Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of B&B Palazzo Al Torrione 2

Via Berignano, 80, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy

#20 of 36 B&Bs and Inns in San Gimignano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 112 B&B reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is fantastic and the owner is wonderful! You're right on the wall overlooking the Tuscan hillside and just inside the gate. Great value!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps could be challenging but not a problem at all for us.

    Great location! Nice firm bed,high ceilings, shutters on windows so nice and dark at night. Quiet street. Large shower,great water pressure! Towel warmer was a plus. Nice Tuscan decor.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast room is a bit small.

    The location is great: right in the center and not too far from the public parking outside the pedestrian area. The room was clean and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing you could do better but one has to consider that the patio is above a busy street so there is some street noise by design.

    Excellent location, beautiful room and good bed. Patio overlooking the countryside is a big plus as well.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a double room and a suite for a group of 4 independent travellers. We were given a double twin room and a room with 3 single beds. On querying this we were told it was a suite though it was clearly missing the queen size bed and the sofa bed and the spa bath outlined in the description of the room I had booked. I then queried the price as this room was inferior to the suite I had booked and was told all rooms were the same price. We did enjoy our stay though disappointing not to get what I had booked and paid for.

    Excellent location, easy to find and good staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the place is located inside the city walls it can't be accessed by car (unless you have a resident's authorization). So we had to park the car on the closest carpark (P2), about 300 m walking distance between car and hotel. That's absolutely acceptable with rather light luggage. But the car park is quite expensive, especially during day time (we paid more than EUR 30,- for about 24 hours parking). A cheaper car park is located about 800 m distance and requires a walk uphill to the city. However, because of this (no cars inside the walls) the city is so nice and spectacular. Therefore, this is not really a disadvantage.

    Beautiful historic stone bulding inside the walls of San Gimignano. The room (we got "upgraded" to a suite) was spacy and the apparently traditional room decoration - obviously nicely renovated some time ago - gave a very romantic and idyllic feeling in this gorgeous place. The large bathroom with jakuzi type bath tub and a large separate shower cabin a few stairs down from the main room was also beautiful. The very friendly and helpful hostess/owner contributed a lot to the "feel-good" atmosphere. We had booked the room without breakfast because we wanted to explore the cafes and bakeries of San Gimignano. Lots of nice places within maximum 5 minutes walk to get good coffee and breakfast. We will come here again!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) the door was locked, when we arrived around 5:30pm, and after calling, we had to wait around 15mins for the guy to come for checking us in 2) i've booked two rooms, one is the suite with one bedroom & one sofa, the other should be a double room with two bedrooms, while the guy gave us a suite and a double room with only one bedroom with twim beds. I asked him to change, since it's a business trip, and my colleague & i wanna have seperate bedrooms. The guy was very impatient & rude, and he said really poor english. Finally we had to accept it, cause all the other rooms were occupied. it was really the worst experience i ever had in booking.com !!!

    nothing !!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we would change.

    An outstanding view across the Tuscan hills from a beautiful terrace. The room was large, immaculately clean and tastefully decorated. Bathroom felt luxurious. Staff helpful and friendly. The location was incredible (right off the Main Street but still peaceful). A truly magical place!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had the rooms with the terrace, which had a fabulous view of the countryside. The rooms were nicely decorated and the beds were comfortable. There's a great mini-bar with reasonably priced drinks (1 euro for a bottle of water, which is the same price you'd pay in town). The 7e breakfast included fresh pastries/bread, cured meat, melon, bruschetta, fresh coffee - more than enough food to fill you up. In fact, the days that we had breakfast, we didn't need lunch. It's excellent value! The owner comes off as a bit crusty at first, but by the end of your stay she treats you like family. We loved our stay here and would highly recommend it!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy in the street

    Very good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like the window with excellent view. And the room is so warm in such a cold humid weather.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a a little difficult finding it with the car, but once there was fine

    Right in the heart of the city

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we had to leave

    wow. we had such a lovely time. the service is top notch and you're made feel truly welcomed. the breakfast was SO GOOD!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient location. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and spacious room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location. Vienna was very accommodating and gave some good recommendations and discounts. Room was tastefully decorated and well stocked. Nice view

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    One of my pet peeves is B+B`s that want to charge you extra for breakfast. This already was the most expensive room of the 10 cities I stayed in Tuscany, Umbria, and Rome, I skipped breakfast.

    I was in room #1, which had a fantastic view of the rolling hills, and valley, rooms 2&3 would also have the same view. Rooms are very rustic, very quiet, nice place.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice room and bathroom, both of comfortable size, with fridge and window to quiet road. Very good location close to bus stop and historic city center. Very nice hosts and good breakfast (Italian style + bread, ham, cheese)

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lovely place to stay inside the old town center of San Gimignano. The room is clean, quiet and decorated with taste and attention. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely quaint room with great view. Clean, comfortable and well located. The owner/manager was fantastic. She spent about 20 minutes helping us sort out our mobile phone service and provided great advice on local travel. We would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, lovely staff. Varna was fantastic at helping us get our car and luggage sorted as hotel is in traffic limited zone, right in centre of SG . We had a room with terrace - just lovely. Aircon was good .Shared kitchen facilities, lounge available to use - very handy. Great choice for SG

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Arrival - there was nobody on site, but this is to do with the layout, we later found out. It would be good to state this beforehand.

    Location is within the walled city. Excellent. Very clean and good bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Frankly, nothing!

    The room had a terrace that overlooked a dreamy Tuscan landscape. It was pure magic! It was very difficult to leave the terrace and go sightseeing!

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The terrace is shared with another room. Parking too far for comfort.

    Excelent location, comfortable beds, lovely room and terrace balcony. Bathroom and daily cleaning very good. Homely breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location, very close to main street of San Gimignano. staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning was only fair

    Nice real nice city or town

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi didn't really work

    amazing place, friendly owner and great room with a view

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's in the middle of the city. The room has medieval feel to it. Beautiful. The host is very friendly and helpful! :)

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: