Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of B&B Palazzo Al Torrione

Via Berignano, 76, 53037 San Gimignano, Italy

#19 of 38 B&Bs and Inns in San Gimignano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 155 B&B reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location. Great host
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    This place was perfect. Great location and great host. Vani made our stay very comfortable and she had a great breakfast every day. We will recommend this to anyone and stay there again if we come back to Italy

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.6
    Great place in Toscana!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t know it was bed and breakfast. So, we didn’t know we had to tell Vana the time we would do the check in. But as soon we got there, it was easy to reach her on the phone.

    Clean, confortable, good location! Vana was very nice!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    A great location, lovely furnishings and great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The B&B is in an excellent location, inside the walls of San Gimignano. If you're arriving by car, as we did, be prepared that the car parks are outside the walls and down a big hill so be ready to walk up with your things. The room was beautifully furnished with a lovely view. The room was clean and spacious. The best part about this b&b is the breakfast- the host will put on a big spread ranging from brioche, italian cakes, bruscetta, eggs (she will cook them for you if you want them), cured meats, cheeses, cereals, fruit, yogurts fresh juices, coffees etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely simple rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Offers earlier check in than some other hotels in town, but the rooms were not ready when we arrived. Although the hotel is just inside the town walls (as you can’t drive in this is good for luggage), this meant having to walk our cases further into the town to leave them in a shop for a while. Also, when leaving they charged the rooms to my card before checking out, and without asking if I wanted to use that card to pay.

    Lovely simple rooms. Very clean and comfy. Gorgeous views over Tuscan countryside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Good if you want to be in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit noisy at night due to the road cleaning, garbage collection, glass collection. Very simple place for breakfast, a bit overcharged. Have breakfast somewhere else!

    In historical center. The room was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.8
    Located in the heart of San Gimignano
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stair led to the B&B was narrow and quite steep so it might be quite difficult if you have big luggage.

    It is located right inside town but not on the main street so the surrounding is quiet. The rooms are spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.3
    Room with a view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no kettle in the room and the smell of smoke as you walked up the stairs to the room was quite overpowering.

    The location was perfect and we loved staying in San Gimignano. Lots of great restaurants close by and lovely and quiet when all the day trippers go home. Comfortable bed and gorgeous view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Clean, spacious, beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smoking seems to be allowed inside (maybe just reception) with not very much ventilation. Also, there are 2 flights of stairs upon entry so not advisable for those travelling with a lot of luggage or joint issues.

    Of a 5 day driving trip around Tuscany/Italy, this was our favourite place to stay. Finding the hotel is a bit tricky in San Gimignano's streets. There was no one there when we arrived, however with a quick call the proprietor came to our car and showed directions of where to drop off and park. The room is clean, spacious and spotless with beautiful views. If you don't fancy another 7 Euro for breakfast, don't worry, there are also a few cafes similar or less prices and views onto the other sides of San Gimignano.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    Hotel service was very nice that guided us detail around the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    partking lot is far and also no elevator that not easier for long trip as required hand carry lugage to walk through steps.

    Hotel service was very nice that guided us detail around the evnironment and also took us to partking lot. Breakfast also wonderful with delicious bread and coffee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    7.5
    Great value and location, stunningly decorated rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not onsite and it was not clear where they were or when they might be present. As such, it would be a huge improvement if at least a kettle was available for tea/coffee.

    Absolutely gorgeous rooms, unbelievable value for the quality of the room and location! Truly lovely.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    We loved absolutely everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved absolutely everything. Great host, lovely room, good breakfast. Great position of the BaB. World definitely recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location, facilities and service
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, facilities and service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect, and the staff was very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect, and the staff was very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Great location. Gorgeous city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. All recommendations from the staff were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.5
    Spacious and well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the stairs, and it smelled of cigarette smoke

    Spacious and well located

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    Overall a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of stairs. We are seniors and found the stairs problematic when we had to negotiate them with our luggage.

    Excellent location. Good breakfasts

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Picture perfect and away from the hordes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location in the old town, the views, the articulate and friendly owner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    Fun boutique!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    10
    Florence perfect setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fluffier pillowd

    Owners delightful and informative. Breakfast superb. Ambiance beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.8
    Located on a quiet street affording easy access to the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Because the breakfast room is small guests have to commit to a half hour slot.

    Located on a quiet street affording easy access to the main squares, the room had a fine view over the Tuscan landscape. The whole experience was good.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    9.6
    The location was excellent, the owner and hostess was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location was excellent, the owner and hostess was very nice, responsive, and helpful. The decor was rustic and pleasant with a wonderful view of a Tuscan valley.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    7.9
    The actual B&B is on a quiet lane in the walled town,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perhaps the scent of cigarette smoke even though we asked for a non-smoking room.

    The actual B&B is on a quiet lane in the walled town, walking distance to everything. We feel quite cozy & safe in the evening to stroll around around town when tourists have left.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    8.8
    Nicely decorated rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The reception guy was helpful but seemed rather bored/uninterested.

    Nicely decorated rooms. Location within the city walls but still a silent street. Handy garage for luggage storage.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Francesco was very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No lift but Francesco will help you with bags up lots of steps ( not good for the elderly).

    Francesco was very friendly. Lovely room with an incredible view of fields and hills. Clean and comfortable right in the cenre of town. Wonderful to stay the night here as the tourists leave and you have the town to yourself night and early morning.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    The place is located in San Gimignano itself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place is located in San Gimignano itself. The parking lot nr.1 which we were encouraged to use was not, and the owner came personally with their car to pick us up, as well as get us back to our car the next day! That's what I call service! Totally unexpected, thank you! It's true that parking nr.1 costs just 6 EUR a night and the others are way more expensive. The lady was very friendly and humorous. The room was very clean and comfy, good view, a bottle of Chianti was waiting for us to be tasted. Authentic location, friendly people. No problem when we were a little bit late. Generous size room and bath. Recommended!

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    7.1
    Very good location, pretty place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Long stairs to carry your baggage, nobody helps you. Breakfast not included. Wifi doesn't work properly.Personal only speak italian.Depending on the time you arrive there is no personal there, you need to phone them.

    Very good location, pretty place.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    9.6
    It is very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is very clean. Location is perfect if you want to stay in the city. Also parking P2 is very close. The lady who is the owner is very helpfull, honest and kind. Next time when I stay in SG I will definetly choose the same place and will recommend this place.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    9.6
    The hotel and the town of San G.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Parking was a chore. I unwittingly parked in the wrong lot a short distance from the town entrance on the first day and got a nasty 20€ surprise when pulling out on day 1. The "right" lot costs only 6€ but is a long walk up a hill. Also, there was a room below us with a beautiful balcony. We could see it below us from our window but it was not available. Wish we had known about it when making our reservation.

    The hotel and the town of San G. were both incredible. The view from our hotel room was so pretty I have made it new wall paper on my tablet. (Apologies to my 10 year old daughter and golden retriever puppy who got the boot.)

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    9.2
    If you plan on visiting San Gimignano, then you must stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you plan on visiting San Gimignano, then you must stay overnight to experience the real feeling of a Medieval city. This B&B is perfectly located off the main thoroughfare. It was closed when we arrived (we did not confirm a time of arrival), however the Tabachhi shop was easy to locate. The rooms are small, but are clean and everyday somebody comes in to tidy the room & make the bed, which is something you don't find often in smaller establishments. My husband I made this our base for 3 nights to do day trips to the‎ Rapolano terme (Terme Antica Querciolaia) and another day to the outlet mall in Montevarchi/Regello via Chianti region. The early morning and late afternoon/evening we explored San Gimignano when day trippers were not around. There is a €6 daily car park which the B&B recommends & is affordable, however if you don't want to hike 10 minutes up down the hill there are car parks closer to the city, but this will cost more. On the day we left, the caretaker was very considerate and gave us a lift with all our bags to the car park.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    10
    The staff are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    The staff are amazing. So friendly they made us feel so welcome we had the best time. Helped us with all the site seeing and restaurants. The location fantastic and the views from our room was perfect Tuscany.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    6.3
    The breakfast and generaly the service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast and generaly the service.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    Mrs Vana is a great hostess!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Mrs Vana is a great hostess!

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    10
    very good breakfast, staff picked us up in the rain
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    very good breakfast, staff picked us up in the rain

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    The place itself is very exciting, staff was very helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    The place itself is very exciting, staff was very helpful, excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    Very very nice, recomend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very very nice, recomend.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.6
    Right in the middle of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Right in the middle of the town.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    10
    We liked everything here: very friendly, helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We liked everything here: very friendly, helpful and committed owner, good location in historic place. strongly recommend to visit;)

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    8.8
    Location, nicely renovated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, nicely renovated

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    10
    Location was really great and easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was really great and easy to find. The owner lady was really very very nice. If and when I go back I will stay with them for sure.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: