Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Paganelli 3 stars

Riva degli Schiavoni 4182, Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy

#115 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1065 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Location location location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding did not have mattress pads and was lean there were not fresh towels.

    Location location location! The roof top deck was awesome. Very kind and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location and the view. We had a view overlooking the Main Street and it was amazing to wake up to every day. It was a bit more expensive but well worth the extra. It is very close to the local boat terminals that took us wherever we needed to go, including the airport, so no need for water taxis. Walking distance to st marks square and other attractions and restaurants. Was quieter than we expected.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    comfortable bed and good quality bedding.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    comfortable bed and good quality bedding. Slept very well. Maybe I had a very good deal as only booked on the morning of arrival, but very pleasantly surprised at quality for the price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely room in perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to go to a "sister" hotel for breakfast - but it was only round the corner, so OK really.

    The room was small, but lovely - very comfortable. Location perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    Location, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Annex room on the second floor was clean, light and airy with excellent air conditioning. Unfortunately we were visited by several mosquitoes during the stay, which surprised us given its location. It was hard to check for them due to the height of the (lovely beamed) ceiling - it would help if windows were not left open after cleaning.

    The convenience of its location to accessing absolutely everything needed for an enjoyable stay in Venice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.0
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being told we couldn't use the roof terrace, very disappointing as it has such a fabulous view.

    Brilliant location a lovely hotel with pleasant staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    The hotel is awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had some problems with wifi

    The hotel is awesome! It's just on the embankment and five minutes walk to the main square. There are heaps of cafes and restaurants close to it. The beds are comfy and the breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location, full of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little on the small side, but full of character

    Location is amazing. Literally five minute walk to St Mark’s Square and opposite the Vaporetto stop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location and nice little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was very well located for major sites and for transport links and our room was very quiet (Room 211) and very clean. The breakfast was good, too and the staff there were very nice. The beds were a little uncomfortable however!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location and value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a little noisy right above the bar but with earplugs it was fine and the noise didn't go too late. Bathroom was a little small, but rain shower was nice.

    The location was perfect - steps from St. Mark's and a vaporetto stop right out front. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby. My room was in the another building but it was well marked with a key card for convenient access and the manager walked me over and showed me the breakfast room in the same building. Also they had an elevator and a kettle in the room - some hotels there don't.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Superb location: we had breakfast and walked a few steps to be in St Marks Square before any crowds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is in a separate building than the main hotel but only a 15 second walk and in Venice that's really not a problem.

    We asked for a gluten free breakfast each day and received biscuits/packaged crunchy toast to compliment the continental buffet. We were a bit wary of cross contamination from other guests so picked the ham etc. from the back and bottom!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    3.3
    The view from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yes the view is great but is not worth the bad service this hotel delivers. They advertise to have AC in the rooms, however it was not enabled. During the whole day the sun hits the room and it gets extremely warm during day and nights. Our only option was to open the windows just to get bitten by mosquitos. The nights where unpleasant. One of the afternoons I discovered they had not cleaned nor made the room, their excuse was that they forgot and they could only offer fresh towels. I demanded cleaning services and after a while they called some external person to clean my room. How the staff managed this situation was uncomfortable, like if I were asking for a ridiculous favor. Also the room was noisy from the upstairs rooms.

    The view from the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    Next time I wouldn’t book the annex. Also I might pick a quieter part of Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room in the annex was right above the bar. Loud music and talking went on past midnight and we couldn’t sleep. Called the front desk a number of times, but nothing was done. The next day we were moved to the main building and got a beautiful room on the third floor with a canal view- no noise. Breakfast was just ok, nothing special. No cappachino. But there was an apple pastry that was wonderful.

    Great location by the Grand Canal and Piazza San Marco. We had a problem with our room in the annex and the staff was very accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Overall it was fine. Location brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roof terrace wasn’t open as it was off season - the terrace was the main reason we booked this hotel so it should perhaps state when exactly it is open when booking.

    Breakfast was good - staff who served at breakfast were extremely polite and hard working.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    Fab location and enjoyed the water view at the top of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That breakfast was of limited choice and not much food was replenished towards the last 30mins of serving time. The staff in the other building we had to go to for breakfast, seemed stressed! It was not very relaxing to have breakfast there as a rushed feeling without much options for example once the cake/panettone was finished, there wasn’t a new one laid out for diners.

    The concierge/front desk staff were helpful with many questions answered and helped us a lot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    the view from the room was superb the water taxi stop was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the beverage refills were not topped up every day and not enough supplied.

    the view from the room was superb the water taxi stop was right outside the hotel great stop for a few days. room was exceptionally spacious and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    Excelentt location, and very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelentt location, and very friendly and helpful staff. I had hurt my knee one day before arriving in the hotel, and, by contacting them, they made all efforts to leave me in a room with almost step free access.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Great stay, perfect location, clean and comfy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major but a few extra cups in the room to equal the number of guests!

    Fantastic Location. Comfy beds. Very clean room. Great breakfast. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.5
    Good value, great location - recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The common areas (corridors/ stairs etc) were a little tired and worn, but to be fair we were visiting off season (in Feb) and it looked liked these areas may have been about to undergo a re-furb.

    The location of this hotel is superb, just a couple of minutes walk from Piazza San Marco. The room was clean and well finished for a city center tourist hotel and good value when compared with other city center locations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    The Location was amazing - right on the canal with the boat...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed it all! But if we could pick things to be improved it would be maybe a toaster and some sliced bread at breakfast.

    The Location was amazing - right on the canal with the boat from airport right outside and a minutes walk from the square! Room was a very good size and had an amazing view. Staff were very friendly and are on hand 24/7. The rooftop terrace was an added bonus and had a great view across the canal. Breakfast was although limited really good and had plenty for us!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The vault in the room wasn't working, small bedroom, breakfast outside of the hotel, in another building.

    Right next to San Marco Plaza and in front of the Canal, great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel, great location, stunning views and so close to all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cups weren’t cleaned in the rooms other than that everything was fabulous.

    We stayed in the room overlooking the lagoon it was amazing. The views are stunning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast didn’t meet our expectations, didn’t know what we was expecting but didn’t like it.

    bed was comfy. loved how easy it was to get to hotel from the water bus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Romance in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee available in the room.

    Easy to reach everywhere and 50 metres if that from the water. Room was lovely only wished there had been a kettle for a coffee in the morning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both bedroom and bathrooms could’ve been larger, but that’s just how Europe is!

    The lagoon view was beautiful. Location was perfect and very convienient. Rooms are modern style. Coffee inside the room, which was a great perk.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.5
    Good Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt strongly of cigarette smoke. No tea or coffee making facilities in my room but friends had in theirs.

    Great location. Comfy bed. Good breakfast. Luggage store.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    An experience of a lifetime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location, location, location! Just off the Grand Canal with an excellent view of the main basin. Extremely helpful and polite staff. Marco is great! Good variety at breakfast Room was super clean. Free WiFi. All water transport right in front.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.2
    great hotel great views of the lagoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel was very good the staff. Were. Very helpful we didn't find anything about this hotel that. We disliked

    The hotel was. Close to the ferry / water buses Saint marks square right. On the front easy to find your way back to the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.0
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This ground floor room in the main building had no kettle or coffee/ tea, unlike the annexe rooms. Only one chair. Very little natural daylight, no bright artificial lighting. Cold, when the door was opened any warm air immediately disappeared outside. Wet outside shoes walked directly into the room. Hardly able to squeeze round the bottom of the bed.

    Position of hotel. Perfect for vaporetto from airport and centrally placed. Good shower.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel with a lift and in a great location. The staff was so nice and helpful all the time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If I had to say something it would be that the shower and bathroom was very small but that said it was certainly usable and we understood since this was an old building that was renovated and they had to fit in bathrooms to help updated it.

    The staff was so lovely and helpful from the moment we arrived. The hotel was small and very quaint. We requested bed toppers prior to our arrival to help make the beds (twins) more comfortable and they supplied those. The breakfast was excellent for a continental breakfast! Scrambled eggs and bacon included. Great coffee.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Hotel Paganelli delivered us a room with a spectacular view and an uncomfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was too hard for our liking and the pillows were like concrete. Breakfast was definitely underwhelming with very little on offer. The limited fruit available was well past its prime, there was no bread and no coffee made to order. Cutlery, crockery and breakfast items constantly ran out, putting staff under pressure.

    We paid for a room with a view and Hotel Paganelli certainly delivered! Seats were provided next to the windows in our room and they were put to good use. Most staff members were very helpful and friendly with the breakfast staff especially keen to assist. The hotel was in a great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    I love this hotel and would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could improve, but I know Italians don't really eat much in the morning.

    The location and view were spectacular! We were very happy with the customer service as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.9
    I'll recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel was good. The Location is amazing. Right in front of a "bus stop". The transfer from the airport stopped right in front of the hotel. It is close as well to the San Marco Square. Not bad at all.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    An excellent stay. Friendly Staff. Just loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Elevators run upto 2 floor and then transfer to another one for 3 and 4th floor. On each floor there were ups and downs and carrying baggage was tiresome.

    The location of the property was excellent. The boat stations of Venice were just opposite the hotel and St Marks square just a short walking distance. Good rooms. We were lucky to get upgraded to a better room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.1
    The Location, bang opposite the Ferry Stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roon given was not on the same building and too small for any ease of movement. For 120 Euros a night I thought the rooms could be little biiger.

    The Location, bang opposite the Ferry Stop. Very safe area. Modern Looking Room and Bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Vegetable friendly staff and really nice rooms esp...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t great especially when consider the local bakeries and food

    Vegetable friendly staff and really nice rooms esp considering excellent location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    The right place at the right time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thanks to advance planning and cooperation from the hotel management, we returned for three days with our family to the same room we had in 1975, with its special wrought-iron balcony, polished marbled floor and amazing view over the lagoon to S Giorgio. The hotel staff helped in every way, from providing buckets of ice to finding the best way out of Venice around an airport and water-transport strike. Ideal situation for access from airport and for visiting Venice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If your not in the mood for constant traffic from tourist, this hotel would not be recommended .

    Excellent location! Hotel Paganelli is on the Main Canal, and is easy to access with luggage. The view is beautiful!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    4.0
    Great location but let down by management and room conditions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Non working fridge next to bed which was very noisy . The room was old. Very unfriendly manager. Poor wifi. Poor breakfast ( considering the cost of the room ).

    location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    My stay was excellent. Best staying a fancy and expense hotel by a long shot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about at all.

    The hotel is right in front of a waterfront taxi stop. This made it easy for me to arrive from the airport and depart by train. The room was clean, the staff was friendly and very helpful. I would recommend Hotel Paganelli to a friend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    Very nice but expected a more for nearly 300€ per night a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was acceptable not of a good quality for the amount of money paid for our 4 night stay we would have expected the breakfast to be better

    The coffee was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Our stay in venice couldn't have been better beacause of this Hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful, charming Hotel very close to Piazza San Marco. Excellent staff, nice room, good breakfasts, great location. Just a few hundred feet from the San Zaccaria vaporetto stop, making it a very easy journey from the Train Station. A perfect hotel for our stay in Venice !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    Had a great time. Hotel has an excellent location - location trumps everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lobby is a bit sparse and room access was a bit difficult.

    View was spectacular, room was clean and spacious, staff was helpful, location is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Amazing Location! Wonderful Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My daughter and I stayed here for three nights and had an absolutely wonderful time. The hotel was incredibly accommodating, clean and comfortable. I could not believe how close it was to the very heart of this magnificent city; and loved that it was situated immediately adjacent to one of the Alilaguna stops. We arrived very late on our first day (after midnight) and the front desk was ready for us. The room was great…perfectly clean. The WiFi, while not tremendously fast, was reliable. We were also able to stow our bags safely on the last day before our flight in the evening. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.4
    The location is very handy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in took too long and was the least informative. No information was given about places we should visit.

    The location is very handy....close to San Marco.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location and accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have a view, but really doesn't matter, we were out and about most of the time

    It was oh so close to a water bus stop, so no lugging our luggage in the heat, also so central to everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    5.0
    Good location and aircon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small could barley fit our suitcases in it, the buffet breakfast was terrible no variety. Staff were unhelpful and slightly uncomfortable experience.the pillows were pretty much like sleeping on a rock

    Good location and aircon

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable helped out by the hotel staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No direct lift access to all floors but that is to be expected in a place like Venice.

    Excellent family run hotel. Sincerely helpful with every request. If every hotel was this lovely the world would be a better place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Perfect location, amazing views and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't fault much. The bedroom was a little on the small side for 3 people but it was such a nice room that we didn't mind.

    The location was perfect, as it was opposite a waterbus stop and walking distance to Saint Marks square and the Rialto bridge. Lovely decor and an amazing bathroom with wet room shower. The roof terrace on the top floor makes this hotel a special find.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Super location, just off the water taxi stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super location, just off the water taxi stop. We were traveling with seniors in the group, and the ground floor room for them was perfect. The staff were very accommodating. Tasty breakfast, and decent size (by Italian standards). Don't miss the view from the rooftop terrace Would definitely come back. Thanks to the owners and staff for welcoming us to Venice! Grazie Mille!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Loved this place perfectly located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was right on the lagoon two minutes from st marks square. Lovely hotel hidden away. Great bathroom and room for three. Easy reach to the main sites and airport water bus stop right outside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Grand Canal Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems that all over Italy you must insert a key card to tunn on electric in the rooms which requires more time for the a/c to cool the room. The a/c did not chill the room as quickly as I would have liked but it did become comfortable

    This is a hidden gem. I've been to Venice twice before and stayed at 5 star hotel. This was a wonderful clean and well done hotel and room. Would highly recommend it. Would stay again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    6.3
    Too expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a bit disappointed because I felt I was tricked by the photos online. The room was okey, yes you could see the grand canal from your room but the windows are not big enough like how I expected them (my bad!). There's a fridge in the room but nothing is it. The internet connection wasn't very good. Bfast was included in our rate and had it in their annex bldg. Because of these, I think that this hotel is too expensive! I paid 400 plus euros for two nights and apart from the view, it's just a simple room.

    The room was clean- thanks to the cleaner. The view from our room is okay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to come home!

    The staff were excellent friendly and helpful as you'd expect great breakfast perfect location with amazing views from terrace and room would recommend to anyone already have to family

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked some tea and coffee making facilities but other than that it was very good.

    Fantastic location, easy access to the vaporetto, walking distance to most things and loads of cafes, restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast is too standard, but to find a hotel with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we ask for double bed, but given two adjoining twin size. As we stay in the first floor, the elevator did not exactly get us to the room, we still need to carry luggages through additional stairs.

    Breakfast is too standard, but to find a hotel with breakfast included in the room rate is quite rare in Venice. Location is so perfect, we could get to the hotel by vaporetto from the train station which stop directly near the hotel so we don't have to carry our luggage through any bridges at all. Family room with balcony and air conditioning is working properly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    I had made the wrong booking dates for this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had made the wrong booking dates for this property...and the staff "bent over backwards' to accommodate us for the 4 days...fantastic service from Massimo and David!!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.1
    Perfect location for a quick stay in venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smoke smell in the foyer

    The breakfast was good , and ideal location - in the heart on San Marco square. Rooms were small but was comfortable enough for 2 nights

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location and good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast room is also the hotel's bar and restaurant at night. We had read warnings about the noise from the bar each night, but booked anyway. We thought, "Could it be that bad?" Well, yes it was, except for the one night when it rained and kept the night crowd away. Avoid the annex unless you are able to get a room 2 floors up and away from the bar. Otherwise, bring ear plugs or be ready for a short night's sleep! If we hadn't been thoroughly exhausted from our marvelous explorations of Venice and beyond every night, we might not have been able to fall asleep before the bar closed each night. Despite the noise, I would stay here again, just in a different room.

    The location of the hotel was ideal for exploring the key sights of Venice, whether by foot or water bus/taxi. We stayed 5 nights prior to boarding the Dave Koz smooth jazz cruise for a week. We arrived at the hotel on a shared water taxi from the airport, and it stopped at the dock right in front of the hotel. Also in front of the hotel are the vaporetto docks for different routes. Gondolas are also available for transport a few steps from the hotel. The hotel staff, specifically Davide and Massimo, made us feel so welcome upon check in and during our stay. Every question and request was cheerfully and quickly handled. Davide made our water taxi reservation from the hotel to the cruise terminal at the end of our stay. Not only did he keep his eye out for the taxi, but when it arrived, he helped us with our luggage to the dock and to board the water taxi. Our room was on the first floor in the hotel annex, which was convenient in accessing the breakfast room on the ground level of the building. There is a small elevator in the building. Our room was on the small side, but very clean and looked like it had been recently remodeled. The buffet style breakfast included scrambled eggs, prosciutto, cheese, fruit, croissants & breads, cereal and assorted pastries. Not only was the meal very good, but also the coffee. I believe a server even fixed a cappuccino in the bar for a guest. As it was my first time in Venice, I couldn't have selected a better situated hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    Perfect break in a perfect city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is served around the corner in a separate place and it was ok, the coffee wasn't the best considering it's Italy but was a fair continental selection. Venice is expensive. We didn't appreciate how expensive it was until you eat & drink where there is a service charge, cover charge & if you fancy listening to an orchestra while eating or drinking in the square at night, a music charge too so a couple of glasses of wine will set you back around €25-€30. We had a budget and spent every last cent, so take plenty with you!

    A good size room on the main front overlooking the lagoon, it was perfect! Comfortable bed, nice spacious bathroom & air con which is much needed. We stayed around San Marco as there is so much to see, we love exploring so spent the 2 days getting lost in this fabulous place. There are so many bridges, side streets, galleries, churches that it's hard remembering where you've actually been. I'm certain we only saw about 20% of Venice so will definitely be back and do some island hopping. It really was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Prime location for accessibility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prime location for accessibility.Clean,modern and peaceful room full of character with courtyard and balcony access and amazing views. Ample, delicious breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.8
    The ideal Venice hotel for a traveller on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are a little small - not a problem for my wife and I, but I'm sure many travellers would find them "tiny" rather than "cosy". The free WiFi wasn't available from the restaurant. The lift is very small, only room for two people, or one person and his luggage.

    This hotel is ideally located (close to Piazza San Marco), and relatively inexpensive. Easy access to the hotel from the San Zaccaria vaporetto stop.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is poor mainly cold food and cereals. There is scrambled egg but not much and very average and there wasn't any normal bread if you even wanted toast only sweet bread types etc. plenty croissants ham cheese etc

    Perfect location, very clean and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Nice room in the annex on a side road quieter than the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a bit slow but this is to fill the box really

    Nice room in the annex on a side road quieter than the main hotel. Clean and with kettle (but not tea bags), nice large bathroom. Room size is fine. Lovely staff friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast with great coffee (just need to politely ask for it)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    9.2
    Fine location and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very little. Perhaps a coat hook on the door and a shaving light would be useful.

    The location is excellent, 5 minutes from San Marco, next to a vaporetto stop, but the annex rooms in a quiet back street (directly above the breakfast room). All staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast choice fine. Room clean and well furnished (with fridge and kettle which had not been advertised!) if tight on space.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.9
    I liked the charm of Hotel Paganelli.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pricing was much higher than other hotels that we stayed at throughout Italy for similar accommodations. Pricey to upgrade to canal view. It might just be higher in Venice, since it is limited accommodations there.

    I loved the location!!! Visible and walkable from the water taxi (no transportation other than water taxi in Venice, so it was good we didn't have to pull our luggage far. I liked that the hotel kept tabs on your coming and going. Charming hotel and room was quiet and freshly cared for. Breakfast was ok with the basics covered. Check out the view from the rooftop terrace.... if you can figure out how to get up there. Staff was friendly and English speaking.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.9
    Great location.very very poor breakfast and not hygienic.Rooms are clean but small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like the room. It wasn't the same as on pictures and very small.Bathroom wasn't the same on pictures.Breakfast was nightmear. Breakfast area and kitchen equipments were very dirty.

    Location and room cleaning was great.Receptionists were friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    8.8
    Great clean comfortable stay in the heart of tourist attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff for the most part was good and helpful, but not the nicest people in the world, with one exception of a guy who was the man and very helpful. Also, location is in the heart of one of the most touristy spots in the city...good if that is what you are looking for, but less good if you want to enjoy the smaller, quieter local scene.

    Hotel was really easy to get to, right by a vaporetto stop. Rooms were nice, clean, and comfortable to come back to after a long day of walking. Breakfast was very good...eggs, ham, croissants, cereals, yogurts, juice and coffee...everything you need. Loved the showers. Wifi worked fantastic

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    8.8
    Location Location Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was served in another building round the corner from the hotel which meant I never had breakfast in the 3 days I was there as I'm quite lazy when on holiday and that was inconvenient for me. Bed was way to hard for me but then I don't think I've had a comfy bed in all my visits to Venice.

    Location location location. Only 5 mins from St Marks Square, 5 mins from Arsenal. Vaperetto from airport stops opposite the hotel , within 30 seconds of getting off we were in our hotel. Lovely big room with fabulous bathroom .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.3
    Spacious bathroom with a nice shower big enough for 2.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was musty and smelled like sulfur our first night in the main building. We switched rooms for the 2nd night to the annex building and that room was nicer.

    Spacious bathroom with a nice shower big enough for 2. Location was right near the water taxi so it was convenient for travel to and from but in a very touristy area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    at the check out they charge us 14 euros.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    at the check out they charge us 14 euros... which i believe this information should be said at the time we book... this is what i can call ''''' hidden charges"" no very happy abt this..... apart from this everething was excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    3.8
    Just good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bad breakfast & service. The bath water wasn't hot enough and the door of bathroom can't be closed. The blanket wasn't clean enough.

    Good location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    5.0
    There are better places for same price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not get value for my price. Booked on booking.com and the day before my stay the same room was available at half the price. Was disappointed. Not a friendly hotel staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    10
    Little jewel in central Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast selection could have been better :)

    excellent location, few steps away from Piazza S. Marco and water taxi service right outside. Small cosy rooms, clean and recently renovated

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.8
    Carnival in Venice - an experience not to be missed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would prefer a light quilt instead of an old blanket/bedspread. For tea, one would need boiling water, not just warm water.

    The location couldn't be better, the breakfast was very good, it has a lift, lagoon view was lovely! Once we had a problem with the safe & problem was solved immediately. Room, including bathroom, was warm.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Paganelli traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: