Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palace Hotel 4 stars

Via Francesco Lombardi 13, 70122 Bari, Italy

#14 of 32 hotels in Bari

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3974 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful accommodation with Italian flair!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little to no English channels on TV.

    Excellent breakfast buffet with cappuccino made to order. Comfortable bed. Great shower. Nice lobby. Quiet room and dark for sleeping. Great Italian ambiance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    4.2
    Nothing.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It was creepy and we did not like the room at all. It was old as if we were in the 1950s. Food was not good. Stuffy staff, and this was the only place that we were not satisfied in our three week stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    All round good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All round good hotel. nice ambience and well located. At £200 a night was expensive but Bari doesnt seem to have a lot of good hotels so expect to pay a premium for this. The cafe/bar is nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Everything was really nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This time I got a room in which the shower was fixed above the bathtub and the draining worked badly, so I had to stay in water

    Everything was really nice! I stayed in Palace Hotel several times, cause it has the best location between the old city and the new areas, everything is close: restaurents, shops, museums, the sea, the railway station is in 15 minutes by walking. the room was very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    PROBABLY BEST CHOICE FOR VISITING THE BEAUTIFUL HISTORIC CITY CENTER OF BARI
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Palace hotel is located just at the edge of the historic city center outside the ztl. Thus it is easily reachable by car, which can be parked in the garage of the hotel for 20EUR for 24 hours. The environment seems to be very safe. The hotel itself is very modern and has a classical Italian style. Our very big executive room equipped with two very comfortable and large single beds was on the fourth floor, had totally soundproof windows, a large modern bath room, and an incredibly good AC-system which is really useable in total comfort (individually adjustable and fresh air stream not directed towards the beds). WiFi is excellent and even allowed video streaming. Breakfast is sumptuous and of very good quality. The hotel has also a rooftop terrace where you can have dinner or – if not completely booked - just drinks in the evening. We found the price of the room very justified considering the comfort the Palace hotel offers. We would definitely stay there again if returning to Bari.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.7
    Not a tourist stay
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and check in absolutely cold and impersonal. No one ever greeted us ever and handed back the keys every day without any recognition or smile. Won’t stay there again

    The situation, the room was big enough and bathroom fine. The bed was fine The breakfast was good and the head lady very efficient. The restaurant across the road Fra Bo was lovely!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    Adequate but could have been better. The patio at the gym level could have had a few seats and table
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel has obviously seen better days. There were coffee splashes on two walls. The carpet could have ben cleaner. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. No where in the hotel that you could get a snack i.e sandwich at lunchtime. The wifi reception was intermittent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    Good base to explore and enjoy Bari
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't get a coffee when we returned after our evening meal - hotel café and lounge were closed (and it wasn't that late)

    Nice terrace to have breakfast. Hotel is in a good location near the main street

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Staff were very professional and very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were very professional and very friendly and understanding. We did have a few extra rooms which required to be booked and check-in on the spot due to others joining our group. The staff spoke fluent english which made the process so much easier for us all. Thank you to all the staff at Palace for making our stay wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Amazing staff, the lady at the breakfast counter was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is a bit dated and in need of renovation. For example, they provide old school keys to the rooms. However, the rooms are spotlessly clean.

    Amazing staff, the lady at the breakfast counter was extremely efficient at managing guest needs. The staff in the lobby were extremely efficient and helpful. The hotel is close to the downtown, in a safe neighborhood. However, the highlight is the staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    M y wife and I had a lovely weeks stay in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Roof restaurant a little disappointing not to our personal taste of food but very clean

    Excellently located with in walking distance of all the sites and places in the surrounding area, staff were very polite, friendly, and helpful, the breakfast options are plentiful and very nice. very comfortable bar area and lounge seating

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.7
    It ok in general we liked it
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service after 2200 hours No Ironing on weekend No elec ketel for hot water . No Ironing board in the room

    Location Staff specialy restaurant and Bar staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location, right on the edge of both the old and new...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No information in the room about the hotel eg where the gym was, where breakfast is served and times, where restaurant is, room service etc etc. There is no sun deck. Reception staff quite cold and appear aloof, although if you can get to the front of the queue and speak to them - they are very helpful.

    Great location, right on the edge of both the old and new town. Fantastic breakfast. Breakfast room lady is brilliant. Room cleanliness is first class.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the location ,service, and really enjoyed the Breakfast, staff were very helpful. We had a very comfortable stay. We also felt safe and the security was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly clean, spacious rooms and great selection of food for breakfast. Location is quite central and staff are friendly. Highly recommend this place if you want a comfortable stay in Bari.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    The staff was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved it...

    The staff was wonderful. They were helpful and with a big smile in their faces. So I felt good. Also the building and the room was nice indeed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.7
    Not that great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a musty smell. Breakfast looked good but ended up being very average and had to ask 3 times for a coffee. We went to the Cafe and there was 2 or 3 tables with people seated and drinking, we stood at the bar for approximately 10 minutes no one came to serve us so we went across the road.

    Our room was spacious with a comfy bed. Very honest, I left my mobile in the room and went back 15 minutes after checking out and room service had handed it to reception

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Bari trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No pool. Breakfast (continental ) could be a little better especially as the dinner is so good.

    Bed very comfy in this really nice hotel which is centrally located with a secure underground car park underneath. Very good restaurant at reasonable prices and great staff. Downstairs bar the same . Wifi good. Overall would come again and recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice place for mixture wondering and beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, welcoming and nice staff, big room, good breakfast - enough choices, fruits, pastry and specially the cheese. We parked on blue line all the 5 nights, so didn t use the hotel parking; good place to wonder in Puglia- alberobello, locorotondo, beach monopoli... - easy "escape" to highway. Perfect place to go out in center during the evening Very pleased with the choice we've made.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel but it has not returned the money for free cancel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked the room with free cancel and payment after arrival to the hotel. Then I canceled the booking and made new booking with other dates. But the hotel withdrawed the payment of 1 night from my credit card and have not returned the money yet. I wrote email to the hotel and have not recieved any answer. I lost near 90 euro. It was great regret for me.

    Tasty breakfast, large bathroom, calm room We booked the room for 2 persons but we were settled into the large room for 3 people.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was closed on both nights we were there but we were not told in advance and the receptionist didn't know either

    Breakfast was good. Staff very helpful, especially the receptionist who spoke excellent english and booked a restaurant for us when the restaurant was closed again. She also organised a late check out

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.4
    If you need to relax, don't go there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The old furniture smelling bad, the carelessness attitude of all staff, the fact that everything was looking used and old. Staff yelling all the time, only one waitress willing to help and few of them were able to speak English.

    Clean sheets and towels

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Italianphile enjoys happy stay in Bari
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really stays in my mind??

    The central location. The wonderful rooftop dining space - and starting the day eating the fabulous breakfast! The kind, smiley and efficient staff. Lots!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    The lovely lady receptionist was delightful , helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lovely lady receptionist was delightful , helpful and had a wonderfully happy disposition and sense of humour . please thank her for her professional but friendly assistance .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    Clean and expensive. Good breakfast, we liked Mima at the reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Far from the beach, if you go there for the beach. Taxis expensive. In Bari, choice of regular cooked food (in regular restaurants) is very reduced. Just pizzas, foccacias, some pasta, sandwiches and some see food. Too expensive considering the city is by the sea. Be careful if you book there because some of the rooms have windows in the backyard of a flat building and you will see just pipes and hear yeallings by the inhabitants all night long. So check before you book and ask for superior room (more expensive tough) with a decent view to the street. Also, the receptionists and the waiters need some training in communication. Most of them did not made eye contact during our seven nights there. Kept asking EACH day for the room number, as if the hotel was filled with people booking for a whole week. Not the case from what I have seen. Other than that, besides treating you in an unfriendly manner, they responded to our demands. But maybe this is subjective. Also, the car we rented for a day was VERY expensive (90 euros for 11 hours), the air conditionning broke on the road and we were not offered the choice of cars or were aware of the price before the lady from the rentals arrived with the car at the front desk. We inquired at the reception, they called a lady, she came the next day with a Fiat. We really wanted to visit Puglia so we took it but I would not make the same mistake twice. Beside the center, the city was not very clean. Because we stayed our whole holiday there we would have liked a more friendly staff.

    The room was very clean, the breakfast was good, hotel position was in the center, between the old and the new town. I travelled with an autistic child and Mima at the reception was really very kind and helpful, humane and nice, offered us another room after the first one had a vary unpleasant view in a backyard filled with just pipes. As seen in the attqached pictures. Staff that clean the room very polite and eager to help. We asked for rental cars, taxis, and the reception provided all that. Very good icecream. Transport in Bari is excellent by bus and in Puglia by train. We loved Pane e Pommodori beach. Pretty clean, silent, the city offers the possibility to leave your belongins for free to be guarded while you are at the beach. Very well organized.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice, functional room and perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was polite but (most of them) never produced a smile. No need for being so formal in a place stacked with happy tourists.

    Nice room in an older building, perfectly located to visit the old city. Breakfast was good. Both the staff in the breakfast room/restaurant and some of the front office staff can do with some more friendliness. They were polite but formal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 18 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If booking .com ghad warned me that it whas trogh them tha I was booking.

    Disappointed that the booking was swetched to booking .com I expected to Book directley to the hotel and I reelized it to late.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Cosy room, nice bathroom, close to the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast should have been a bit better, they served too much carbohydrates, not enough local food. The service was a bit chaotic. We thought the room would be enough silent as the window was opened for a nice silent street, but there was a big ventilator or generator under the windows so ot was too noisy.

    Cosy room, nice bathroom, close to the old town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Good value for Money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some walls were dirty, could use a new paint :)

    We liked the location of the hotel, it is very close to the touristic area. The breakfast is amazing, plenty of food to choose from and the view from the terrace is awesome. The room is very cosy, even if the furniture is a little old. We slept very well, the bed was comfortable and the room quiet. We recommend this hotel, very good value for money!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location, but more hospitality would have been nice
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more hospitality would have been nice. People were polite, but didn't give more information than was asked for. Communication was poor. The view in our room was awful. Everything on tv was in Italian, no CNN nothing, so we couldn't watch the news or movies. Everything was synchronized in Italian language.

    Great location, 5 minute walk from new shoppingmall and old town! De room was big and clean with good airconditioning. Good bed and pillows, slept well there! Good food served at hotel Ristorante Terrazza Murat, diner is very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.8
    Horibble hotel, don't buy into the "palace" look
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Let's take it step by step. I hope this review will help people since I learned from other reviews that the direction of this hotel does not seem to care. Let's go: - Giuseppe, the old guy from the reception, is as bitter as a bad amaro, totally lacks client service attitude. The same goes for the others, but Giuseppe stands out like a pine tree in the heat - the rooms are very outdated, cracks in the walls. This hotel could use a complete refurbishment. It is a palace,but in the bad sense of the word. - we had 3 big cases, no help whatsoever from the staff - complete lack of power plugs in the room, a 21st century hotel must-have - good breakfast but a total dissaray of organization, staff resembled Giuseppe's training and manners - to make things alot worse, our internal door jammed and they had to send a locksmith to let us out - wifi working intermittently. All and all, a bad experience at this hotel that I would not want to repeat.

    Nice location, but that's the only thing that can be listed as positive

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Large, very spacious and well presented hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large, very spacious and well presented hotel. Very nicely set up room and great amenities. Great to finally get a decent breakfast after a month of Italian “coffee and croissant” breakfast(which is not breakfast at all)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Perfect stay with an amazing roof top for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors were a little noisy to walk on but this would be only a little issue and also no tea and coffee making facilities

    Loved the roof too for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Staff were so lovely, efficient and helpful without...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were so lovely, efficient and helpful without hesitation. Helped with transfers, booking tickets, taxis and restaurant recommendations. Breakfast was AMAZING!! Had all options. Bathroom shower had good pressure and bed was big and comfortable. Close enough to the old centre. Would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    3.8
    Rude hotel, rude staff, old hotel. Just good for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - rude staff - they charged again for a double room already paid. - manager not available before 9am. - manager don´t even cared for all the trouble we had - old rooms. old beds.

    - location - breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    3.8
    Horrible staff. Old hotel. Just good for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - unpolite staff at check-in - they charged for an extra person, even though the reservation was already for a double room - unprepared front desk staff - manager just available after 9am (too late for managing a touristic hotel, where peple leave early and stay the day out). - manager don´t even care abou all the trouble we had, not a word so far - old hotel, rooms in bad shape - I asked to change bed sheets, they were never changed

    - Location - breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Great location, friendly staff , and beautiful view from the rooftop restaurant .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff was very friendly although they were stressed with the amount of guests. We had a bad experience with the taxi driver and asked the hotel if it was normal behaviour. The hotel upgraded us to a better room and apologized for the experience. After they reported the taxi driver to the police. It was very nice of the front desk lady and no need to do the upgrade as not their fault for the taxi driver behaviour . Overall, the hotel is in a great location and the food was also good. Very nice view from the rooftop restaurant. The price was also reasonable .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel for a quick stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was closed both nights for a private event and no other accommodations were made for their guests. We had based our reservation on the roof restaurant so this was a disappointment.

    The rooms were comfortable and clean. It was not far from the old town. Lovely restaurant with a high view on the top floor. Parking in the building.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.1
    We stay for 5 nights and it was a bit too long, I recomend it for 2-3 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old furniture

    The location near old town / shopping streets / metro / train station The bed in comfortable The towels and the laundry very clean, they change it every day The breakfast is very good The stuff is helpful The view from the hotel restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    Central location with a charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is sometimes week in the room. Eggs are not good at the breakfast. Some articles were missing during breakfast like milk and when you ask for them they do not bring them...

    Hotel room is spacious and with A/C. We had a small terrace with a nice view. Breakfast was serve in a restorant on the 7th floor with faboulas view onto Bari old town. Lot of fruits for breakfast. Special thanks to Patrizia working in the breakfast restorant that make us feel at home.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.0
    O V E R R A T E D & OUTDATED hotel close to the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both the hotel & the room (standard, No. 222) is outdated, old and damaged furniture. Walls, doors do need at least a fresh painting... At breakfast for 30 minutes no staff bothered about us asking for any coffee. The 4* is total fake, max. 3 it shall be, but that might be an over-statment too. Avoid this place (really)!

    Located close to the inner city. Breakfast has various choices.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect short stay city hotel. Friendly and efficient staff, especially restaurant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a little outdated, but cost of overnight stay reflected this. We were happy with value for money.

    We only stayed one night, late flight into Bari airport. We chose Palace Hotel for location , in the center and near to train station., and were not disappointed. Staff were great, arranged to keep the restaurant open a little longer in order that we get a bite to eat. Reception staff were helpful next morning also. Its an average city hotel, but we loved the food in the restaurant. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location, wonderful breakfast bar at the top of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is generally clean, but there were small stains of black mould in the shower cabin. The cabin is also very small.

    Great location, wonderful breakfast bar at the top of the building with the panoramic view of Bari, very good breakfast (although predominantly sweet, typical for Italy), ice staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We've been to Bari several times and always stay at this hotel. Beautifully designed it's full of charming details. Rooms are clean and stylish. Breakfast delicious. Central location, 5 min walk to the old city, spectacular coastline, train station, shops, restaurants, everything is nearby. Special thanks to Luigi, Sonia, Rosaria Swatta. They are high level professionals, always ready to listen, help, make the stay perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    Would stay there again if in Bari
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast ok except they have no idea how to make eggs or use powdered eggs. One surly bartender otherwise nice staff.

    location is top notch, rooms are great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    I looked the restaurant and the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at reception particularly the lady. She overwhelmed us with information when we were checking in - when we were hot and tired and all we wanted was to shower and rest!

    I looked the restaurant and the view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.0
    Value for money hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For those wanting to use trains frequently it was about 15-20 min walk. There was a foul smell in the bathroom coming from the drains and the furniture was rather shabby.

    Excellent breakfast, very nice staff both at reception and the cleaning staff who provided all necessities when requested. Coffee facilities. Very close to centre of town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Hitelrrom was very convenient with excellent bed and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hitelrrom was very convenient with excellent bed and spacious bathroom. Breakfast is generous. Botel has its own parking garage around the corner. Hotel is located very close to the old city center. Service is as it should be. Very nice place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    Nicely located by the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nicely located by the old town. Very good breakfast served on the 7th floor with great view. Nice room size - although a bit ‘old style’ and I would change the carpet.. Staff kind but could be more smiley.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, very nice hotel and great restaurant,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had one issue with our dinner on the last night where the service was very poor in the rooftop terrace restaurant. We brought it to the attention of the hotel and emailed the hotel manager, we never received a response. This was disappointing as we felt we should have at least received a response to our complaint.

    Great location, very nice hotel and great restaurant, although we did have one issue with the wait staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Excellent choice in Bari
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast. A beautiful hotel with great location in Bari! I was so impressed by the biedermeier reception desk and furniture displayed effortless in italian manner. And the price was also very good for all this!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is in a good location and is reasonable value for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The organisation at breakfast was not too good. We had to wait for a table sometimes, replenishing of foodstuff, drinks, crockery etc was slow and staff did not seem to have clearly allocated responsibilities, nor did they follow through on things they said they would do. WiFi didn't work and when we asked about it it clearly was not a surprise.

    Good location, comfortable rooms and on site secure parking (extra charge). Excellent choice at breakfast in the attractive terrace restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Me and my boyfriend were travelling around Europe at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Don't go to bari if you want to catch a ferry is my only advice.

    Me and my boyfriend were travelling around Europe at the time and the Bari port was a nightmare, the guy at reception was sooo lovely, he helped us find it, excellent service for getting a taxi on time and when we needed it, even found us a gluten free place for us to eat in as my boyfriend is intolerant and offered a room for us to stay in for 3 hours in the heat of the day. Excellent service 100% would visit again. Location wise perfect distance to the old town, and great breakfast options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Welcoming on arrive and perfectly located for exploring the old city of Bari.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives, we had an early flight to catch so we had to miss out on breakfast.

    Perfect location, parking right out the front, easy to find in a very quiet street, Hotel was quite “grand” in classic style, had a lovely atmosphere. Staff extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.3
    Hotel does not meet the value, but for Italian standard probably better than majorty in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is more of a 3 star hotel. Everything was outdated and a bit old. Our bed cover didn't have sheet ( how hygenic is this I don't know :/ ). Please update the forks, spoons and other dishes! Breakfast should be completely non smoking area, including the balcony.

    Staff was polite Breakfast offers variety and it is served on a beautiful balcony overlooking the city Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Bari Palace Hotel no
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ,I really liked this hotel.

    Wonderful staff , great location . beautifully decorated , very comfortable and breakfast on the terrace was out of this world .Food excellent . Would definitely go back there again .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Hotel was the starting point for a Back Roads tour, so very convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would like to see the bedroom carpets replaced, they were old, thin and not very clean. It would make a great first impression and raise the overall ratings.

    Well located, good size room. Loved the crisp bed linen. Breakfast was very comprehensive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    This is an ideal base for visiting Bari and wider Puglia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was central to the old city and to shopping and restaurants. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Rooms were spacious and modern while the hotel had an old world charm. Breakfast offered a wide variety of cakes, bread, fruit, vegetables, cheese and meat.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely and exactly what we expected for a 4*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the lack of the lovely breakfast

    The breakfast was lovely but we realised we needed to get there early in order to take advantage of all the lovely food. The watermelon came out once and never again so it would have been nice to have that available after 9am. The lady who served us coffee was amazing! She ensured everyone was attended to every day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Charming worn elegance with delicious food, both for breakfast and dinner. A gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a somewhat worn elegance which is charming. The location is perfect, with an entrance between palms. The breakfast was delicious, and is served from the roof terrace on 7th floor with a great view over the old town. And the restaurant serves really great food in the evening. A gem!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location and good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seemed old but not faded as if it was held in great esteem in years gone by. The staff were very efficient and professional. The breakfast was excellent with empty dishes being replaced regularly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location. Breakfast is great, staff is helpful. Beds are comfy. A lot of good restaurants around, park, old city with all famous churches and nice narrow street... Cannot complain at all, liked every second there!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel in a lovely city - worth a stopover!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could hear the tv from the room next door, but I am not a light sleeper so that wasn't an issue for me.

    The hotel was full of character and was very well located. The room was clean and whilst not large it was perfect for an overnight stay. The hotel had a quirky bar which was a great spot for an after dinner cocktail.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Everything one would expect from a 4 Star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While food at breakfast was excellent, coffee was mediocre.

    Everything one would expect from a 4 Star hotel. Bedroom comfortable and spacious with good aspect. Very good extensive breakfast. Staff at reception efficient and helpful. Bar staff friendly and lovely comfortable bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Busy, efficient hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too warm - lowest setting for air con seemed to be 21 - and view was uninspiring.

    Good sized comfortable room., very good shower. Very good breakfast. Excellent location for sightseeing, restaurants and shops. 15 minute walk to station but plenty of buses, and taxi only €8. Lovely rooftop restaurant, good food and very reasonably priced. Pleasant bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Good overall hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it is perhaps time to replace the carpets in the rooms they do not give a good impression on otherwise good facilities

    Good location Good breakfast Nice crisp bed linen

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Good Hotel in the centre of Bari
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Palace Hotel is what you would expect at a 4 star hotel , so was all good. It's right around the corner from the castle and the old town in Bari , so a good location. Close to the Murat central area where all the shops are as well. About a 25 min walk from the station which its a very direct way. The staff all speak good English as you would expect in Hotel like this. I would stay there again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The arrogant staff, especially lady who was a manager at breakfast. The room was very small, the shower's door was broken and dirty, water was barely flowing. The room was changed but it took time and made inconvenient.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.8
    Good location and good breakfast buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was expensive for what it was. Outdated hotel and rooms, fixtures were broken in the bathroom. Certainly not great value for money.

    Good location and good breakfast buffet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel with a strange management!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We all wanted to watch the world championship on one of the common TVs they have, but the management of the hotel did not allow this (said the receptionist). They didn't want to have a lot of people watching football in the hotel. But there were several great common rooms with TV. This is ridiculous!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    I would recommend and stay at the hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The roof top dining area is only used in the late evening and could be put to better use as a roof top garden relaxation area during the day.

    Excellent bed and good breakfast. Perfect location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel, with superior accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely hotel, with superior accommodations. The staff is friendly and helpful, the breakfast wonderful, with a wide variety of choices both sweet and savory, and the location is just a few blocks from the major piazzas of the old city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.4
    The grand entrance does not match the bedrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedrooms very tired , carpet stained and worn, no shower curtains, no tv remote control, no information pack, air- con not working, no tea /coffee making facility. I would not rate as a four star establishment.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Good for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The top floor restaurant doesn't have the wonderful view as on the brochure.

    Extremely good breakfast. Very big room. Good location for walking to the shopping centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Excellent Hotel in Bari
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are outstanding, especially the hotel manager Sonia and the breakfast staff. The standout was Patrizia who went above and beyond to ensure we enjoyed our breakfast which was a sumptuous feast. Location is perfect and we would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Palace Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: