Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergo l'Ostelliere - Villa Sparina Resort 4 stars

Frazione Monterotondo 56, 15066 Gavi, Italy

#6 of 18 hotels in Gavi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 238 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool is a bit of a walk down a steep slope. Not ideal if you need to nip back to the room.

    Beautiful setting and views, super friendly staff, lovely wine, comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    What a beautiful place in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool is a short walk away from the property down a hill - We didnt mind this but I wouldnt bring older relatives here as the hill is quite steep.

    What a beautiful place in a beautiful location. The pool is gorgeous, despite being down the hill, and when you get there the service is fantastic - We ate and drank there and really enjoyed it. Tasting meal with wine was excellent and the view over the vineyards was just perfect. Finally, the wine from the vineyard was delicious and would highly recommend!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    The place is awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool is very far away and it closes 18.30, which in summer is to early. The Gallina restaurant offers a good gourmet menu, would have liked also some classic italian plates.

    The place is awesome! Decoration superb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful place to relax and enjoy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a suite and would have loved having the water offered in the room and not needed to pay. The pool is a bit of a walk and not that close to the hotel.

    This is a very nice place where you can relax and enjoy yourself. They have a pool, offer wine tastings and have a restaurant at the hotel. which is nice so you don't have to drive to a town. The dinner was really nice as well the breakfast offer. You get everything you are looking for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE BEDS!! the mattress is too hard and needs a 6cm feather topper! The pillows are very solid too! We keep coming back to you (for 10 years we have visited) as we love your hospitality and the hotel atmosphere, food and wine. Please - just soften the beds)

    Everything! .........apart from........

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice area/location. Beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel's restaurant was fully booked/occupated for dinner by big group. Unfortunately we had to go for dinner to another hotel/restaurant. :(

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic breakfast, fresh, original, great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Internet not good enough, only really good around reception, not working in rooms or elsewhere Gym really basic, no airco, no 2017 style equipment.

    Fantastic breakfast, fresh, original, great service Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    A one off experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast got cleared away early one morning which was a bit of a shame - but it didn't happen again after a quiet word. Most of the staff are delightful.

    This is a truly beautiful place set in gorgeous countryside. Our room was exquisite with views over the vineyard and the dining area - room and terrace - a wonderful place to eat. The pool at the bottom of the hill is worth lounging in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is littlebit expensive Not many activities/tours organized by the hotel

    Restaurant is superb Very clean Wine is amazing Beautiful view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    A charming and peaceful resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be good if the juices in the morning could be fresh.

    A charming and welcoming place with great facilities. Extremely relaxing in perfect surroundings. All the staff was very nice and helpful. We enjoyed the restaurant as well wich is very romantic. Breakfast was also delicious with a good variety of high quality products. We have not done the activities which sounded very interesting. We have enjoyed our stay so much that we have even extended it to another day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    4.6
    not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - we reserved room 202 3 month prior - they gave us another room. no view on the vineyards and no balcony for the suite price. - internet does not work - stuff does not care about the guests - if you do not reserve all meals prior you will not get any if fully booked - there was a wedding, we could not sleep all night. they did not tell us nor handle it. - the pool is far away from the hotel with only one person servicing all guests - you wait an hour for lunch -

    the location within the vineyard is nice an the coffee is good. everything else is overpriced and unfriendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.5
    Pay close attention to the charges, and demand perfection for this price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    They tried to charge 210 Euro for a wine tasting of 6 wines for three people (they added a seventh, but we didn't ask for that), and eventually brought it down to 150 Euro! It would have been cheaper to buy bottles of their wine than do a wine tasting, so keep that in mind. Also, the water was shut off for 30 minutes mid-day (though they dissembled and equivocated about it) and they were unwilling to make this up to the customers with some sort of compensation like a glass of wine, or a small refund, or something, which is unacceptable when paying 350 Euro per night for a room.

    Location is attractive, the property is well kept, the breakfast is really good, and the rooms are clean and modern and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    6.3
    Looks great but not very comfortable or convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool is a very long walk from the hotel at another property. Long steep trek down a dirt track through the vines to get there and back and in hot weather it's tough. Room was very hot and it took 2 days to find a fan for us. AC never cooled down properly. Bed was very uncomfortable and pillows were like rocks. The whole place is beautiful and stunning scenery but the rooms are not comfortable and the pool is very inconvenient.

    Position is beautiful. Surrounded by vineyards. Peaceful and secluded, the property is a converted farm and has lots of space. Bar outside has a lovely view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic location for total relax
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like them charging at the restaurant 49 euro for their wine that they sell at 11 euro... I hated the wifi which is or not working or so slow that I had to use my 4G I also recommend them to propose all the stuff you can do upon people arrival.

    Location is perfect - calm, romantic, relaxing...true paradise. Food is stellar....it brings you into another dimension. I nevertheless recommend them to write the menu in proper Italian or to translate it not only in English but also in French (saw lots of French/Swiss) for elder person that don't always master English. Wine is really tasty.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    All
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.8
    The view and the location was excellent.
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool is about 500 meters from the hotel. The beds are okay noting more.

    The view and the location was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Everything was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great! We had a wonderful vacation here!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Very peaceful and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were a bit hard

    Beautiful gardens and great service. The breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel with great staff and comfortable bedrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and clean room. Staff is super friendly and accommodating. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Would love to return for a longer visit !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Views were outstanding with outdoor seating area for gathering. Restaurant also beautuful with a breakfast that was excellent !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Good place to relax after the shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good place to relax after the shopping

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    It's OT my first stay at this hotel and I like it more...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's OT my first stay at this hotel and I like it more and more

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    TOP
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner could be better

    Wine List. Room. Resort. Swimming Pool. Nature

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Stunning surroundings!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place! Great staff with good service and cleaning service amazing! Can highly recommend, surroundings are stunning! 😊👌🏻

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    A charming hotel on a vineyard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything

    Space of the room. Upgraded to a suite from a junior suite due to an electrical buzzing noise in the room booked.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel and surroundings! Lovely style and friendly staff. Great food (breakfast)!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    5.4
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar/restaurant service during the day. Horrendous pillows. Pretentious menu. Bad gym.

    The view and reception staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Amazing place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff. The food. The room. Everything was beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    Restaurant service doesn't meet the declared pricing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant service doesn't meet the declared pricing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Amazing Location and Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was amazing. Staff was super accommodating, and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    the ambiance and the decoration were superbe
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the ambiance and the decoration were superbe

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    Beatifull silence
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some more options for breakfast

    Restaurant is perfect, beatifull views

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.2
    restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    restaurant

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.3
    Weekend di charme
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La tranquillità

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    10
    The atmosphere of this deliciously comfortable but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The atmosphere of this deliciously comfortable but contemporary hotel is extremely welcoming and friendly. The views are stunning, the food is delicious if a little decadent and rich for my taste. The service is very good with everyone happy to help and the staff all speaking good English. A great place to stay for a few days and enjoy the peace and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    9.6
    The entire place is very comfortable - including the fire...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was not very rich - it would be good to have some fresh vegetables too and the choice of baked goods was poor; Too bad we stayed only 2 nights - could easily spend a few more and relax

    The entire place is very comfortable - including the fire place downstairs ; the dinner at the restaurant was outstanding and so the service - not to be missed! Rooms and bathroom are very spacious. Pillows are soft , bed comfortable; the garden is a great place to sit and relax and enjoy the sunset ; their wine is decent too

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    7.9
    Staff were very helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Terrible shower in room which was very difficult to use disappointed in the restaurant for dinner...expected much better quality. Gym was ok...could have more comprehensive equipment...elliptical cardio machine, more weights etc.

    Staff were very helpful!! beautiful location.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    7.9
    We loved the room and grounds and the fact that,according to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The swimming pool was a bit of a trek, we had to ask twice to get served with a drink in the pm and it took 2 hours for 1 course in the restaurant. Then when we complained we got the next 3 courses in 20 minutes. We were given a 60euro free menu but the evening, which was going to be the highlight of our tour, was ruined. We wouldn't go back!

    We loved the room and grounds and the fact that,according to Michelin, there was a fabulous restaurant onsite which we had struggled to find at other hotels

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.2
    Fantastic Location, Italoan Vinyards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A few small fixes, squeaky bed and one night no hot water. There were strong winds and the gas water heater blew out.

    Fantastic Location, Italoan Vinyards. Restaurant is delux and beautiful food.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.1
    Wonderful House, nice situated and nice surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a pool on the Hotel, which was one of the reason why we booked it, as it was very very hot. The problem was, that the pool hardly never was open ??? It was closed during the siesta, and it was not open in the morning before 10.30 ??

    Wonderful House, nice situated and nice surroundings. Close to shopping, and good Restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No child menu - just pasta, but they did have a gluten free pasta too.

    Location. Gorgeous, relaxing setting. There were a lot of families with young children. Very helpful, gracious staff members. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    7.5
    Fabulous views from the outside dining area at sunset.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    on check-in nobody offered to show us around the hotel and grounds, or explain the facilities. The grounds around the hotel were unkempt, the grass was needing cutting, which seemed a shame as the location is stunning. The pool, although lovely, is about a quarter of a mile away on another property and over rough (vineyard) ground.

    Fabulous views from the outside dining area at sunset. The wine list.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    9.2
    Loved loved loved Villa Sparina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bed wasn't all that comfortable, neither were the pillows. Staff wasn't very informative when we arrived. Didn't let us know where the restaurant, pool, etc was.... didn't provide information on breakfast, etc... Nothing detrimental but would have been nice to have a better welcome.

    Loved loved loved Villa Sparina. We sadly only stayed one night. Wish we could have stayed longer. The location is great. Beautiful rolling hills with vineyards. Very charming. the hotel itself is adorable. Also very charming. Very clean. Very quiet and relaxing. We had the Junior Suite and had a nice spacious room. We booked a table at the restaurant - a must! Watching the sun set while sitting on the terrace eating dinner was amazing. We did the 8 course tasting menu along with the wine tasting. Everything was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    10
    Beyond description is this 360 degree panarama view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beyond description is this 360 degree panarama view of working vineyards below the mountain top @ L'Ostelliere and winery itself. Reserve limited 55 person restaurant if staying. You do not want to drive in the dark up or down this narrow mountain road!

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    7.1
    Excellent restaurant and wine list.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel seems to have a theme of dull lighting such that corridors are dark, the bar lacks character and it is difficult to read in your room. We arrived on a Saturday and told that the restaurant was full and we could only eat in the bar. That was unfortunate - best to reserve the restaurant when booking. Access to the hotel from Gavi and Novi Ligure is on pretty bad roads - Serravale easier.

    Excellent restaurant and wine list. Beautiful vineyard views.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    9.2
    Excellent restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent restaurant!

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    10
    I like everything about this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    I like everything about this hotel! I stayed there already second time and will come back for sure again!

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    10
    Beautiful place and a very good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful place and a very good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    9.6
    atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    mountain road to hotel

    atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    9.6
    Excellent restaurant, proximity to autostrada
    • Couple

    mould in shower

    Excellent restaurant, proximity to autostrada

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    10
    Fantastic location and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fantastic location and very friendly staff. Superb restaurant.. Cannot wait to go back there

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    9.6
    Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No wifi

    Food

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    nice staff

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.2
    Atmosphere, Location, Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Dark room paint

    Atmosphere, Location, Service

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.6
    Restaurant is duur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant is duur

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything! Views, pool, restaurant, wine, staff, decor, location

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful place to relax and eat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful place to relax and eat

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    Well worth visiting for a day or a week if you are looking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well worth visiting for a day or a week if you are looking for countryside peace and quiet and a fully catered gourmet experience.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in an amazing setting and views to die for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant service very slow and food expensive for what you got!

    Beautiful hotel in an amazing setting and views to die for!

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    7.5
    No wifi in room (#003)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No wifi in room (#003)

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Browse Albergo l'Ostelliere - Villa Sparina Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: