Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Open Gate 2 stars

Via Roma 52, 84010 Praiano, Italy

#9 of 20 hotels in Praiano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 567 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The style of the hotel was not quite our style, everything was very old. It was a little far from the center of Praiano. The wifi was slow and didn't always work.

    The hotel was cheap compared to other hotels we stayed at. The restaurant on the hotel was fine and good after a long day to just go downstairs to eat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Great view and nice stop along the way to Amalfi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned style

    Great view and nice stop along the way to Amalfi. Host was very nice and helped us with parking, looking for restaurants etc.. The owner even served breakfast earlier than usual in order for us to leave on time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Enjoy and relax in Praiano
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really had a great time at Open Gate. It is conveniently located on the main road and the bus stops are right in front of the property. It also has a free parking area for those who rent a car. It is a family owned hotel and they made me feel at home and they were always available to help you and/or give you suggestions. The room had a wonderful view and it was comfortable; it is not a luxury room but has everything you need and great air conditioning for the summer days. Breakfast has a good variety of choices to choose from and the restaurant is also open for lunch and dinner; everything was delicious!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    They make you feel welcome at Open Gate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is on the road but the bus stop is across the street so that was great.

    The view of the coast is beautiful. The staff are very helpful and caring. It is quiet at night but if you want to, you can jump on the bus and go in either direction for fun activities. There is also a path close by (that also includes many stairs) that connects with Path of the Gods. We headed to Nocelle and took the bus into Positano for dinner. You can also have dinner at the hotel. The fresh pasta with seafood is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff clean and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and attentive they recommended a great trip to Capri and were great in providing information how to get around with the public transport. Food was great in the restaurant. The room was always attended too. Would recommend this hotel for a stay in Praiano

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only comment I have is that it would have been great to have mosquito nets on the windows/ balcony door in addition to the electric repellent provided.

    This is the first place I have ever given 10 points to. The room was clean, balcony was lovely (looking at the sea) and they offer parking just outside the front door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Wifi was poor in room, intermittent at best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was poor in room, intermittent at best. Otherwise great place. Staff were receptive and friendly, and the location was great for us. Our stay was too short.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    For a two star hotel this is an absolute gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe they could try a bit harder with the toiletries. That sample sachet thing went out a long time ago.

    For a two star hotel this is an absolute gem. The staff are exceptional, the rooms a good size, the views are amazing and it's one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. We only ate in the restaurant once as there are so many good eateries in the area, but it did excellent frutti da mare.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice peaceful hotel in Amalfi coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was bit small for 3 of us and facilities were very basic. No fridge or electric pot.

    The view out on the terrace was amazing. The room was clean and well managed. It's 15 min drive out from Positano and provides much peaceful environment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful and comfortable Amalfi Coast getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a little small which made it kind of difficult to wash up if you’re not used to tight spaces. Also, not a complaint of the hotel but a difficulty with the area in general is the only public transportation are the buses, which run infrequently, are often crowded, and stop running around 8 or 9 pm and taxis are few and far between and often overcharge so if you plan to be out late, make sure you have a ride set up or are ready for a long walk back.

    Great little place in Praiano in between 2 SITA bus stops. The walk is a little far from the bus stops but the view can’t be beat. Staff is super helpful and friendly, room comes with a private terrace that gives a great view of the ocean, and the restaurant downstairs has an amazing free breakfast every morning and their dinner menu is quite good as well! Also there’s a smaller bus that picks up and drops off right by the hotel to travel to Positano which is perfect for a day trip!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Would definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor road noise exposure. Walking along the road can be somewhat dicey.

    Fantastic views toward the sea. Large patios with automatic awnings. Very friendly family runs the place. Great food and great service. Close walk to the beach. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Quaint, family-run hotel in the perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There seemed to be an ant problem in the bathroom, and two big black bees were living in our patio door.

    The porch/restaurant area is lovely and inviting, and our view from the second floor balcony was worth it. A car was arranged to bring us to the airport when we checked out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant, comfortable place to stay in Praiano,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pillows we had were bulky and hard, so our sleep wasn't comfortable on the first night, but we did get other pillows and this improved our sleep. Though immaculately clean, the room was quite bare and felt a little characterless. But these are only tiny things; the positives far outweigh any negatives.

    We had a large, spacious room with a balcony overlooking the sea. The bedroom and bathroom were immaculately clean and the paintwork sparkling and spotless – it looked as though it had been painted quite recently. Although not in the 'centre' of Praiano as such, Hotel Open Gate is really well situated if you're travelling there by bus as we were, as it's only a short walk from a bus stop to take you to Amalfi or Sorrento. There are a couple of small shops nearby selling basic groceries, and a little supermarket up the hill too. It's really well situated to reach Marina di Praia, which is where water taxis and boat trips leave from, as well as a few good little restaurants down by the sea and a little cove where it's possible to swim. Breakfast was generous, and the staff were helpful. We couldn't quite understand how Open Gate had only a two star rating as it definitely felt like it deserved more!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Open Gate was spotlessly clean from arrival to departure...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Open Gate was spotlessly clean from arrival to departure with daily cleaning and fresh towels. The hotel is run so well and from requesting an iron to the booking of trips and even printing our tickets; nothing was too much trouble for the owners/employees. The location was fantastic and easy to reach neighbouring Amalfi and Positano for day trips. The view from Open Gate was beautiful and the restaurant served lovely food - it was a fantastic stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely terrific hotel, which is beautiful and felt like home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    One of the loveliest hotels I have ever stayed in. Pasquale is the wonderful host (he also seems to do everything else at the hotel), and will do whatever he can to make your stay as lovely as possible. And, he succeeds! In fact, everything and everyone at the hotel succeeds - the chef, Steffi (I hope I spelled it correctly) ... all wonderful. Beautiful view straight out onto the sea. Highly recommend Praiano (over Positano) and the Open Gate. Just terrific!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    The place had the best view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place had the best view. It was very relaxing and comfortable. The staff was super friendly. Food was great So worth it! For sure returning back one day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location with particularly helpful host and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Open Gate has a delightful location -our spacious room had a balcony with gorgeous view over the sea. Breakfast was first class with delicious fresh orange juice a high light. The patronne and staff were extremely helpful and provided local advice to enhance our stay on the Amalfi coast. The in house restaurant-also with splendid views -served delicious and well priced meals which was a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    If you are on a trip in Italy this is a nice relaxing place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are on a trip in Italy this is a nice relaxing place to stay for a couple of days. It’s a family owned hotel and a restaurant. Everybody is very friendly and helpful. Special thank you to Stefani and Pasquale. The food was amazing. The room was clean. The view from the balcony is gorgeous. The beach is close to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant view, delightful staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic view. Ambience. Breakfast is top rate. fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh cut fruit salad, rolls, boiled egg, cheese and meats all served in a delightful setting. But best of all the wonderful staff. Pasquale and Stefania were fantastic and make a stay here so enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    May stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy road outside, but that's true of most local hotels due to roads on the Amalfi coast. The traffic does cease at night when sleeping.

    Clean and good location out of Positano away from the crowds. Plenty of good restaurants in the town. Very friendly staff who were most helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful rooms with even more beautiful sea views from a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    House wine in the restaurant is a simple table wine, its ok, but better choose a bottle of something better to go with the great food they serve.

    Beautiful rooms with even more beautiful sea views from a large terrace. Very tasty food in the restaurant Free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Great memories. Staff were friendly and kind. The location was beautiful and close to the bus stops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the hotel restaurant was exceptional- great dishes. The staff were very helpful and accommodating (plus they spoke English). The view from our room was stunning. It is a quiet and serene area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are fairly basic and a bit outdated, but still comfortable.

    Great location - outside of the main tourist spots, but easy access to buses, restaurants, and hiking trails. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The rooms are fairly basic and a bit outdated, but still comfortable and the views are incredible. The breakfast is very good and the restaurant is nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    perfetto
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing all was great

    Everything was perfect.. really when staying over night in the Amalfi Coast that is the best place to stay at a reasonable price..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing couple of days in a quieter part of the Amalfi coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No kettle in our room.

    In the quieter part of the village, with superb views from private terrace. If you were driving this would be a good choice as it has its own large car park, unlike many others.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    The owners and location were both excellent, the view from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners and location were both excellent, the view from our terrace couldn’t have been better. The restaurant was lovely and the menu could be adapted to your taste.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Helpful staff, beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was comfortable and clean. There was a large terrace off the room with beautiful sea views. When we arrived at the hotel we were very hungry but restaurants all over Praiano, including at this hotel, were closed. However, they brought us into the restaurant and prepared a lovely meal for us all the same.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Super friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Super friendly staff. Amazing views from our balcony. Breakfast got us going in the morning with whatever our hearts desired. Couldn't have asked for more...thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Heavenly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Open Gate was a lovely hotel in Praiano on the Amalfi coast. It was a great central location to explore the Amalfi coast. Stephania and Pasquale were wonderful hosts throughout our visit. Our room was spacious and comfy and we had a lovely balcony with extensive Gulf of Salerno views, The restaurant on site was very good and we took advantage of it on several evenings after full days out and about. We were able to go the the isle of Capri on day directly from the beach at Praiano. we were picked up and dropped off at our hotel in the evening which made for a lovely day and also would be good for folks that might not want to walk the full way down to the beach. Breakfast was included each morning which was perfect way to start the day it included hard-boiled egg, coffee/ espresso / cappuccino, cereal, yogurt, bread and pastries, fruit cup, cheese and meats, butter, jam... very nice! We thank you Stephania and Pasquale for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.3
    Staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very difficult to walk anywhere due to the road traffic - no footpaths.

    Staff were excellent. Restaurant was very good. Traffic noise a bit of an issue. Room was basic although very adequate. 300 metres to beach. Views very nice from balcony. Local bus stop right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent, family-run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent, family-run hotel. Staff was incredibly friendly, gracious, and hospitable. Wonderful atmosphere; restaurant was very good, and it's hard to beat a private balcony overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel and restaurant with wonderful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some road noise due to location, but a quieter resort than Amalfi or Positano.

    Excellent family run hotel. The room was clean and comfortable and the restaurant was excellent both for breakfast and dinner. All the staff were very helpful and provided invaluable information on local transport and places to visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.0
    Lovely views but otherwise disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food and drink expensive, room noisy because right on main road, Praiano very spread out therefore not close to other restaurants. Bedrooms and especially bathrooms in need of a revamp, 1970s-ish with poor drainage and a lot of mould in bathroom.

    Good breakfast, bedroom with balcony and great view of the bay, friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    We've been traveling Europe for almost 1 month and this hotel has been our favourite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were wonderful. Food was delicious and reasonably priced. View from room balcony is unbeatable. Room was spacious and clean. Air conditioning worked well. Was a perfect stay at Hotel Open Gate. Wish we could have stayed longer. I would recommend to everyone.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    Good value and reasonable location, but service could have been warmer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All rooms have a view of the ocean, but when booking I was specific about asking, I was given the one with the worst view of all and was the only one up to watch the sunrise, I was there for a few days but when I asked to move was met with a very unresponsive attitude. I also left a pair of expensive shoes there, and realised it when back to Rome, decided then that I would just leave them behind, but after all the the emails prior to arrival was surprised they did not even send me a note. It's feels a bit like a we have to do this job every summer kind of place, but then to be fair it was the end of the summer so perhaps everyone was tired. Road was a little busy, if traffic bothers you choose something a little further off the road.

    Property offered good value and praiano was a good location between positano and Amalfi. On the Amalfi coast it's a real bonus to be able to park your car. Pasquale was very prompt on his email response. Rooms were simple but clean. During summer you can take a great boat trip out to Capri, there are a few companies, I used Lanka and was very happy, much better than taking a cramped ferry , you have east access to the path of the gods and there is a bus stop just outside, but be careful there are two bus companies so make sure you have the right one. I loved visiting la strada restaurant to watch the sunset, a 10 min walk from the hotel. Breakfast was sufficient but not anything special.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Stefania and Pasquale are the most wonderful hosts and give...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Stefania and Pasquale are the most wonderful hosts and give useful tips on how to get around. Their food is delicious. We stayed there a week and couldn't have wished for a better time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    The view of the Tyrhennian Sea is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of the Tyrhennian Sea is amazing. It is very clean. Stefania and Pasquali are excellent hosts and made our stay very comfortable. The restaurant is excellent. It is a nice escape from the craziness of Amalfi and Positano.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Amazing hotel with superb staff in a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been nice to have a fridge and iron in the room. Also a long mirror would have been good.

    The staff at Open Gate are amazing, really helpful and super friendly. It is in an idyllic location with views over the coast and sea. Their restaurant is also superb - definitely try the seafood pasta - its a house special and really is amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    We really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom is a little old, but still very clean.

    The owners/staff- Pascale and his family helped us with every subject from start till our last minute. Pascale came with a solution to all our personal questions and issues during our whole stay, including the routes, transport timelines, travel tips, late breakfast for one day, etc . They also arranged us a motorbike, which the company brang to the hotel and picked from there. That was a real help and comfort for us. Thank you very much all for our lovely stay. The location The view The restaurant The breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Our first stay at Open Gate and it was Geat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room decor was a little dated but very, very clean and for the little time you spend in the room it was fine. The large balcony more than made up for it.

    Our first stay at Open Gate and it was Geat. Staff, location, and view was fabulous. The food was so good we ate at the restaurant all three nights and had a bountiful breakfast too with great coffee. Our balcony was so large and the view stunning. I would definately stay here again and recommend it to others.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic views, lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little isolated from other facilities but other than that was a really nice hotel.

    See view and large terrace. Restaurant food excellent. Well maintained old hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Great location - centrally located between the towns of Amalfi and Positano.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spectacular views and easy access around the coast. If we ever make it back to the Amalfi Coast, this is where we'll be staying! Everything was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    The owners of the hotel are very friendly and helpful and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A shelf and a few more hooks in the bathroom would have been all that is needed.

    The owners of the hotel are very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our evening dinners overlooking the Amalfi coast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Good stay in quieter town of Praiano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a bit dated. Room was small for the price paid. And we paid for double bed but had to single that were put together so the middle you had the hard edges of matresses. Wifi had a lot of trouble to work in the rooms.

    Well situated, good food. Nice host. Room with balconny and view on the sea bus stop right in front so easy to go from town to town. Praia beach just a few minutes walk from the hotel . Very peaceful compared to the other amalfi coast towns.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice place in Praiano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not fresh bakery or bread for breakfast and even if they say that they serve fresh orange juice it's not... Breakfast could be way more better!

    Amazing views and big room, pleasant staff ant quiet place. Parking is free for clients

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    The room was very spacious, the views were stunning and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very spacious, the views were stunning and the breakfast was tasty. Although the location is a little bit out of the centre, everything is walkable and convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Amalfi coast dream stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location to explore the Amalfi coast. The owners operate the restaurant on site with all home made food. The views are exceptionally lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    The Open Gate Hotel is conveniently situated between Positano and Amalfi. it is a family operated buisness.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    I liked the ambience of the hotel with it's typical old world floor and bathroom tiles, the wonderful views from the spacious balcony. Eating dinner each night from the dinning terrace, the view of the lights flickering in the distance at dusk.The meals were great, my favorite being The Linguini with Scampi. The hotel staff are fantastic, very helpful and friendly. This is the second time I have stayed at The Open Gate, the first being in 2006, I loved it then And I still love it. Can't wait to comback again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable stay in Praiano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect, the beach and Africana club are just 10min fare by foot. Free parking is really unique on the costiera. It's really comfortable there are a restaurant in the hotel which cooks delicious food and in the same time prices are normal. The breakfast was really good as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    A treat in Praiano
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only staying 3 nights! Next time more!😢

    Did a lot of research before deciding where to stay on the Amalfi Coast,and having been to Positano once before, thought it a good idea to this time try Praiano. What a great treat staying at Hotel Open Gate! Everything the Amalfi Coast has to offer, but away from the crowded tourist spots. Friendly family run Hotel with helpful staff,great facilities, a fantastic restaurant and views so beautiful. All at a reasonable cost! Would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    A really good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel with great location. Tidy, pretty, professional with easy parking and a good restaurant. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Excellent food and service in the restaurant. Clean, spacious rooms. Nice view from the balcony. Nice bar. Overall a great stay, could easily come again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A refrigerator in the room would be useful. Noisy at night from other guests due to poor quality doors. Breakfast was good but I prefer a buffet.

    Good sized room with lovely views from the large balcony.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Good value place to stay in Priano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because of the remoteness, the walk into the town was quite long and up/down some quite steep steps. It was fine for us, but I can imagine it would be difficult for some. Compared with all other hotels we stayed in, the whole place was in need of modernisation.

    The view outside was very pretty, although it's right on the road so was a bit noisy. The hotel is situated in a quiet area, so is not too touristy. There is also on-site free parking, which was a real bonus compared with Positano or Amalfi where we had to pay 20E per day. The balcony was large and we had a good sized room. If you are into partying, the Afriacana club is very close (5 min walk) so ideal if you want to go out in the evening there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing and beautiful spot on the Amalfi coast away from hustle and bustle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a fridge for water in the room but we either bought water downstairs or at one of the local shops nearby.

    The staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The view from our room was amazing and was air conditioned as well. We ate at the restaurant on 6 out of 7 evenings. It was a short walk to the beach at Marina de Praiano - a very chilled low key hotel without a pool but we knew that before booking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent property and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant is very very good. We liked the Zucchini Flowers - the best we've ever had. Unfortunately they were only available the first night of our stay, and despite asking about them every day the staff couldn't get them made available again - a bit disappointing. But that's all we can say negative about the place, overall a great hotel with very a friendly and hard-working staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    The balcony view was amazing, the staff very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The balcony view was amazing, the staff very friendly and helpful, hotel restaurant food was brilliant, even though it was served on the terrace the other side of the road.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Brilliant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's in a quite town... 20mins on a bus to Amlfi or Positano. The road can be a little loud but we slept very very well. The air con was good. Food is great and a good price. I'm glad we stop here, Amlfi and Positano are so busy you can't move and you'd need to book restaurant well in advice (by phone as they are a little old School) which takes a bit a fun of just dropping in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Perfect stay at Open Gate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect three nights at Open Gate. Very friendly owners. Nice breakfast. Delicius dinner at their own restaurant. Love that place and our terrace with a great seaview. Would like to go back some day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    10+
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I will

    The kindest of the people was amazing exspecially Pasquale and Stefanie r the best. We felt like be with fam. I raccomend to everyone u like travel and stay too the ❤️OfAmalfi coast . Open Gate is the right place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    The staff was particularly attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was particularly attentive. The location is beautiful and well situated to enjoy other areas. Buses make it easy to get around without a car.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    The staff was super nice, helpful, and very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Should change the towels more often.

    The staff was super nice, helpful, and very welcoming. The local bus stop right across the hotel made transportation a lot easier. The SITA bus stop is just a 1 minute walk. The view and the balcony were awesome. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    Convenient location with great sea views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities or mini fridge in room, which is always an added bonus. These amenities are not standard in Italy so Open Gate is not out of step. It's just the way it is.

    Staff were very helpful and informative . Breakfasts were plentiful and tasty. View was great. Location excellent: on bus route,easy walk to praiano marina cove and praiano main street (through the tunnel). Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    A very good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee and tea making facilities in the room would be appreciated and possibly a small fridge to enable access to a cold drink.

    The view from the balcony /patio (room 28)alone was worth the price. All of the staff were very approachable and friendly. The location a great alternative to the busy Positano. Access to the local bus just outside the hotel with the Sita bus stop (coastal bus) about 5 minutes away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.7
    Ok for the money but not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from 7am made it impossible to sleep. Both traffic and restaurant below and cleaning staff from around 8am vacuuming. Coffee and breakfast were both below average too unfortunately. The walk to other shops and restaurants was an unpleasant distance especially in the heat but you will get that with many hotels on the coast. Choose carefully and try to be slightly of the main road.

    The place was very clean and nice looking. Staff were helpful and friendly (except the old guy who I think is the owner who ignored me whilst standing at the front desk). The views are amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast was lovely and the restaurant on site was also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit noisy by the road.

    Breakfast was lovely and the restaurant on site was also great in the evening. 15 minute walk to the nearest beach down lovely paths. Staff went above and beyond to help and even let my boyfriend borrow an ipad to watch the Lions game as it wasn't showing anywhere in the town!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Perfect escape to the Italian coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Attentive staff, close to local bus (small bus transfers between positano/praiano and cheaper than sita bus and less busy) and sita bus, prompt to reply to all enquiries, fantastic views across the coast, reasonable priced restaurant with excellent food, close proximity to access the path of the gods.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    nice location, close to one of the SATA bus stops, quiet,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nice location, close to one of the SATA bus stops, quiet, large and clean rooms, we had one with a large balcony and a view over the ocean. Very helpful and friendly staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    Praiano - Amalfi Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that would have made it 100% , would have been a pool, however we knew the hotel didn't have one when booking, however having now been to Praiano and realising accessing the sea is a workout in itself, a pool roils have been nice. But this should in no way make you not stay here

    Very friendly, polite owners/staff. Always ready to do more to help. Simple family hotel, but that's what we wanted, it was perfect in that respect. Excellent breakfast each day, simple access on the main road, no steps to climb! Which is a big thing in Praiano. The

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.2
    Charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar fridge in room would have been good but we were aware of this at booking

    A fantastic place to stay! Local bus stop at your door. Views from your balcony incredible, rooms simple but comfortable. Family run hotel, Pasquale and Stephanie so welcoming. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    I would stay there again. It was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is on the only road that goes through Priano. During the day there was more traffic, but it was pretty quiet at night.( I am more noise conscious than the average person. )

    Wonderful management, a beautiful room, delicious food from restaurant, clean--wonderful! I stayed here 6 nights because I liked my room so much and for all of the other reasons I mentioned here. Perfect location for one who has no car because the bus stop is a half a block away,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    Nice quiet location between Amalfi and Positano.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They have limited parking. We were lucky to get the last space, otherwise we may have had to park on the narrow street.

    Great location, views and restaurant. Short walk to beach and town of Praino. Convenient access to public transportation. Took a beautiful, short, slightly strenuous hike along the "Walk of the Gods" to San Domenico convent. Could have taken the path all the way to Positano.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Excellent location to explore Amalfi coast. Bus stop is nearby so no need to use a car to go to Positano or Amalfi. We di also the steps to “Sentiero degli Dei” path and enjoyed the breathtaking views. Nice experience. Staff was very helpful to provide us with right info about possible hikes and trips.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful place!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were a bit hard. The hotel is next to the road, so there is some traffic noice. In the night it is not busy at all. And when you wake up early this is not a problem. But if you like to sleep out it might bother you.

    The room was very spacious and clean. Nice terrace/balkony with beautiful view. The breakfast was very nice. The restaurant was really really good!! The people of the hotel were so nice and gave me lots of tips. It is located very well. A bit outside of the busy coastline in the nice village of Praiano. Closeby there is a nice quiet beach with a lovely restaurant. All very recommendable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    Good place to stay in Praiano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some road noise as accommodation is alongside main road, although quieter during most sleeping hours.

    Clean and comfortable accommodation with friendly and helpful staff. Good food in restaurant at night and for breakfast. Private parking and location within 250m of bus stop. Good base for walking in area and away from very busy tourist locations of Amalfi and Positano.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel on the gorgeous Amalfi coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything we didn't like

    The staff were wonderful; warm, friendly & so helpful (providing us with a breakfast to take with us on a day we left before breakfast for a day trip to Paestem). Food (provided breakfast & meals we ate at the restaurant) were great. Beautiful, spacious, clean room with a great balcony & view.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Open Gate traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: