar fridge.

    Hotel is located next to the train station and some shops and restaurants. Room was alright in size with a huge balcony. Good breakfast and desk staff was helpful with directions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    5.4
    Needs renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cabinet was way too small. Ceiling light fixture used as bathroom light mounted to a wall. Questionable electrical work on installing the hairdryer. Air con in the first room didn't work and the second was smelled like old fridge.

    Helpfull staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    3.3
    Not happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The shower drain flowed on my first shower. The water was dirty and smelly. The bathroom flowed. It was Disgusting! ON the third day the staff made change rooms. The fridge did not work. A lot more issues.

    When I did the reservation a lot was promised, but the staff did not delivered.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    The most excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very small

    The staff are excellent, the room and the entire place was clean.They should try and serve fresh fruits every day. I realised the fruits was from previous days. The hotel is amazing. I loved it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.9
    Staff is very nice, room is clean, train and bus stops are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi signal was so poor I couldn't even use it. Shower cabin should be more efficient

    Staff is very nice, room is clean, train and bus stops are very close

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    6.7
    Young friends travelling
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled like cigarette smoke and the toilet leaked when we flushed.

    It was very close to the train station and to restaurant's. It was also easy to park there.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Quite ok
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much really, just slightly fat from the centre

    Good value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Very helful personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helful personnel. Highly recommend! A+++

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.4
    Staff was friendly and helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quality of the room for a 3-star hotel, I was expecting something a bit more modern WIFI didn't reach well my room

    Staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Very hopefully I Will be back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle in the bedroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.0
    Never come back again
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort of the bed and the noise in the hotel very poor isolation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Short but nice
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed has two single mattresses that are uncomfortable for a couple.

    The breakfast the

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could be a problem during busy periods.

    Just what we needed for 1 night, excellent value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    5.8
    It was clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough shampoo or body gel. The same breakfast everyday, there's not a big choice. Very far from the city

    It was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.4
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tasteless breakfast, problem with car par

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Super Hotel , Amazing City , i will back next vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel , helpfully employee , you can go where you want it's near from bus and the tram , good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    6.7
    Good accomodation in peacefull area and reasonable price.
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    The rates were good. Approach to shops and public transport was easy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    5.8
    Good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Coffee.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    9.6
    Decent breakfast and the best feature of this small hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decent breakfast and the best feature of this small hotel was the friendliness and helpful attitude of the staff, especially Manuel, as well as it's location 1 block from the Metropolitan train which goes the St. Peter's as well as connecting to the main Metro train which we took back from the coliseum with only two transfers at terminals.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    6.7
    - large terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Breakfast every day same. - Strange smell in the dining room - Very very small shower. You can not even turn around - small bathroom ( for just 1 person) - 30 min from Rome. One day we wait 75 min for train. - Broken and creaking wardrobe door - thin pillows

    - large terrace - big bed - pleasant and helpfull staff - daily service - Close to train station

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    Amazingly clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazingly clean. Perfect answer to not driving in Rome which is horrendous. 20 min train to St Peter’s and Metro connections for 1.50 Euro. Ask for room on front of building. Large balconies, rooms very good. Staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    7.5
    Close to railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was a bit slow. Area was not very nice but i feel this was reflected in the price. You have to go to the bar the other side of the railway station to buy train ticket, only single journey available not 24 hour day ticket. This is available at the ticket office at the station you get off.

    Close to railway station. Steak was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    10
    Accommodation had not any mistake, the room was beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The last day we pay city tax of 16 euros. Receptionist unfortunately did not have any change, which could in such hotel not happen, so we had to paid in the final of 4 euros more, because we did not have little too.

    Accommodation had not any mistake, the room was beautiful and spacious with a balcony. It was near the train station. Price was excellent. Breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    10
    Free parking in the street (no problem to find free place),...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free parking in the street (no problem to find free place), train 15 minutes to the center, helpful staff. Very good local pizzeria 3 minutes walk (LA CAPORALE).

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    9.2
    A rather jaded exterior gave a poor initial impression,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A rather jaded exterior gave a poor initial impression, however we found a spotlessly clean and comfortable room, free and fast WIFI, friendly and helpful reception staff and the best evening meal that we ate in Rome. A literal translation from Italian to English makes an interesting menu for English speakers, but I can recommend the dessert cryptically described as a "handkerchief of it skims Chantilly e yield of wood," which was delicious! Octavia was a little way out of the city; it took about 30 minutes on the train.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    6.7
    It was an easy walk to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Taking the train to town was easy, but at times you have long waits between trains. Took about an hour to get into destination in town. No daily service on rooms. Breakfast was typical, but stale.

    It was an easy walk to the train station. Rooms were fairly inexpensive. Hotel Staff was very helpful. Metro, busses and trains all on one daily pass or 3-day pass.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    7.5
    So silent and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing special

    So silent and good location.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    8.8
    nice helpful staff-- good beds --good economical close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nice helpful staff-- good beds --good economical close to rail station

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    7.9
    Very nice and willing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice and willing staff

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very old furniture and very hot, no air conditioner, no elevator, too much noise.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    6.7
    Super fast WiFi, Airconditioned room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old furniture, a little bit of mold in the bathroom.

    Super fast WiFi, Airconditioned room

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Browse Hotel Octavia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: