Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Palace 3 stars

Via Monte Grappa 9/2, 40121 Bologna, Italy

#93 of 93 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2663 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.3
    Old hotel with a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpert all over the hotel and had stains in the room. The cleaning was bad in terms of dust. You could see it in the furniture and lamps. Very old hotel, needs an urgent update.

    The location is very good! Breakfest was OK, with fresh croissant every day. The bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    3.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a lack of air conditioning in many rooms and the restaurant. Hotel has seen better days. Probably was once grand but now very run down.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable and better than I had expected.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I had to ask for more shampoo sachets. That is my only criticism.

    I asked for a room with air con and got one! If it's important to you, make sure to ask.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    - The location of the hotel was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - There was an unbearable smell in the bathroom, which we identified coming from the toilet. Even though it was clean , the smell made it hard to use the bathroom properly.

    - The location of the hotel was superb. It was walking distance to center and tourist attractions of Bologna. - Hotel has vending machines on every floor, which comes in handy if you want to grab a late night snack or drink etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    OLD AND LOVELY LIKE ME!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    BREAKFAST ROOM ROOM COULD BE LARGER AND COOLER BUT YOU CAN ALWAYS EAT IN THE COOLER LOUNGES

    STAYED HERE BEFORE SOME MIGHT NOT LIKE IT BUT I LOVE IT FOR LOCATION.LOOK AT IT SENSIBLY, I KNOW SOME THINGS ARE DATED BUT FOR ME IT HAS A LOT OF CHARACTER.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Great, charming hotel. Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Palace is so central to all that Bologna has to offer. A bonus was free parking for our rental car although we didn’t really need it to explore the city. The hotel breathes the old world charm and our room was very clean. Breakfast offered a lot of choices and delicious cappuccinos. Highly recommend this place if you like to explore Bologna by foot!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Great and Bologne is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to do with the Hotel. We walked from the station. Don't try this unless you have a small suitcase as streets are a bit difficult.

    Room was large. Bathroom also roomy. Breakfast was very good. Central position to everything. Period decor in reception and sitting areas is georgeous. Friendly staff and helpful. Laundromat a few meters away. Big plus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.3
    LOCATION EXCELLENT NEEDS SOME TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The condition of the Hotel,needs some renovations.Carpets very old and dirty,First thing you notice when you arrive which gives a bad impression and rooms definantly in dire need of upgrading which is sad as location is excellent!!!

    the breakfast was fine although not a big selection it was fresh and had boiled eggs..so all in all quite good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    LOVE BOLOGNA, fantastic food in this region of EMILIA ROMAGNA
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was great, reception help as far as the bus to get to the railway station. We love the city of BOLOGNA, a must for fellow travellers. Good restaurants were close by at reasonable prices

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Great - we stayed in Bologna to attend a concert and were delighted with how beautiful the city is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hotel bar and the hotel could really do with updating - obviously been a very impressive establishment in its day but looking tired now.

    Location Location Location - this is what this hotel really has going for it - right in the centre of beautiful Bologna. Also very helpful and friendly staff - a credit to the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.6
    Terribly noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terribly noisy because the Hotel is running a Cinema Theater next to the Hotel. From 8:00 PM to midnight, I could not sleep at all because of the noise. As the building is very old, there is no soundproofing. I will never go back again to this hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    Great loaction, depressing hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room (and hotel as a whole) had not been decorated in decades. The blind on my (small) window was broken and clearly had been for a very long time. It was stuck halfway, so during the day the room was extremely dark, whilst in the mornings I woke with the sun at 5am as I couldn't block it out. Internet slow.

    It was the only reasonably priced hotel available in central Bolgna for the dates I was travelling.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    4.2
    Horrendous.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything. Hotel Palace must have been named Palace as a cruel joke. This has to be one of the worst hotels I have experienced. Dont stay here unless you have no other option. It is akin to an old student dormitory in terrible condition, appalling facilities.

    Good location - but there are other hotels in the same area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisey and under equipped for a three star hotel, felt more like a 1 to 2 star hotel. The breakfast was very basic.

    Location, the entrance is very grand but the interior/rooms need alot of tlc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    The location was very central and the breakfast was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have preferred better ventilation in the bathroom, like a fan in the little window (which was permanenttly closed).

    The king-size bed was more than adequate for my son and myself.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.8
    If you desperately want to stay in the center of Bologna then the hotel is ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window in my room situated in the ATTIC would not close. Everything in the room was shabby and dilapidated. The noise in the corridors from other guests was excessive. Breakfast was very basic.

    The location is excellent. But that is all there is to possibly justify the price. I do have a suspicion that rooms booked via booking.com are the worst in the hotels being advertised.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.8
    Retro decor and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The previous residents of the room were smokers and this wasn't made clear when booking the room. We were non-smokers so it did affect our stay. The floorboards were VERY noisy and I know that it's an old building so it can't be helped that much, sort of adds to the charm I guess. The beds were not good - essentially camp beds...

    Retro decor and great location. 24 hour reception and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    Location was the best.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The stairs I had to take to get to my room on the 5th floor: all WITHIN the 5th floor. Not good when checking in and out, and carrying luggage.

    Location was the best. Front desk staff were very helpful. WIFI was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is located directly next to the historical old...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Next to the Hotel is a Cinema. I stayed in the 3rd floor of the Hotel and had in the evening the feeling, the Cinema room and movie is directly under my Hotel room. It was very loud. After die Cinema time the Hotel was quiet.

    The hotel is located directly next to the historical old town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    Tired decor but good location and reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor of the room was very dated and not attractive.The carpet was old and stained in areas. The view from the room was of a narrow alley and houses. The alley was surprisingly noisy. The breakfast room was crowded , small and stuffy with no free tables when we saw it.

    The best thing about the hotel was its location. The outside of the hotel, being a former pallazzo, was attractive as was the lobby. The room was clean. The lobby staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Central cosy budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a problem, that this hotel is next to a cinema, noise from which can penetrate some of the rooms. Ask on booking for a room away from the cinema.

    Value-for-money budget hotel right in town centre. Very old-fashioned décor and furnishings which some reviewers have called shabby but to me were more Grand Budapest Hotel. Cosy. Adequate breakfast. Excellent room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in need of significant refurbishment. Clean and comfortable but definitely well worn!

    Excellent location. 5 minute walk from Piazza maggiore .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    an excellent base for exploring Bologna with all sights so close.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bed was very comfortable, the room was clean, even if a bit tired. Sheets, pillow cases and towels were changed frequently. It could not have been more central and had three excellent restaurants on its doorstep plus two bars opposite as no bar in hotel. Breakfast was fine and staff very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Shabby chic in the heart of Bologna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow.

    I liked the height of the ceiling, the shabby chic of the hotel, the atmosphere of the 20', the location, thr breakfast, the huge rooms, the bathroom, the big windows, the bathtub, the excellent salt sold at the reception, the kind staff and service ladies.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Very happy, will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was clean and cozy. Breakfast was delicious. We were very happy to stay there and we can recommend Hotel Palace to anyone. If you are looking for a place close to the town centre it's perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.3
    It is good for one or two nights stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is too small. and the roo is old fashioned design.

    It is in the center of Bologna. 300 metres away from the main square and Neptune fountain. It takes 15 minute walk to reach the hotel from the main railway station and bus terminal. The breakfast is good enough to start the day. The hotel is designed in an old style. but they have started to renovate some rooms on the 3rd and 4th floor. You can ask for the renovated rooms to stay in. The check in and check out are fast. The bathroom is too small. The bed is comfortable. you can reach main attractions of the city on foot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.5
    Excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In these old places, even when the are renovated, there are always some bad spots here and there. But I suppose one has to accept this, if one wants to stay in the centre of an old city.

    Excellent location. Spatious atmosphere in the lobby. Very good value for the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.7
    The location is great, the old building is fascinating but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom : you do need a proper shower in an hotel, not just a bathtub

    The location is great, the old building is fascinating but the hotel needs a substantial restructuring. But if you do it don't loose the charme ! And the old furniture and doors...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Tranquilty and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On arrival in the evening I was taken aback by the old style that the Hotel is decorated in but once you warm up to it you feel at home and appreciate the spaciousness both in the common areas and room environment compared to other modern hotels.

    The Hotel is only a small short walk from the centre in less than 5mins we were in the high streets of Bologna. The staff were very nice polite and willing to help with any queries. I shall surely return back here whenever I visit Bologna again. Next to it there is also a fine and economic restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.5
    In the heart of Bologna city center.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel rooms need refurbishment. The bathroom needed urgent painting. The bath facilities are very poor. The breakfast was descent but nothing special.

    In the heart of Bologna city center. Very good location. The staff was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    5.8
    For the one night only....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound isolation is weak one, flooring in room needs urgent repair, bathroom trim is falling apart.

    Well located in a city, slightly dilapidated..friendly staff, atmosphere of 1937...:))

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.9
    A nice old town hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating did not work properly. In cold winter it was an issue.

    The location is the biggest advantage. Staff is very helpful, professional and friendly, rooms comfortable and with a nice vintage flair. Breakfast provided.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    wonderful classic in central Bologna
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, the chair was really low to use at the desk..

    I am always happy here, classic old-school hotel, thoughtful in every detail. I travel to Bologna regularly and would never think to stay somewhere else! Such a gem. Perfect location in city center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Loved it. Will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing was rather erratic.....

    The hotel was central, yet quiet & that was a real bonus. Spacious & elegant reception area & bedroom. Very helpful & friendly reception staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    5.8
    Adequate but no more than that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls to the room were too thin and noise from corridor and adjoining rooms was obtrusive. People in next room were partying and noisy. Floorboards were the noisiest creaky floor I've ever experienced. Breakfast room was too small for the size of the hotel. Selection of food was very limited and coffee from the machine was awful. ( breakfast was even worse than my previous visit ).

    The Hotel central location was the only really good aspect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location shabby hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fruit salad out of a tin- yuk Toaster didn't work, it just dried the bread! The whole hotel was like stepping into a delapitated film set even the carpet at the front door greeted us with a massive stain. The ensuite "bathroom cupboard " had an awful plastic curtain and a poor shower head. Beds very clean and comfortable . Reception staff very helpful . Bikes at hotel excellent and easy to hire from reception. Parking also secure and easy to get to.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Small but it has everything you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a bar in front of the hotel on friday night it gets a little bit noisy yet police usually come in a couple of minutes and take action to control the situation

    The location is outstanding 2 minutes away from all major outlets including mc.donalds ,burger king , H&M ,pull and bear , carpisa ect and 10 minutes away fron piazia magiore. The staff is extremely helpful .tge breakfast is excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.0
    Only the central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To say that this place is "old-fashioned" is an understatement. It is basically run down. Uncomfy beds. Terrible breakfast.

    Only the central location. The drawback of this, tho, is a significant amount of noise from the street during nighttime.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.4
    Centrally located which made getting around on foot to see...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was horrible, The fifth floor was actually the space under the roof therefore the ceilings were slopped which by itself was charming, however the bed was very hard, pillows very thin, no window only a skylight in which the view was poor and it made the room very hot during the day and thus the evening, the skylight did not even close properly which I imagine was a problem on rainy days as there were water stains on the walls around the skylight. Some one decided to create a "curtain" by tying a piece of cloth around a wooded stick across the dormer the skylight was in, useless to say the least.The shower was so tiny with a shower curtain that the bathroom flooded every time you showered, lighting was very dim and especially bad in the bathroom that I had to shave using the flash light on my cell phone! This room certainly did not look anything like the room photos in the advertisements. If booking at this hotel avoid the rooms on the 5th floor at all costs!!

    Centrally located which made getting around on foot to see the sites easy and near lots of restaurants. The hotel was charming and well maintained, the staff friendly, most of the clerks at the front desk spoke excellent English and were very helpful in giving directions and advice to getting around town. The included breakfast was better than most of the places I stayed at but after 4 or 5 days of the same thing it does get boring.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.7
    i believe it needs some reinnovation and i believe the price is quite expensive for what it offers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the heater in the room was noisy and it was very annoying during the night also very noisy from the passengers outside there was not enough pressure of the water in the bath

    satisfying breakfast close to the city center

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    They have not remodeled in a while, which is not bad at all,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, didn't had fruit

    They have not remodeled in a while, which is not bad at all, gives the place a very unique and classical feeling. Not all hotels should look like ibis. Balcony views on the city centre skyline, tremendous helpful staff, safe garage and great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.8
    Location and staff are brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very good hotel lets itself down with poor breakfast - cramped breakfast room, no real fruit juice, slow to replenish things which ran out.

    Location and staff are brilliant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    6.3
    Nice but noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The terrible noise at night. The hotel has a cinema right next door with no sound-proofing at all. The soundtrack was at full volume right through until midnight. Impossible to sleep before the film was over.

    The Hotel Palace is a very elegant building and in a convenient central position.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    The value was good but I don't think I would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Routine maintenance on this property wasn't great. Our room had burned out light bulbs, a plug that we didn't feel safe to use and a shower curtain that needed replaced. Also, our mini fridge didn't work causing us to lose leftovers that we had planned to use for our lunch the next day.

    This location of this hotel is a 10 minute walk from the train station and was a great location for our day trip to Venice. It was clean, the breakfast was good and the staff was friendly. We enjoyed walking over to the Mercato for dinner and seeing the sights and mingling with all of the students and visitors.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls could be tidy. It would be good that parking is free for guests.

    First location location location! Everything is close to hotel. Staff very kind. Hotel with charm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    4.6
    Bologna good shame about accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THe general std of the hotel reception corridors bedrooms bathrooms was far short of anything we have experienced,it was dirty, the breakfast Was very poor sometimes there was no food, in all I surprised that you list this place it was a surprise for my wife’s 70 birthday with family travelling to be with, I made all the arrangements and was very embarrassed, I think you should perhaps offer some compensation

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    Come here for the location but don't expect much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Breakfast room. Far too small and cramped for the number of guests. "Bun fight" is the word which comes to mind!😫

    The location, the parking, the helpfulness of the male Receptionist who gave us very clear instructions on how to exit Bologna without infringing on the Limited Traffic Zone.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Great location , affordable ,
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed was not very comfortable. Furnishings carpets very worn or stained.

    Hotel is shabby , carpets stained but not smelly. Hotel is in need of a soft furnishing upgrade, but staff very good, location excellent and it was affordable and I felt safe in hotel and surroundings.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    3.3
    Really bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are not helpful. The room is old and Tivi didn't work. WiFi did not work. Brekki wasn't good enough. Parking was expensive. We are really disappointed. Feel like was robbed.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    7 day sightseeing trip to enjoy wonderful Italian food and style in Bologna & a daytrip to Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    carpet outside room 202 needs removing. Maybe have tiles instead? The hallway outside our room smelt a bit funny. I'm sorry but I didn't like the machine coffee at breakfast time but everything else was good.

    Easy to get to (20 minutes from airport 6 euros by bus or 18 euros by taxi in daytime), excellent central location, very near to all attractions in Bologna, 20 minute walk to train station, friendly helpful English speaking staff, long breakfast time, clean towels every day, bed made every day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    For us, faded elegance is worth it to stay in an old large building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    carpets throughout now v worn no tea/coffee facilities anywhere in the hotel after breakfast

    Superb mattresses (twin beds) breakfast (tho more variety wd have been welcome for a 4 night stay) wi-fi access staff helpfulness

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    the location and the staff at this hotel are excellent. skip breakfast the coffee is dreadful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the coffee at breakfast was possibly one of the worst drinks I have ever experienced. it was worth paying for a decent coffee across the road at the green café.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.5
    I would probably stay at this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpeting looks dirty probably only because it is old. Interior room walls need painting. Floor boards in the rooms and the hallways are very squeaky could hear everyone walking above me and in the halls all hours of the night.

    for the price I felt I got my money's worth. Great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    3.8
    Location great, but would not stay again. Overpriced, dowdy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was a zoo - cramped, and poor food with little choice. Room not very clean

    Room at front of hotel had balcony -- becuase we booked a triple room for 2 people to give us extra space

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    6.7
    Dark and dated but large rooms, nicely furnished but rather sparse. Simple, basic, adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated, worn communal areas except for reception lounge. Very dated,sparse bathroom, very firm bed. Expensive - for that price I'd expect a better breakfast, Better maintenance and a more comfy bed. The website photos are very misleading.

    Lovely reception area. Huge rooms, perfect, central location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.0
    We stayed for 2 nights. One good thing there are some nice restaurants nearby and foods excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has passed its sell by date. It could do with some modernisation though No complaint with wifi. No fridge in the room. Coin operated machine in corridor. The room was clean but lack of natural light makes the room rather gloomy and uninviting.

    Breakfast was good except there was no fresh fruits.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.8
    Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast only average, poor coffee from machine. I should have read the web site, NO air conditioning in the room, very unpleasant in August.

    Central location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.0
    Never again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning, no refrigerator in the rooms, the bed, carpet, furnitures are very old, only an automate for coffee at the lobby, a very bad breakfast, unsafe room doors. Never choose if you have a better option via location...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    4.2
    Never coming back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An awful stay. Wi-Fi wasn't working on my floor, the furniture was so old I was afraid to touch anything, there were no air conditioning. I heard every step and word from the rooms around. At night, something was clicking and ticking all the time - I just couldn't sleep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Magical 5 day trip to Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit limiting and our window overlooked the back of an old building apart from that no complaints!!

    Really great location and near everything, perfect for a girls trip to get ready in and relax. Staff welcoming and friendly and very calm and relaxing. Free wifi was fine and met all our needs!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    GOOD LOCATION BUT BEWARE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE DINING ROOM WAS FAR,FAR TOO SMALL FOR A HOTEL OF THIS SIZE? THE SEATING WAS VERY POOR AND THE AIR CONDITIONING (ONE OPEN WINDOW)?? WAS A DISGRACE!! FOR THESE REASONS I COULD NOT STAY HERE AGAIN. BREAKFAST OK BUT THE ROOM?? WAS SO HOT AT EIGHT IN THE MORNING I HAD TO GO AND SIT IN THE MAIN LOUNGES! PS , LOVED THE PIECE OF HUMAN HAIR IN MY SCRABBLED EGGS ON THE LAST MORNING!!!

    LOVED LOCATION, TOP POSITION, NICE BALCONY, DATED BUT QUIET

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Would recommend as its good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar or coffee shop but the lounge area was very spacious

    Location very central, very clean and staff friendly. The breakfast was very good for a continental breakfast and there was always a plentiful supply of fresh food. The guy on breakfast duty was very efficient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful staff and location
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms can be better especially the ones in the fifth floor which is designed for single visitors. There is no information about these kind of rooms in the web site of booking.com.These rooms have air condition but nothing else for comfort. They are too small, having litttle windows and low ceiling

    Wonderful and helpful staff. Thank you to the all staff especially the staff in the reception. I want also thank to Barbara for her understanding, endevours trying to help and solve the problems...wonderful location. Close to everywhere just only five minutes away from the touristic center and the main square piazza maggiorne. More over there are wonderful, local cafes,bistro and bard at via Belvedere which is nearly next to the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.0
    The location is perfect - 5 min walking from Piazza Maggiore...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could be much cleaner.

    The location is perfect - 5 min walking from Piazza Maggiore - but the room / bathroom / carpet was a little dirty and smelly. The decoration was poor and the room was small. The wifi connection was perfect. Location: 5/5 Clean: 2/5 Wifi: 5/5 Stuff: 5/5

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    6.7
    The location of the hotel was great - just a few minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel was past its prime - best described as faded grandeur! There was no air conditioning and this is a must in the summer months.

    The location of the hotel was great - just a few minutes walk from the Piazza Maggiore.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location, a few minutes walk from the main square. Really lovely spacious room, with good views over Bologna. Very pleasant staff who were more than happy to advise on local restaurants and attractions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.1
    Bologna
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Spartan conditions of the room. I had to ask for a chair for my room. The room I was in was just under the roof and very hot although air condition made it tolerable.

    Excellent location. Clean. Reception staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location. Clean and basic room and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Must request air-con well prior check in as some rooms without aircon!! Our triple room for first night had no air-con! Internet is not strong. But they are upgrading the internet. Hopefully will be good in the future

    Excellent location. More or less 5 mins. walk to the city center's Piazza Maggiore. Almost all places of interest can go on foot about 5 - 15 mins from hotel except Santuario di Madonna di San Luca which is about 40 mins walk from Piazza Maggiore. Or just take a train there. Nice restaurants/ cafes next door to hotel. Co-op supermarket less than 2 mins walk from hotel. But must request air-con prior check in as some rooms without aircon!! Our triple room for first night had no air-con! But all staffs very friendly and helpful. We moved to aircon rooms rest of our 4 nights stay. Rooms are clean but basic. Breakfast is basic: fruit juice, coffee/ tea, toast, crossiants, scramble and boil egg, bacon, cheese, cold cut ham, cornflakes, plain yoghurt.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic value or money when in Bologna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was superb ......

    Loved the variety available for breakfast ,air conditioner was excellent also as was the helpfulness of the staff .We will definitely be staying again .Great value for money .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Perfect! Best! Amazing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The washrooms were good but could have been renovated. They look a bit old styled.

    The room was big and very comfortable. The staff had extremely professional and friendly attitude. The breakfast was delicious and had a great variety.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.3
    Good value for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was just right for a short stay. Don't expect ant luxury, but the room and breakfast was what we expected for the cost. It's in the city center, so that was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Situation at the very centre and Close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Continental Breakfast ok, but lack of typical and handmade food...bread, cheese and ham a Little bit too industrial

    Situation at the very centre and Close to everything. Very comfortable beds; bathroom large enough; staff very available and nice Breakfast varied

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.7
    Good place, old smelly building
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is very old and it has a weird smell of old and dusty room. The floor kept making noises because it was very old.

    The breakfast was very good and the hotel is very near the most important place of the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.9
    2 minutes walk from center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some small inconveniences: broken toilet-seat, poor lighting in the room, but nothing that can make our stay bad.

    Perfect location (2 minutes walk from Piazza Maggiore) , quite room, lovely lobby, classic - nice - old fashioned atmosphere, up to a 3-star hotel standard.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.8
    Excellent place very close to the centre and very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air condition was not very effective and although clean, there was a smell coming from the bathroom.

    Excellent place very close to the centre and very friendly staff!

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: