Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palace Hotel Due Ponti 3 stars

Viale Europa 12, 53100 Siena, Italy

#48 of 51 hotels in Siena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1243 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paper walls. You can ear everything from the other rooms. I had a problem with my booking but after I explained 3 times the girl solve it.

    Free park to the car. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The unpleasant noise of the cooling system woke me up in the first night. However, when I asked the staff to fix the problem they fixed the problem very fast.

    The hotel was clean and quiet with a nice staff, located in a green area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the morning it was loud already very early (6am). There is not always a parking place available in front of the hotel, but you can also park a couple 100m away for free.

    The room was big enough for two ppl. It was easy to travel around from here with a car. The breakfast was good. Siena city center is a little bit further, but you have the possibility to park nearer for free and walk inside (hill up) :) At the information desk they were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are thin and and can hear everything from the slightest cough, snore, step, conversation. The weekend was the worst. Sunday night was much better because there were less people staying. Need to wear earplugs.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel was clean. The breakfast was average. They had gluten free breads in the morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some clearer directions to get there by bus would have been helpful. There are 3 Du Ponti stops. Easy once you know.

    Very comfortable & clean. Breakfast was good. Quiet location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon- slow to cool room.

    Right next to the Europcar Depot and 15 min walk to small bus that takes tourists into the old city. Very easy to find. Good breakfast included and buffet available in evening. Great value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room and bathroom need a better cleaning.

    Extremely helpful and kind staff at the reception. We were attended by 4 different people at the reception and all of them were great. Very good location if you have a car (the hotel has free parking). We used this hotel as our hub for travelling around Toscana (Siena, Montepulciano, San Gimignano, and Florence). Excellent breakfast, very good shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too firm for my painful back. There's not enough parking so we had to park across the street, however it was not far.

    The property wasn't too far from the center, so that was good. The breakfast was really good compared to other hotels. The room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We don't speak Italian, so the TV was useless for us, except for the Tennis channel. Can you provide a TV package including some foreign language channels, e.g. BBC World Service for English-speakers?

    The breakfast was excellent, the variety and quantity were a pleasant surprise. Location perfect - easy to get in and out of Siena by bus, very accessible to highway to explore other centres. Parking excellent. Staff extremely friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we stayed in aug. 8 to11 in the ground floor, OUR BEDSHEETS WAS NEVER BEEN CHANGE FOR 3 DAYS. they only change the towels, the room was not properly clean.. breakfast is terrible, croissant are not fresh as it was..a little bit far from the city center ..good only if you have your own car to roam around the city.

    Nothing!!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were not welcoming, did not explain where anything is, just handed over the key. No facilities to even get something to drink during the day. Location is too far from town.

    The breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit far from Siena if you do not have a car and the nearest restaurant is 20 minutes walk.So the hotel is not ideal for solo travellers who use public transport

    God hotel and facilities excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit outdated but that's why it's low budget I guess... And the rooms could use a more thorough cleaning..

    The staff was great, breakfas was great, the rooms are big enough. We had a small balcony which was nice.Enough towels.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very satisfied with everything, good value for money.

    Good location near the city wall. Very friendly staff and good breakfast. We even had dinner at the restaurant which was also excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is exactly before the end of the city(before the city sign). But close to the historical centar-20 min on foot. There is a parking at the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy we could not sleep until 3am. the main road is closer to hotel,the door's locker didn't work,air condition had a lot of dust, We saw big bug in room (probably a paparoach) and the breakfast was very poor composet by very bad cakes. To Siena center by walking is far, you need to use your car and pay the park.

    nothing, except free parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too far from the city centre, by a noisy road. Without a car one might find it difficult to get to a bar or a restaurant.

    A correct, though a bit old fashioned and worn-out place.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    ITS AN EXCELENT LOCATION.BEAUTIFUL ROOMS AND GOOD SERVICE.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice comfortable beds Spacious and clean room Reasonably good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Staff attention

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle

    Nice staff, clean comfy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy rooms. Thin walls and room doors. You could hear everything you neighbour says.

    Free parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, friendly staff great food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food facilities at hotel on a Monday night

    Comfortable room, staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No secure parking. Old style room ... very light breakfast.

    The advises from the reception at departure where interesting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable room and delicious breakfast.Hotel is in an industrial area of Siena, but if you have a car, there is no problem

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little away from town and no shops or restaurants around

    Room was super comfy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too far from downtown and expensive in relation to what it offers, butt I think in general Siena is more expensive than expected.

    I think nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty and noisy.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    Todo

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited choice of breakfast

    Free parking and sufficient place, low price

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit expensive. Trafic noise. Far from city centre.

    Recently built. Clean room, good beds, friendly staff, full breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfast, nice staff. Perfect for these who come to Siena by car.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sound from someone's TV on until after 4a.m kept us awake. Better soundproofing needed.

    The rooms were comfortable, and clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning

    Good breakfast, clean, parking, wifi

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minus internet connection!!!😢

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our room, there was not good signal for wi-fi.

    Good breakfast, nice big comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -breakfast quite basic

    -next to the city by car -clear -parking area for free

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean nice hotel. Excellent personnel willing to help.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Weak wifi internet and noisy place.

    Friendly staff and good location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as described. .. no restaurant .. as a diabetic this caused major inconvenience

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff, nice clean, nice room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi works only in reception area (in hall downstairs)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No aircondition working , no good WIFI in room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very nice but unfortunately the A/C was not working. So we have changed our stay to 1 day instead of 2 days.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Far from city

    Clean and comfortable rooms, decent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The WiFi was a plain disaster. Breakfast was not refilled as it should have been. Staff at breakfast rather impolite and not very willing to help. Too little parking.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is not that good but it is not a problem, you reach the center in 5 minutes by taxi.

    The staff members helped us with everything we needed: found us bus and train hours, printed reservations, and more. The room and bathroom were big, and very comfortable!!

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The property needs a deeper cleaning, my room had a dirty and old shower with some mold on the corners. Breakfast was poor an low quality, but basic.

    Price paid was proportional to the type of service offered (basic and average). The hotel has many parkings spots available, so if you have a car makes it a reasonable choice compared to the crazy prices offered by properties in the center of Siena. Although there is a road nearby, it is quiet.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    -Not so attentive staff in the restaurant

    -Clean rooms although basic -comfortable bed -efficient check-in, thanks to the very nice lady in front desk -not a busy location (metered taxi to the piazza is about € 12)

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    After we found hair in the shower and asked the staff to clean it, they didn't seem to understand that they have made something wrong. Furthermore they didn't apologize. The wake-up call was too late and the overall impression of the staff is not good at all.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rusty old shower. Close to the main road, which makes it very noisy. The breakfast tables were not cleaned after the previous people, so we had to eat on the breadcrumbs of the previous guests. It was really disgusting.. The breakfast was rich, but lots of things were not really eatable. The restaurant was not open, so if you want to eat something you need to go to Siena. Too far away from Siena.

    The reception girl was nice. Coffee was good at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast was ok but not excellent.

    The hotel is located quite far from the city, which is actually comfortable if you have a car. The staff is quite friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location is not the best. You need a bus to go to the city. Only around 10 minutes drive though, but last bus back is at 20.30. Walking distance at least 45 minutes

    This is far better than other 3 starred hotels. I liked the room. The staff was really welcoming. The breakfast was good too.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was not good, not even rolls or bread, only thin toast to warm in a sandwich maker. Around the hotel it was untidy with the grass uncut and dead plants in the pots.

    Only a few km's from the old city town. The staff was helpful with directions. There was a medieval festival on in Siena with procession. The hotel was simple, but value for money.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The stuff was very friendly and helpful. It has a big parking, which was convenient and safe for our car. The rooms was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very good. It takes 35-40 minutes to go to the center of Sienna by walk but there's a bus station just outside the hotel, too. Generally, a good hotel with a friendly atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A/C not working so it was way too hot for comfort. Fridge was not capable of cooling food only some beverages. Wifi was a complicated story with paper slips for each device which timed out after 24h. A bit far to town but we had a car.

    Parking outside of entrance. Elevator. Fridge. Good wifi, Friendly staff and clean

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is VERY far out, on a main road, but rooms in Sieena were hard to find at that time. We went in to Siena by bus, and at night walked back downhill.

    It was Siena, at Palio time, and easy to get there by bus.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is miles from everything. The parking is free but limited. The staff was unhelpful, we booked a double bed and were given two single beds, when I asked about it got a lecture and then given a room with two single bed pushed together. The hotel smelled like vomit. The air conditioner didn't work and only made a noise. The wifi kicks you out very 15 min and is slow and unreliable. The restaurant was closed and we were referred to one almost 8 km away. Only hotel during our entire trip that demanded city tax in cash. Bathroom was small, old and dirty.

    Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    not so clean.the air condition as well as the wifi were terrible.the breakfast was a joke. no ventilation in the bathroom

    the location was excellent but only if you have a car

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very hot as the air conditioning was not working properly. Staff just gave excuses. We moved to another room but the problem was the same. The wifi was a bit difficult to access with various codes and dropped out all the time. Showers were very mouldy.

    Free parking on site was handy. Some staff were very friendly but others were not helpful. Room was spacious. Continental breakfast was fine.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not suitable for those who travel without a car. Quite far from Siena city center. Could be cheaper for the given quality.

    Good breakfast buffet, nice room, helpful friendly staff, strong WiFi signal. Free private parking lot.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff without even basic knowledge of foreign languagues, therefore could not be helpfull at all. Breakfast was very poor, not for non italian tourists. Wifi did not work most of the time.

    Very close to rent a car Office.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really bad breakfast, only reachable by car, traveling by bus is pretty uncomfortable - and not possible later than 20:30. So having dinner in the city is pretty complicated

    Staffmembers were nice

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The other floors except the ground. The air conditioning wasn't working in 40 degree heat. The wi fi was very spotty.

    The rooms on the ground floor.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff didn't provide solution for the WIFI-problem in our room. They advertised with WIFI through out the hotel, but this didn't work. Even after our complaint, no discount or whatsoever was provided by them. We had to ask for it. The breakfast was really poor: they were out of bread, bad quality of spreads, fruit and drinks.

    Location: Very close to city center Siena. Comfortable room and bed.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were there for two nights. During first night air conditioner was not working and it was very hot. No fans available at reception desk. Noisy road close.

    When AC was working it was OK.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You need a code for wifi and it's only for one device - it's the first time we came across something like that, having spent the last 20 nights in different hotels.

    Great breakfast, nice rooms, friendly staff, not far from the centre of Siena.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not enough parking space in front of the hotel. Slow and confused personal at breakfast and broken coffee-machine.

    Siena centre is about 5 min by car. Sufficient breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Aircondition in our room wasnt working well, we couldnt sleep. We canceled the second night of our stay.(and of course it has been paid) breakfast very poor. If you will stay in summer think twice....

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could have been better, but than again for the money I had paid (50Euros/night for 2 persons) you cannot ask for much more.

    Fair pricing, free parking.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Wi-fi was only available in the main reception. From within the rooms no Wi-Fi.

    Everything except for the Wi-Fi. I travel with my work within europe and stayed in many hotels. This hotel maybe a three star but it seems to be better than most 4 stars I've stayed within Europe.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi was poor. Not available in rooms as advertised.

    Price - was very cheap. Clean rooms, friendly staff able to park. Could get (an infrequent) bus into Siena centre.

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Palace Hotel Due Ponti traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: