Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palace Grand Hotel Varese 4 stars

Via Manara Luciano 11, 21100 Varese, Italy

#5 of 18 hotels in Varese

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2008 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    lovely views from our room, big bathroom with shower, tub,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was very disappointing with lots of packaged junk food in individual wrappers. morning staff in the breakfast room were rude (except the girls clearing the tables who looked scared) and the morning staff at the desk were also less friendly than the evening staff. the lady at the pool bar, the lady who checked us in, and the wait staff in the evening were really fantastic!!!

    lovely views from our room, big bathroom with shower, tub, and sauna (we had a suite), evening staff was excellent, dinner in the restaurant, lots of indoor and outdoor seating, quiet room with sitting area and 2 balconies

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Great stay at the Grand Palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we did not like!

    This is a beautiful, tranquil location with many old trees. Staff were helpful & friendly. The restaurant has delicious food & very friendly waiters & a shuttle to the centre of town made exploring easy. Our room had a wonderful view & was extremely comfortable. The hotel is excellent!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was a long way up from town. was a bit dated.

    great breakfast. it is a long way from town but they have a small shuttle to take you down. book as it books out. The pool is small but was nice. the place is dated but it added to the character.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Great old hotel, still fantastic accommodation. Perfect location, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic view from our bedroom window, the room was very clean and comfortable. All the hotel and grounds was very well maintained, a lovely old building with great views of the lake and surrounding county side. Short walk to the main town, the hotel shuttle bus was used for our return ... aching feet after walking around the city, an a great meal, few glasses of wine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Varese city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast room has wonderful panorama view to the lake. The room is spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Easy to park, easy to reach the city by walking. We got nice tips for dinner and sightseeing from the receptionist.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice location, nice staff - bit overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had twin beds on request but the beds were really small. The room wasn't that big, so there wasn't that much room there anyway, but it was most negative point on the stay. Also, I found the price for the room on the high side for what you got.

    Location and staff were both excellent. The room wasn't too large, but it was very clean and a nice bathroom. I ordered a package with a rose and some chocolates for my wife and they really made work of it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    Quiet hotel located in a park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not notice anything negative apart from dinner menu was a bit limited for me, no problem, went somewhere. Yes someone was making noises in the corridor like working on something at almost midnight, not sure if guests or the hotel employees trying to do some work as our room was close to some meeting rooms.

    Quiet, located in a park. Plenty of free parking spaces. Good choice of breakfast although a bit crowded (sunday morning breakfast), had to queue for coffee (one coffee machine for the big restaurant). Yes the supermarket on the road before the entrance to hotel was amazing! Excellent takeaway sushi and surprise surprise super delicious GROM ice cream in store !!! So so good. Overall a great place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Would stay here just for the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was a little lacking with poor coffee from the machine. Selection of fruits was bad. Did not refill dishes when food ran out. This is what one can expect from a hotel that needs a good renovation.

    The view from the fifth floor was excellent with views over the lake and mountains superb. This is the main reason we stayed here. There is a free shuttle service in late afternoon and evening which works very nicely and eliminates the need for a car all the time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    3 days in a romantic atmosphere
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - 20€ extra charge per day for the baby bed - outdoor equipment is very poor and needs urgent improvement (pool, tennis and playground) - shuttle bus drives only 3-4 times per day (from 15h00) - 1 small elevator for 5 levels (needs to wait)

    - romantic atmosphere - kind staff - breakfast - room is quiet and very big - bathroom has both shower and bath - bed is very confortable - good value for the money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Unexpected Stay at a beautiful hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a beautiful hotel with fantastic views, great rooms and very welcoming staff. I was caught in the strikes at the airport and this proved to be a fantastic discovery - I would never have seen this had I not had to stay a couple more days.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    A lovely hotel with a luxurious feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Our room, a superior, was very comfortable with a marble bathroom and a view of the lake as I had requested. Parking was easy but it would be difficult staying there without a car as it would be a long walk into town. The hotel does provide a bus but that does not run until the afternoon. The breakfast was good and included in the room rate. We ate in the hotel restaurant on 3 evenings and the food was good and the service excellent. The town of Varese is small but attractive and we felt quite safe walking round there at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    everything , the building is amazing ,landscape, location ,hospitality. Moreover the stuff are very professional and helpful . I am sure I will repeat my visit soon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect place for family trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice staff, professional service. What is more important is, family friendly. We enjoy a lot also communicating with other guests. All people there were so friendly and very polite. This is unforgettable experience indeed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    The Overlook hotel but without Jack Torrance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is good if you come are with a car. Although a distance to the city center is not big, walking is not as pleasant as expected, because there is no direct path through a park and one has to follow main street with a lot of cars. Breakfast could be better. Four stars seems to be a little to much for such a standard - best days of this hotel are already gone...

    Great view, nice and large room, cozy bathroom. Helpful staff :) Hotel offers free shuttle bus to city-center few times a day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Peacefulness, charm and wonderful staff who really do their best to please the requests from guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The furniture in the bar and lounge have seen better days :) So, new and comfortable sofas and chairs would fulfill that space.

    We love this hotel and this was the third time we visited. The staff are very serviceminded :) We'll be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    The breakfast was amazing with
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was amazing with gorgeous views to the garden, they have very good space in the room was very clean, with lovely view to the city and the lake i really enjoy my stay specially furing the snow .i extremely recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    BEAUTIFUL!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    BEAUTIFUL! The palace is stunning, and the room was really large, clean comfy and beautiful. The staff were really lovely and helpful. Short drive into the city for restaurants (there was a shuttle bus that could be arranged, but we didn't do that). Very beautiful building and views over the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    A must to stay here! Absolutely one of my favorite hotels! Do not miss it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After taking a shower the bathroom floor was wet almost completely.

    After a warm welcome on Friday evening we enjoyed a nice dinner in the restaurant. We ended the evening at the bar. The staff is extremely friendly and warm. The hotel and its surrounding gives one a very special feeling. It has so much character. It was a extremely pleasant stay and I can strongly recommend to book this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    This is a great hotel in Varesa ,nice and supportive staff ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So much far .

    This is a great hotel in Varesa ,nice and supportive staff , everything was clean ,nice breakfast ,a good place to rest .It's impressive hotel ,but far from the towncenter in a place on high rice SO S A D,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    OK place to stay if you like to stay in an old villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel has been built and renovated few years ago and is starting to being worn down. Basically the best days of the hotel seems to be in the past. Not very cozy. A little bit far away from town, stores etc. Breakfast could be better

    Staff, especially at the reception was super friendly and willing to help!! Nice view, overseeing the town and lake Offering good discounts, outside of the busy season.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.8
    My room was a good value but I had it to do again, I would...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Location from downtown is difficult but the courtesy driver was very good.

    My room was a good value but I had it to do again, I would get a bigger room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful old-fashioned palace of a hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Downside of the location: there's only one winding road on the hill with sharp turns, so walking down is not always fun, let alone up. At least the staff can call you a taxi.

    Even locals agreed it was the best in Varese. Varese is already a beautiful town, and this hotel has a prime location at the top of a hill for great views. It also boasts a beautiful interior, a great in-house restaurant, and helpful staff... we got really lucky finding this place. We hope to be back soon!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.9
    Staff in particular Marco were very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast meats and eggs were a little undercooked for my liking but there were plenty other options.

    Staff in particular Marco were very nice. They worked with me on a last minute date change without extra charge and the shuttle service into town was very convenient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed one night in a quadruple room with our two children aged 7 and 9. They were fascinated to be staying in the beautiful palace. We enjoyed a lovely dinner in the restaurant - gnocchi speciality was delicious. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Domenico who went out of his way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    6.7
    Poor breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast and noise from other rooms !

    Poor breakfast. Coffee out of a machine. As a real coffee fan, this is absolutely not done in Italy ! Furniture and overall aspect of hotel old and used. Staff : polite and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    We come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room service was changing the towels every day, which is not necessary. Nearly only italian channels in TV, just two german channels, one of them swiss, the other one in a bad quality

    fantastic view, good breakfast and a very good restaurant with friendly service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Great as usual
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please note that the property is perfect if you are arriving by car. You do not want to depend on a taxi or bus every time you go to downtown Varese.

    Undoubtedly the best value for money in town. The Palace has seen better days at the turn of the last century, but retains an old-world romantic flair as its new owners have adequately refurbished large parts of the property which sits on a hill with a wonderful view of the lake and the surrounding country. The staff were an absolute delight (compliments to Carmen)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel with the great view to the surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a door to another room which was locked but the sound isolation was poor so we could hear our neighbors.

    We asked to change the room and they were kind to give us another room with bigger bathroom. The decorations were nice and the view through the window was spectacular.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.2
    Overall it was very relaxing and wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My slight niggle was the bath water was brown even after running it for 10 minutes and there was a bulb missing in one of the lamps.

    We had a fabulous time, the staff and the hotel were wonderful. Just what we needed. The rooms were quiet and we had an amazing view of the lake. Perfect for a relaxing family break with a four year old.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    A hotel I enjoy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I really like this hotel. It's the second time I decided to stay here during my stay in Varese. Staff at the reception offer precise information and tips on how to get around. All of that with a smile, which is always welcome. The location is really interesting, in the middle of park, but not far from the city centre. Trees and flowers around and a great view toward the mountains and the lake Varese. The building is very special. It offers a special atmosphere that takes you back to the beginnging of the 20th century. Rooms are spacious and beds comfortable. A good variety of food for breakfast, for all tastes. The shuttle service is excellent but you can also take the city bus to reach the city centre or the station. From there you can travel easily to Milan. I prefer to go there with the train instead of the car for obvious reasons. We like this hotel, and we'll certainly come back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    The location is simply GREAT.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very minor issue was some smelling of smoke in the toilet when the fan is on.

    The location is simply GREAT. The hotel is a actually a villa, and the appearance of the lobby and the common areas is stunning. You have to have a car to reach the place, but the place is pretty close to the city center. If needed, the hotel offers a free shuttle service to downtown. Definitely great value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Do your self a favour and stay in this grand old contessa of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do your self a favour and stay in this grand old contessa of a hotel. She’s seen better days but her inner beauty, history and charm are well worth the visit. The views and the atmosphere are wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    A real Agatha Christie's scenario experience, back in the elegant past
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A real Agatha Christie's scenario experience, back in the elegant past. Beautiful environment, classy old style building with "belle epoque" decoration. large, well equipped elegant rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Excellent value, beautiful property. Would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor and overall feel - classic but not dated. For an old hotel we thought it was very well maintained. Great cocktail menu in the bar. Lovely grounds. Felt like a little haven of peace and tranquility up on the hill away from the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Located on the top of the green hill, magnificent view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Located on the top of the green hill, magnificent view Shuttle bus available to the city center Classic "palace style" interior (though not too fussy) Good breakfast Good gym

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    Elegant hotel with stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly alarming electrics and somewhat ramshackle feel to some furnishings.

    A hilariously glamorous hotel - the name is no exaggeration. Slightly dated and run-down - very 80s carpets, for example - but marble and gilt in the bathroom and breathtaking views from a very high point. Lots of coach tours and conferences clearly use the facilities, but the staff were eager to help a visiting couple. Food was generous in quantity and well-cooked and overall the value for money was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    A treat ..really special for region
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial recelriom at 9.30 ..young waitress and a certain host.male .not gaetano

    Very pleased all round Except for initial receptiin bu waitress at 9.30 pm for dinner..v dismissive..we wouls mor have stayed had gAetano n ot arrived !!giorgio at recptn was serious and helpful..all round an excellent stay.t Room view breakfast ambiance style etc !!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely, classic Italian property in a fine location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff are professional, but could be more friendly

    I love the old style formality and the overall ambience of the property. Good size room and a beautiful setting. The breakfast was great, although the staff could be more friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    very pleasant and ideal for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    some staff were a biyt surly and the outdoor pool was full of green water!! obviusy not cleaned in months, disgraceful. the outdoor gardens walk and play areas need attending too; needs a sauna and updated gym too!

    location, rooms, breakfats and most of the staff were very helpful and the shuttle into town very useful - the terrace was very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Grandeouse stay in Varese
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit cut off from the city but the surrounding gardens give the hotel it's secluded atmosphere.

    Although this hotel was built some years ago, it lives up to its "Grand" name. It has a grandeouse atmosphere with traditional architecture, high ceilings, marbled floors and wide corridors. Our room was spacious with all amenities as was the bathroom with large sink and bathroom/shower area and bidet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay but a car is definitely needs to make the most of the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Recreational activities seem rather run down Hotel now seems to be more focussed on conference clients.

    Very good restaurant. Nice food and staff very accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    A very fine example of great Italian hospitality. Simply flawless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing worth mentioning

    Hotel is situated in an old and beautiful building on top of a hill and surrounded by a tree park; Great view from the balcony towards the city and the Varese lake; Great breakfast, warm drinks machine was state of the art; Very friendly staff at service and available 24 hours; Wi Fi access in rooms; Very spacious rooms; Central heating and air conditioning in each room; Very clean; Comfortable bed and pillows;

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    They organised a really wonderful massage for us which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some people might prefer to be in the centre, but it was only a 20 min walk to the centre and you wouldn't have the views like we did.

    They organised a really wonderful massage for us which was great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing old hotel. Surrounded by a large green space, flowers, trees, an astonish view to the Varese lake. Rich breakfast, very good services. Young but very well trained staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Very nice for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that easy to find, could have more literature describing the hotel's facilities

    Beautiful lake view, large and comfortable rooms, good restaurant, nice grounds. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great for a short stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.1
    It was once grand- lovely position- now a little dated and in need of good air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hot- the air conditioning was poor. It was noisy and made no impact in terms of cooling the room on a hot August night. Our room was near the lift and I could hear the lift going up and down all night.

    The position was amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Not to be missed...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The staff were extraordinarily helpful. We were upgraded to a triple room and it was very roomy and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is the best we've ever had in any lodging! The setting, grounds and ambiance are so very peaceful and serene.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    I loved every kinute
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel shuttle should run every hour in the morning, this area needs looking at for those that do not have cars

    Fabulous hotel, great staff, great breakfast and fantastic cocktail waiter

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.8
    A quiet location on the hill with nice park surrounding.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just walk to the town was too long.But there was a free shuttle to the town for avoid such themes.

    A quiet location on the hill with nice park surrounding.A nice views from window to the Varese town and Varese lake.An extraordinary place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    The Grand Palace Hotel is Indeed Grand!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was great, good selection but the scrambled eggs were a little runny and the bacon was cooked Palma ham (but still tasted good!)

    It reminded me of the film "The Grand Budapest Hotel". A beautiful old building with dated but grand decor! On arrival we got upgraded to a deluxe room with Lake view and oh my what a view! Varese is an absolute jem, not as well visited as it's more famous neighbours in Como or Garda but a typical Italian town and this hotel, positioned on a mountain by the centre of town with a winding road (reminiscent of roads by the Almafi coast) is a real treasure (and don't be put off by my last comment- there's a free shuttle mini bus to town)!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    A very special place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only disappointment was not being able to visit the MV Agusta factory. Obviously not the hotel's fault. We will have to return!

    The ambiance and authentic old world charm of this art nouveau palace hotel fully lived up to our highest expectations. Please don't change anything! And all the staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The aircon should have been more uptodate, given the heat wave.

    The atmosphere from the turn of the century, yet the modern amenities. The park, the restaurant, the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Loved the character of this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    na

    Loved this place as a stop-over location. Great, old grandeur atmosphere ( well kept & absolutely not outdated ) with a beautiful view from our balcony. Clean rooms, good breakfast, swimmingpool small but perfect for 1 night and above all, great service from the waiters.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Great relaxing break in a beautiful hotel.. close to Lakes Como and Maggiore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only one lift.. but that wasn't a huge issue for us as we enjoyed using the lovely old antique staircase.

    Lovely old hotel with loads of character.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    An oasis of calm and beauty set high above the city of Varese. A hotel that takes you back in time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The receptionist was outstanding. Answered all our questions, was kind, patient, warm and seemed to love her job. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Dinner was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    3.3
    Big disappointment, I do not recommend this hotel, very poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have such a bad feeling with this hotel. We complained because we found the breakfast very bad. We asked if a refund was possible because we took our breakfast somewhere else. The manager was defending, saying the quality was good, and bad luck if we don't like it. We want to put a review to share our bad experience, he said that it was a threat from us. So it is not allowed to tell the truth? I almost feel afraid to write my review. I feel very bad, sad and shocked. normally going on vacation gives you an happy feeling, it is not the case. The swimming pool is very little, not easy to access from hotel. The room need to be refreshed, also furnitures. No tea or coffee facilities in room. Silicon has to be redone in shower. You hear the people from the other rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.7
    Doubt we will be back...bathrooms need update in triple rooms....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A hole in the floor of the shower! This is the second time we stayed here figuring the room couldn't be any worse than last time and it actually was. The bathroom rm 413 has a hole in the floor of the shower and was really gross. Doors didn't close either. Last time we had 411 or 409 and the shower was so small one can't move in it...

    Lovely location, ok breakfast. Beautiful view of the lake, shame they can't maintain the hotel in its original glory.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    The staff is very friendly and efficient and always willing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool. It's very nice but to small , specially for a big family.

    The staff is very friendly and efficient and always willing to please, which they did in my case. Beautifully surrounded by a huge park, and my room had an spectacular view of the lake and the city. Highly recommended if you like to stay in a hotel with a lovely atmosphere, the one you can expect from an old building very well kept. Very nice breakfast with delicious bread just baked among some other fresh products. You can get to the center on a shuttle bus or, if you prefer, the front desk will get you a taxi who arrives in about five minutes. After a busy day , you can enjoy a fresh drink in the terrace. If I ever go back to Varese, the Grand Hotel Varese will be my first and only choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable hotel in striking position with friendly staff equidistant from Lakes Maggiore and Como.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Swimming pool is tiny and the tennis court has not been maintained - it does not appear to have been swept in months and there are holes in the surrounding wire netting. The breakfast is passable but a bit uninspiring. There are a large number of coach parties/conference attenders staying for a night or two - on which the hotel probably depends financially and so they are treated particularly well.

    Spacious bedroom with excellent shower and coffee-making facility. Comfortable outside seating area to the bar. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    Lovely way to start our Italian holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather noisy conference going on early evening.

    Spacious, clean and comfortable bedroom and bathroom. Excellent breakfast with attentive staff. Lovely grounds to walk in before and after dinner. Terrific value for money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    An oasis of calm!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property. An oasis of calm. The staff were very helpful. The restaurant and bar staff were very friendly and yet efficient. Nothing was ever a problem for them. The terrace by the bar is beautiful. Views of the mountains and Lake Varese.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Nice suprice with a grand hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice suprice with a grand hotel. Good and comfy bed, nice room with a good view overlooking the lake. 10 minute away from Varese town, in a quiet park without any noice from town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay in historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast selection could have been more varied

    We had a suite which was spacious with beautiful views. Parklike surroundings , old world charm . Varese was lovely, not crowded, untouristy and well located between Lago Maggiore and Lago Como

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    Very nice stay midway between the lakes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed mattress was really firm which we did not like. The room air conditioner apparently was set at a specific temperature and we could not lower the temperature even though we tried with the remote control. It was always a little warm.

    Overall we enjoyed our stay. Staff was professional and courteous. The room was clean. The price was good and the hotel very nice. We paid less than $100 per night with free breakfast, wifi, and parking. It is an older "antique" hotel which was one of the reasons we chose to stay there. The bartender was pleasant and provided us with ice when we asked. The free breakfast was wonderful with lots of choices. Great views from the dining room and our room. Wifi was good. Lots of free parking and the location of the hotel is high on a hill in the city of Varese which is midway between Lake Como and Lake Maggiore. We visited both lakes on day trips. You need a car.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Lives up to its name. Palace Grand Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice hotel. Grand style great decor. Tasteful elegant. Picturesque grounds tantalising views. We really appreciated the size the style the service. Fantastic. They should not change a thing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.3
    This was a brief overnight stay and well situated though a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a brief overnight stay and well situated though a bit tricky to find! There wasn't time to explore or use facilities. Positioned up high with great views.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel and great value
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our second visit to this wonderful hotel. A taste of 'old world' Italy where customer service is still king. The bartender can mix any drink you request, plus several you've never heard of and the chef's homemade pasta is as good as any in Italy. Great place and great value!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    Nice hotel for short stays in Varese
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is perfectly located looking at the Varese lake with splendid view. The room is big enough and the wifi is fast. Breakfast is ok with lots of Italian varieties.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Charming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booked 5 rooms for a family event. Fantastic view to the mountains, very charming place in liberty style, friendly staff, excellent lunch in the restaurant with all family and friends, everybody liked the place. Excellent deal for money!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    My favorite hotel in Varese! Recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite all good and amazing things at this hotel, one thing I must say: breakfast is a little bit poor and too small choice like for 4* hotel, but for the price and that amazing view it is still very good value.

    I stayed many times at this hotel. Its my favorite hotel in Varese! we got 2 adjoining deluxe rooms on 5th floor with the amazing view, big bathroom with spa bathtub, large tv, We came very late in the night ( around 3am) and I had a special request : 2 cold bottles of prosecco with strawberries. And it was there! I was very happy! Beds were very comfortable and we slept very well. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I absolutely recommend this hotel to stay!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.1
    Good for a stopover. Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately its one of those nice buildings that is milking its history but not investing in keeping it alive. The shower in the bathroom was really small, service is so so and the grounds are not well kept. It was good for a one night stopover on the way down to our destination.

    The breakfast was nice and the view is beautiful The building is nice and has old world glamour. The room and beds were comfortable and we had a beautiful view out to the lake. Beautiful town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    This hotel offers a great stay in Varese
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some rooms do not have a safe box in the room. Ours didn't, but we could leave our home keys in the safe at the reception.

    The place is amazing, in a park a bit higher with beautiful views to Sacro Monte, the mountains and the lake Varese. Very interesting building, with wonderful terraces to seat and enjoy the evening in calm and beauty. Also the staff are nice and ready to help. Thank you!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Spacious and elegant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ask for an adjoining room which was not given to us. A little disappointing but not a huge deal.

    The bed was comfortable. Room spacious. Very elegant building with lots of space and fantastic views.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    Grandhotel Budapest in the heart of Varese
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately, unlike the last time, this time, we were not very happy about breakfasts - there was no prosciutto crudo available and the selection of fruits was limited. We were used to home made cakes whereas now the cakes are apparently unfrozen ready made products. Also, at times when you get unlucky (we got unlucky this time) you can get a room with "modern" bathroom which is pretty much just a shower and not very aesthetically tiled room - apparently the result of splitting the lavish rooms for the gentry into the standardized rooms for a regular visitor.

    We loved the atmosphere of a hotel from the beginning of the century sitting at the top of a hill with amazing views (especially from the breakfast area) and surrounded by a beautiful park of well grown trees (probably planted when the hotel was opened in 1913) - ideal for morning jogging. It is apparent that the best times of this establishment are long gone, but that is exactly the "patina" you just can´t help loving. Everyone who has seen the film Grandhotel Bundapest knows what I am writing about. Arriving at the entrance of the hotel brings back the Art Nouveau epoque, staff is great and has not changed a bit in the last 4 years I have been coming back to this place. The warm-welcoming Italian spirit of the staff takes this unique place yet another level up. The services offered by the hotel include a possibility of renting a bike which allows you to cycle around the Lago di Varese - the lake you see when having breakfast in the morning. Again, totally worth doing the trip. Certainly worth visiting!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    8.3
    Plushy hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too far away from downtown Varese to walk, especially the uphill return is exhausting. There is only one elevator - historic model - breakdowns occur - bumpy rides guaranteed. Breakfast is below average for a 4* Hotel, even by Italian standards.

    comfortable cozy room, hilltop location with nice view good bar service evening shuttle service to downtown Varese

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: