Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ossidiana Stromboli 3 stars

Via Marina, 98050 Stromboli, Italy

#2 of 5 hotels in Stromboli

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1266 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.3
    Family Group
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very noisy at night and early morning. Friday and Saturday night were the worst with a group of 10 teenagers hanging out outside our windows. Despite the ‘Zona di Silenzio’ signs they stayed until after midnight. The small vehicles/ taxis seem to also park outside the hotel so in the morning they start up early and are very loud.

    Rooms were very clean and very comfortable. We had 3 rooms, one had its own beautiful outdoor patio overlooking the water.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location in a classic 1950s hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was noisy during the day due to motorbikes. Better beaches and restaurants are near Ficogrande.

    Large room in a classic 1950s hotel, close to most shops and restaurants. Good breakfast and ocean views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Fit for purpose!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beach was volcanic pebbles and excruciatingly difficult to get into water which was very inviting. Bring beach shoes. No towels to take to beach.

    This was a good location - straight across from the water. Good breakfast - very tidy place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Amazing views,friendly staff,lovely terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy in the mornings,scooters starting up,one morning the boss was shouting at a member of staff right under our terrace at 7.30am

    Amazing views,friendly staff,lovely terrace

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a rather nice hotel. Not really extraordinary, but it's decent enough and it met our expectations. The room was tidy, and we had a nice view of the sea. It's located very close to the dock, so you can walk there in just a minute when you get off the ferry. The breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel very well located close by the harbor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel very well located close by the harbor. Early check out, excellent breakfast the best in Sicilia so far. Small door behind the hotel to come back late. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some guests are not able to shut the doors quietly, but it is not hotel fault.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Any special tasks (help with booking Stromboli track, booking restaurant) ware satisfied. Great breakfast which starts at 6:45, so you can catch first ferry.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Great spot to stay for a quick visit to Stromboli - right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be perfect if it had a pool.

    Great spot to stay for a quick visit to Stromboli - right next to ferry jetty and convenient for shops, cafes etc. although a mint green and white colour scheme sounds awful it actually works well and creates a gentle diffused Mediterranean light. Lovely to have a soft sea breeze flowing in from a balcony overlooking the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Convenient to ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast opened a bit late at 6:45am so wasn't much time to eat before the 7:15am ferry.

    Really close to the ferry and easy to book boat excursions on the day just outside the hotel. Good breakfast. Comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Grandissimo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mountain could have not been foggy when I climbed it to see the erupting/flowing LAVA... haha Nothing in regards to the hotel! Well maybe the stairs the night after climbing the mountain! haha

    Easy to find!!! Could see the port from the front door. Location right on the water. Nice rooms with a big shower (for Italy.) Bar/restaurant with smoothies and other drinks! Multiple entrances once you were checked-in and had your room keys.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    4.2
    Don't get to fobbed off with the beach house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We checked in and were told we had been put in the beach house ( code for hotel overflow when over booked). It was a 15 minute walk from the hotel down a hilly back street. In the beache house there were no windows that opened and no view. The beach was obscured by vegetation. There were no facilities nearby. My phone had no signal and the WIFI didn't work. You had to walk back up the steep hill to get back to civilisation and there are no street lights. My husband climbed stromboli in the evening but I was unable to do it so after walking part way up with him I then returned to the room on my way back I bought a bottle of wine but sadly there was no corkscrew in the beach house. I headed out at 10 to meet my husband. The entire island was in darkness with no street lights and very little signs of life. I went to the main hotel to get a drink and a phone signal only to find that the bar was closed! This hotel had do many good reviews which is why I chose it. Disappointed does not come close. Big thumbs down for this hotel.

    The property was clean and looked superficially nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    They let us check in early, the view from the room and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds weren't super comfortable

    They let us check in early, the view from the room and the balcony was amazing! It's really close to the port which mates it easy to get to and from the ferry

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    The staf was friendly, room basic but oke, shower was fine,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They let the backdoor open while we were not there after cleaning, even though the gate door was closed people had easy access to the room so that was a mistake of the cleaning staff.

    The staf was friendly, room basic but oke, shower was fine, small outside area with private access. In front of the port. easy to find and to reach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay breakfast was included in the very reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    location is ideal, the bed was massive and very comfy,staff friendly,bathroom was huge , the hotel was immaculate,would defiantly stay there again .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    Room was comfortable and basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was clean but felt run down and dark. The smell of air freshener/disinfectant was very strong. Compared to the other places we stayed in the Aeolian islands for only $20 more, it was a let down.

    Room was comfortable and basic. Excellent location and fine to spend a night before/after hiking Stromboli.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    the hotel is ideal for visiting Stromboli and trekking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is ideal for visiting Stromboli and trekking the volcano. It's simple and clean, and they seem well accustomed to the trekking clientele.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location for a quick visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Volcano View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was cold.

    Excellent location for accessing the ferry. We stayed on Stromboli for one day, so location was important to catch the ferry in the early morning. Staff was cordial. room was small but adequate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.3
    Convenient location but a very uncomfortable night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds! It was like trying to sleep on wooden planks. Very uncomfortable. Would not recommend the hotel based solely on this. Flat pillows. Not conducive to a good night's sleep before hiking the volcano. Noise - started about 6:30 in the morning, we could hear everything happening outside, in the room next door, the room above, cleaners in the corridor. Bar closed before 9:30, reception closed at 10 pm. To access the hotel you had to come through a locked back gate, though the door into the hotel from there was never locked.

    Location close to the port Good people watching from balcony, the bar seemed to be a local hangout after work. Staff helpful Can get discount on food/drinks at bar in hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    The Ossidiana is an institution on the Island of Stromboli.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Ossidiana is an institution on the Island of Stromboli. The service is friendly, the location is perfectly close to the pier of the arriving ferries, the great breakfast is served in an extra building with a very nicely decorated entrance overshadowed by a citrus tree.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing choice for breakfast and a breathtaking view from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing choice for breakfast and a breathtaking view from the terrace. Stuff was very welcoming and they even open brekfast a bit earlier for the guest to have it earlz in the morning before the first ferry

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.0
    Don’t really understand the good reviews of this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t really understand the good reviews of this place. Might be okay for a night, but not longer. The staff was not too friendly. The doors in the room have been painted turquoise, the smell of the paint is unbearable with closed windows. I can only recommend to stay in one of the really nice and much cheaper family run B&B‘s on this beautiful island :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.0
    Noisy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged 3 times for this room and now need to go to the bother of sorting that out. The staff were really miserable. Average room in one of the noisiest hotels I’ve ever stayed in. Stromboli is so small you have limited options.

    Proximity to ferry.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    IS BETTER THAN THE PICTURES....UPDATED AND NEW PAINT....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I DID NOT LIKE OUR FINAL BILL. WE WERE UNDER THE IMPRESSION THAT BREAKFAST WAS INCLUDED. SO, WE WENT TO BREAKFAST FOR TWO DAYS. ALSO, THE TAXES WERE NOT INCLUDED...SO OUR FINAL BILL FOR TWO NIGHTS WAS MUCH MORE THAN I EXPECTED.

    The view from our room was awesome. OUR room number was 202. We had a great view of the volcano MT. STROMBOLI from our back entrance and a great view of the water from our huge balcony...LOCATION WAS FANTASTIC...WE WALKED FROM THE FERRY DOCK AND THE NICE BEACH WAS RIGHT OUT IN FRONT ACROSS THE STREET. LOTS OF TABLES AT THE SIDEWalk cafe.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.6
    Great way to experience Stromboli!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The is no elevator and be prepared for the desk to be busy. They like to keep your passport at the desk.

    Hotel Ossidiana is perfectly located and has plenty of character. It is located right across the road from the beach and close to all the shops in the town. It has a lovely feel about it and the breakfast is delicious and included cooked eggs and sweet cakes. My room had views of the volcano. It is worth the effort to get there, I hope to be back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    I love Stromboli and this is the perfect hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A mix up with the booking but the staff were able to squeeze in another bed for our son but this did make the room a little cramped.

    Excellent breakfast, close to jetty and beach. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.3
    Perfectly located hotel for Magma Track enthusiasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located within walking distance form the port, hence easily accessible even when carrying luggage. In general it is good enough unless someone is looking for comfort, in which case then this is not the right place. To get to the room, you must use the stairs; getting to the breakfast room includes walking outside; toilet near the reception also involves walking outside, which when raining is a bit uncomfortable. We where a group of three and the third bed mattress was extremely old and soft, we called it a trampoline. The room was quite small, not big enough to accommodate all luggages comfortable but we had a nice little terrace where to sit and forget about everything. In the bathroom, we had enough towels and toiletries albeit the shower head is not adjustable so though luck with not wetting your hair everyday. Very clean and had also an air filter. The room was always clean and you could actually smell it. Staff is friendly, typical Italian, easy going yet with a heart of gold. The ticket shop for the ferry is within a stone's throw away from the hotel so in case of trouble like we had, you can easily get things sorted. Another plus point is that we had the ferry cancel on us and we were allowed to stay another extra night at the hotel for no more than we paid the previous night, very nice gesture indeed. Overall, would still recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, got a free drink
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no „real“ coffee for breakfast. Only instant stuff from a machine - same for juice. We had to get a coffee at the bar. The rest of the breakfast was very good though.

    Very friendly staff, got a free drink

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    good place, would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    one set of towels wasn't clean-seemed left from previous guests. our room was next to the little street where the mopeds drove by at night thus a bit noisy.

    the location, mostly friendly staff, were able to store luggage before room availability and after. plenty of electrical outlets, nice terrace.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Perfect location, very nice breakfast, and private entrance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel bar closed before 9 PM, but there was a nice pizzeria a short walk up the hill, where you could have a drink and a snack after your Stromboli night hike. (Bring your torch - I stepped on dog poop in the street).

    Perfect location, very nice breakfast, and private entrance to your room from the back. For those arriving on the early boat, it is possible to have breakfast on the day of the arrival before check-in, which was very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.1
    Clean, reasonable, close to ferry!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little expensive €8 each! 2 nights is enough on this Island, restaurants in general not great on Island.

    25% discount in hotel bar on food and drinks for guests and the food in the hotel was about as good as you will get on the Island.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.1
    Stromboli is a must when you’re in scicily. Do the night tour! Fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were a bit miserable, breakfast opened late. This meant I had to rush to catch my hydrofoil and didn’t have much to eat.

    Rooms were clean and tidy, good reliable shower! Breakfast had a good selection of choices. Good location close to the port.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    Easy location at ferry port ... but ask if water is potable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Volcano View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no sign above sink about water not being drinkable (and oddly, plastic cups at sink); however, there is a sign above towel rack (which is next to shower, and behind you as you're standing at sink) about being sure to tighten water taps ... and that the water is not drinkable. Only saw that late evening and asked staff next morning - "no don't drink water". Asked if hotel provided water; no, there are small bottles to purchase in hotel (you can purchase large litre bottles elsewhere) ... thankfully I never got sick, but the sign should be visible, at the sink like most other establishments. Needless to say, I was panicked as it was the start of my holiday...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.7
    Functional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is functional handling a conveyor belt for tourists visiting the volcano. It provides clean accommodation - that's it. Rooms lack warmth or luxuries. Our Deluxe room was very small - enough room for a double bed with space to walk either side of it. I was told that it was Deluxe as it had a private balcony (it did) rather than a Juliet balcony (they did offer to move me to a bigger Deluxe). The photos on Booking.com show various size rooms with various balconies - not at all clear - you may be lucky and get a big room with bigger terrace. The sea view rooms overlook the 'main road' on which all of the guides have their stalls - the road is noisy as ferries arrive/depart (early morning included) - personally, I would opt for a mountain view room next time. Breakfast was, like the hotel, functional. Food was plentiful, but canteen quality. The hotel is over priced for the standard of accommodation, although Stromboli is an expensive location.

    The location is very convenient for the ferry. Helpful staff - they offered to move us to a bigger room and made a restaurant reservation for us. The room was spotless.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    Location is close to the harbour which made it easy to get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in is not possible before 12 but it was no problem to give them our luggage and wait a bit. Big room, nice furniture but mattress was not comfortable.

    Location is close to the harbour which made it easy to get there with luggage. To the church (meeting point for hikes) in the center you have to walk up the hilly countryside for about 10 minutes. Our room had a big balcony with sea view. Instead of the typical "italian breakfast" with just a cornetto and espresso, the hotel offered a rich breakfast buffet. I would really recommend it to my friends and will go there next time again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.8
    Adequate for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit small. Some staff really friendly and helpful, others miserable and some even rude.

    Good location. Very close to ferry port. Useful cafe and bar nearby

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Awesome stay in Stromboli. Such a peaceful, serene island. It is very relaxing, lovely people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got upgraded to the 2 bedroom apartment on the beach which was great. Very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was still included. Walking distance to all shops and restaurants. Such a peaceful, beautiful place to stay. Very happy!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    Ascend Stromboli if you are fit and brave. It is worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Volcano View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Frightful chicken and chips, but breakfast was a good buffet. Coffee machine gets cleaned at 7.30 pm.! Pop pop bikes are smelly and noisy.

    Wonderful views. Very near the hydrofoil stop. Beautiful village if you bother to walk it. Touristy, but had a nicer class of shop and some local efforts, not just tat. Some great pizza up the hill.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The room is comfortable and spacious, location v near to ferry pier but still v quiet. Also surprising that guests get 25% discount for food and drink in hotel bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.8
    A really nice, accessible, but pricey stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I still think £160 was a bit excessive for one night! For that price I would be expecting a comfier bed which it was definitely not. The room itself lacked character. Reception area closes at 11pm so for those going on the volcano trek means you have to go in the back way, which is a bit of a pain as I wasn't told where it was, it was dark and I ended up on the 2nd floor and felt bad for potentially waking people.

    The bedroom was nice, it was roomy! Mini bar in room came in handy after my hike and shops were closed. Bathroom was huge and lovely! Loved the outside porch bit. The staff were great and really tried to help speak English to me which made it easier. I got 25% off my meal for staying. The breakfast buffet was incredible. It's like a 2 minute walk to the ferry, 30 second walk to beach. The place was clean. I got checked in early which was good as I arrived an hour early so that was a definite plus!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel to see stromboli
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The green color of the rooms

    The hotel is very good located in front of the ferry port. It was comfortable. The sea view is nice but is the view of the port

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    4.2
    Extremely noisy until 1 am with the island's youth under your window
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    (1) Restaurant closes at 9 pm. (2) Extremely loud. Hotel owner assured us that the "silent zone" in front of the hotel was strictly enforced, but in reality all the island's youngsters congregate in front of the hotel and in the bar next door's, making a hell of a lot of extremely loud noise until 1 am. Strongly discouraged to take a room that faces the street, unless yu want to join the party. Also, the hotel faces a parking lot of very loud mini taxis.

    (1) Very good espresso.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.5
    So easy to find and central to everything you want to do
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great having the small balcony but a little too close to the small road and booths selling tours. Shouldn't complain though as it was lovely to look out to sea and it's such a small little village anyway. Perhaps the second floor was a little more private (we were on the first). Also being so close to the main island road, although no cars, the little golf buggies and scooters did make a fair amount of noise on the Saturday night when there must have been something open late. But once again I shouldn't complain - what a superb place to visit.

    So easy to find and a lovely view across the bay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.0
    Overpriced, bad location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad location at harbor, very noisy people outside, motorcycles, too noisy to open windows, Stromboli Island dirty messy, noisy, room way overpriced.

    Colorful room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    Here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just wan't to go back!

    Another great stay here, so it can't be bad! Big room with a patio was luxus for. Breakfast has many different choices. Bar Amore serves good paninis.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    3.3
    Could be nice if the service would be normal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 beds had no Sheets :( Personal refused to give us some. Perhaps they did not understand, but this does't help the result. No language besides Italian.

    The Location is good, just next to the Ferry Harbor. The balcony is nice. Manager made an effort to explain the missing Sheets (see below) and gave a gift. Still, we were not satisfied.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location and view of the volcano from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could give more tourist information about how to see the volcano, eg. by walking to the Observatory.

    Very convenient location near the ferry. It was very clean and comfortable, and we had a good view of the volcano from our room. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.1
    The hotel is close to the pear and very convinient for short...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We missed some comunication with the staff. We took breakfast unmnowing it wasn't included in our package. But that is also a problem because off the app of booking.com, it is simply not clear enough. When you change the accomodation every day it is impossible to follow all the details of eacb reservation.

    The hotel is close to the pear and very convinient for short stays when you have to move next day. The hotel has good breakfast, the best we had on the whole trip. Its a proper breakfast, not just cornetto and coffee...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel conveniently located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dance music in a high volume while having breakfast is definitely not a good experience. Considerable noise early in the morning, the day of our departure, a hummer blow woke us up at 7:00 am!

    Owner is super friendly, helpful and welcoming. Nice beachfront hotel, conveniently located a few meters from the port (useful if you're carriyng heavy luggage), and close to restaurants, shops and supermarkets. Good breakfast with a great sea view.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.1
    Good location for the ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lift. Bed and pillows a bit hard; nevertheless I managed to sleep! Being close to the ferry terminal means that the hotel is further from the volcano. On balance I preferred being close to the ferry terminal.

    Location close to ferry terminal.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is just in front of the port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar which also serves food for lunch and dinner, closes at 9.30 (for food), drinks till 11p.m.

    The hotel is just in front of the port. Staff are very friendly and most speak English well. Breakfast was good, cold meats/cheese, eggs, bacon and sausages and cakes. Hotel can also book the Scalata of Stromboli for you. View from hotel room is wonderful, open your window and see Stromboli!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    7.5
    Great location, let down by mediocre breakfast and early check out
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mediocre breakfast: awful pseudo-fancy coffee that actually is instant, orange juice is squash sirup. Noise travels well in the building, despite valiant attempts at soundproofing by padded doors. Ridiculously early check out at 10:00, so you have to kill hours in the packed lounge until your ferry sails.

    Location close to the ferry. Clean. Friendly welcome.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.2
    - Excellent location - next to the port
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Checkout at 10, while the ferry goes back to Milazzo at 11.50 from the port [2 minutes walk]

    - Excellent location - next to the port - Rooms with balcony and sea view - Good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Best place to stay in Stromboli
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Comfy bed, great apartment at the beach (we were not in the main building - totally recommendable), very nice staff and very good breakfast. We would always come back.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Stromboli is a must see - Ossidiana is the ideal place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We enjoyed everythIng.

    Locations is perfect. Overlooks the active harbor and beach. Breakfast had an excellent selection of high quality food choices. Gracie at the front desk was informative and very helpful in English. We stayed an extra day wonderful!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    4.6
    I will not go back and do not recommend to stay in this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really did not like the attitude of the manager and the girls at the reception!!! We booked Superior Triple Room. It cost 20% more expensive than a standard room, but there a room was divided into two parts, which was extremely important for us, because we traveled as a couple + a single. As a result, we were given a standard four-bedded room (for three persons!) with single beds, which were located in the same space. When we noticed that we booked a completely different room, we were roughly put before the choice: to take this room or to go away, as there were no more places. Then I asked to reduce the cost to the standard room value, and we also were turned down with the explanation that it was necessary to pay that amount which had been specified when booking. So we were forced to sleep in uncomfortable conditions by having paid a higher price for the room and having wasted a plenty of time and nerves for communicating with staff. I will not go back and do not recommend to stay in this hotel!

    Breakfast was good enough

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    6.7
    Overpriced but fair at best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bags with shampoo etc. idiotic amount in each of them, micro-producta or dispenser would be much better option. It's a hotel so I would expect stuff to speak better English.

    Nice location right outside ferry port etc. Breakfast typical italian so basic, rather poor quality stuff full of processed stuff, no salads etc. Decent bread and an OK ham but nothing to rave. Fantastic balcony and view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.1
    Unfriendly staff.... though a perfect location to explore the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Volcano View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found most of the staff unfriendly. On the day we checked in we were initially told we couldn't check in when we requested, 21.30 stating it was too late. This was contrary to the website which states check in is until 22.00. Due to a change of circumstances I did manage to check in earlier, and the young woman on the reception desk made no attempt to make me welcome. This continued on several occasions when we passed staff in the reception or bar area. I was glad we managed to met one friendly staff member, who was very accommodating.

    The location was ideal, right along the shore front only a few minutes walk from the pier where the ferry docks. The breakfast was the usual buffet selection, with a good selection of foods available. Our room was comfortable, with a view up to the volcano. Even with the unfriendly staff the hotel was a perfect location to explore the island.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    6.7
    Nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could have shown us where the breakfast room was instead of happily letting everyone pay for food in the bar in the hotel. The actual breakfast room is outside the hotel and round the corner. Double beds are literally 2 singles badly pushed together. Bit expensive for what you get.

    Nice rooms. Good location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.9
    The bed was massive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Genius priority early check in requested in advance of our stay was refused, and the welcome drink failed to materialise. The only place to pick up WiFi signal was in reception, which was inconvenient.

    The bed was massive! Breakfast was quite nice and the staff were pleasant. The room had private access via a terrace at the rear which was a nice perk, but no view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.9
    Very good located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was lack of Wi-fi in our room. The mosquito net in the bathroom was damaged and we have swarms of flying ants in all over the room.

    Very good located hotel. We have very nice apartment with separate access and small terrace.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Beautiful, clean, friendly place with excellent views, food and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really good location just off the port and start of the lonely planet treck up stromboli. The restuarant on site was ecellent with really yummy granti caffee con panna, could go back just for those. Staff are really friendly and helful, the room had an excellent view and very close to the beach.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    5.8
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Volcano View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both days of our stay we witnessed someone (he appeared to be the owner) shouting very very loudly at staff in front of customers, making one of the waitresses cry!! The second day he shouted at the receptionist who was checking us out at the time so we got a very frosty check out. Not a nice atmosphere.

    Fantastic location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.9
    Lovely views to the beach in front and the volcano to the rear
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was difficult to find out where everything was and we never did locate the hot tub which was in another property. Notices informing us of what we couldn't do were easy to find, helpful info less so.

    The location so close to the ferry and the beach was ideal.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    8.3
    Expensive due to lack of options on the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Volcano View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception shut at 11pm which meant you needed a key to get in the main door which meant you're too late if you eat out after you go up to the volcano so you can only enter through the back door and my girlfriend who was unwell had the only set of keys ;D. Not entirely helpful booking a volcano excursion through the hotel as you still have to walk 10 minutes to speak to the providers to get more information anyway so may aswell walk to the town and book it yourself with the full choice of providers available.

    Good location, breakfast variety and there was also a restaurant attached. Room facilities were good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    5.8
    good breakfast, close to the ferry and the main parts of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    in case one has a problem with noise, avoid the seaview rooms, as there is nice from local traffic and during the day bar just below the windows.

    good breakfast, close to the ferry and the main parts of the village. Rooms are basic, but therefor not cheap at all.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    6.3
    The hotels location is very convenient and ideal for a short...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for a three star hotel and breakfast not included. We only had one very flat pillow each but extra pillows were delivered to our room on request. Rooms are not attractively decorated but clean.

    The hotels location is very convenient and ideal for a short two night stay. English was spoken and they were helpful when we called ahead to give them an estimated time of arrival and asked advice on hiring a boat to see the volcano

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    Very good accomodation with helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good accomodation with helpful staff. We stayed in a nice apartment. I really liked it and felt like I was in a real countryside house. It was great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses needed replacing and were a little 'springy'

    Stunning location and very convenient for exploring the island. The room was spacious and bathroom to a high standard

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    5.8
    Easy for the ferries but a bit noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I actually found the hotel quite noisy at night. I had booked a sea view room who was a bit of a mistake because it was at the front of the hotel. Whilst Stromboli does not have cars as such they do have a lots of bikes and scooters which seemed to.be whizzing around at all hours. A room at the back would have probably been a better bet.

    Very convenient for the ferries and easy to find.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    5.0
    2 star rooms for 4 star prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a 3 star hotel and a double room in August was €200. It seems that no money has been invested in the rooms for many many years. However, I'm not sure what the usual prices are for Stromboli in peak season.

    Booked last minute and were basically the only rooms available.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    5.0
    Avoid if you want to rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy because of bar dawnstairs and on main road access to port so all motorbikes and taxi running just outside windows until late evening and early in the morning before 6am when first boat arrives

    Close to port, very nice and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    5.0
    they tried to put us somewhere else. hotel is not convincing overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    first they wanted to put us into their appartments (a different hotel/offer here on booking com) not where we booked. only after dragging our luggage back and forth ourselves we put pressure on to be able to stay in the place we booked. no lifts ! breakfast was a joke

    they printed my flight tickets without any comlaints (which in some hotels they make you use the business center or cause other comlications)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, very smart and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the bar down stairs wasn't great. Go the bar next door for good coffee and arancini.

    Lovely hotel, very smart and clean with comfortable beds. Perfect location only a short walk from the pier.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location for a few days on the island! The breakfast is very good! (7.5 euro per person) The room very clean and the girls from the reception very friendly. We would come back!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel has a good location - immediately at the port. Rooms were fine for us. Operator / service at a high level. The reception ensure a reservation for dinner at a competitive enterprise and taxis around the city. Pleasant outdoor restaurant. Friendly staff. Overall we were very happy here. Higher price for accommodation is given locality, so I do not evaluate it negatively. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: