Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Olimpo le Terrazze 4 stars

Via G. Chincherini, 98037 Letojanni, Italy

#4 of 9 hotels in Letojanni

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 439 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    9 out of 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    served and helped wigh the details

    good restaurent with good red wine and reasonable price. e.g. A nice and top of the Italian red is Maria Constanca, sold here for 35 euro and in Taurmina restaurent the same is for 45 euro. ha..ha

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    Very welcoming receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool closes at 6PM and everyone is quite unpolitely thrown out. Buffet quite terribel, and no a la carte option. Had to eat in town insted. Very odd restaurant hours.

    Very welcoming receptionist.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect group of animators.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Perfect group of animators. Super variete show, group activities on pool and especially super lessons of dance with brasilian teacher. Perfect location of hotel and staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    We forgot to indicatet he balconys of our rooms view to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We forgot to indicatet he balconys of our rooms view to the backside, and if it possibly we would like change the rooms view to the seeside! The woman on the reception was very helpful and nice and we got the balcony room - for a minimum extra charge.- with beautiful view to the seeside . We appreciate this intent. Our vacation was perfect. :) Thank you, Hotel Olimpo.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice, albeit dated, hotel well-located to Taormina and the beach. Buffet needs lots of improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unfortunately, the hotel had a few drawbacks which we noticed immediately and as such didn't think it lived up to its 4 star standard: 1) The overall decor of Hotel Olimpo is very dated. It's as if stepping into a time warp, as the wicker chairs in the restaurant and colourful fabrics used on the cushion covers and curtains throughout the hotel, was not very appealing. The hotel needs a complete overhaul in its interior design and modernisation. The paint was peeling off and wall plaster was falling off some walls as well. 2) As we stayed in the Hotel Olimpo rather than Hotel Antares (the two are connected by a furnicular lift), we ate in the Hotel Olimpo restaurant for the first few days. We were not impressed at all by the quality and standard of the buffet for any of our meals - breakfast, lunch or dinner. Whilst they had a good selection, the buffet was never really refilled properly or attentively. There were a few German tours there at the same time as us and all the tables in the restaurant except those in the back were reserved for the tours. It was frustrating trying to find a table and by the time we got settled and went to the buffet, the food had been devoured by the tours and not refilled. What was left was not appetising at all, to the point my 9 year old daughter asked me to check the hotel review next time I book a hotel. The icecream/gelato were empty and not refilled and the cakes in the evening buffet were desimated by the tours as well. Very unappetising overall. It became such a frustration to us that it put a bit of a damper on our holiday for the first two days, as we like going to hotels for the quality of food we get. Sadly, this wasn't the case for Hotel Olimpo. Thankfully, in going through Hotel Antares to get to Hotel Olimpo, I decided to check its restaurant out. The reception of Hotel Antares has been modernised, so I was pleasantly surprised to see that the restaurant there had been too.

    I had requested a sea view room and an earlier check in prior to 3pm and we got both, which we were very pleased and thankful for having gotten up so early in the morning for our flight to Sicily. The hotel has many pluses, such as: 1) It is well located to Taormina, only 10mins by local bus which stops in front of the hotel and only €3 per person roundtrip (although only comes once an hour), 2) It is within 3mins walking distance to the beach and promenade with lovely local cuisine, 3) It has an indoor and outdoor pool and it has its own furnicular lift which the children really enjoyed 4) Very clean Overall, after having found the restaurant in Hotel Antares, we were happy with our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    Lovely place, nice enough hotel but would not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff was hit and miss. A couple of the reception staff were really very friendly and helpful but in other parts of the hotel we often were told we cannot do something or we weren't allowed something. Wifi and parking were supposed to be included but we had to battle for that. The food was not so good and I wouldn't say we have high standards. Not really much variety of cooked food for breakfast or healthy options. The pool water was cold, the jacuzzis had cold water too. Both indoor and outdoor pool were very deep. You would think for a family hotel there would be at least a part of one of those pools where depth was 1.2m, but everything above 1.5m.

    The location is really good and the views from the hotel are absolutely amazing. The rooms were cleaned to a high standard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice outlook from room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from room above was like there is no ceiling. Could hear even coin falling. Unfortunately another day was room empty.

    Nice outlook from room. Huge variety for breakfast. Buffet style dinner with huge variety for €16. Private free parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    I recommend if they heat more the water of the indoor swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The indoor swimming pool should be more heat, nobody could use them specially in the cold days. The temperature of the jacuzzi was nice. The indoor swimming pool should have the same temperature of the water.

    The breakfast and the room very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.3
    Who is missing their 4 stars?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is old: the building, the furniture and even the guests. Staff are mostly unhappy and talk German before even knowing what languages you speak. The coffee is disgusting and truly a shame for Italy. I don't know where this hotel got the 4 stars from.

    Clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    -

    The location is excellent, the see view is marvelous, the food is very tasty!!! The bus stop and train station is near the hotel, so it is easy to travel to any destinations in Sicily.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.8
    Location was great, views from the room were amazing,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the indoor pool closes at lunch time and the pool attendant is not very polite about it... Pool Towels require a large deposite at the reception, and in case towel need changing, there's an additional cost, which I think shouldn't be charged. About that too, receptionist was less polite in their reply about it.

    Location was great, views from the room were amazing, swimming pools lovely, both the outdoor one and the indoor thermal pool. Room size was good, spacious and comfy, despite being very old fashioned. Breakfast quite good and plentiful, yet use of plastic spoons for the hot drinks seems odd. Panoramic hilltop lift has quite amazing views from it, kids loved the consept of it too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    Old hotel with nice view from balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms look old and would require restoration. Car parking for free available only in street. Extra charges for indoor pool.

    Nice view from balcony. Really great breakfast. There is option to get lunch for additional price wich was quite good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Fab location, great views from the hotel and staff are friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdoor pool was freezing so we didn’t hang around the hotel.

    Staff very helpful, easy to get to the beach and very convenient to have the bus stop outside the exit of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.3
    The bill came up to 804 euros but in my bank shown that it's double the amount. I PHONED and send em
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amount is 804 and took double from my visa.I called and emailed but no answer. Could you help me to unblock 804 euros that are still I can't use them .Tks

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    It is good for one night stay,when on the road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We went for dinner buffet,which was half empty.It looked like they didn't prepare enough food for everybody. Sink tap in the bathroom was broken. You have to pay for access to hotel facilities like gym or swimming pool.

    Great view from our room,very clean property,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    A hotel with breathtaking views and pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs refurbishing and senior staff need to be more patient with foreigners!

    The scenic views of the hotel and the pool were great and rooms were kept clean at all times. The breakfast was superb and more than one would expect from such hotels.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    Very good breakfast location is very good near letojanni...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi very poor may be because it's a big complex there is an extra charge for a card

    Very good breakfast location is very good near letojanni train station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    All in all adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relatively old hotel, although very clean. Location is good (close to Taormina and beache is 5min away) but the highway nearby can be a discomfort.

    Breaches and village and relatively nice view from the hotel from top level rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The frequency of train from Catania to Letojanni is not so often.

    Buffet dinner was very lovely. We ate a lot every night. And cost is very reasonable compared to Taormina restaurant. There is a beautiful beach near the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    Location and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Access to the hotel by car (through a semi-closed gate, with no clear indication...until we found out, by ourselves, that there was also an alternative way of access). WiFi. Decor generally outdated.

    Location and view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    We had an amazing stay yet again!
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food could have been of a better standard in the main restaurant. Also, there were hidden extra charges this year that we haven't had to pay in previous years.

    We come here to visit family and always stay at this hotel, in fact we got married and had our reception in this hotel, the staff have got to know us over the years and are always welcoming and friendly and this is a perfect hotel for families in a great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    3.8
    Not worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are 30 years old. Under the bed was disgustingly dirty, broken floor tiles in the bathroom, the matress had caved in and was very uncomfortable. Air conditioning was very weak and could barely cope with the heat. Be aware you have to pay extra to use the indoor pools and endure typical loud italian entertainment. Definitely not worth €180/night

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Very nice trip.
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed mettress was hard.

    At the breakfast they have fresh orange juise and sparkling whine. The WIFI if free and have very good speed. Very clean rooms and hotel. Big and free parking. Close to beach even the hotel is up on rocks. The Taormina old town is close, only 10 minutes by car. I think is the most clean area in the Sicily.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    6.5
    indoor pool for the kids to use in April.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This place has all the potential of being a 5 star, it is rated 4 and is worthy of not more than 3. The hotel has all the right facilities and the best views but it is very run down and not well kept. Beds are uncomfortable, furniture old, very small rooms, even the quadruple room.

    indoor pool for the kids to use in April. great views. Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    Perfect tranquil location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were offered free WiFi, but this was only for 1 person per room:( Such a disappointment. Reception staff need more training to accommodate guests.

    Perfect location, marvellous rooms & terraces. Lovely Buffet Breakfast, where nothing was missing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    The staff were really nice (especially the breakfast and bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was really hard and pillow was lumpy. The decor was also a bit outdated.

    The staff were really nice (especially the breakfast and bar staff) and helpful and the hotel had great views. The breakfast was good quality.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    9.2
    Nice personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had hoped for an a la carte dinner but only a buffet was available. it's location was good for views but made it harder to access other places as it was up a hill. vehicle access is preferred!

    Nice personnel. We had two families. They put us together as requested. The indoor pool and jacuzzis were great for us and the kids! Great views from the balconies. Piano man in the lounge added a fun feel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    7.9
    Car access not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If arriving by car the road is steep and very winding. Not a lot of parking at the top by the hotel entrance, in a muddy parking area. (I think you can park at the bottom carpark & then take the lift to the top) The breakfast had a large spread including bacon & eggs – however it was all cold (sitting in a cold bain-marie) the eggs were like rubber and all the produce was poor quality – a poor Inedible breakfast.

    Large hotel with plenty of facilities, we were here in winter so did not apply to us. Our room was nice and spacious, lovely views from the terrace in front of the room. Electric kettle for tea/coffee in room. Some English TV channels. WiFi worked well. Our bed was large & comfortable, but only had a sheet and top-cover, no duvet, the sheets did not fit (too small). Hotel comfortable but dated, so dark in wardrobe I left clothing behind.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Cool lifts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated

    Cool lifts

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Awesome place, good price, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitness center not open til 9

    Great staff great place great amenities - can walk to good food :) Breakfast was awesome!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    The views from the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views from the hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Truly beautiful hotel very friendly and welcoming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food barlocation and all the staff very friendly! Lovely atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Location e panorama
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centro benessere

    Location e panorama

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    4.6
    Much less than I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It seems hotel never got a refurbishment since the beginning of 90`s.

    Breakfast is good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Good location, large spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, large spacious room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    The view of taormina from the balcony quiet and big large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and parking

    The view of taormina from the balcony quiet and big large room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    The view was worth the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view was worth the stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not clean. I saw two crocroches in my room. The breakfast was very poor and trust me I am not a picky person.

    The locayion

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.7
    food and the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i pay for the parking and no tv for the other room

    food and the location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.1
    Location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.4
    The position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy and smelly

    The position

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    The location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    practically no parking available. We had to wait minutes that some one left his parking

    The location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel in Taormina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel in need of refurbishing.

    Pool, Parking, Breakfast, Staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks were a bit expensive compared to town

    Big pool, good breakfast, sea views, good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff, swimming area , great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, swimming area , great food

    Stayed in May 2017

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45