Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palace Hotel 4 stars

Via Flavio Gioia 2, 55049 Viareggio, Italy

#19 of 56 hotels in Viareggio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 839 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    No better place in Viareggio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool closes at 6pm

    Excellent location right on the sea front. The staff were welcoming and the room with balcony very comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best we have had. The roof top terrace is fabulous with great views along the sea front and to the mountains behind. The hotel has a beach complex across the road and this is where the pool is. We had no trouble finding parking and the 5 euro charge is payable at the hotel and very reasonable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice breakfast room off the lobby with great selection.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice breakfast room off the lobby with great selection. Staff was friendly and helpful. This hotel contacted me after my departure to alert me that I had left a watch in the room. They expedited the return of my watch to me as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Great Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view what so ever. Difficult so spot a room with a view on the booking site. Expansive Aperol Spritz on the rooftop bar, 9 Euro each.

    Great breakfast! Best so far on our month long stay in Italy. Close to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning wasn’t very powerful in our room. It seems there may have been a problem with it but the hotel put a fan in our room so was more than happy with that. The bathroom was on the small side, but apart from that it was fine.

    The pillows were amazing. Nice comfortable, decent sized room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    no ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the air conditioner and the internet do not work, but it was repaired in the daytime. The hotel is by the sea but has no access to the beach. the beach is private. The hotel offers to buy a place from the owner, Instead of purchasing a place yourself and sending it to your clientele. The price of a hotel room is large and the service of the beach must be inclusive.

    personal

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel in viareggio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful hotel, great position straight across from the beach. The staff were great, nothing too much trouble , really friendly and helpful , reception, restaurant, roof terrace etc. The hotel decor is very pleasant, rooms airy and spacious, large bathroom and extreemly comfy beds. We enjoyed a great breakfast every morning with lots of fresh fruit, fresh orange juice, pastries, breads and great coffee. Would definitely recommend the palace hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Really happy with this hotel and very helpful staff. Would stay again if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall really happy with the hotel, except no laundry bag or price list in room. I got a rather unpleasant surprise on receiving the laundry bill as a consequence.

    One of the best breakfast selections I've seen. All that I sampled was fresh & well presented. Good range of fresh fruit, all prepared and ready to eat. Whole fruit too if you wanted.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely traditional Italian hotel with traditional Italian service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to a busy road, which meant it was quite noisy, until around midnight. Perhaps better insulation required

    Great staff, nothing too much trouble. Hotel has a traditional Italian feel. Loved the roof top terrace. Room pretty comfortable apart from some road noise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    The hotel and Viareggio were both well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Air conditioning was not effective

    Breakfast was excellent. Bathroom was very good and the staff was excellent. The roof terrace and views were a real bonus

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Great Palace in Viareggio
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower in bathtub is never a good idea. It was hard to set the right temperature. Shower armature did not work.

    The staff was very helpfull and the location is perfect ! Great lounge at the top of the hotel. Will certainly come back !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Super comfy beds, with proper duvets and not sheets like...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was quite a bad smell of toilets/sewerage in my room. Perhaps a blocked drain.

    Super comfy beds, with proper duvets and not sheets like many others. Lovely rooftop bar for sunsets. Plentiful breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    I never give a maximum rating, but this place deserves it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Cleanliness: flawless. Bathroom: flawless. Breakfast: fabulous. Coffee: delicious. In how many ways can you prepare scrambled eggs? Try and find out! Every morning different, with one thing in common: delicious! And the pastries: exceptional!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    recommendable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    customer service. we had a problem with the lock of our room and Gian Carlo solved it immediately. Very professional and kind service. Carla was magnificent attending the breakfast (which is really good)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.8
    Don't visit during the February carnival.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we arrived during the Viareggio carnival it was actually impossible to get access to the hotel without major negotiations with security guards and then paying 20 euros to walk to the hotel entrance. We had to park the car 2 Kms away.

    The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was large.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.1
    Spacious room, nice newly renovated bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C didn't seem to be working very well, since our stay was in February and it felt like August

    Spacious room, nice newly renovated bathroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Memorable stay for Carnival!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel has got the minimum standards of a 4 star hotel, nothing less and nothing really more. The rooms were a bit small. The Deco restaurant in the hotel was not so good, doesn't value the money you pay. By the way, it has a separate management from the hotel.

    We were there for Viareggio Carnival. The place was excellent for this purpose, right in the zone. The staff were very helpful and polite. They were really supportive while you need them and the room was so clean, even the balcony. Breakfast was very good and the staff were ready for any need.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    very relaxing and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the apartment was very new there were a couple of things missing - a bin in the kitchen for instance. It will be great when the little things are ironed out.

    We were upgraded to an apartment so had a lounge and kitchen too at no extra cost. It was new and very clean and fresh. Also love the roof terrace!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful hotel, well situated and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel's bar facilities were a little scarce..

    The hotel is of a Victorian style with many pieces of furniture from the era still in use. Our room had been recently renovated, the bed was perfect, the bathroom was modern and it was very clean. The staff spoke good English and were very helpful with most questions. The hotel is situated perfectly in the centre of the promenade and we had a beautiful sea view room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.3
    Cleanness was perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanness was perfect. Breakfast was excellent. But the parking in front of Hotel was charged additionally. overall, it was great experience for staying one night in this hotel. Especially, in the winter season, if you are not a tourist for enjoying the beach, the hotel would be excellent value for cost.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    The Palace hotel was well placed, right on the beachfront with good access to restaurants, the train
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Smallish elevators made for a quaint and "intimate" ride but were a minor inconvenience.

    The breakfast buffet was varied and well provided. There was much to chose from to start the day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Really nice and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a bit overpriced

    Really nice and helpful staff. Nice location - in 2 min you reach a beach, supermarket. In 15 min train station. Great food and great breakfast. Atmosphere of an old old hotel. It is really old in reality, but really clean and well looked after

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable and stylish 1930's hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Helpful and charming staff, we were upgraded to a lovely room with sea view. The breakfasts were delicious with lovely fresh fruit salads and home made cakes. Great roof terrace with bar and sunbeds overlooking the sea

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Really enjoyed it highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent for the key tourist areas with guest access to the beach. The staff were very helpful. It isn't a modern hotel but has a charm which we liked and is reputably one of the best hotels in viareggio which we can believe also that it deserves it's 4 star rating which which many don't nowadays. The breakfasts were excellent as I believe the whole dining experience would be.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location good breakfast Staff where super
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    General areas could have been cleaner , we think it lacked supervision to ensure level and quality was consitant

    We had a dated room at first we where quickly change to a more refurbish ! Most Staff where very good and breakfast selection was vast and good quality

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    6.5
    - amazing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - room very small - old furnitures / old bathroom (looks like `80) - restaurant dish - found hair inside! - noisy

    - amazing breakfast - "just" on the beach - close to many restaurants

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    One of the nicer hotels in Viareggio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The original room had no separate shower, as they have not yet renovated all the bathrooms in the hotel. Please note there is no pool in the hotel. You can pay ~€25 a day for beach chairs and pool access.

    When we arrived we were not happy with our room, but the staff were extremely helpful and managed to shuffle some bookings around to give us a better one. Throughout our stay the staff went above and beyond what would normally be expected.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    Opposite the beach and access to lots of restaurants and bars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were really disappointed with the room. Not only was the bathroom extremely outdated there was mould in the bath/shower which wasnt easy to use without flooding the bathroom. We travelled with our grown up sons who shared a twin room which had been modernised but we were charged the same for our rooms.

    Were given toiletries and slippers. Roof terrace was lovely and lots of choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    Glamour by the sea, Italian resort style
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi, like everywhere in Italy it seems, is a little patchy. Some of the staff were really helpful and friendly, some were a little short - not rude, just not as helpful as others.

    There is a faded, old time glamour about the place. The sunset at the rooftop bar is pretty special, which is made more enjoyable with a cocktail. The spread at breakfast is amazing from fresh fruit to homemade cakes, it's got everything you could ever want.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    6.3
    A well- located hotel with helpful, friendly staff but the rooms need more attention to detail
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with beach access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    So .. the accommodation in this hotel seems to be very varied. We booked 4 rooms for 8 adults - 2 of the rooms were very poky with small bathrooms, one of these rooms had a view of a brick wall whilst the other over-looked a small courtyard (which was okish) and then buildings, the 3rd room was very spacious, with more modern fittings and had a sea view and a modern bathroom and the 4th had a street view and a modern bathroom. The furniture and fittings in our room were quite dated and well-worn and the carpets were worn and felt hard to walk on. The net curtain in our room had a blood mark ( or looked like blood on it) which was not pleasant to look at. We had a shower in the bathtub with a small glass door which was useless and we ended up with water all over the whole floor. The grouting in the bath was dis-coloured and ugly to look at. I would choose/discuss my room location more carefully if I stayed again. I think our room was over-priced. The large breakfast room is lit by over-head chandeliers ( huge, ornate and quite lovely) with all the windows hidden behind long net curtains - it feels devoid of atmosphere and quite institutional. It would be nice to allow some natural light in

    The staff were mostly helpful although a little more training by some in the roof top bar would help. The rooftop bar is a big plus for this hotel - it has great views and is spacious with a nice selection of seating arrangements to accomodate both small and large parties. The breakfast buffet is good with a nice selection of seasonal fruits, yoghurts, pastries,breads etc. and some hot food.The staff are very helpful The location is excellent for the beach and there are some good restaurants within walking distance. There is a safe in the room which is very useful and there is free wi-fi - which is great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel if you wanted the same in London it would cost a fortune
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault this hotel

    The hotel is a great piece of 1900 architecture.massive chandeliers in the dining room.nice roof terrace. Good modern rooms. Some on the 4th floor have massive balconies overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    3.8
    There are 'Cheaper, Friendlier and Better Hotels' next door.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However, the young man at reception. was Rude.. and that was the worst part of the stay. The young girl was reasonably helpful. He really looked down his nose, I think because it was a cheaper/late/single booking, for a single man. He was quite unhelpful regards any local/hotel information and any requests to know more about the local beach club arrangements, which incidentally I was almost forced to pay for, or asked not go. 'You cannot use the beach anywhere without paying this fee!' Not True - a strip of public beach is 5 mins walk - although small it would have been just as good, given the service provided. Even when I paid the 20 Euro fee to use the La PACA beach club, I was given an old blue towel by the hotel receptionist, 2 well used deck chairs under a shabby umbrella at the top end of the beach, I was deliberately put in an area grouped with other 'English Guests', Aaaaaarrgh! Why would anyone, especially a single travelling man - ever wish to be placed in the middle of noisy English children and their families. That's the reason I came to Italy.. to be in Italy!! with foreign people about, not the English, If I wanted to be surrounded with British families, I would have stayed in the UK. I certainly would NEVER chose to sit near families on a UK beach, unless I had family with me. If people are talking the same language and playing all day and you can understand every word, quibble or comment.. You DO NOT feel like your relaxing or being away from it all. Incidentally, the Italians had the pick of the seating nearer the shore, 'which is fine' - but I DO NOT expect to be stuffed at the back of the beach, at the side of the beach club, out of the way, away from the views and sea. Terrible, Terrible choice of Beach Club! Booooo La Paca!

    I booked a single room for Business after my flight was cancelled, I was given a small room near the 2nd floor Service stairs, (so I could clearly hear people walking up and down all eve, guests and staff ) The Bathroom was so crampt, my knees where 2-3 inches from the wall on WC. The shower leaked all over the tiled bathroom floor as the drainage was poor, and the floor strip wasn't sealed, fittings were clearly all well used. The Bed, was hard - to point of being un-comfortable. The Window had a heavy shutter blind on it that would not stay up. and over looked a fire escape and back alley of another building. Electric points meant unpluging a lamp/fridge to charge a phone. Wifi didn't reach the bedroom, very poor signal. AC machine was manual, so after coming back in in PM, the room was boiling hot, and when the AC was on.. It was so noisy (like and old factory/aircraft unit) there was no chance of any sleeping with it on. So it was hot and sticky, all eve, NOT GOOD. I incidentally overslept because I had such a terrible nights sleep. Breakfast was Ok, but nothing really to call 'quality food', far better food and service in 2 star hotel a few days before in Pisa. The cooked breakfast was exceptionally bland/bad.. stodgy cold beans, pale tepid frankfurters and stiff scrambled? egg. Cereal choice was basic, with added extra bits (nuts etc). Pastries, I can find better at a local supermarket. Asking for advice on where to eat, other than the hotel.. Set Menu I didn't even get a reply.. other than, 'Yes you can go out'. There are other places.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Fabulous breakfast laid out each day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was good - only comment we would have liked tea and coffee and kettle in the room!

    Fabulous breakfast laid out each day. Very attentive friendly staff in the restaurant. Lovely rooftop area with a bar and friendly staff there too. Fabulous views over the sea. We had to change rooms while there (not our fault) and 2nd room had a balcony which was really nice. Reception staff extremely helpful and friendly. Really enjoyed our stay here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    good hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    dinner gave impression of being kept warm for a long time, dissapointing and a big contrast to the breakfast

    great breakfast, drinks on the roof after work

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Couldn't be happier!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel just a few steps from the beach. Nice, clean and roomy. Friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful view from our balcony. Breakfast was awesome. We felt very comfortable in this hotel. Eduardo was super friendly and helpful. We needed help with another hotel booking and car rental and he spent hours helping us, all with a great smile on his face.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Great place for an expensive beach holiday. No culture otherwise. Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel was great. Italian beach resorts are a bit controlled - no public beach area, and having to pay €25 per day to use the private beach facilities - a bit much if all you want is a quick dip and to stroll along the beach front.

    Friendly helpful staff, who seemed happy to work there. Great location just 50m from beach area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Stay for the Breakfast!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with beach access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could've been a bit better

    The breakfast was amazing. I would've booked this hotel again just for the breakfast--there were vegan options, even a strudel, and for health conscious ppl there are whole wheat croissants and other stuff you've never seen in your life

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    Always a great choice in Viareggio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel could use a renovation, as is becoming a bit outdated, especially in the bathrooms.

    The hotel is very clean and comfortable, with a location right in front of the sea. The rooftop terace is a great bonus. Amazing breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    3.8
    Poor conditions for a high price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with beach access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms, the staff.

    The photos have nothing to do with what you find there.... an old, dusty hotel... maybe it had 4 stars when it was opened 50 years ago...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    Excellently run and good value hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The beach provision connected to the hotel let the hotel down and there were clearly more modern and better provisions very close. There were only a small number of people on half board and so deserts uneaten one night tended to appear again meaning that there was little variety. The wine list was very small.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was generally very good. The room was comfortable and quiet. It was in a great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.5
    fantastic breakfast every day, very friendly waiting staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Having to pay €30 per day for the use of 2 loungers and a parasol is a bit expensive

    fantastic breakfast every day, very friendly waiting staff. Housekeeping very friendly and helpful. Roof terrace beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Great location informative staff that was very friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location informative staff that was very friendly! Renos going on but didn't bother us and room and washroom good size. Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.9
    Staff were friendly, room was a decent size, lovely view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a lot of facilities in the room and no welcome pack.

    Staff were friendly, room was a decent size, lovely view of the sea, located right on the beach, near restaurants and cafes

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice 4 star hotel in Viareggio
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been great to have a swimming pool there and maybe a little more choice at breakfast.

    The property was in a great location opposite the beach with lots of restaurants to choose from. The staff were really friendly and helpful and we loved sitting on the roof top for drinks in the evenings.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Very relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not told when booking the reservation that the pool was not open until June.

    The view was great! The staff were attentive. Overall stay was wonderful!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    3.8
    Not worth the money...go elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was out dated NOT a 4 Star hotel...at best a 2 star Hotel in general Needs an update for sure... We would not stay there again and would NOT recommend it to anyone. Especially for the price we paid

    Breakfast Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    An amazing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Everything provided was great but personally I like a cup of tea first thing or sometimes at other times so a kettle etc in the room would be the only improvement for myself.

    The two main receptionist were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was amazing so much choice. All staff were lovely. The terrace bar was a great meeting place and had spectacular views. Rooms and corridors beautiful. The area near the hotel had lots of restaurants, cafes, bars and the food was amazing. The whole area was very clean and beaches ideal. As you can tell we loved are holiday all aspects I would definitely go to that area and hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful, warm place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't anything I didn't like about the hotel.

    The staff were all wonderful - friendly and helpful, offering advice on things to do, restaurants to visit, helping with arranging transport. Even before I arrived,they were very helpful - I'd accidentally booked to arrive and leave a day earlier than I needed - I couldn't work out how to change the booking on Booking.com, but phoned the hotel directly and they immediately changed my booking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Truly amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything- staff very friendly, and helpful. Hotel was truly Italian, loved the interior. The location is amazing- on the promenade in viareggio, overlooking the versilian coastline. The rooftop terrace was a great surprise. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    Lovely room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was there off season so the restaurant wasn't open at night, nor the pool (too cold to swim)

    I had booked a single room but I was given a double room. It was beautiful, with a balcony, a very comfortable bed and pillows and an amazing shower. The place was very clean and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was a huge choice if buffet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is just like Viareggio, it has a jaded charm but was actually really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's appearance was a little jaded.

    We liked the comfort of the bed (best nights sleep in MANY years) and the friendliness of the staff, plus the beautiful terraces (our bedroom terrace and the bar terrace). The breakfast was also excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The charming and helpful staff, they were especially helpful when I had to change my travel plans due the an Italian national strike day which resulted in changed flight times. The antipasti buffet for the evening meal was magnificant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.5
    The location was great;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was only a tub. That may be great for some, but we prefer a shower.

    The location was great; right across from the boardwalk and beach. The hotel was lovely. It definitely felt as though you were staying in an old Palace. We went at the end of September, so it was pretty quiet. The bar was open though and we were able to purchase a bottle of wine for our room at a very reasonable price. I found the breakfasts to be quite good, with a lot of variety.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.5
    This hotel could be considered like a good choice for all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    This hotel could be considered like a good choice for all visitors of Viareggio as it is located on the Promenade and just a few steps from the beach. The building itself is really nice with roof terrace allows to watch beautiful sunsets. Hotel lobby is tastefully furnished, classical music is on (the same is during the breakfast time in the breakfast room) so think about relaxing for some minutes before you leave hotel for dinner. The room is big with high ceilings and enough light, moreover we were lucky to have the balcony in our room. Bed is enough comfortable with quality bed linen, the bathroom is big even though the small minor point is the fan which switches on together with light and rather noisy. Cleaning service is fine but could be improved a bit as the floor cleaning was not so accurate. Wi-fi connection all over the hotel is stable and free of charge but please take note that you would have to switch from one network to another depending on the floor you are located nevertheless it is not a big deal. Breakfast is good, with fresh fruits, goods variety of cheeses, hot dishes and friendly staff offering a good coffee at request. Palace hotel got agreement with La Pace beach that is just few meters away. Take not that you can receive beach towels from the reception. The price for one sun umbrella and two chairs is 20 EUR/day, if you want to have sunbeds then you would have to pay extra. Parking is 5 EUR/day and you get the special paper from the reception which should be placed in the car while it is parked. Put attention to road signs indicating the day of streets cleaning to re-park the car. Staff is friendly and welcoming. I can recommend this hotel for everyone visiting Viareggio.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is well located along the main road in Viareggio overlooking the beach. There is a good amount of parking in the area which you can pay for at the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    We couldn't ask for more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like

    Everything. especially the cocktails and sunset on the roof terrace. The staff made us feel at home and was very helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    10
    A breath of fresh air with staff that the owners should be very proud of
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A stonger power for the hairdryer in the bathroom

    Friendly staff nade us feel very welcome and would definitely recommend to others. A lovely traditional hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    6.7
    Okay...but just for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was on the main strip of the town and was in my opinion 'just okay'. There was an affiliation with the beach across the street but you had to pay to use the beach. The staff was not very attentive when it came to answering questions that we had and seemed to be concerned with other things that were happening. The Mediterranean seemed dirty at this location - not appealing to swim in.

    The hotel and the room were nice and as expected in the pictures. The breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    10
    Just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike about this hotel!

    Beautiful hotel, loved the room terrace and the roof terrace. The room had all the facilities we wanted and the bathroom was spacious. Bed linen was the most comfortable we've slept in. The reception was so friendly and welcoming. Fantastic stay!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    8.3
    Great staff and lovely roof top terrace bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are a little dated but a this is a small issue.

    Lovely hotel, friendly and helpful staff and excellent location with beautiful views from roof top bar. I'd go again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Amazing hotel great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, Everything was great!

    Excellent location, excellent service and the best rooftop bar around!! Beautiful rooms, views and great breakfast options! Would definitely stay here again!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    6.7
    The breakfast was amazing so much choice and there were a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The deal they have with the beach group makes no sense and limited: suggest this is changed.

    The breakfast was amazing so much choice and there were a couple of serving girls who would do anything for you there.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    8.3
    Excellent location, breakfast, home base for C.T.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet is excellent! It has european style meats and breads as well as a large, American style buffet. Very extensive - there is no way to leave from breakfadt wishing you had mote to choose from.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.8
    Relaxing and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for the beach was a little in the expensive side - was there for 3 days and was more than I had planned to pay!

    The location was excellent, I have stayed here before and knew what to expect. The staff is outstanding - including the wait staff in the restaurant. The breakfast (included) was outstanding - fresh fruit and good selection of breakfast foods. The roof top terrace/ bar is the best to watch the sun go down over the ocean. Just relax and enjoy the beauty of Viareggio!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.2
    Another pleasant visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think cost of beach access now bit much. The beach next door is cheaper and nicer than the hotel connected establishment.

    Great location and helpful staff, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable Friendly Hotel in Sunny Tuscany, what more could you want.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights

    were not sure that beach facilities were well explained, getting towels etc from reception and how to book beach beds.

    Loved the Breakfast and helpful waitresses. Staff at reception were helpful with train time tables and printing boarding passes etc. Enjoyed the roof terrace for an evening drink.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.2
    The people running this place are exceptionally good at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The people running this place are exceptionally good at their job, friendly, knowledgeable, helpful. Each and every one did his/her best to make our stay unforgettable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    10
    Wonderful hotel and great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Its always a joy to get maximum service without asking twice :) Staff really makes an effort to give everything you want. Real Italian style dinner, very nice experience. Every morning looking forward to join breakfast. Great location, beautiful view over boulevard, loved everything about the hotel. The hotel gave a free live concert with professional opera singers.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel, fabulous selection at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hotel, fabulous selection at breakfast. Staff were all very friendly nothing was to much bother. The roof terrace and bar is a wonderful addition. Great location, would have no hesitation on booking again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Internet connection was bad in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection was bad in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    It was a most enjoyable and I would have no hesitation I recommending the property to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    The Staff were personable and extremely helpful in response to various requests.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Clean comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was great but didn't really like Viareggio.

    Clean comfortable room. Rooftop terrace was great with friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    A pleasant relaxing day by the sea in a lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel in a great location. Food and service excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - less comfortable parking

    +excellent breakfast +very friendly staff +beautiful furniture in lobby +amazing terrasse to enjoy your drink

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Renovated bathroom, very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old bedroom, no normal table in the room, no balcony

    Renovated bathroom, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: