Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia 4 stars

cs. Podere Osteria 15, 53023 Castiglione dʼOrcia, Italy

#8 of 33 hotels in Castiglione dʼOrcia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 361 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is hard to find because it's below street level. In an area that is very, very beautiful, this hotel is in a hole with only garden views. Too bad!

    Good location. Great restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be sure to get detailed directions so you do not miss the long driveway to the hotel when you are near.

    The hotel was immaculate. Super clean and decorated in very good taste. The food and wine was outstanding. We can’t wait to go back. This hotel was our favorite of all hotels we stayed in Italy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet connection was poor (though you don't come to Tuscany for the internet), and hot water was not particularly hot :-)

    The venue is extremely nice, located in the beautiful neighborhood. Great for exploring the surroundings. The breakfast is really good, with fresh berries and wide selection of other things and good coffee. The staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Exceptional hotel experience. Romantic. Meals were exquisite. Delightful service. Surroundings are pure nature. Great for running, hiking and walking. My husband and I long to return. Hint: Use Google Maps.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower space was small but not a major concern

    Owner and staff were wonderfully hospital, and genuine too. Property was wonderful, like living in someone’s house, cosy and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing bothered us - Wifi was extremely slow

    The restaurant is perfect, the food was great, service exceeded our expectations. The hotel is very clean, cosy and beautiful. The location is very good, very picturesque area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The grounds, pool, restaurant, staff, nice rooms, quiet, what's not to like!

    We were a group of 8 friends and we only stayed one night because it was half way through our trip and we needed some rest. Now we all wish we could have start an extra one or two nights. This grounds, pool, and rooms were perfect. It was very quiet and relaxing. A short walk to a near by town with hot springs and spas would have been great to explore if we had more time. I would definitely recommend this place if you need to relax on your trip. It seems like it would be a great place to home-base and take day trips throughout Tuscany. I would like to go back and stay a few days. Someday!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving.

    Gorgeous countryside setting, impeccably restored and maintained buildings and property. Large bathroom with twice daily service. Peace and quiet. Good quality food and drinks from the restaurant with the delightful Antonio to assist with selections and ensure every wish is met. (I looked for "Lombatina" on menus during our three full days in Tuscany but had not yet seen it anywhere so I mentioned it to Antonio on our last day after returning from an afternoon touring the countryside. He assured me I would have Lombatina that evening for dinner. It was delicious!) Breakfast was an equal pleasure, attended to by a kind woman whose name I did not learn. Breakfast was varied with eggs to order and fresh fruit, etc., served in the lovely interior dining room or outside in the garden, weather permitting. We hoped for a lovely, well-run, quiet property within walking distance of a small village and found it here. The proximity to Bagno Vignoni (a charming, tiny village) allowed us to have an enjoyable morning walk where we could treat ourselves with an extra cappuccino overlooking the gorgeous square. We also took advantage of the opportunity to spend time soaking in the thermal pools at Hotel le Terme in Bagno Vignoni where we purchased a day pass at a cost of approximately 28 euro per person on a weekday. We used the location as a hub to branch out in different directions each day. We drove easily to Montalcino and small wineries near Castiglione dell’Abate. We saw the Cappella di Vitaleta up close. And we drove in different directions on other days to see picturesque small hill towns. The location is easily reached from the SR2, with a quick turn to the right (almost u-turn) up onto the SP323, then at the top of the hill just past the mustard colored house on the right, taking a quick turn indicated by the "L'Osteria .2" sign to the right onto the gravel road leading downhill to the property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice property but not very relaxing. I wished to have a swim in the pool and the cleaning robot was there. I wished to read by the pool and the gardener spent the whole morning cutting bushes. I wished to relax at breakfast and the gardener was mowing the lawn. I went to the pool in the afternoon and the gardener was still cutting the bushes. I understand they are proud of their garden but I only wanted to be left in peace.... Hotel staff ought to be invisible.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were fortunate to arrive by car. The location was perfect. Silvano and his staff were excellent. Food was 🔝. The swimming pool was really great. Amazing breakfast view every morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the food and drinks in the restaurant were over priced . But the setting of the restaurant in the garden was lovely and service good so it was still a nice experience to eat there. There are several restaurants close by in bagno vignioni that you could walk to also

    The location was great, lovely peaceful location yet only a short walk in to bag no vignioni Air conditioning was super quiet and temperature controlled which meant we slept well. Service was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff enter to the room without asking us while we are not there to prepare the bedding for sleeping. At least, they need to inform us ahead

    The garden and the pool are so beautiful for relaxation time

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    We were very impressed by this small, well appointed hotel. The staff and managers were courteous and friendly. The sleeping accomodation was very comfortable with sweeping views of the garden and hills. The grounds were beautifully maintained including a swimming pool tucked into a corner of the garden. It was quite peaceful and relaxing after a long journey, including a leisurely breakfast in the garden. The hotel also offers dinner with a varied menu. We ate there one night and the food was superb. It's location in a World Heritage area with historical Roman baths within walking distance and access to the Val d'Orcia and Piemza makes it a perfect base to explore the region. We'd stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little less formality would have suited us better.

    Beautifully located hotel, very comfortable with friendly and helpful staff. Eating breakfast and dinner outside in the garden was a treat.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    only having to leave!

    this was one the finest hotels with the most lovely locations that we have ever stated at. the absolute best value for money in tuscany.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing was that most of the breakfast had disappeared by 9.00.....the owner told us that it started at 8.30 and went on for the morning. We took him at his word on the first morning and it had almost all gone. Got there by 9 the next morning and it was no better! Having said that the waitress was lovely and said to us she would bring us anything we asked for. But we felt a bit embarrassed to ask when it was literally everything that was gone!

    Beautiful location, very comfortable, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints!

    We loved everything about this hotel, book your stay ASAP! The restaurant is especially fantastic, and the staff couldn't have been more friendly. We were in Italy for 2 weeks, and our 2 day stay at Osteria Dell'Orchia was our favorite stop. We will be back!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A first word to the management. Unfortunately we faced a health issue that constrained severely our stay. Impeccable and caring are the first words that occur. The Hotel is located in the beautiful Val d'Orcia and specifically on a small valley laying in Castiglione d'Orcia. It is an extreme pivotal Hotel. From here you can visit all south Tuscany. The breakfast was excellent. Unfortunately, I was unable to try the dinner. I will comeback soon and for a longer period.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything was perfect

    This felt more like staying with friends than staying at a hotel. Everybody from the manager to the lady taking care of us at breakfast was so friendly, relaxed and welcoming, the receptionist took plenty of time giving us tips on local walks and the waiter recommended the best wine we tasted during our stay in Tuscany. A perfect, beautiful location, especially for people who like nature and walking, but also to visit all the lovely towns in the area. Definitely one of the best breakfasts we have ever had at a hotel and the food in the restaurant was excellent. Indeed this was like a second honeymoon for me and my husband and we can't wait to return. A big thank you to everyone at Hotel Osteria Dell'Orcia for their hospitality and a wonderful time. Oh and we loved the donkey in the front garden too!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were the only ones in the hotel (low season I guess) Decoration and furniture need improvement

    It is a beautiful building full of history set in a very nice area. Walking distance to the thermals. The owner was pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The countryside setting was amazing; Silvano and his staff could not have been more helpful and kind; and the food in the restaurant was so delicious we ate there every night. It is not inexpensive, but definitely worthwhile for a special vacation.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dinner service is expensive and portions are tiny. If you order wine by the glass, you'll only get 1/3 of a glass. I do recommend going out to dinner. Bagno Vignoni is very close by and has multiple options. Also, you are not provided with any hot water, tea or coffee in your room.

    The Hotel is very well located, you can walk to Bagno Vignoni - highly recommended-. Also recommend visiting Monticchiello, a really small but incredibly beautiful town. The breakfast service is incredible. The rooms are quaint and clean. When reaching the hotel, if using a GPS, place the coordinates provided by Booking.com, it is the best way to reach the destination.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is fabulous. Very spacious and beautifully appointed rooms and lobby. Everything as good as everyone says. No crowds, only the way life use to be lived. Several scenes of "Nostalgia" by Andrei Tarkovsky were set in the countryside of Tuscany and one of them in the spas of Bagno Vignoni. I felt just like in Tarkovsky movie walking from the hotel to Bagno Vignoni. Unforgettable!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was small ( it was NOT the size written in your web site - 30m )- there is not a deferent between standard room and deluxe room . food is very expensive .

    the location is great , the staff is excellent ,

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They did clear my friends drink away while we were at reception and did not replace when realised mistake

    setting was amazing. Breakfast scrummy and outside massage just unique. Manager so helpful and breakfast staff a delight

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the wifi was up and down and the telephone mobile signal was non existant. also not many working sockets in the room i had. tea and coffee machine would have been nice in room especially since at night and early morning my room was disconnected from the main reception and couldnt get into the restaurant or find staff

    location was amazing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to find - need a clearer signpost.

    A beautiful hotel set in a lovely part of Tuscany. The food is excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This hotel was very welcoming, beautiful garden, great location. The owner Sylvano is a very charming and helpful chap, always willing to help with whatever you require for a great holiday. Un grande ringraziamento molto, a Sylvano e il suo staff !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was smaller than we expected. Getting told to move our Fiat panda hire car from in front of the hotel when a nice Porsche was seemingly allowed to stay there!

    The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The superior room was a little bit small , a terrace or balcon was a bit missing for us The pool is super (except the biting flies)

    The manager(or owner?) was great, helpful, friendly. The food and wines were extremely good The location is optimal The service is impeccable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    would have liked to see more selection at breakfast. The location is a bit hard to find at first and parking can be challenging as its on a slope. Space is a bit tight in the bathroom and it got a bit hot at night due to lack of central A/C so we kept having to turn it on/off

    Rooms were clean and fairly spacious and the host is very friendly. Good location to explore the surrounding towns

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great, beautiful countryside. The hotel is very well maintained and the pool is spectacular. Breakfast on the patio is excellent and staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything....

    The pluses for this hotel are location (especially as you can walk to Bagno Vignoni), cleanliness, facilities and staff. All great, overseen by the genial Silvano who is extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con in the room was not great and got very hot during the night. Free wifi was a very weak signal and dropped out regularly. Food was good but prices for food and also particularly laundry services were expensive.

    The location was quite picturesque as is the case through the whole area. The breakfast buffet was good with lots of home made cakes and fresh fruit. The little town bagno vignoni was beautiful, great restaurants and bars, very nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was a little uncomfortable.

    Everything, literally everything, was perfect. A special thanks to the wonderful Eliseo in the restaurant who made our days shine extra bright. We will definitely come back! Furthermore - a wonderful area in Tuscany! Don't you miss out on a massage.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Could offer a cooked breakfast as standard, this is chargeable.

    A very relaxing stay and a very well run hotel. It is near Pienza which is a great town with lots of restaurants and offers some stunning scenery.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not staying longer.

    Location, Staff, Room, Bed, Food. All great. The only thing, the birds woke us up to early in the morning by knocking on our window..

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather! It rained one day...

    Loved this place. The host couldn't do enough for you. Lovely gardens in a great setting. Small hotel with excellent staff couldn't fault their hospitality. Would definitely stay again if we visit the area.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything, fantastic place to stay.

    Service was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place in Tuscany. Perfect food & location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place to stay. Very neat and clean. The staff was nice and helpful. The food that they served was delicious. I highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was perfect!

    Location Hotel, interior, style Kind people Very kind and polite owner Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was amazing and they have a little restaurant with very traditional and awesome food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner. Breakfast. Garden. View. Historic property.room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room was dark and gloomy

    The location and the staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hidden gem, like a five star hotel. Personnel had time to chat and serve.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and clean rooms. Relaxing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic place - wonderful staff and a real gem

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    -service -Location -staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kindness of Silvano the owner

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our host made us feel like family. The place is absoultly amazing and the food and wine was equally wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi wasn't strong enough

    Excellent and very helpful staff. The place is a beauty in extraordinary surroundings

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    CAN'T THINK OF ANYTHING

    POOL, VIEW, GREAT BREAKFAST, VERY HELPFUL AND ATTENTIVE STAFF PLUS PROXIMITY TO THERMAL SPA A MAJOR PLUS.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Inn is situated in the most beautiful part of the valley right on the via francigena trail. Great food and services.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was amazing- one of our best meals in all of Italy. Location was beautiful, the grounds are kept perfect. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love this place.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incapable of making hot cup of coffee for breakfast. Over expensive food and wine considering only a pub. Inflated ideas.

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the rooms a little lights, lighting dim and not much daylight.

    Food was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy little plsce

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff went out of their way to make us comfortable and accommodate our needs.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A view to the valley would have made this place just perfect

    Location couldn't have been better to visit the entire Val D'Orcia, staff is very helpful, the food and the wine are great (follow the staff recommendations) and the rooms are comfortable. The building was beautifully restored and the furniture is very nice.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would have liked it more if they had more local or homemade products for breakfast (not from supermercato). We had dinner one night here and the food was good but I found it to be a bit more expensive than regular , but not by much.

    We stayed here for 3 nights and it was one of the greatest hotel experiences: - we got a room upgrade without even asking - the location and surrounding is very panoramic - the room was very clean and in the bathroom they have shower gels and shampoos from natural extracts very nice smelling - we were greeted every day by a smiling concierge - there' a mule across the street and my wife enjoyed a lot feeding it - the internet is good enough to stream Netflix (5 mb/s) and the TV has an usb and hdmi port (for chromecast) - they have a lot of fruits for breakfast but also boiled eggs, jams, croissants, cheeses -we received recommendations from the concierge on what to visit

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just a warning.Too steep way down to the hotel

    A very pleasant family hotel in the heart of Toskana.Good breakfast and a good place for a dinner.A very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast choice extremely poor- the worst we have ever experienced in a 4 star hotel. No rolls or croissants at any time (except sweet jam-filled) just very strange home-made so-called bread in slices. There was more choice once there were a few more people staying later in the week but just because there are only a few people staying (November) should not mean we have poorer breakfasts. Also the waiting staff only arrived after the first 2 days. There was little hanging/storage space in the room. Dresses all draped on the floor of the wardrobe. Evening meals not good and extremely limited choice so staying for 6 days a problem.

    position and character of hotel. Evening pre-meal prosecco good and excellent array of "nibbles". Friendly, helpful host.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing to say here

    Quite simply - Perfect! From the minute of our arrival our host, Silvano, was available to help and advise. He was always around to give suggestions, to brighten up the conversation or to light a fire for us to enjoy. He told us he has a passion for running this small hotel and this is reflected in everything from wonderful staff, charming decor, immaculate gardens, excellent meals and relaxed atmosphere. Nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful surroundings, rolling Tuscan hills all around!! Centrally located to explore the wine country! Great food & very pleasant staff & a donkey! A short hike up to Bagno Vignoni for some great restaurants & hot springs

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Set in quiet surroundings, close to Bagno Vignoni, which is reachable via a pedestrian bridge after approx. 5 minutes walk. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room is of generous size with modern bathroom facilities en suite. Breakfast is generous with a wide choice.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Totally recommend this place we stopped at to visit the thermal baths in Bagno Vignoni. The staff was very friendly and made our stay special. We particularly appreciated the staff manning the kitchen for a late dinner served in the garden patio :) 5 stars!

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic location, great for hiking and touring the province of Siena and its many towns. Comfortable, charming hotel with a touch of luxury. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Brilliant service, nothing too much for the staff and management who went beyond the call of duty for us. Absolute charm - people and the place - and truly wonderful food. Hotel restaurant highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful location such a peaceful setting. The staff were all so friendly & the hosts were so kind & knowledgable when we required information. We ate here a couple of times in the evening and the food was excellent. Loved Zorro & Hugo who just added to the whole experience of our stay in Tuscany

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi fi was advertised as being available but the reality was very different and very frustrating The location was too remote from the nearest town for dinner if you didn't want to stay at the property

    Room and hotels decor was lovely

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Return visit here and just as good as before. Excellent location as a hub for many nearby towns and villages. Excellent host in Silvano who caters for your needs with a good humour and knowledge.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we only stayed 2 nights!

    The place has magic! Getting there was challenging but the location turned out to be perfect for visiting the tuscan villages we has in mind. Food was delicious, we dined under the stars and full moon!

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location. Very friendly and helpful staff. The owner is very knowledgeable of great wines, wineries and restaurants in the region and Tuscany. He provided us really good recommendations and itineraries.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: