Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Orsa Maggiore 3 stars

Porto Ponente, 98050 Vulcano, Italy

#2 of 10 hotels in Vulcano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 261 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was excellent.

    This property was lovely and the staff were excellent! The pool area is beautiful and relaxing in a quiet setting. There is an on-site bar and restaurant which is quite convenient. Breakfast is a nice spread. The staff here is very accommodating, kind and helpful. I would definitely recommend this property for a great stay on Vulcano. The location is an 8 minute walk to the port area which can be quite dark at night but it is an easy walk during the day time. The property is situated in between the black sand beach and the volcano. I can not stress enough how kind and accommodating the staff at this property are! This is a great choice for a relaxing stay on the island.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in our room was making a small lake in case you enjoy the water for too long :)

    Hotel stuff is brilliant! The place is a bit in a distance from the centre (10 mins) but the hotel offers a shuttle - do not forget to call for it. Do not miss the opportunity to go to the top of the vulcano!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a bit out of town, away from the port, so we walked everywhere. Its a bit of a hike to go anywhere... the beach, volcano, town for restaurants and port.

    The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a free pickup and return to the port, which is nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dont know where to start. This was the best hotel we stayed at during our Sicily trip. The hotel is not too modern yet not too old fashioned. The staff is lovely and treat you like a family member. We got many beverages and sweets for just sitting in the lobby. The view is amazing on the Vulcan. We enjoyed the pool area a lot. Families are welcome there. We had one dinner and it was amazing again the staff was great. Breakfast was good especially the almond milk. I will come here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is only Wifi in the common areas, we didn't have it in our room. Which is a good thing of course when on holiday to limit your internet access and spend more time reading and talking. But sometimes its more convenient.

    The breakfast was really nice, one of the nicest we have had during our travels around Italy. The hotel was very nice and the pool was exactly as per the photos - gorgeous! The hotel is located about 1km walk away from the main drag. Which was perfect for us as we enjoy walking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nonthing to write

    Everything was great. It was the personal attention of the very friendly staff who made a good stay great. The hotel and rooms are very pretty but it's the people that make it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner was OK but nothing exceptional except the staff, who were wonderful in every aspect of service both for dinner and for cocktails and breakfast.

    Shuttle pick-up when you arrive by ferry regardless of what time it is. Very welcoming and professional staff. We were upgraded to rooms in a bungalow next to the pool area so we wouldn't be disturbed by a large group that came in the same evening. I had the pool to myself the whole afternoon (but of course we were there in the off season). Within walking distance of the trail up to the crater.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the wing where we stayed wifi did not reach the room, nearby you can connect in a public space with some chairs.

    Hotel will pick you up (inform them when you arrive) and take you back to the harbour. Walk is easy, about 1 km

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no 'please do not disturb' signs to put on the door

    The staff were friendly and helpful and very well educated. I really enjoyed the walk into town. The distance is far enough to be away from the tourist chaos but not too far

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is great the only negative thing could be that it is a 10mn walk to the center. Not an issue for us but might be with kids etc...

    The staff of the hotel was really nice and helpful. The rooms are correct, nothing special but we had one with a balcony on the swimming pool: amazing view. Bathrooms are clean. Outside area including swimming pool is great, very cosy with an amazing view on the volcano. Breakfast and lunches are good and good value for money. The hotel came to pick us up at the ferry which was nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked two rooms. One was a superior and was nicely decorated. The standard room was nice but could use a bit of updating with the furnishings.

    Beautiful pool. Amber at reception was very helpful and friendly. Nice touch with the arrival refreshing drink.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location - quiet but 10 minute walk to main bit of the island. Staff were great and really helpful. A lovely swimming pool for quiet time away from the busy part of the island. A free shuttle service from port to the hotel and a great evening menu for a quiet night in.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were upgraded to a bungalow right beside the lovely pool. Big comfortable room with seating area outside. Good breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel, very quiet and relaxing. Beautiful pool and hotel decor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit upgrade in bathrooms

    Nice location, very friendly staff, nice rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Great break in an amazing place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great plus they were so generous to give us a free 15:30 late checkout as we had a late ferry boat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was great. third time we've stayed there on Vulcano as it's a guaranteed relaxing time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very helpful staff, organized shuttle service, cleanness everywhere, nice garden and pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds are a little firm, but not bad.

    Great overall experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower needs updating.

    The hotel was lovely and the staff great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was average.

    Staff was perfect! Applause for them :) pool was super. Near Vulcano for a sunset.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tranquillità e panorama

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were great, they promptly picked me up from the port when I called, breakfast has excellent variety & was delicious, it's easy to get to the vulcano walk and is not a far walk into town, I loved my balcony and the bed was one of the comfiest I've experienced

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very good staff, clean and large rooms, great atmosphere to relax.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rien

    Super hôtel, personnel charmant et on y mange très bien. Il vienne vous chercher et vous ramène au port.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Browse Hotel Orsa Maggiore traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: