Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Palazzo Abadessa 4 stars

Cannaregio - Calle Priuli 4011, Cannaregio, 30131 Venice, Italy

#14 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 563 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, we very much enjoyed our stay here, the staff were warm and welcoming, and gladly helped and advised with tips on exploring the city. I particularly wanted to stay in a hotel that reflected the beauty of Venice, a hotel that was close to the main sights of Venice, and yet was quiet and away from the crowds. Palazzo Abedessa was the perfect choice!!! It is seeped in history, a real travel back to a decadent time. A calming base within the hassle and bustle of Venice. Our room was wonderful, fabulously decorated and so airy and comfortable. I’d highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really feels like staying as a guest at someone’s Palazzo. The decor feels authentic and well preserved. The breakfast in the hotel’s enclosed patio-garden was a great way to start the day. The staff provided great service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning wasn’t as strong as I would prefer when the temperatures get hot and humid. The one in our room needed about 50% more power to really cool the room. It wasn’t a deterrent but we didn’t sleep as well as we could have.

    The location is amazing! Off the tourist track in a great part of the city to really experience Venice. The staff and the amenities made it a very comfortable stay. Plenty of good advice and little extras!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful experience and such a helpful staff. They helped us with finding our destinations and even printed out our boarding passes for our flight back home. Quite and centered in the middle of everything we wanted to do. Beautiful courtyard and rooms were comfortable and styled like mid evil times. Breakfast was excellent with wonderful pastries which I loved. If I ever go back to Venice, I will definitely stay here again. Thank you Abadessa; ❤️❤️❤️

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was incredible and the staff excellent. They go out of their way to make your stay excellent. The rooms are full of character and class. Each room is authentic and has a special charm. It's right on one of the cannels so easy for a water taxi. Very beautiful garden perfect for a nice picnic in late afternoon! Some wine and tapas from market. This little gem is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid 425 euros for the room, which had a low ceiling and not that big. Basically I liked the stay but it was overpriced. I could have had even more luxury rooms for same price elsewhere in Venice.

    The garden in the middle of the city is a real peace haven.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was small and the bedroom #12 didn’t have a nice view.

    The garden was wonderful. Perfect spot for breakfast or afternoon tea. Our bedroom had lots of mirrors. Bathroom was brightly lit. Nice soaps and lotion. Welcome prosecco was enjoyable. Loved the location, it was a real neighborhood.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I did expect the suite for 4 to be a bit bigger and it only had one bathroom. For a family not a big issue, of course. There are very few sockets. We had to be inventive with the phone's charges and computers.

    Friendly staff with good English. A quiet place. They even have a small garden. 4 o'clock tea is a nice touch. Speed boat from the airport was easy to arrange and convinient and took 20 minutes to the hotel's door (120 euro for the 4 of us, but Venice is not cheap) - I do recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good quiet location away from the very busy area but easy to reach main square. Close to a vaporetto stop. Has a pleasant garden for warm evenings. Good bathroom with underfloor heating. Great for out of season. Excellent continental breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Range of food on offer for breakfast is limited. There's enough choice to get by but don't expect a "Full English"

    Very friendly staff - couldn't have been more helpful. Hotel has lots of character and rooms are quite individual. Excellent location close to central Venice to be convenient but just far enough away to escape the hustle & bustle.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet and shower could have been more fancy to match the rest of the property. Overall, probably the nicest hotel I've stayed at.

    Beautiful hotel and garden. Very pleasant staff. Complimentary afternoon tea. Intimate hotel. We got an excellent last minute rate, and were delighted. Very nice breakfast. Felt like royalty. Did not want to leave. The area is quiet and quaint and near everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Small Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were made to feel so welcome from the minute we arrived and throughout our stay. The staff were so helpful and friendly. A very special place in a beautiful city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is situated just off the main beat and track but completely encapsulates Venice. The room was fantastic and with a canal right outside the window you didn't have to guess what city you were staying in. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and tea at 1600 every day was a delight.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little bit basic and not very comfortable. The choice at breakfast is relatively limited.

    Beautiful building, excellent service, great location, good value

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Small Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our only small point of criticism is that the walls between the rooms are a bit "thin“, but that did not bother us too much.

    We enjoyed our stay in Palazzo Abadessa and can recommend it without thinking. The staff was very friendly and spoke English well. Even after our check-out in the morning it was no problem to leave our luggage in the hotel until the evening, so we could enjoy our last day in Venice without our luggage. The hotel is centrally located, you can reach the Markus Square, the shopping streets as Strada Nova and the train station on foot. The breakfast was good, only the buns could have been maybe a bit larger. ;-) Between 16–18 o’clock the hotel offers a tea time for free. We were also satisfied with our room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was great ... the location was alittle out of the way (we walked to the hotel from the train station) but it did make for an amazing chance to discover Venice and all of it's charms ... Breakfast and service in general was amazing ... I'd stay there again :-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was a bit small (they vary apparently) and the narrow bath would have been awkward to negotiate for anyone with limited mobility.

    Excellent location, beautiful building including possibly the most gorgeous dining room we've ever eaten in, serving a fabulous breakfast, and a huge room (15). The staff could not have been more polite or helpful. The bottle of Prosecco on arrival was a welcome treat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice Venetian style decoration, nice little garden inside, great location close to the Main Street near the station ca d’oro in the south and to the ship stop fundmente nove in the north.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    The room was well equipped and comfortable, the ensuite shower room was well-sized. The staff were excellent, very attentive. The breakfast was continental style and there was plenty of choice. There was a bonus of afternoon tea with Vivaldi playing in the background. If we visit Venice again, we will definitely book this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Amazing hotel and amazing stuff!! My husband went out for a smoke and didn’t have a lighter, so he borrowed one from the receptionist. The next day, a lighter was put on the bedside table! Rooms are big and extremely clean, and the decoration is just fascinating. Fabulous breakfast, and charming garden!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't say enough wonderful things about the hotel, and would be remiss if we didn't give a special shout-out to Luca at the front desk, who treated us so well, made us feel truly at home, and gave us some genuine local insider knowledge that helped make our engagement trip. The hotel is a gorgeously well-kept converted palazzo, and they've done a marvellous job of retaining the old-world charm whilst updating it with sensible, practical, yet sympathetic and organic upgrades. Perfect location where it's not too touristy, so very quiet and relaxing, but an easy walk to everywhere you'd want to see. As wonderful a hotel experience as we've had anywhere. And special thanks, again, to Luca!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Marvelous hotel, we stayed in the junior suite which was absolutely fantastic. The room was like travelling back in time, very spacious, with antique furniture, crystal chandeliers and a huge bathroom. All the property has been lovingly restored. The breakfast was amazing and the staff are all kind and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We would have liked hot drink making facilities in our room. I am not sure there is air con in the rooms for the Summer, but as we were there in December we found the hotel comfortably warm.

    As our flight was late we did not arrive till after midnight, but the night manager was very welcoming and showed us to our room and a complimentary bottle of chilled Prosecco. The breakfast provided was excellent. The hotel provides complimentary afternoon tea, and an early evening aperitif. Our first taste of a Bellini cocktail. Luca, a day manager, was very helpful, advising us on travelling around Venice using a 3 day tourist pass on the water buses, and about visiting various events. I am sure that in the seasons when it is warm enough to sit outdoors, the garden will be like a delightfully peaceful oasis, away from the bustle and streets of Venice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff -- Luca and Darwin -- were INCREDIBLE! The rooms are spacious and lovely. Saturday night "happy hour" on the main floor give guests an opportunity to chat with others and the staff about the area, the history of the hotel, and Venice in general. The daily breakfast is expansive and filling. The service is fastidious, no matter the request. The beautiful garden is a great place to put your feet up after a long day of traversing the island. Run, don't walk to this Palazzo for a vacation stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible building - a piece of art of its own. Staff was warm and welcoming, breakfast was incredible with top notch coffee. Location pretty much in the heart of Venice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wonderfully unobtrusive staff but no shortage of information if requested. Afternoon tea in the lovely courtyard garden was much appreciated after a day walking round Venice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was a bit warm at times but was not uncomfortably so.

    The hotel was a fabulous place to stay and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. We will never forget the breakfasts in the private garden in the morning. If we return to Venice we would certainly be hoping to stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like

    Breakfast were just how I like, staff ultra helpful and friendly, a very relaxed environment in a truly beautiful location, Venice is very, very busy on the main canals but this is just a short walk away and is so quiet and peaceful in the garden where you can eat breakfast or lunch

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Abadessa is a wonderful choice in Venice. The palazzo is beautiful, as is its private backyard garden area. The palazzo is in a quiet location, but has easy access to one of the main walkways of the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Small Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs renewal, paintjob & floor in the room is not even.

    The decorations, and a character makes you feel you really are in Venice. The Staff is very Very, very) helpfull, also in guidence to attractions in town. You receive a map of Venice with hotel marked on it. You can have a water taxi or gondola right from the hotel to anywhere - including airport or trainstation. Within a short walk you can reach all the main attractions as well as water tram and main walkpath.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is probably the most amazing place to stay in Venice. The hotel is 500 years old and passed on through generations. The staff is amazing and especially Michel made us feel super welcome. The rooms are super beautiful and the garden is just wonderful. You'll have the best time here (feels like a journey back in time) and it is located really central with one of the best gelato places in Venice 2 min away (Ca D'Oro). San Marco is 20 min walk away and the street Fondamenta de la Misericordia is 5 min walk away and has so many cute and delicious restaurants (up and coming area). We really enjoyed our stay at Abadessa and we would highly recommend this wonderful hotel to anyone coming to Venice who is looking for an extraordinary experience :0)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a little tucked away and down very narrow street, first impression therefore not too positive but it grows on you once you arrive.

    Breakfast buffet was excellent, good quality and variety, very well prepared and presented. Garden was a haven of peace and quiet in a busy city. Afternoon tea was a nice touch. Rooms were enormous and retained all of the original character of the building. A very original and unique experience. Friendly and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was unbearably hot !!! we arrived and it was very warm in the room- we were told that the AC was just turned on so we went out to lunch and walked around Venice for a few hours in the hopes that it would improve. Unfortunately, we returned to a boiler room that persisted until we left in the morning. We had the maintenance look at it to no avail and even requested another room - we were told no other rooms were available even though we looked online and saw that there were. it was extremely uncomfortable- sweating all night, unable to sleep. I reported our misery once again in the morning- expecting a discount for such a horrible experience in what we expected would be an amazing stay- instead of a discount, however, we got a bill for extra $$ in the form of a local tax. miserable- don't stay here in the summer- don't stay in room 12 !! I never give bad reviews for anything but if this saves someone else from the misery we experienced then it was worth it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi didn't really work well, but we didn't mention anything to the staff...so we didn't really give them the chance to fix it. There weren't really many facilities other than breakfast included. I don't think many of the hotels around Venice have things like pools or spas though.

    The breakfast garden is gorgeous and the rooms were large. The breakfast was also quite good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel with a lovely courtyard. professional and helpful service. Good location. the ceiling of our room is too low. We regretted that we hadn't choose the upgraded room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dusty, musty and not great value for money. Suite was small & bathroom was neither traditional nor modern, just dated

    Traditional opulent interiors

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Average room. Not much between you and the room above. Heard every step. Very annoying No bacon in the buffet breakfast.

    Very good staff and great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    This is a true Hotel treasure in Venice! We've been told that it is 500 years old. The Hotel looks like a museum where you're allowed to stay and sleep. The location is wonderful you can get there by boat from the train station (about 10 minutes), also the Hotel is 10 minutes walk from the famous bridge. Besides it is one of the best parts of Venice with good selection of restaurants and shops. The stuff is extremely helpful. We've got a very pleasant compliment from the Hotel for our anniversary. You can have your tasty breakfast in a small and very nice garden! And this is one of the best ways to start your day in Venice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked tea and coffee available in the room along with chilled water. The staff could of explained the fascillities better for eg. could we make our own tea and coffee in the breakfast room, could we have an antipasta platter and wine in the garden. When we did order tea it was badly presented. I think the staff just need to be fine tuned and make the most of the beautiful areas available. We will definately be back as overall it was stunning

    The room was a great size, excellent bathroom, art work and sculptures beautiful. We had to leave early so didn't get to use the breakfast room but it looked great and the outside area was very serene

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    Superb period property, tucked away but not hard to find. Large well maintained walled garden is a delight to sit in for breakfast and afternoon tea (which is an added bonus).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proper twin beds rather than 'put you ups' would have been nice for the extra adults. Softer pillows. But I'm being really picky as this didn't detract from a thoroughly wonderful all round experience. We will definitely return and wouldn't stay anywhere else!

    friendlliest service and couldn't.be more helpful. Prosecco in room was a lovely touch !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a decent size but we had a combined bathtub and shower and the entrance into the combined tub/shower was quite high and so it was a little tricky stepping in and out of the shower, especially when wet.

    The room was a good size for a family of 4 and it was quiet. The staff was extremely helpful while we were there as well as prior to us checking in. The hotel staff assisted us in making dinner reservations before we arrived in Venice and arranged for a luggage porter to assist us when we departed. The breakfast had a nice variety of items, including several types of fresh fruit. The garden area was delightful for breakfast and afternoon breaks. We highly recommend Palazzo Abadessa.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was magnificent, nothing was too much trouble for the front of house staff and the complementary bottle of prosecco on arrival was a lovely gesture which really did make our visit special.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid 510 through booking and found rooms starting at 122 in the same hotel once in Venice. Don't know who to blame: booking or hotel, but someone keeping good cash! Oh well... needed a place to crash on the day after our cruise, and it was simply perfect!

    Loved location, the facilities, the warm welcoming and atentive staff. Excellent ratings. Neighborhood is very easy to manage and accessible to P de San Marcos (14 min walk). Airport reached by water taxi in 15 min at 4:30 AM.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful location. We arrived by water taxi which was a great way to start the trip. Loved this location which was on the canal but on one of the side areas so although very close and walkable to wherever you wanted to go, it was very tranquil. The rooms were large and comfortable. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Also loved the courtyard area for breakfast and cocktails. A great place to relax. This hotel is a great choice in Venice !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Small Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the wait staff staff at breakfast.

    Excellent customer service. The wait staff could be a bit quicker during the breakfast period. They seemed to be delayed in waiting on customers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two twin beds in our loft room were less comfortable but ok for teens. And, really was all the space allowed for.

    The rooms were luxurious. The garden was beautiful. Breakfast was a good selection and much appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was tiny, barely bigger than our bed. It was above the breakfast area, which woke us every day. We could also hear people using the bathroom above us a lot.

    The artwork was beautiful, staff was nice, garden was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we reserved loft suit and we had to go upstair to use bathroom. it was not as good as 4 star hotel. we were in hotel on sunday and when asked about the tour for venice the receptionist told us because if holiday no tour is available.but when we went to train station we found many sight seeing tour.

    the best thing of hotel was its garden with beautiful flowers and breakfast was served in it .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Beautiful building. Outstanding staff. Professional, courteous, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely garden to relax over breakfast and/or afternoon tea at the end of a busy day. A true oasis.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our only issue was that we had a room with a tub and a shower, and it was a very high step into the tub and a bit of a tight squeeze to take a shower. But the water pressure and temperature were excellent.

    We were greeted with kindness, efficiency and a bottle of Prosecco! Our room was charming, decorated with rich fabrics and chandelier sconces. And it was spacious. We had a king bed, plus an overstuffed chair that turned into a bed for our twentysomething son, who was with us for two of the four nights. The air conditioning was wonderfully cool, which was important after a long, hot day of roaming the streets of Venice. The staff closed the shutters at night (along with the glass windows and curtains), making a nice, dark sleeping experience. Beyond that, the hotel garden is so peaceful and pretty — a wonderful spot for enjoying the generous, delicious breakfast spread, which includes hard-boiled eggs, meats, cheese, melt-in-your-mouth pastries, juices and more. The location of the hotel is good. You can be part of the crowds fairly easily, but away from them when you return. We were able to take a water bus from the airport to the hotel (15 Euros a person). And then we a five-minute walk up and down bridges, which is not easy if you have a lot of luggage. But we made it. When we left, we took a water taxi to the airport (120 Euros flat fee), as we had even more luggage. It was expensive, but well worth it. All staffers at the hotel are so helpful - particularly Darwin and Michael. This was truly a highlight of our trip to Italy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little small but beautifully appointed

    The hotel was beautiful, the gardens were stunning, the location was great, breakfast was very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our family room was one of only two family rooms and whilst wholly in-keeping with the property was very dark, a little musty and lacking a full-length mirror (Other family room looks lighter and better from web site). On a minor point, you have to re-authenticate with the wifi every time you use it which is tiresome. Room standard probably not 4 star.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, great garden and courtyard, pleasant continental breakfast and very handy location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were very accommodating. The room was perfect and the bottle of wine in our room was a great plus. Would stay again and recommend,to anyone traveling in that area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Very central with a lot of restaurants and shops near by. Easy walking to most of the city's main attractions or public boat stop near by.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be difficult to find initially as it's a little off the Main Street in Cannareggio The room temperature was difficult to regulate as the air conditioning didn't work effectively. We left the windows open however then had to contend with noise created by people trailing their suit cases over the bridge and along the cobbles to the airport bus ( water bus).

    Excellent staff Super clean Nice breakfast choices Lovely ambience

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent and very friendly. The hotel summed up venice for us. Historic, beautiful and full of character. Hotel is in an excellent location and within walking distance from everything. Would recommend getting the water taxi from the airport. Expensive but worth it. The hotel was very clean and felt very safe. We didnt have breakfast but im sure it would have been lovely. We were given a complementary bottle of prosseco on arrival which was a nice touch. We didn't try out any of the facilities and im not sure if there was any but you dont need them when you are in venice! The city offers everything! Thanks again for a trip we will never forget. Jack and clare

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delightful oasis of peace and tranquility in restored historic house with beautiful garden, yet only minutes from the busy walkways of Venice, close to public ferry stop. Has it's own Water Door, so we able to catch Water taxi from from of the Hotel for delightful trip straight to the railway station on the canals.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I have to say something it would be a bigger bathroom.fantastic

    The location was fantastic, a beautiful building in typical Venetian style, the staff were really lovely & genuine and couldn't do enough for you and breakfast was plentiful as we only like continental and had a fantastic selection of fresh fruit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful

    Hotel & Room was fabulous, staff friendly and very accommodating.Loved the added touch of the complimentary bottle of Prosecco. Will definitely return one day as Venice is beautiful as are the people

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Small Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hard to find when we arrived at venice.

    rooms were very quirky and not corporate.lovely chocolate croissants(warm).rooms very quiet till people start getting up.a pleasure.staff excellant.luxury.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was incredible! The room, the staff, the buffet breakfast.. I can't think of any complaints. Loved the room decor. The location was really nice as well - away from the busier streets but only a short walk to the bustling places. It took us maybe 20 minutes to walk to it from the train station. The garden was very beautiful, and would be gorgeous to sit out in the warmer weather! I loved the tea time (4-6pm), really great to come and relax with a hot drink and a croissant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was slightly harder than what we're used to and the room was quite warm with no air conditioning. The wifi wasn't the strongest in certain areas of the room, but works well in the breakfast area/reception.

    The room and whole hotel was so classy and Venetian, it's definitely a hotel with character! The breakfast was delicious and in such nice surroundings. The hotel is in a perfect location - quiet enough at night but only a 10/15 minute walk from all the big attractions - Rialto Bridge and St Mark's Square. Also literally a 2 minute walk from a nice lively street with lots of amazing restaurants to choose from. Nice bonus that there was a "help yourself to tea" between 2pm and 4pm in the hotel, ideal after a long day of being a tourist! As a nice welcome touch there were flowers, sweets and a bottle of Prosecco in our room when we checked in - very nice surprise.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    The ambiance was old style Venetian. Very elegant, yet very comfortable. We were there 8 days and loved every minute. And there were lots of good restaurants close by.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was nothing that we didn't like

    The hotel was well heated, the bed comfortable and staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was varied and well presented. We love this hotel and intend to stay again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Even with the heating turned off, it was too warm in our room, in December.

    The hotel building has many interesting features of a Palazzo. Unusual for Venice, it also has a garden, which would be a bonus in summer. Nice to have breakfast accompanied by Vivaldi etc. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our room was breath taking! It was amazingly beautiful! Our concierge was superb. He made many wonderful reservations. Breakfast was also fantastic. If we go back to Venice this will be our hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Real "Old World" feel; friendly staff. Location is just steps off the Strada Nova, near the Rialto Bridge, and just over a five-minute walk to St. Mark's Square. The entrance is notable for the lovely garden (we also had a view of the garden from our room). The breakfast is also quite good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. My friend and I stayed here for one night and wish that we'd stayed for longer! Absolutely beautiful hotel, room was stunning. An amazing breakfast was included in price! Highly highly recommend!!!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    n/a

    I loved our stay. Very friendly staff. Excellent and helpful. They helped store our bags for us when we checked in and when we checked out. We were also provided us with complementary amenities and a room upgrade. The breakfast was excellent. The room was clean and spacious. Would love to come back.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was two twins pushed together.

    Staff were incredibly friendly, great service, very welcoming. Location was fantastic tucked away down a quiet street but less than 30 seconds walk from the hustle and bustle. Hotel itself was beautifully Venetian and has its own entrance if arriving by water taxi which makes your arrival in Venice that extra bit special

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was beautiful,location perfect and breakfast was great too. Garden was stunning and very rare to see in venice. Cannot wait to return next year.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (number 16) has a view of the garden but very low ceilings and is very visible from the garden so you would probably want to keep the curtains closed anyway if there were people outside or coming and going. Still a lovely room though. We asked for a double bed but ours was two singles pushed together.

    What can we say? We absolutely loved this hotel. A beautiful building, beautifully furnished, in a quiet area very close to everything and with lots of great restaurants close by. The staff were lovely, the breakfast was great, the beds were comfortable. Atmosphere very relaxed and friendly. All in all a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit cramped in places including the shower and both my husband and I are not more than 5'6.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and looked very professional, there was a great selection of drinks available in the mini bar, the room was spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Absolutely stunning 16th century palace, full of character and charm. The staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble. Great location, close enough to the sights but in a quiet back street. I would definitely recommend it and will be returning soon. Slightly more expensive than the majority of other accommodation but worth every penny. Great breakfast included too.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Palazzo Abadessa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: