Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Palazzo Bocci 4 stars

Via Cavour 17, 06038 Spello, Italy

#8 of 10 hotels in Spello

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 204 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking at arrival was difficult. Some areas in need of painting and clean up of water damage.

    The staff were friendly and professional. They did everything possible to meet our every need. The setting and gardens are relaxing and beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in center of old town, lot of character. Very comfortable and quiet. Suggest parking car outside town walls, walking in to check in. They will then give you directions on how to drive into city and where to park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard beds. Bathroom could have been cleaner.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Easy check-in. Charming receptionist. Very good breakfast buffet, with very friendly attendant. Spacious room. Beautiful sitting room with lovely frescoes. Free parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light switches in the rooms are annoying as there are too many and some don‘t work! The shower/bath is rather old and wobbly!

    The location of the hotel is perfect and in a small car it‘s very easy to access the town and the car park opposite the hotel!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not great just okay as too many sweet things. Lots of little things were broken I.e. Dryer, shower leaked onto floor.

    Staff were amazingly helpful, location was 100% perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have to accept the church bells opposite the property toll early on a Sunday morning.

    Our room was beautiful loads of space in the bedroom and bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was rather restricted all the time probably due to place being an old building

    The receptionist on arrival was ever so polite - she helped book a fantastic restaurant opposite hotel staff were all very friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An authentic historic hotel with very helpful staff. The location was amazing, the breakfast was good and my room was very comfortable. I had a balcony with a beautiful view and a another window looking over the cathedral steps on the main street. This hotel isn't state of the art but the murals, architecture and history make up for it. Everything was so genuine. When I had a problem with the plug in my bath a staff member was at my door within a couple of minutes to help. The website says there's only wifi in the public areas, but this wasn't the case. I had fast internet in my room without any problems. I loved this sweet old hotel and would definitely go back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It seems clear that the owners of this hotel do not continue to seriously maintain, upgrade, or improve the guest rooms at this property. For instance, the draperies haven't been cleaned in years, the mattresses are older and not particularly comfortable, overhead light fixtures are soiled, hair drier not very good, and so on.

    The staff at Palazzo Bocci is exemplary. Thank you Fabrizio, Greta and Alessio! Great location and convenient parking (always a plus in Italian hill towns).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very quaint place within the walled town of Spello. Room was great with a lovely view of the church across the street. Well located with lots of restaurants!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no wifi coverage in our room, although there was good coverage in the public seating area. Our fridge didn't work because the socket was faulty.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We speak little Italian and they were so helpful with booking restaurants for us and explaining parking rules around the town. They also booked us on the tour at the Baci chocolate factory, including printing out the booking confirmation and directions. It was great to have a family room with two adjoining rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lovely friendly receptionist. The hotel is charming, full of character and very pleasant to relax in. It has stayed the same for 20 years and will never date. It's position in the middle of the beautiful town of Spello is ideal and free parking right opposite was a real bonus. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The public areas of the hotel were so lovely. We had tea on the terrace and enjoyed the fresco paintings in the lounge. The staff were friendly and incredibly accommodating throughout our stay. The location in Spello is excellent and we were pleased that the parking was so close by. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent. Highly recommend this hotel. Lovely decor, great breakfast, very helpful staff, great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting was not good inside of room. Some lamps did not work.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great village to visit . Hotel very good well located and exellent staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old.

    Great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather dated

    Good parking; excellent location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress hard and uncomfortable.

    Great location. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great views onto the countryside. Excellent location in center of town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities to exchange currency

    Staff was very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning is a bonus with 35 degrees outside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of restaurant and swimming pool

    Old style grandeur!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is oldfashoned and not very clean

    There is a wonderfull hall at first floor with frescos

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is quite run down in every respect

    View of the valley

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in beautiful Spello. We had a small outdoor terrace on the second floor with a great view

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is old , is not antiq.

    Cleanluness.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I can think of.

    The beautiful public areas, the pretty roof garden and the welcoming, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot thank of any thing that I didn't like

    Beautiful room with magic views. Lovely big bathroom. Great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The street up to hotel was blocked for road works and neves satiated an undignified reversal down medieval street and re- entry that would have been a bit difficult without google maps! But hardly the hotel's fault.

    Breakfast fine, totally central position in small town, parking very nearby and easily managed, lovely old rooms with great sitting chairs.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super friendly and accommodating staff. They facilitated our request for an early check-in. Also accommodated request for gluten-free bread at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too bad there was a lot of constructionwork on the roads in Spello and also in front of the hotel. Of course it's not their fault and they gave me a room at the back of the hotel. It's a little bit inconvience but don't let that hold you to book a room in this great hotel.

    The location of the hotel and the hotel itself has a very ambient atmosphere. The staff is very helpful. The breakfast was ok.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A beautiful old palazzo in perfect condition located in the heart of the magical city of Spello. Staff were friendly and helpful, Internet strong, and breakfast very nice. One of the nicest hotels I have stayed in and a great price as well!

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing worthy of reporting.

    The hall porter was extremely helpful, and went out of his way to increase our enjoyment, particularly as the hotel is situated well-away from the centre.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was very close to the wonderful bar across the road, and we had a fantastic dinner, just up from our hotel!!! If we were to go back to this area we would stay again in this hotel. The breakfast was so nice and peaceful on the patio.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to fault this hotel

    Firstly Spello is a magic place, we had a beautiful long lunch at Cantina opposite hotel & then had such a comfortable stay in this very tastefully decorated hotel. We loved the hand painted walls & ceiling in the adjoining lounge, the beautiful views from our bedroom & bathroom & the extremely attentive service from the staff. Breakfast was delicious & we loved the variety of fresh, local fruit. All in all, our favourite hotel in Italy. We will be back.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very friendly, welcoming & helpful. We greatly appreciated the availability of a computer for guests' use and the beautifully painted lounge available for reading, relaxing etc.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location in this attractive town and a comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendliness of staff. Excellent breakfast. Old Town atmosphere and views

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautifully located. Welcoming staff. Lovely environment.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Browse Hotel Palazzo Bocci traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: