Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Palazzo Alexander 4 stars

Via Santa Giustina 48, 55100 Lucca, Italy

#7 of 33 hotels in Lucca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 563 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    nice hotel in convenient location with reasonable facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed was somewhat uncomfortable. The breakfast was good although the portions put out meant that when it was busy there were delays as you waited for them to put out more

    The location was very convenient for access to the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lucca is a perfect location to enjoy italy, and the hotel location is perfect. Family run hotel and thanks to all hotel staff. Smiling and welcoming all the time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    A great hotel in the old town of Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely character filled property run by wonderful staff that made arrival, our stay and departure simple. The room was comfortable with one of the best beds we have had during our holiday. A great location in Lucca in easy walking distance to all the main sites to visit and the amazing wall that circles the old town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    A real gem in the old part of Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Comfortable, clean and stylish room. The whole hotel is decorated in style with love, and it’s perfectly situated in the center of the old town of Lucca. A great base to explore the medieval city centre. The owner speaks multiple languages (at least Italian, French, German, English and possibly some more), and he is extremely friendly and helpful, and so is everybody of his staff. Nice breakfast with freshly squeezed apple juice. Parking is in the old city, but before you get to the hotel, so we would recommend to ring them before you drive into the old city, so that somebody from the staff can let you into their car park and saves you the hassle from driving around the old city (all one way streets).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Love staying at Hotel Palazzo Alexander!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I could think of!

    Hotel owner and staff were very helpful and efficient. Nice breakfast! We had connected rooms so it was great. The restaurant recommended by the hotel owner was excellent! Hotel location was great too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location in an interesting city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air con in the room reminded me of a jet engine taking off.

    A good location just inside the old walls. The manager(owner?) was very helpful with parking the car etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Great staff - very helpful with directions and restaurant...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great staff - very helpful with directions and restaurant suggestions. Also helped with the luggage. Good location. Handy and secure parking. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    A little gem of a hotel. Very Italian, centrally located, peaceful.. Lovely staff. We will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of tea making facilities in the room. However, staff made us tea every afternoon.

    Memory foam mattress was very comfortable. The room was spacious and air con worked well. The staff were superb, giving us advice on sightseeing and restaurants and we’re. unfailingly polite and friendly. Breakfast offered ample choice with delicious croissants, pastries and cake. It is very centrally situated but very quiet. Lovely view over the rooftops to the hills. We can not recommend it highly enough and will go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Friendly hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor soundproofing between rooms with interconnecting doors! Breakfast was adequate but limited.

    Good and quiet location. Friendly and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was my second stay in this hotel in Lucca. I stayed here four years ago. The owner remembered me and was friendly, charming and remembered my stay. Loved that the Reception is manned.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful, charming place, truly Italian. Clean, friendly, a perfect place to go.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tutto bene

    Beautiful, beyond charming hotel in the middle of the ancient walled city. Wonderfully friendly staff, great beds (something you don't always get in Italy...) all with a feeling of tranquility. Can't wait to go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Well worth a revisit.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night manager not helpful in calling a taxi. Had to haul our many bags through dark streets and finally reached a pizza place that called us a cab. We were over a mile from the hotel and exhausted.

    Family owners are wonderful. Madam Butterfly room lovely and quiet. Would recommend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    A true Lucca experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This boutique hotel is a genuine palazzo renovated for modern comfort while retaining historic character. Our spacious suite on the top floor still had frescoes. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful in every way. Excellent breakfast. Great location within the walls close to everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    The staff were awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were awesome. We arrived (by car) quite late and we were not only given e-mailed directions but once we reached the entrance to the city wall were advised to call reception and given guidance over the phone. They were very thoughtful that we were traveling with two small children. The room was comfy and we had more than ample space. Lucca is a wonderful city...we wish we had more time. The hotel's location is ideal to explore Lucca. Pisa is about 20-30 minutes away by car.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    Florence without the crowds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor point but Tea / Coffee facilities in the room would have been a nice to have. Nothing else!

    Welcoming staff with local knowledge. Superbly comfortable bed. Fresh breakfast items especially the orange juice Decor Relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Characterful hotel in the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea and coffee in the room but this is common in many Italian hotels

    Very characterful old hotel very much in keeping with the beautiful town Lucca and just what we hoped for. Great location in the town. Very friendly and helpful staff Great breakfast served in the lovely dining room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    We were very pleased with the accommodations and with the staff and highly recommend.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The corner room was attractive and comfortable and the mattress was excellent. The location was perfect, out of the way and quiet yet only minutes from the center of town. We appreciated the kind and gracious staff! Mario was especially helpful when we arranged our move to the hotel from another location in town, in helping plan transportation in the region and providing information about facilities in the center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Gabriell was so helpful and service great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Gabriell was so helpful and service great. There was a lift in the hotel and parking very handy next to the hotel. Next to everything that Lucca has to offer it is an ideal choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    We will definitly come back. Thank you for making our honeymoon as perfect as we could dream of!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like.

    We love everything. We came to the hotel with just an afternoon to spend in Lucca and because of their great staff we were able to maximize our time. My husband and I enjoyed our stay in Lucca more than in any other city. They upgraded us for our honeymoon to the Junior Suite, the view was supreme and the room was beautiful. We were able to attend the Puccini Concert because of their good advice and they even provide bycicles for us to ride in the Medival Wall of Lucca. This is one of my favorite hotels in the world.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Great Hotel, amazing staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location. The staff and owner were absolutely splendid! Lots to do and see in Lucca, the hotel staff are very good and recommending things to see and do.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    It was fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not have picked a better hotel the breakfast was excellent the bed was fabulous and room lovely and warm owner and staff were lovely and friendly it was like staying with relatives they make you feel so welcome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    5.8
    Place may have looked pretty in the past but now it needs a refresh and cleaning. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean. The walls need painting and some metallic decorations have rust. We only stayed for a night and saw a big spider in the bathroom. Bathroom isn’t nice either and needs a revamp. AC was too noisy, very thin pillows and not very comfortable bed.

    Staff is really friendly, the breakfast is ok. Location is good at a walking distance to landmarks.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.9
    Quite pleasant and would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a lovely boutique hotel but for me the windows were small and the shutters large, so that the amount of natural light entering the room was very limited. Aside from this factor, the Palazzo Alexander is very good value.

    The old fashioned slightly faded elegance, the elder gentleman owner and his polite son, the nice cafe across the narrow street, the size of our room (junior suite), etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Excellent all round !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    n/a

    Excellent hotel located right in the centre of Lucca. The staff were all very friendly and offered great advice on restaurants and trains. A simple but very nice breakfast served everyday.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    Staff is very friendly and helpful with the parking, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a bit tricky to get the hotel by car because of the narrow roads

    Staff is very friendly and helpful with the parking, great location to sightseeing Lucca

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    The staff were very helpful in attending to our needs and a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The manager was extremely helpful in helping retrieve my passport from the previous Hotel that we stayed in at San Margherita and offered his son to drive me to retrieve it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No need to improve anything

    Great locstion, very comfortable rooms, very clean and well maintained, and esp a great staff Best place not only in Lucca but our favorite in all of Tuscany!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Great personal and unique experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No negative comments.

    The personal service and graciousness was exceptional. The family owned hotel is very personable and relaxing. The breakfast was very good. The King-size bed was the most comfortable one we had in five months of travel. Quiet room; slept well. Location is excellent. The owner parked our car for us in a secure lot less than a block from the hotel. This is in a pedestrian zone; with narrow streets; therefore, he insisted that he drive the car for us. Later when I picked up the car, I could see why he did this. I had no problem driving on the streets because he told us the best way out of the maze of streets. GPS helps, but not perfect in this situation. He unpacked and helped pack our vehicle for us and delivered the bags to the room Great service all around!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    Charming and great location, but a little old and facilities could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower over bath was not great pressure or that comfortable to use as water went everywhere if not careful (could be tricky to get into the bath if you have any mobility issues). Only one bath towel each, no hand towels. May not be very room but paper thin walls in ours, we could hear every single little thing (no exaggeration!) from the room next to us. Air con right next to bed, quite loud and temperamental.

    Welcoming, friendly, professional and helpful staff (the owner I think). Great location. Lovely building, includes a lift, charming decor. Good breakfast, in a very nice lounge area. Comfortable bed. Decent size room and storage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Exactly what we'd hoped for staying within the walls of Lucca - old fashioned and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, extremely helpful and friendly staff and very comfortable rooms with great "old world" charm. Very convenient that the hotel had their own parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, phenomenal customer service, extremely accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs some updating but still is charming. Things like quiet air conditioning for example.

    The service was excellent and they spent as much time as needed with us to answer all of our questions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful place, gorgeous Hotel and excelent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In our view nothing

    Beautiful traditional Tuscan Hotel with excellent helpful staff and lovely location - loved Lucca and will definitely visit both the Hotel and Lucca again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay for immersion into Lucca's life
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in our room not good but ok in the other room.

    Exceptionally friendly and helpful front of house staff ( all of them). Fabulous location. Good simple breakfast and delicious coffee.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel clean and central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cute. Old style. Quite big for a room in Italy. Staff were extreamly helpful. Breakfast was good. Could not fault. Would stay again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Friendly and helpful service and a fantastic room with a skyline view from our spacious balcony!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - all was perfect!

    The owners and staff were extremely helpful to both my partner and I throughout our stay! We wanted for nothing and will definitely, like my brother before, be returning on many occasions in the future!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom could do with updating but all in all it is a charming hotel, clean and welcoming.

    Lovely breakfast, super staff who are extra helpful at all times.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Real pallazzo, very good location in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The airconditioning was very loud, and also you can hear every noise from other rooms.

    Real pallazzo, very good location in the old town. Very authentic furniture. Very polite attitude!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel overall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were extremely kind, welcoming and helpful. Also, the location was perfect. It was overall a wonderful hotel and I would visit there again definitely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Authenticity, location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like. An amazing hotel.

    Authenticity, location, friendly staff. This is our second visit in Lucca, but first time in this hotel. Highly recommendable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Good location & friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a beautiful hotel. The staff are great friendly and helpful. It's a good location in a quiet street. We hired bikes which is a perfect way to see Lucca.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Great historic hotel in amazing Tuscan city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Staff extremely helpful, including with our 18-month-old's needs. Very nice renovated ancient building in great location in amazing little city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    We stayed there for 9 days as a base for visiting towns...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed there for 9 days as a base for visiting towns around the Tuscany. The hotel is located inside the walls. All walking distance, there are enough eating places for us to choose daily with affordable menu prices as compare to Florence.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Tuscan dream
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was plentiful and the service excellent. Everybody went out of his or her way to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. The building is beautiful, the furnishings lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.3
    charming gem with excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were a little flat

    The little balcony terrace from the Tosca room on top floor had a lovely view across Lucca. The staff at the hotel, with Mario at the front desk, were exceptionally helpful. The breakfast buffet is delightful, with freshly baked pastries, delicious coffee, lots of variety. The even had scrambled eggs and bacon which is unusual --most of the time you only get a cold breakfast in Italian B&B's.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.2
    Luxury in Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    my sons found the wifi patchy, but it must be said: their main requirement is bandwidth.

    Our welcome was excellent, the front desk guided me in by phone through the narrow maze of streets to the car park and then locked our car in a secure compound and walked us to the hotel. The breakfast buffet (included) was superb, fabulous food to fill up on for a full day of exploring Lucca, by foot or bike.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Very good choice for Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is s boutique hotel within the city walls. In fact the first floor dates from the 16th century. As such you can't expect large spacious rooms.

    Helpful, courteous staff. Private, enclosed parking. Breakfast is very good. Loacation is good, within the city walls.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    The quality of a palace literally, the staff is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of a palace literally, the staff is very dedicated and the room was beautiful They upgraded us for our only night at this beautiful hotel Definitely a must go

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really like the owner of the property. He is really friendly and helpful! The facitly was great clean and breakfast was super. Also they have the solution for car parking.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.6
    A fantasy hotel in a beautiful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. We stayed in the junior suite with a balcony overlooking lovely Lucca and it was divine. Mario was the best host ever and gave us spot on recommendations on where to eat each meal. As a daughter of a chef I am notoriously picky and everything he suggested was perfection. The breakfast was served in such a beautiful room with gorgeous decorations and the baked apples were exquisite. What a special treat!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.6
    The host was really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The streets are very narrow and we had trouble finding the hotel. Some directions and statements advising customers on the booking.com email would have been really helpful.

    The host was really helpful. The rooms were large. The location was perfect. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    8.8
    Charming hotel in Lucca, great staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in our penthouse was very awkward. Only way to adjust the hose was to spray into tub or directly out at a 90 degree angle to the bathroom (no curtain nor enclosure). Navy shower to wash hair. Better bring a friend to hold the hose for you! Jacuzzi jet caps on bottom kept coming off; very poor hot water pressure, ages to get 3 inches in the tub. Elevator to 3rd floor and walk the last flight.

    Extensive breakfast buffet included special treats like baked apples and a delicious spinach/ham/cheese croissant "pie". Little balcony is fun if you have the weather to sit out there.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    Great hotel, exceptional hospitality. Strongly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing there were only two thin pillows in bed, would be nice if they put two extra thick ones so sometimes ppl can sit up and read in bed comfortably. Something very minor

    Staff were excellent, exceptional service. Beautiful hotel, great location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.3
    Hotel Palazzo Alexander a Good Choice for Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our only problem was that the air conditioning, necessary, leaked water over the floor of our room. The staff checked it, but it was not completely fixed due to it being a weekend, so we used some towels to keep things reasonably dry.

    The hotel is an old Palazzo in the old city of Lucca, and as such has a lot of atmosphere. There is parking available which is unusual for a hotel right in town, although it is not easy to get to - the owner jumps into your car and gives you detailed directions to the garage - after several narrow turns, you emerge about 50 feet from the hotel! Breakfast was quite good, but the service was the most outstanding feature in this family-run hotel. Everything you would want to see in Lucca is an easy walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    7.5
    The welcome from Mario was very warm and he guided us in on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A rather dark interior and decor tired. Shower room a bit small

    The welcome from Mario was very warm and he guided us in on the phone to the car park and when we left he fetched the car and set us on the road. Lucca is not car friendly and that is not a criticism just a warning. There was a welcome (free) buffet tea with excellent cakes and pastries when we arrived. Breakfast was very good. We had an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    A Tuscan gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    The owner welcomed us wonderfully - he used to live in England and his English is flawless. He made us feel at home instantly and everything he recommended, whether it was where to eat, shop or walk, he got it spot on each time. You are safe in his hands so use his experience- you won't regret it. The breakfast was varied and very good - I am a chef and famously hard to please!!!! :) I hope I can return soon as it was the perfect end to our stay in Tuscany

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    Overnight stay, should have booked longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Owners and staff went above and beyond, and always with a smile. Breakfast was way above average. Facilities were attractive and well maintained. Secure hotel parking close by. Few minutes walk to town center. Live music every night(opera, etc) in town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Excellent value and service in a very good location in Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good location; helpful front desk (I believe the father and son were the owners). Helped us both get our car into Lucca (to their parking) and then out (it can be a challenge but was handled very well both on check-in and check-out). The rooms are not luxurious but very nice and certainly all that we needed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel in Lucca!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very well appointed and classy hotel, with comfort in mind. Good location and nice breakfast. The attentive staff couldn't do more for you. Will be there again at some time in the future!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    A superb hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I liked the lovely friendly staff who were always efficient, kind and helpful, the gorgeous breakfasts with the big pot of coffee, the Italian decor, the terrific air conditioning in the room, the crisp linen, the excellent shower. I liked everything. Molta gracie!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.6
    Charming people. Excellent value. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only and very tiny problem was that the TV signal was not always available, but I didn't want it anyway. Fortunately WiFi, more important to me, never failed.

    Owner and son exceptionally friendly and helpful. When I felt unwell, was given tea with lemon from owner's tree, then a selzer- which put me back on my feet! Easy walking distance to the lovely grassy walls of Lucca, the major sights, restaurants and shops. Near large bus station for travel to other beautiful towns in the area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.9
    Lovely stay and respite in busy Lucca
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room only had a bath with a free shower head and no curtain or barrier. So if you are tall, or just looking for a proper shower, this didn't really suit. It was fine for us. The breakfast area is a little tight with a lot of breakable objects, so it can be a little stressful to navigate with small kids. That said, the staff were so friendly and helpful, we were made to feel comfortable anyway.

    Extremely friendly staff. They made all the extra efforts to make it easy for us to find them, get to the room, and enjoy the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Breakfast could be improve. We came down at 9:30 and get a one tiny portion of scramble egg and bacon for share between us. No refil.

    -Staff was very helpful, excellent service. Thank you! -Valet parking -Boutigue style room decor -breakfast was simple as usual in Italy, but high quality -good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    8.3
    Outstanding customer care
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner and his son were extremely helpful when we had a problem with our car and we couldn't have asked for more. Very friendly and reassuring, while maintaining their professionalism in dealing with other guests at the same time. They rescued what could have been a trying time for us. Thank you. Lovely hotel as well!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.2
    Historic romantic hotel ideal for couples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the hotel needs to be explained before arrival. Parking is available for 14 euros night but confusing as entry to the old town is restricted during the day and thus you first park outside and walk without realising you can enter. Other than that nothing to notensure and all fantastic.

    Fantastic small hotel positioned within the old town full of character, very quiet, close to everything. We had a great stay and hope to stay again. Staff and owner very helpful and speak several languages.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Old fashioned in much older town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaint

    Old fashioned in much older town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous building in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely authentic Italian hotel in the center of Lucca

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    Exactly right for a City break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly. Helpful. Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Location, nice staff, good size room, beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything!!

    Location, nice staff, good size room, beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Excellent would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything wonderful, staff so helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Noise from the reception area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the reception area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Charming helpful staff, nothing too much trouble .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming helpful staff, nothing too much trouble .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Very good service .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good service .Friendly welcoming and helpful staff and management . Central location within the wall Traditional Italian palazzo decor .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Staff lovely and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff lovely and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in a beautiful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable and charming hotel Excellent location in the old town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No garden or outdoor area

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: