Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Orion 2 stars

S.Marco Spadaria 700/A, San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#117 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 794 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic and loved Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows!!!

    Great location, staff were fantastic, the room was decorated to suit beautiful Venice. Breakfast was such an added bonus and we were very grateful and delighted for the packed breaky to take with us as we had to leave early on the last day. Fully recomend this place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Small hotel in prime location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small hotel in prime location Hotel Orion is located just a little way from St Mark’s Square. It is close to all the sights in that area and the water bus, taxi and gondolier terminals. There is a very tiny lobby and no elevator. Be prepared to carry your bags up several flights of steep stairs. Our room on the second floor was comfortable with a beamed ceiling and partial glimpse of the church around the corner. Their was an en suite bathroom but the shower cubicle is small with sliding glass doors. Something to consider if you are on the larger side. Included in our price was a nice breakfast buffet with the usual fare, hard boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, rolls, pastries, meats and cheeses. Plus drinks. There are many restaurants, shops and places to buy water and gelato on every corner. The front desk staff are very helpful especially for directions to landmarks and the easiest walking routes to things. They also printed out water bus timetables and looked up train times for us. Overall a little gem of a hotel in a great location for the price. We hope to stay again. It’s nice waking up in Venice to the church bells ringing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice rooms, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows are flat and hard, and the room was warm. Tried to operate the thermostat but it was not operable. Being able to open the windows did help a lot.

    Great location, free breakfast im a sunny cafe setting, rooms are nice and clean. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    The service was fantastic, really helpful front desk staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Keep in mind that the building is an original - therefore not for larger people!! The shower was a tight squeeze!!

    The service was fantastic, really helpful front desk staff. Location could not be better, 1 minute walk to San Marco, and a breakfast view of the Basillica.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Good location in an expensive town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift, meaning 4 flights of stairs everytime. Luckily the hosts helped with our luggage as we had 5 big bags for our family. The double room was rather compact too, extremely small bathroom. Was expensive for accomodation compared to other parts of Italy, but on the cheaper side for the very expensive Venice.

    Great location right in San Marco. Very helpful hosts who went out of their way to make us a packed breakfast for our early flight so we wouldnt miss out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable cozy room close to St. Mark's Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little tricky finding hotel as Venice is a labyrinth just about everywhere, though Google Maps helped. No elevator. (Luckily we had only carry-on bags to lug up to our 4th floor room.)

    Friendly helpful front desk people. Nice breakfast options. Comfortable bed and room. Very close to St. Mark's Square. Reasonably priced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Douche cabine was extremely small, if you are oversized you can not enter

    Perfect location!In the center of the city, just a few meters behind Doges Palace!Very helpful staff, good breakfast, very clean room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Small friendly comfortable & central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cubicle. The shower curtain either sways out of the little cubicle & the floor toilet everything gets soaked or it sways in & sticks to you. I feel a solid screen would be better. The bathroom is very very small so if a large person stays, I would say they would struggle.Also no food or drink in room's to prevent ants etc. I understand this but I didn't like not having a coffee as & when I wanted one.

    Breakfast was great for me as I hate a fryed breakfast & for once breakfast was cereal, yoghurt, boiled eggs,cheese, salami, croissant, fruit, coffee, fresh orange etc. Staff helpful & friendly & hotel central to everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    The staff were really friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were really friendly! the hotel is in a really nice location with everything being so close. The food for breakfast was quite simple but we still enjoyed coming down every morning. Would stay again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Very pretty hotel with great location and good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing about the room we were not happy with was the noise of the airconditioning or some other motored device that was probably located on top of our room roof, and made a constant 24h loud noise to the room.

    The room was beautiful, clean and despite small size suitable for us. Pretty view, and no noise from the street or even the next door church bells could be heard inside. Everything (shower, toilet, etc) worked well, the bed was good, and the breakfast delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Still consider the hotel as good value for the price.@
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the 4ths floor and there was no elevator. However they brought our suitcase up to the room. - Noise from the street. Ask for a room to the backyard.

    The location is super, however noise from the street could last until 3am. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Location was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bathroom but for the price and location you have to expect space to be minimal.

    Location was superb. You cant get closer to st marks square and there are a plethora of restaurants to choose from.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Great staff, great location but not a Hotel as you imagine one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had the top floor room and this involved climbing 5 floors as the Hotel does not have a lift. The air conditioning did not work and the explanation was "it is broken". We had to have a window open and this prevented us from having a good night by the loud bells every hour and noise from the street below late at night and then early in the morning.

    Excellent staff and the position of the Hotel was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    From check in to check out we felt very welcome. Rooms good and lots ofchoice for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one pillow per person.

    Well presented and clean, especially liked the shuttered windows and we had a view of a little square and church.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.0
    The man who worked during the day time was really nice !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to get up to leave for 0730 I paid for 3 nights bed and breakfast ! Due to cancelled flight missed the first night so was cut short to 2 nights the morning we were due to leave we had to leave by 0745 to catch the water taxi back to the airport - breakfast doesn’t start till 8am but although asking for what they recommended “a breakfast box” the day before we were too late (afternoon) and it couldn’t be facilitated..... perhaps we should of asked earlier so I got over that but in the morning the light was on and all breakfast (well it isn’t the best very little choice) was all ready at 0730 I went in to try to get just some hot water so I could make a hot drink before we departed - we was met with a rude night porter who old us - despite it all set up we couldn’t have hot water as it wasn’t 8am we explained but he was rude and dismissive - people like him seriously ruin what fond memories we had of the place

    The man who worked during the day time was really nice ! Quite helpful ,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    A good little hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a single power socket under the bedside table. This is just not enough to easily keep two phones plus tablets charged up. Google maps is invaluable in Venice but 'phones do need to be recharged more often. We also used the hairdryer socket in the shower room for charging, but this is dangererous for the 'phone, given the tiny size of the shower room.

    Location is really excellent, staff are friendly and, for our winter visit, the room was thankfully warm! Room was pleasantly decorated and breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Conveniently located and fairly budget price oriented hotel with comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not enjoy the coffee available for breakfast but other breakfast items were OK.

    Very convenient location for getting around all of Venice by foot or ferries. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Excellent place to stay for quick visits to St Mark's square and central to all the shopping areas..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    No coffee making and kettle available in the room..big inconvenience if you are traveling with young children No food allowed in the room-which in my opinion is really not practical Steep staircase if staying at higher floor not so advisable for travellers with young children and with lots of baggage

    Excellent location-could not have asked for a better location..close to water taxi stop Campielo Della Guera which is just around the corner and barely a few steps to St Marks square.. Triple room was spacious with nice view of the square.. Staff-The reception and breakfast staff was friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Hotel Orion offers a perfect location for a very good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some people can find breakfast offer underwhelming. If you are very choosy and you need to have something new for breakfast every day, you can be disappointed by their offer. But for us it was enough and we enjoyed the lovely view from windows.

    Hotel Orion offers a perfect location for a very good price. Hotel is literary next to San Marco square, which is the most important and most visited square in Venice and it is also very close to Rialto, which is a very important and a very frequent public transport stop. I highly recommend this place, if you don't mind to be in a city center, which can be sometimes very crowded.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.8
    Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the property more than a month in advance at a very high rate however the price was too low on the day of check-in for others. I would suggest others to keep a tab on it however the stay was very pleasant!

    Great location and staff. Just few steps from everything I wanna see in Venice. The room was small but clean and the staff @reception really gave us all the help we needed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had poor choice, very minimal. Even coffee wasn’t great.

    Super clean, very comfortable beds, Staff lovely and location perfect! Don’t stay if you can’t manage stairs though.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    6.3
    Nice Hotel. relay to bad that the reception guy was not nice and not kind to us as our expiriance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the room was at 3rd floor with no elevator. the guy at the reception ask us to pay the TeXes immediately it the check-in, and did not agree to wait. this guy was very aggressive and was not nice the hole time of our sating. he was anger that we put milk and chis at the mini-bar. the room had a stair in 2 locations inside and it was dangerous. almost fall every entrance. the shower was above the dining room and the water of flue into the dinning room after taking a shower. so he change the room after he did us an ugly show about it. they did not bring us a white sheet and a garbage nylon 3 days although we asked every day. it was relay not a pleasant experience and we are traveling not at the first time and we have been in many hotels in the past.

    The room was OK. the room was clean. the owner was very kind and patient and explain what ever we ask for. the Hotel is very close to s. macro piazza.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    The perfect hotel for a stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As some other reviewers pointed out, the hairdryer is not the the best, but it did the job and saved me carrying one.

    What a super hotel! The staff are super friendly, and the location is fabulous for exploring Venice. Some reviews did complain about the street noise, but we had no issues, and we were right above the street. Closing the shutters blocked out pretty much all the noise. The rooms aren't huge, but I was pleasantly surprised, plenty of room and the shower was superb. Thoroughly recommend this hotel for your stay in Venice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although being told our room would be on the third or fourth floor (via an email), we were actually on the fifth floor - even though this provided privacy, it was a trek with no lift available. The bed in this room was also extremely uncomfortable. Amount of room in the breakfast dining room - very squashed. My partner was bitten by something in the bed during our stay - this was possibly due to the windows always being opened when the room was cleaned.

    Breakfast was more than substantial - a simple range provided. Excellent location, just around the corner from St. Marks Square and not far from the vaporetto stop. Room cleaned and fresh towels provided on a daily basis. Reception staff were very amenable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.3
    No tea or coffee making things supplied:
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions were poor to get to hotel

    Not much : stairs were hard to navigate and then you had to go to another building two flights of stairs for breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    The hotel did all we asked... decent price for such a prime spot and served us very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dining room for breakfast quite tight but always got seated. When arriving once at 10.00am (finishes serving at 10.30) some items had run out. Some outside noise in bedroom but shutters and double glazing kept most out. You are in the city anyhow!

    Fantastic location, just a short walk from the main attractions of this fantastic city. Nice staff - always someone on reception and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel right in the heart of Venice, just 3 minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel right in the heart of Venice, just 3 minutes far from San Marco square. Amazing view from dining room. It takes About 45 minutes from and to airport with public transport. The

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice clean room, renewed bathroom, comfortable bed (160 cm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room on the first floor, This was a bit noisy (mainly due to other guests coming home late at night and some street noise)

    Nice clean room, renewed bathroom, comfortable bed (160 cm wide, standard room)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    overall very good and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    only good for fit persons or family because all the rooms are located above reception and few steps to climb.

    excellent location, everything is nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location, charming little place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast started rather late, and the air conditioning was not the most efficient.

    The location was fairly easy to find, just a few minutes walk from St Mark's. Staff was friendly and the room wise nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.9
    Small hotel right in the centre of Venice, great location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small hotel right in the centre of Venice, great location, very small room with typical italian athmosfere with view over small square, nice breakfast, staff very friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    recommended to stay. value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no lifts so if hotel gives u room on 3rd floor as what i got, u will have to pick your luggage. the outside view of room is the narrow street. not very impressive.

    the location of the hotel was good. if u are taking water taxi from the airport, it will drop u to st. marco polo stop which is the main location of venice. it will be 5-7mins walk to the hotel, extremely easy. the hotel was quite clean with nice breakfast in the morning. the reception helped me answer all questions related to touring. they printed my tickets (if any) u will save on transportation as hotel location is prime with shops, restaurants open till late.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Great staff, great location for Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing, but if you're looking for a large swanky hotel with a huge foyer, this isn't it! Entrance is down a small street and easy to miss, but once inside, it's everything you need for a week in Venice.

    Staff were always on hand to help. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.9
    Location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    En-suite could have been bigger. No lift to upper floors.Breakfast starting at 8am especially when we had to leave early to get to airport.

    Location was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    A real gem, unbelievably close to St Marks Square!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift but it's an old building (like all of Venice). Breakfast could be a little more exciting but it was fine.

    Amazing location. Room on top floor beautiful but had to move down as too many stairs for mum...no lift!! Staff extremely helpful & friendly. Will return 100%!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.4
    Typical basic Venice accommodation makes you wish you were a milionair with your own yacht
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    NO elevator. Very dangerous and steep staircase. If you have the misfortune to get a room on the fourth floor you will feel puffed out getting to your room. Very basic breakfast and not much choice.

    Good location. The rooms are all quite different in size and quality.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Great stay - Central location, staff aimed to please
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I probably would not feel the need to stay so close to St Mark's if I went back anytime soon but it was perfect for a short stay in Venice.

    The staff went out of their way on several occasions to make sure our stay went well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From a personal point of view breakfast times would be better from 7.30am to 10am instead of 8am-10am.

    The choice for breakfast was extremely good. Excellent location. Very clean hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Traditional venetian room in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room had no air con and was very tight on space at busy times.

    We were upgraded from a standard room to a superior rooms. Although the room wasnt actually in the hotel it was only a few doors down the lane and was actually a first floor private studio apartment. We were glad to not have to take our large suitcases up 4 flights of stairs. Room had air con which was welcome. Lovely large bed. Location is 2 mins from St Marks.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Charming and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was one of those that the whole bathroom floor is the shower. There is just a plastic shower curtain that gets in the way, and we had to mop up the floor after showering so we wouldn't track water all over the room. Otherwise, we loved everything!

    Perfect location. So close to San Marco Square, food and nice shopping outside the door, and quiet for a good night's sleep. Excellent service from front desk and breakfast staff. A nice variety at breakfast. There is no lift, so be prepared for stairs; reception did offer to take our luggage up, but we managed just fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.5
    Perfect place to celebrate wedding anniversary and a big birthday!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy at night but this noise came from outside in the streets and square and can only be expected given the central location.

    Hot power shower, good air con, good wifi signal, good choice of food at breakfast, lovely owners and staff, excellent location! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.1
    Rustic hotel in Venice tourist spot.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is extremely small. We paid for an economy room and we got economy facility I suppose. Having someone at the desk 24 hours was helpful.

    It was very very close to san Marco. The staff was very helpful and kind. The air conditioning was needful and efficient. Rustic room overlooking an alleyway which was nice. Breakfast was continental and very lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    All in all a nice stay with a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All the rules handed to us upon registering for example there is a refrigerator in the room but are forbidden to place anything in it due to the possibility of bringing in ants?? No loud talking between 2:30 pm and 4pm??

    Great location; service of a 24 hour desk; terrific breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rule was you could not have food or drinks in your room because of an ant problem. I saw no ants and the breakfast room was right next door to our room with food in it and we were woken at 7am by the kitchen staff!!! We felt like children being told not to eat in our room which we paid good money for!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    6.7
    Bathroom very small. Breakfast very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was extremely !!!! small. Water spilled everywhere from the shower. The breakfast was basic! Very small choice. One choice of ham, very small stripes of cheese. Never seen anything like that before!.

    Our suitcases were carried upto the 3rd floor when we arrived. Nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.3
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't adjust the air conditioner so it was a bit warm for us at night. Opened up the windows so got some air but also the street noises. Slept well anyway cause we were exhausted from walking around.

    Location was excellent! Staff super friendly. Lots of variety at breakfast,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.3
    Excellent hotel but without a sat nav you'll be walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was first class I unfortunately booked the wrong day I could not get to check my reservation when I did the hotel charged an extra 25 euro for the room

    Excellent hotel but without a sat nav you'll be walking all day

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much..

    Nice little hotel 60m from San Marco, with bedrooms in the Venitian style with a good shower room. Efficient air conditioner covering the street noise at night. Breakfast was served in the room over the lane, linking the 2 buildings, like a little bridge, quite different and romantic. We asked if we could leave our bag at the hotel for the day till we were ready to leave Venice in the evening, which was no problem. Good customer service!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel for Short Breaks to Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was next to the Breakfast room, so did get quite noisy in the mornings

    Location is excellent, great base to explore Venice, room was clean, staff on reception were very helpful and breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.8
    Venice vacation value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small but comfortable. The ensuite bathroom was quite small & it was difficult to turn around, even in the shower. However, the staff & location were great & within walking distance of great shops, restaurants & major attractions. We also appreciated the supply of umbrellas in the foyer for guests on our one rainy day!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    The location was very good as was the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked a lock box in the room, however the doors were very secure.

    The location was very good as was the staff. They provided a beautiful breakfast every morning. We thought the entire staff were great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.9
    Nice place to stay if you're wanting to stay close to the square
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is VERY tiny. Very difficult for a large person to shower or use the facilities.

    Location to San Marcos Square was excellent. The rooms are small, as expected, but very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For this location I expected to use ear plugs, and I did. It's a trade-off. Great location attracts many people, but I'll gladly accept a bit more noise.

    Very friendly employees. Excellent location. Very clean. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    Can't say enough - just lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to say here - everything was lovely. Breakfast was nice and adequate for starting the day -- perhaps more fiber and fruit options?!?!

    This was a lovely hotel perfectly situated for our sadly short stay in Venice. The staff spoke English and went out of their way to assist us. Our room was large and had wonderful windows to the street and courtyard. Everything was clean and it was mostly quiet in the evening. We loved the area around the hotel and had several terrific meals nearby. On a recommendation from the staff we had the best meal of our stay at a Venetian style restaurant in a courtyard not far from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.5
    good in Venice for reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast costs 10 eur, you will find eggs, cheese, sausage, croissants, coffee, tea, cereals, juice, fruits, but no vegetables , very small breakfast room

    Very good location , clear, beautiful, but you need to know that most of hotels in Venice have thin stairs and no lifts!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    Great find in Venice :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When booking the hotel I wasn't quite sure what to expect, it had been rated as a 2 star hotel and I had read some mixed reviews. Upon arriving early, we were greeted by a lovely man at reception who checked us in and we were allowed to go to our room early rather than wait for the 2pm check in - bonus! The room was spacious, very comfy bed and looked down into one of the streets below, I wondered if it would be noisy but surprisingly, not at all. This hotel is a great find, very near to San Marco and really an ideal location for getting around everything. We had a great time exploring Venice and the city sightseeing boat is a must also :) I also liked that we handed in our key before leaving to explore, and that someone was at the reception desk 24/7. Finally, the breakfast room is small but well equipped and we had a lovely breakfast to set us up for our days of exploring.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.3
    The position is good, just close to the sant Marco square,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff seems not so nice, but maybe it's just to us, I'm not sure. And as I said, it's a little bit noisy because of the position.

    The position is good, just close to the sant Marco square, and this hotel is beside the street, which is a little bit noisy sometime. The room is not so big, but basically it's ok

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    8.8
    Brilliant place to stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't my favourite but probably because I'm an athlete and my sister is vegan so the choice didn't suit us so well.

    Super helpful and friendly staff. First trip without parents (it was me, 18 and my 15 yr old sister). We felt safe, welcome and looked after. Best 18th Birthday present

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Perfect short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked a small hotel bar,just to relax and have a night cap.

    Everything was absolutely perfect. Other than this we could not fault the hotel, staff,breakfast and cleanliness,spot on .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    9.2
    GREAT SAN MARCO SQUARE LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was the same daily (stayed there 6 nights). Climbing all those stairs and missing a lobby to sit and mingle.

    Staff was great. Location was amazing! They carried our luggage up and down those 63 steps to our 4th floor room. Was there for Carnevale and the price was very reasonable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    9.6
    very happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no english tv.

    the location was super..on a lovely street right behind st mark's square.. shops all around us.. cafe's and restaurants across from the hotel and two irish bars less than five minutes away by foot.. the staff are super. very friendly. ☺ loved it. thank you!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Originally the older guy said safe deposit was €5 / day , Charged too much City tax and tried to charge for drinks not used from the mini bar.. The younger guy insisted the safe deposit was only €5 for the stay and it was returnable. Also he returned the over excess city tax without asking... Deal with the younger guy if you can...

    Location, cleanliness, breakfast..

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    10
    Great wee hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything!

    Great find! Perfect location,clean and friendly staff and great wee breakfasts! Well stocked and reasonable priced mini bar. Thanks you!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    9.2
    Stay Here........
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very little improvement possible here, everyones very much on the ball.

    ALL staff friendly, approachable and very, very helpful. 2 mins from St. Marks, 5 mins from Rialto, surrounded by all sorts of eateries within 10 mins walk. Very Venetian... small (but big enough) well appointed rooms. Reasonably Priced. A gem.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    8.8
    Excellent place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Keys must be returned every time you go out. Quite dusty underneath the furniture. Seems like cleanliness doesn't go deep enough.

    Very nice apartment and extremely well located. Recommended!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.2
    2 minutes to St. Marks square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No concerns.

    Stayed in the annex a few doors down from the main hotel. Location was very good, very short walk to St. Marks square and many great restaurants and sights. Room was quiet, clean and of reasonable size for the price. Staff were helpful and polite. Inclusive breakfast was plentiful and varied. Overall a very nice stay at a hotel in an excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.2
    Charming and friendly little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Walls were thin, could hear everything the people in the next room did

    Location. Our bedroom looked out onto a little square with a beautiful church. It was very close to San Marco Square. Also, the staff were very friendly and welcoming, and the room was charming

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.8
    Best holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The maid entered 2 times in the room when we were inside. She asked for excuses, because she believed nobody is in the room, but it's totally inappropriate.

    The room is small but has nice furniture, in the venetian style. It was very clean also.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.2
    The accommodations were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodations were great. The location was midway between San Marco and Rialto which is very convenient once you've spent a few hours touring Venice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.6
    Short stay, but really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I had to complain about something, I'd say that the bathrooms are really small. But honestly, it wasn't a big deal.

    The location is great, the facilities are beautiful, and all of the staff were really nice. They have a little courtyard in the back which is quiet, away from the hustle and bustle of Venice, where you can sit and enjoy a bite or a beer. The breakfast was simple but good and had everything we needed. They allowed us to leave our bags after check out so we could wander around Venice for another couple hours. I would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea & coffee facilities in the room. Lots of stairs (we were on the fourth floor). Venice is so expensive!

    Location & helpful staff. Simply and enjoyable breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location and friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator

    No elevators. I book for single room on 3rd floor but on request they upgrade me free for double room on 1st floor. Location is super and staff is excellent and very helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    8.3
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small but manageable for the 2 night stay. Bathroom was very small but manageable

    Location was excellent,couldn't be more at the heart of Venice. So close to almost everything!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    8.3
    Much better than a 2 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is only open between 8-10AM If you want to get up early to start exploring you have to wait. Other than this very minor thing I would change the hotel is excellent. Would definitely go back!

    The location is excellent, a few minutes from St Marks Square, the rooms are very big and comfortable.The air conditioning is a bonus. The Minibar is incredible value, the breakfast is very good. I can't believe this is classed as a 2 star hotel, I would give this a 3.5-4 out of 5 star hotel. Very happy with the choice. Excellent value Venice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    Couldn't get a better location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is amazing. Doesn't get much better! Breakfast was lovely and fresh (must try the chocolate croissant). Room Was small (we had an economy room) but perfect for two people and nice and clean. Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Orion traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: