Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Italy hotel reviews
  3. Tuscany hotel reviews
  4. Florence hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Orto de' Medici

Reviews of Hotel Orto de' Medici 4 stars

Via San Gallo 30, San Marco - Santissima Annunziata, 50129 Florence, Italy

#57 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 886 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2018

    9.6
    Amazing, comfortable and exceeded my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ‘double’ bed consisted of 2 single beds placed together. Unfortunately one of the beds dipped a little too much and whilst staff did their best to rectify the matter, unfortunately, it still dipped. This did not take away from our fantastic stay at the hotel.

    It felt like home. I loved the superior room, the friendly, welcoming staff and the breakfast selection. Especially as they catered for my gluten and dairy allergies.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    10
    Relaxing and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was well appointed and the breakfast made for a great start on the day. Overall, the hotel met our expectations and more. Definitely will recommend this hotel to other travelers. Great restaurant recommendations as well.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    8.8
    Really nice hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bud smelling of humidity especially at the bathroom. A little bit noisy because the room was very close to the bar and the breakfast room.

    The location was great and very safe. The building was great. The reception staff was very polite and helpful. The lobby was very nice with good atmosphere. The breakfast has high quality products and very tasty.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2018

    7.5
    Location walkable to the Duomo but out of congestion. Fun neighborhood; mostly see locals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    See perspective above.

    We stay in places in Italy for several days at a time and need to lay out like we do at home. The room had been remodeled in a contemporary style. Modern, very light. It was roomy. However, the bed had this ridge in it which was uncomfortable. Wish the pillows had been more flexible. There is a desk with chair; nice enough. Had a big view from a roomy deck (rare in Italy) but we were there in November so no enjoying it. Outside table, chairs and lawn chairs. If you want a place to entertain friends/family, it'll fit your bill. Ask for room 40. Otherwise, the living space had poor organization. The closet wasn't a closet at all but an upper shelf and hanging rod only reachable if you're 6' tall. We're not. Then in same closet 'area', you had to get down on knees to access the safe; and only one drawer. The bathroom again was clean and modern and done in beautiful marble. But, there was a 4' bathroom counter and a sink that was more like a bathtub and took up most of the counter space. Where are you going to put your bathroom stuff? Weird. The shower was the bomb. Room for 2 and easy to use with the best wand we're ever used. All marble again. Breakfasts were not lavish like our other Italian hotels. We stayed at 3 other hotels this trip and your colazione was more than you could eat and totally satisfactory to the appetite. In Venice they made hot food other than eggs and bacon like baked apples with cereal on top. Pastries were more varied and plentiful in other places. These coffee machines are showing up in hotels in Italy lately which is nothing like the coffee you get when its handmade and delivered to your table at other places and the way Italy used to be. Saving on labor costs? They had another machine though that I haven't seen and it makes spremuta d'arancia: fresh squeezed OJ.! Almost makes up for the coffee from the machine. Overall, a quixotic room. A 10 in some areas and a 4 in others.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2018

    8.8
    bed was so lovely.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    so much sweet stuff for breakfast. I love when hotels in Italy serve torta (is that the right word?) like a savoury egg dish with vegetables for breakfast (in addition to the sweet items.)

    bed was so lovely. bathroom was great. loved the paint colours, the window coverings... very nice.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2018

    8.8
    Lovely spacious room Huge bathroom and dressing room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints .l

    Lovely spacious room Huge bathroom and dressing room Friendly helpful staff Very quiet and peaceful but only 10 minutes from center of town

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2018

    10
    Great location in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location in the heart of Florence. We were impressed with the decor of the building and our room. From reception through to how clean our room was presented, we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2018

    7.5
    top quality room (upgraded),
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some staff members not very friendly; I would recommend to inform guests that the parking is only open from 7am (to avoid stress when having an early flight at departure)

    top quality room (upgraded),

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location, nice building and a great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pretty minimalist and lacking a few things I’d expect - tissues, coffee/tea maker, glasses, and a door to the shower area...

    Great location, nice building and a great breakfast. Staff are very helpful and friendly at every step. Comfortable beds and excellent shower. Clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Returning guest not disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The courtyard was a really lovely place to sit in the evenings for a drink, however the pigeons were a little annoying. They sit on the chairs and tables and this often can mean they are dirty and therefore your clothes get dirty if you sit on them. But this didn't impact the overall enjoyment of our stay which was fantastic.

    Having stayed at this hotel 15 years ago, I was happy to see that the standard & quality was just as I remembered. The hotel is beautiful and the historic elements all preserved to give character to the place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    A jewel in Florence’s crown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t any proper bar in the hotel but there are plenty nearby.

    The location was ideal for exploring Florence, not in the hustle and bustle of the main piazzas but on a quieter side road but within easy walking distance of duomo etc. The modern interior decor was lovely and sympathetic to its Italian heritage and it has an interesting history. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We paid for a room with a private terrace and used it every day!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    A gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a fabulous hotel. The facilities are great for a family and the boutique touches were well considered. The upstairs terrace is charming, as is the garden. Delightful experience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Could be so good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pigeons pestered you whenever you were outside on the terrace either having a drink or breakfast. Had to have blind down all the time as no privacy from staff or other guests walking past. Breakfast poor for a hotel of this calibre.

    Huge room, lovely bath, shower and bed. Good location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    The room was very well equipped, clean and rather modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very well equipped, clean and rather modern. The breakfast very good in variety and quality... The staff was awesome, helpful and always friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problem was the birds in the garden at breakfast but other than that everything was great.

    You are staying in a piece of history! Need I say more? It's very classy. The staff is friendly and the room is a good size.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.4
    Nice interior !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody at the bar when we arrived in the afternoon. Unfriendly reception on the telephone for the driving directions! Car left with concierge for 31€ ,founded back damaged !

    Nice interior !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful, restful and excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike here.

    Room was modern, yet comfortable in this old environment. Staff was lovely and the breakfast excellent. What more can you ask for? Best hotel stay ever. We got what we payed for.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable, relaxing stay that was good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The receptionist on duty when we first arrived was friendly but misinformed about Firenze cards; Family members, under 18 are free. Luckily we did not arrange this through her and went to the tourist information centre she recommended instead.

    Very comfortable, clean, nicely decorated, good sized rooms. The balcony was excellent and had a good view. Excellent shower and shower gel. The air conditioning was very effective and easy to adjust, and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was very enjoyable, fresh orange juice, bacon and eggs, selection of cold meats, pastries and tarts etc. Excellent, easy to use coffee machine offering a wide range of coffees. Easy walking distance to all the main sites in the city, but situated in a quieter area. Happy, friendly staff. Loved the ice poles at reception and the waitress with the water pistol to ward off the pigeons. Would love to stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    We were made to feel very welcome and at home. Most enjoyable. I’d definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be more extensive, but ok for a short stay..

    Light, bright, airy rooms - facing terrace. Friendly, helpful and altogether lovely staff. Walking distance from major attractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    good clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    every room is little bit different, one of four room i got has only a bathtub instead of shower room like others

    good clean room. easy to access sightseeing place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location & friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With the time of our return flight a late check out would have been nice but appreciate its peak season and hotel is busy.

    Great location, clean & comfortable room, nice terrace and really friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Very spacious clean rooms with lovely bathrooms and nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spacious clean rooms with lovely bathrooms and nice view of the internal garden. Great location close to shops, restaurants and bars. Would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic find!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar doesn’t open until 5.30 and closes at 8.30. so if you fancy a drink earlier even a soft drink you cannot get one.

    The hotel was just on the outskirts of the main area which was fantastic as it was quite. Only a 15 min walk to the train station and not far from one of the hop on off bus stops. It’s was very clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful and great history behind the hotel. Lovely courtyard to sit out for breakfast and drinks early evening.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    We would stay here again. A fabulous location and wonderful property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The female at reception was not exactly friendly. Professional but disinterested.

    The breakfast, served in as central dining room, had a great selection of breakfast items and everything was fresh and/or nicely cooked. Our room had a balcony and was fabulous, exceedingly well set out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    The Hotel Horto De Medici was excellent in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine. We can’t think of anything that could have been better. Do you want us to make something up just to get a higher word count?

    The. Staff was excellent. The surroundings were beautiful and comfortable. The food was wonderful. The orange juice machine was a real crowd pleaser!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Great location to see the sights of Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location to see the sights of Florence. Very helpful staff who assisted us in a number of occasions with various requests from restaurant recommendations to the nearest atm. The selection available at breakfast covered all our favourites. The kids were very excited to learn the hotel was the sight of Michaelangelo’s art school. Great hotel in a fantastic location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Just beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was a little cold and the bathroom steamed up very quickly

    So airy and comfortable. The staff remembered which room I was in almost immediately

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    We loved our stay at Orto de Medici and will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The suite with balcony was unbelievable for the money. Balcony was huge and the room was modern and updated. The location was situated in the middle of everything (a short walk from the uffizi and accedemia) and you see the duomo from your balcony. Amazing feeling being there and the breakfast was consistently good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely quite hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Would have been nice to have a simple bar facility , which, I understand, is something that is available later in the season.

    Lovely quite hotel. Very well fitted out and quiet outside garden space. Just off centre of Florence - comfortable walking distance into centre of city. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.3
    I kind of feel it is over-priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a quite room and I got a really noise one. And somehow the bad traffic noise is the worst around 6am and 7am. The room remind me of my old Chinese university dormitory: dirty small prints on walls here and there, very old chair and desk, and a really uncomfortable hard bed. To be fair it is clean but just feels not fresh and too far from the pictures they show

    I kind of feel it is over-priced. This is my second visit to Florence. Last time I visited a hotel and spend 50~80 euro per day. This time I spend 100~200 euro on this one per day. The hotel hall looks really fancy but the room I got is not very good. The room is facing a noise street and every morning I got waked up by the noise from the street at 6 am. The bed in the room is also very hard to sleep on. So overall I feel it is a waste of money to book this one just because of the fancy pictures they show on the website. The people in the hotel are really helpful, I initially complained about no WiFi in my room and broken bed after my first day. they all got fixed immediately on the same day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Very helpful staff, and I also liked that there is a list at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only shame was that there was no kettle I could borrow from them in the room to make my daughter's milk. Thankfully there was always hot water in the reception area but this minor inconvenience could be avoided surely.

    Very helpful staff, and I also liked that there is a list at reception which recommends eats around the area. They even helped me make a reservation. My family enjoyed the breakfast there too. Premises are maintained well, and I liked that the room felt quite brightly lit (more modern in interior). Was also very glad they were not fussy with a slightly later checkout, unlike 1-2 other establishments I stayed at during my trip.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    A relaxing visit where we were made to feel very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a slight drains smell in the bathroom but once the water had run this disappeared immediately.

    The location of this hotel is excellent. Around a 10 minute walk to the centre of Florence. The staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The cleanliness of the hotel is outstanding. Our room was warm and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast selection is excellent and it is replenished quickly so nothing runs out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is lovely in every way. It's an easy walk to everything, but on a quiet street away from the hustle and bustle. The breakfast buffet is in a beautiful room and includes fresh squeezed orange juice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Perfect. Actually exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The location was perfect, the room was large, clean and comfortable, the breakfast was first rate and the staff was incredible. So, we liked everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Great location, room, and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband thought the bed was too firm but I slept like rock.

    I loved the shower which had a rainfall showerhead and lots of space. Towels were luxurious. All four of us slept comfortably. Location was fantastic. Easy walking distance to L'Accademia where the David is found, as well as the Duomo and the train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    I am thankful for this hotel and I would happily stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coming home and the place was locked up. I waited over 45 minutes for someone to let me in. It was scary and terrible. I did not like that there was not a cafe in the hotel.

    I liked the spacious room. It was quiet. The bathroom was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    We had stayed here first time 8 years ago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tight traffic in the centre. Not easy to stop even to take a luggagge

    We had stayed here first time 8 years ago. Now the rooms are modern but atmosphere is even better.Very helpful and friendly staff. Perfect location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    At the moment of the check out, we find out that the price of two nights was different. After enquiring with the desk clerk she said that the room prices are based on availability, which means that for Friday and Saturday night, we had to pay 15 and 30 euros more. We found this issue very annoying and abusive, specially because it was not stated in the conditions when we did the reservation with booking.com nor was explained to us in the registration step the first night.

    Excellent hotel, cosy and very clean. The staff was very kind and professional. The breakfast absolutely delicious with a view of the St Mark Church.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    This place is a true gem. A must see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking at 30 euros a day is a bit steep, but it's also understandable given the price of real estate in old Firenze.

    Amazing place to stay in Florence. Walking distance from every place you will want to see. Cozy but well maintained hotel. I'm going back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel well maintained in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Electric turns off when you leave the room, so you can't leave your phone charging.

    A beautiful and historic building, especially the lounge area. Good breakfast with a good choice of hot and cold food and breakfast is available quite early, too which I liked. The garden and terrace are another bonus you don't often find in a city hotel. Room was clean and modern and the bathroom particularly good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    Everything was great, location, breakfast, room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t allow for a checkout after 11 am despite my condition with the crutches which makes me slower

    Everything was great, location, breakfast, room. Super!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, a come back is requiered
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Clean, quiet, a real relaxation in a really good location. Modern facilities and great breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.8
    I'd definately stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I'd recommend the hotel considers installing a cosy bar with an open wood burning fire. It would have been amazing to have got back in the evenings and been able to kick back with a night cap and a bit of a social.

    Lovely hotel. The deluxe rooms are worth going for. Location is excellent, being only a 10 minute direct walk to the major sites and thus allows lots more browsing and selection of restaurants and cafes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    6 winter days in Florence!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No drawers to put clothes in and no coffee maker in the room. I like a cafe at about 4 AM and tea right before i retire.

    The breakfast was adequate and enough to choose from. The rooms did not have drawers so that was odd, but okay. The cleaning person did an outstanding job.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    A very nice place with excellent helpful staff. They made our stay special from the start.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was weren't any drawers for clothing.

    Breakfast was good. The beds were firm but that is okay with us. What I did miss was drawers in the room and a bathtub. I enjoy a good bath prior to bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing we didn't like was having to leave!!!

    The staff was wonderful! The location is perfect, just a short walk to the Duomo and shopping.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Florence at its best at a fabulous hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful friendly helpful staff. Beautiful view from our comfortable room. Gorgeous room for delicious breakfast. Perfect location as we could walk everywhere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.2
    Delighted I booked this gem in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have like an UK/Irish news chanel, like Sky news or BBC, but it is a very small minute detail.

    Breakfast included was a real bonus, the hotel was very central for tourists, and the rooms were extremely well sized and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    A great hotel in an excellent location, all major sights are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking is a bit expensive, but this is a common problem in all cities.

    A great hotel in an excellent location, all major sights are within walking distance, still the area is free of the crowds that you find after a few minutes of walking towards the city centre. Friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast. If we return to Florence, we will stay here again. Even the car parking went smooth, although be prepared that they have valet parking and your car is moved to a garage somewhere in the city. Mine got back safely, without any issues.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.6
    Private! Secure! place to be for Single travel😊
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feel cold not welcome! No service! No hot water for making tea in room, no Complementary water of some kind! I’m not a fan of hard bed! No choice of breakfast for vegetarian or vegan! Not everyone is just eat bread!

    I was in a suited room for 4 days! And the fifth day I was in a small room! Quite, large room, somewhat view! Very clean room. Loved coming back to clean room!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is the second time this year that I have stayed at the hotel. I have stayed at several other hotels in Florence but this one was far superior to the rest. It is first rate in all respects.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Great city break in central Florence with lots of lovely food, drink and culture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast plentiful and varied but hot food not vegetarian.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms clean, comfortable and well appointed. Location excellent with Florence centre short walk away and access to lots of restaurants nearby. Lovely hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Relaxing city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved the reception service both at check in, during and check out. Nothing was a problem. No hassle at all. Facilities made our stay so relaxing, convenient and beautiful location, excellent breakfast, a great hotel with cultural and historical significance - spectacularly decorated. Thank you

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    Large room, sleek clean style, lovely area for breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible pillows. Thin towels.

    Large room, sleek clean style, lovely area for breakfast and lounging. Perfect location-close enough to the action but quiet and a little removed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Great holiday Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is in an ideal location out of the bustle of the city centre but near enough to walk to. Plenty of cafes on the walk to the centre. We found a great one called Antico bar Ristorante - Pizzeria, where the staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful breakfast, comfortable and spacious rooms, great customer service and welcoming staff. Perfect location: quiet and safe. Brilliant value hotel!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.0
    Breakfast where good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor climatisation for over 24 hours, they called specialist on the following business day to fix it but we think that they should haved done something before, alot of client where complaning. Bar : waited 25 minutes at bar for 2 glass of wine ans 2 cocktail and decided to leave without received them.

    Breakfast where good Room was clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Clean and modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are very hard

    We loved this hotel - the rooms are much more modern than most Italian hotels and are very clean. The grounds are beautiful and the location is great. The breakfast is the best we've had in Italy so far. I would definitely recommend staying here if you want a modern and clean room. We will be back here again :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    Convenience for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just a little bit far from the station.

    Convenience for sightseeing. Staff are nice and we were upgraded as they noticed we are having honey moon. Room are clean, beds are nice and breakfast are good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotel - highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like. It was a 10-15 minute walk to the centre which wasn't was problem for us but may be a little too far for elderly guests to walk. Florence is an amazing city and this hotel was near to restaurants and bars.

    Good Breakfast. Lovely grounds and terrace for breakfast. Good size room with terrace. Friendly staff. Spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    A beautiful hotel in the heart of Florence!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location on a quieter street but near San Marco was ideal. Museums and churches within walking distance. The room was spacious for 3 of us. We were traveling with our 21 year old daughter. The room was quiet and breakfast on the terrace was good! The staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    When we first arrived the room we had was not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    When we first arrived the room we had was not good. I had stayed last summer in a newly renovated room, which was very nice so I was familiar with the hotel. They moved us to a nice room with a balcony after one night . It was not newly renovated but was much bigger and the balcony was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    I loved my stay at the otel de Medici
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfasts were great, the staff was very friendly and very helpful. The room was very clean and very comfortable. The location was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem is that the restaurant and bar have limited hours and food. But there are plenty of restaurants in the area

    Unique hotel a little off the main square but walking distance. Staff was extremely nice and helpful. Very clean and has a wonderful upper terrace with seating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel in Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The breakfast was delicious, and the patio area was very nice for drinks in the evening. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The hotel is beautiful, and its location is wonderful - close to main attractions of Florence.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant little Hotel in a really nice area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room wasn't very well soundproofed. One night we were kept up late by the sound of the room next door's TV.

    Located in one of the quieter parts of the city center but also near to some of the best restaurants and bars. The staff were incredibly kind and helpful. There was a great selection of items for breakfast. Room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The service from the front desk staff was wonderful. Very friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations. The breakfast was varied and delicious. And the music bar offered a retreat from the whirl of Florence each evening. A lovely experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel in the heart of Firenze.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no coffee maker in room.

    Terrace and garden, we hung out there both days after all day at museum etc.. it was great for drinks and cheese, olives, salami and bread. Location is awesome for Academia Galleria and the Uffici Museum, rooms were nice breakfast was real good with plenty of coffee. Staff were great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.2
    Great location for spring break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average

    Great location! Via San Gallo seems to be an up and coming area and hotel is located close to the centre but away from the crowds. Newly decorated and very clean with lovely rooms. And it claims to be the site of the first art school and museum in Europe!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel ... Cozy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No big deals or show stoppers, Just a couple of things that I noticed - It was somewhat awkward, when we turned on the TV, we found that you need to pay for International channels ... - Furniture in the room was basic, but It was as expected and to be honest I was Ok with it

    - Very Good breakfast in terms of taste & variety - Stuff were extremely helpful -- We were checking out @ 5:00 AM before breakfast time to catch our train to Rome ... The receptionist arranged a snack box for us and delivered it to us our room - Good location from the train station and touristic sites (Mainly the Dome & Veccio palace and bridge :-D) - Spacious quite room with a spacious king size bed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.3
    Personnel welcoming, nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only window facing an inside stair, no external view. Really disappointing not to see the sunny sky of Italy!

    Personnel welcoming, nice and helpful. Room large and clean. Bed OK. Good breakfast in a nice room (probably even better when they open the terrace). Excellent location of the hotel, everything within max 20min walk.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    Best hotel experience in Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had no complaints. When I think of my trip, I will remember staying here as part of a great Florentine experience.

    Simply superb. I would highly recommend staying, it was the best hotel experience I have ever enjoyed. The building itself is perfection: elegant, marble, beautiful terrace and gardens. My room had a private garden in the back and I so enjoyed sitting out and enjoying the sun and birds. The room was excellent, with an enormous bathtub, superior bed and high ceiling with beams. The staff were extremely friendly and professional and kind. Breakfast upstairs in the garden room was excellent. The coffee and fresh-made orange juice were so good. I did not hear a single sound in my room at night. Wifi was strong.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Nice and Majestic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is in a very good location and you can easily walk to all the main tourist attractions. My room was really spacious and staffs are very helpful and friendly. Good selection of breakfast. Enjoyed my overall stay here. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel in a fantastic location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could hear loud music on Friday night - Sure this was a one off.

    Fantastic location- 10 minute walk from the station and centre but still far enough to feel quiet and peaceful. Extremely friendly staff. Fantastic breakfast with fresh orange juice. Comfortable bed and clean bathroom. Upgraded due to a special occasion - complimentary bottle of champagne on balcony to celebrate!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.6
    Charming small hotel for good price
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would like the bathrooms to be bigger, but how...?

    We had a double room Superior with a balcony and it was not too big, the bathroom was rather small, but still comfortable. I suspect that other rooms may be smaller. But... the balcony itself and the view from it was worth the price! It was rather cold during our visit, but still we didn't want to go out of the hotel becouse this balcony was so nice. The Staff at the hotel was excellent! People working there were helpful, inteligent and they were always smiling:) Brekfast was very good. I used to spend many nights at 4*hotels in Italy and this hotel had obviously 4* standard breakfast and service. Nobody shouted at me that I was taking my coffe with me to the room:) I would recomend this hotel to all my friends!

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Hotel Orto de' Medici traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: