Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palazzo Cardinal Cesi 4 stars

Via della Conciliazione 51, Vatican City - Prati, 00193 Rome, Italy

#181 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 630 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Rome for me has been a dream come true and everything was up to my' expectations :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I'm afraid that this box will be empty :)

    The garden area which was relaxing and tranquil, and Janna who looked after us and was very friendly, as were all the staff. strange, but true, we enjoyed the thunder storm on our last night and was able to open the window and listen.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.7
    Good Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Small rooms. Extremely small shower unit, can't even turn around inside the shower.

    Good Breakfast. Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Extremely convenient location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    A unique, calm and peaceful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small for the 3 of us staying.

    We didn’t arrive until 10pm and the member of staff who greeted was so nice, he made us feel so welcome. All of the staff throughout our stay were good. The location for the Vatican and St Peter’s Square was amazing, it literally was virtually outside the door!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Next to the Vatican .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat limited services but this is a boutique hotel . No doorman . One person reception. In spite of an initial problem I had with a double booking where they refused a refund most of the reception staff - particularly Daniel was exceptionally helpful

    Next to the Vatican . Best if you wish to be inspired by St Peters Sistine chapel and the surroundings and get a front seat to get the popes blessings on Sunday. Makes you feel you are a guest of the pope !!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    We didn't love Rome, and this hotel did nothing to help that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you aren't there solely to visit the Vatican, you're surrounded by vendors who will harass you every time you walk out of the hotel. Cab drivers jack up their prices in this area... We walked 100 feet away from the hotel and found a cab for half the price we were quoted right outside the hotel. Every restaurant and vendor on this street closes at dark. There are no options later in the evening. There is zero parking at this hotel. They will put you in touch with someone who will come pick your car up and take it to their garage, blocks away, for a fee of 35 euros per day. However, they can't bring your car back to you on the weekends because there is only one person working at the garage. The hotel restaurant/bar is closed on Friday. No one told us this until we had walked all the way back to the hotel, past plenty of open restaurants, only to find out we couldn't get any food at the hotel. The rooms are TINY and dark.

    If you're visiting the Vatican, the location is good. The hotel restaurant/bar offers decent meals and drinks. The waitress was very nice. The hotel security features are nice. The courtyard is pretty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    This is the closest to the Vatican.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Converted Monastery. Still part of the building is being used by the Salvatorian sect for their missionary work. Makes you feel as if you are living as a guest of the pope in his annex . The daily Gospel is under your door early am. Rooms are new although small with marble floors and tiling . Full breakfast is included and the dining room captures the ambiance of a bygone era . This is in essence is a boutique hotel with a lot of character and if you are religious or spiritual I cannot think of a better place. There is no proper restaurant within the hotel and staff are limited. We didn't find either to a problem as the reception is 24/7

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.3
    It was a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely small. The breakfast was very limited. The shower in the bathroom was the tiniest shower I had ever used.

    It was a great location. Vatican City was 2 steps away!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was central in the Vatican City and within 30 minute walk of the majority of other attractions you’d want to see for example Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Pantheon

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Very warm and welcoming hotel with great rooms, excellent breakfast and a fabulous location.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast started a little too late for us as we had many early tours booked. We unfortunately only got to have one. The one we did have was wonderful.

    The welcome was outstanding and the breakfast and location were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    AMAZING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    First, as all the other reviews, the location is absolutely AMAZING. However, the staff exceeded our expectation, and he property was clean, and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Very cool, peaceful and pleasant; a world away from the bustle of the streets outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room would have benefited from a tea/coffee making facility. Shower was fine for us as we are not very big people.

    We were struck by the peace and tranquillity as we walked through the door. The hotel was a cool and calm place to retreat to after a hectic day in the city. Absolutely perfect location for guests wishing to visit the Vatican and still an easy stroll into the medieval area of old Rome. Our room was small but very clean and functional. The staff were lovely and the little bar a pleasant place to relax for a while. Breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got bitten by tiger mosquitos one of three nights because I had the window open. 😳

    The hotel was perfect. Amazing location, great staff and wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice location and lovely atmosphere for our needs which were to see Pope Francis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would not recommend the suite as the lighting is very poor and the stairs to the bedroom precarious to navigate. Also, there should be a bathroom upstairs. I would have enjoyed one news channel in English.

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    I would definitely stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a beautiful courtyard and very grand entrance once you get inside the door to the hotel. However, there was no real sense of an invite into the courtyard area which is beautiful to look at. There was no focal point in the hotel as a gathering space. The room I was in backed onto a side street which was noisy from early in the morning.

    The hotel was located in a perfect spot for seeing the Vatican and all the sights near it. The room was spacious and clean. The air con was great! The breakfast was good - there was great choice depending on what you wanted to eat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Very short trip made really good by lovely people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small. We didn’t see the Pope in the flesh!

    The location so near the Vatican was fantastic. The staff could not have been more helpful, finding restaurants , really good friendly ones for us and arranging taxis. Also magic way with gin and tonic! Very essential after a day sightseeing in Rome!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Outstanding hotel, staff and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The breakfast was excellent! There was something for everyone. The room was very clean and quiet. We also loved having wine and snacks in the courtyard, which is beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The courtyard area was a bit strange? No real bar or lounge area? The breakfast area was a bit dark and breakfast was just ok! Not great for the money. And very noisy at night also air con was not good!

    The location was amazing. The bed was so comfortable. The room was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Quiet and perfect, close to the spiritual centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilites are a little limited due to the building layout, but very helpful staff.

    This my second stay, the last one many years ago. The experience was as good as ever. A boutique hotel convenient for the Vatican. Delicious evening meal taken.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Did not want to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints.

    From the minute we checked in there were no problems.Ok rooms are on small size but what do you want a large room for? Breakfast was very good a great choice of hot and cold food.The lady in the small bar was very informative about the Vatican and surrounding area. Will book again next year.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    loacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you advertise a bar and food you should be able to get it. Tried to get food on Friday and Saturday night but despite advertised not available.

    loacation

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous location right next door to the pope 😯. We had regular double was small and only a road vie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and view

    Fabulous location right next door to the pope 😯. We had regular double was small and only a road view with a small disabled friendly bathroom. Would def go for superior next time. Great breakfast and helpful staff. Would stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.8
    It promised more than what it offered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely noisy property. All the rooms are external to a busy road as the main Vatican Via Conciliazione road has been pedestrianize and the traffic diverted. The windows are old double glazed and there are blinds but you can hear everything from early in the morning. We mentioned this to the staff but we were told that all rooms were facing the back road. Also, we booked a deluxe room which looked the same as the photos on the website. However, the lady in the reception told us several times about how lucky we were because we got a superior room. The room was ok but certainly not a deluxe superior, what we booked on line based on some photos is what we got. We also had issues with booking.com, when booking the room it looked cheaper than directly with the hotel website but then at the time of paying, we were charged more than the hotel website because of conversion rates applied. Also, directly with the hotel you get a welcome drink but not via booking.com. It is advisable to book directly. The hotel does not have charm, it appears to be part of an old Cardinal Palace but inside it is really new. I have stayed many times in the next door hotel. Hotel Columbus, the accommodation is more basic but it keeps the character of a beautiful monastery. Surprinsingly it is very quiet as the rooms face the interior patio. I would definitely go back to Columbus

    Breakfast is very good and a very good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    5.8
    I loved the location, the breakfast is nice and everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all eve tho the atmosphere where overall good, They charge a lot more than they should. The rooms are very small there is not air conditioned (whattttt????) they supposedly have a restaurant that’s open till 11pm but when I went to have dinner they told me there was no cook, the very same person who is the host is the one who serve at nights at the “restaurant”and if he’s welcoming guest at The reception you’ll have to wait till he finish if you need water or coffe or wine. The streets at night are very noisy and in the middle of the night you’ll hear everything that’s going on outside. The rooms are the only thing expensive I spent $6 euro in to expresso caffe. The water the coke everything was very expensive. If you are paying more than $50 euro the night at this hotel you could do better in other place.

    I loved the location, the breakfast is nice and everything looked very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    A really nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls between rooms were a bit thin - on the last night of our stay we had new neighbours who were a bit noisier - we could here all their words!

    The location is superb. You quit the hotel and you are facing the St Peter Basilica! The inner garden looks fantastic, it must be a nice place to relax in other seasons!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.3
    Hotel of unique atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No electronic kettle(but they offer boiling water)

    Hotel of unique atmosphere One female staff who speaks German, was exceptionally kind Very front of Vatican

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Well, I really enjoyed staying in the center of Vatican City...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit far away from the nearest metro station named Octaviano however, it was still ok.

    Well, I really enjoyed staying in the center of Vatican City with a reasonable price. In addition, everything was good!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Excellent. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location - a minute from the Vatican. Superb. The hotel is so peaceful. The staff were very helpful. Nice breakfast, good coffee. Room clean and spacious, shower was amazing. An ideal location for people who don't wish to walk too far.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Way too expensive compared to room quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very hard bed. Slight traffic noise. Much noise from the toilet and bath from the rooms upstairs

    Great location. Very helpful staff. Lovely atmosphere. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Best place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no negatives with this property.

    The best part about the Cardinal Cesi is the privacy and the location to Vatican City. When you arrive you enter a beautiful courtyard and head back to reception. The hotel has a sense of peace since part of the Palazzo is also a convent. The rooms are nice size and very comfortable. The breakfast is excellent. The staff does everything possible to make your stay a pleasant one. Everyone is so friendly. You walk out the front door and turn left and you are in Vatican City. We could see Saint Peters from our room, but you do have to open the window and look to the right. The building behind the hotel that the guest rooms look at is the Papal College.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Amazing location, helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit expensive for the state of the hotel. It could be better maintained.

    Amazing location, helpful and friendly staff. Very good restaurants nearby. Nice atmosphere in the yard, especially in the evening and by night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is in a very convenient location and it is a safe place to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Please provide additional bottles of water. Please extend the bathroom space a little bit more.

    the beds were comfortable, room space was just enough.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Truly amazing experience walking outside the hotel and being...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Truly amazing experience walking outside the hotel and being literally less than a minute from the front of the Vatican. A very powerful experience. The staff was wonderful and extremely helpful whenever we asked. Did a great job on breakfast too!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    Secret magical hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was what i expected from a small city hotel

    Very friendly helpful staff showed us local places to eat and the courtyard for evening drinks is magical

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.4
    Very close to St Peters, and short walk to other attractions but the room itself was very basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was too small, shower cubicle was awkward, could hear everything from neighbouring rooms, wifi reception patchy in room

    Breakfast was good, staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    A comfy quiet room in the centre of Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude & aggressive beggars outside the hotel, although I appreciate this is out of your control.

    The staff were very helpful with maps & information. Breakfast was excellent & the room was very quiet despite being in the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing in relation to when on holiday in Italy I am accustomed to all staff being attentive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant, food served in small area outside and to a poor standard. Waiting staff were non attentive, had to go looking for them and lacked customer service skills.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Its centre of Rome, if you want to visit great historical part.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking can be an issue,

    Location is perfect, its really nice oasis next to Vatican, we were offered free drinks at the reception bar, champaign and soft drinks for children, very nice and client oriented staff , very nice bar area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    A perfect hotel in front of St Peter's Basilica
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing... all perfect. I will definitely return to stay here

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. 24 hours staff ready to help you. The suite was marvelous, the location just outside St Peter's Basilica was perfect. easy to get taxis. we went at the height of summer in August but the air condition was working well and we never felt hot. furthermore, there is a beautiful inner garden which smells absolutely lovely. This seems to be the existing HQ of the Salvatorians, a Catholic order, so there is a feeling of sanctity.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't anything we didn't like.

    When we arrived the staff were very welcoming. I had arranged for a bottle of champagne to be in the room to celebrate my fiances 30th. It was ice cold in bucket of ice. Perfect start! The rooms were beautiful and cool. The breakfast was delicious, my favourite was the Nutella pastries. Yum! The courtyard garden was just gorgeous. The staff in the hotel went above and beyond to help you with anything. Couldn't recommend this place enough!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.7
    Low standard but great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old run down standard - tiny rooms. Photos misleading but standard in Rome is miserable

    Great location - 1 min away from St. Peter's cathedral / Vatican/ castle of st angel for early morning visit and avoiding all queues. Silent rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Relaxed environment with classic elegance and exceptional service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything. Having a bathtub would have been over the top, bit I was staying only two nights in a single room. The quality and comfort more than compensated

    Comfort, classic style, and exceptional service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Excellent property near Vatican City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location situated very near to the Vatican in a beautiful neighborhood (Prati) .The property had a lovely courtyard for drinks or dinner. The breakfast was wonderful , lots of sweet and savory choices. The staff was a 10plus. Charming and helpful. I was even able to get a haircut in Rome with their help. Highly recommended

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.4
    Garden area to sit in as indoors there was nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows uncomfortable. Breakfast was basic No tea/coffee in rooms Bathroom basic dark Overall it was a basic place to stay works if your out all day but not for spending time in.limited staff and some not helpful.

    Garden area to sit in as indoors there was nothing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.8
    The place was nice but the staff needs service training!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was helpful and friendly until my departure day. It was about 6.45am and i called for a porter, the reception said she will send someone up. When they guy arrived, he was old and the first thing he said was "who told you you can ask for porter?" And continues to say about the porter being available only from 8am and how it was not his job. Then at reception, i asked to post some postcards with stamps. She then told me that some if my stamps were personal stamps. Apparently in Italy there are 2 types of stamps for different types of post? Even though she was trying to be nice but to be told that they will "try" to find a postal to send them, instead of telling us, visitors who knows nothing about this, to not worry and they will help, is disappointing to think that my friends may not receive the postcards i am sending them. This last day experience ruins the happy feeling i had of this place.

    the waitress at the bar was most attentive and kind

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel, Wonderful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved so many things about this property, even though our room was quite small and our bathroom had the sound of draining water when guests from other rooms would use their bathrooms at night. Also, this may not be an issue for some people, but the traffic on the street outside late at night made it difficult to fall asleep. The pillows were uncomfortable. Also, just FYI- parking is offsite.

    We absolutely loved the staff at this property. They were very helpful and accommodating. We also loved the location. It was just a few short steps from St Peters Basilica. The facility is beautiful inside and the location is very secure-- the main doors lock at night for non-guests.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel near Vatican.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I woke up with a sore back every morning because bed felt like you were sleeping on a board

    This property is IN Vatican City so you look out on the Vatican. The courtyard and sitting area is extremely nice. Great place to stay. Nice rooms. Just typical European hotel. Beds are like boards. Just remember it is not USA.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    6.7
    Great location, but very basic facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had no iron or laundry facility. The electronic lighting was annoying as certain lights would only work occasionally. The internet didn't work. The bathroom was extremely small, however that was expected due to it being such an old building. Towels were very old and thin. Walls were also thin and was kept awake a couple of nights by neighbouring rooms chatting

    Location was amazing. Breakfast was also very good. Staff were friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay, certainly worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel location is excellent, right next to the entrance of St. Peter's Square, on Via Conciliazione. Breakfast is superb! Room is reasonable in size, considering that it is a single room. Bathroom is a bit small and tight, with not much room to move around. It has a shower stall. Among other things, I like the electric blind which is controlled by a switch fixed on the head board of the bed. One more thing, staff at reception, at dining room, and in general are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    The whole ambience of the hotel was gracious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have no complaints ,none.I would direct any would be visitor to Rome to book in and enjoy their stay

    The whole ambience of the hotel was gracious.No hurry no stress. Everything taken care of efficiently.lovely food especially the breakfast spread....the hotel being so near the Vatican is the perfect place to stay forSt Peters,the museums and Pope's Wednesday audience.......

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.2
    In the center of the Vatican
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Local homeless at night

    Breakfast exceeded the average coffee and croissants, it had eggs , yogurts , pastries and fresh juice and fruits. Staff was available 24/7

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.8
    Easter at the Vatican
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no ice available and it appears there is no air conditioning at the property. Would just suggest summer guest check with property before booking

    The property is located directly adjacent to St Peters square at the Vatican. Wonderful place to start daily tours. Had to walk 20 minutes or so (by choice) to locate less tourist type cuisine. Only problem was no Ice and would not recommend this location during the summer as it appeared there was no air conditioning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    Peace and tranquillity with comfort, not for the party animal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    THE PILLOWS - very uncomfortable. In my experience nearly all hotels get the pillows wrong except private B and Bs in America. Nearby restaurants were all the same type with awful food.

    A historic hotel with its location close to the Vatican was its best feature. Yet it was a peaceful oasis away from the noise outside that appealed to us. Very nice and helpful staff. Had a high degree of reverence about the place. Metro ,buses and the river close by. Have an evening meal at the Casina Valadier in the Villa Borghese - superb.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    6.3
    Worst hotel to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise, imposible to sleep, no view, small room, Room windows are there, but the noise was like we were sleeping outside.

    Great, polite staff, clean room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    A Perfect Hotel for a City Break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    The position of the hotel is fantastic. The staff were exceptionally helpful. We were offered tickets for the papal audience and advised what time to leave the hotel to secure good seats. We had daily Bible readings in our room. The inner courtyard was a lovely bonus and an evening meal and drinks could be taken here. The lighting of the courtyard in the evening was beautiful with fairy lights and candles. What a bonus on a summer evening!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    5.4
    Location is really amazing for who looking to be close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was so disappointed with the Reception, the person on the check in was very good. But, the other receptionist when I was checking out was just impolite and sounded like hating when I ask him for one hour late check out!!!

    Location is really amazing for who looking to be close to the Vatican!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful environment, excellent location, however noisy at night, but was bearable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too hard, very hot in room, very noisy, could hear people in street below and could easily hear guests in next door room.

    Atmosphere, tranquil, monestary like. Perfect location could not believe how close we were to the Vatican, hence we could attend Mass in St. Peter's square on the Friday and Sunday a blessing from the Pope.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    7.5
    The partition wall between the 2 rooms we booked, was paper...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The partition wall between the 2 rooms we booked, was paper thin and everything could be heard - so we had to be hush hush all the time. Luckily we were only in the rooms to sleep.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    7.5
    Very clean and this hotel isn't crowded with people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was a bit noisy during the night ! We didn't like the 'open shower.'

    Very clean and this hotel isn't crowded with people. Good breakfasts.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    9.6
    Small pleasant hotel near Vatican
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The value deal meant I had a small single room at rear where there is a through road. This was noisy quite late & early morning. Even with shutter closed ear plugs are recommended!

    Good location near Vatican & easy to walk along river to get to main city area. Breakfast good. Staff very helpful. Courtyard in warm weather would be most pleasant for a drink & snacks. Room very good value for such a nice hotel. .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    8.3
    Very good, happy to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was compact! Our room was on the first floor and was just above the street which was quite noisy at times. A USB charging port in the room would have been a useful addition.

    Very helpful staff, great breakfast and couldn't have been more convenient for the Vatican. WiFi worked perfectly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    3.3
    Warning: head staff doesn't understand customer service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Head staff couldn't control loud group which kept us from sleeping even after requesting quiet room when booking and after arrival

    Location to Vatican

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people selling stuff and the tour guides outside most of the monuments

    The hotel was fantastic local to everything we needed and right on the door step to the Vatican

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    great place to be.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Should have been more diverse. style of behavior of one of the clerck at the reception desk. A bit "soldier"like. Forced to be polite, not genuine polite.

    Atmosphere,care for details, peaceful and serene place.music at the breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    5.8
    The problem here is that this is advertised as a four star...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was tiny: no view. Staff critical rather than helpful

    The problem here is that this is advertised as a four star hotel. It is actually not a hotel but a former German religious seminary, now trading as a four star bed and breakfast. The situation is perfect: right on St Peter's Square. The breakfast was fine, and the room was clean. Some of the staff were helpful. Too many, I fear, seemed to be lay members of the religious order keen to 'correct' the guests whenever the guests asked for anything. It is the sort of place where if you complain about slow pace of service, you are then instructed for ten minutes in how you should have gone about phrasing your request. Guests a constant disappointment to the staff. I stay in too many hotels to want to be made feel a nuisance to the concierge.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    8.8
    Lovely staff and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was hard and the ensuite was small for a deluxe room. The breakfast was basic and not as good as many 4 star hotels.

    The location is great. Close to the vatican and very secure, due to the large numbers of police in the vicinity, 24 hours a day. The staff were very friendly and obliging.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    7.5
    Using the room card to automatically open the bank-like...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small. Pricey without the 56% discount through Booking.com.

    Using the room card to automatically open the bank-like street door was fun, which then led to the fabulous courtyard. Receptionists were exceptionally helpful. Great location for sightseeing.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    9.2
    Typically Roman
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is a bit on the small side, shower rather 'tight', though useable.

    The location is second to none, virtually on the steps of St Peter's! Very friendly and accommodating staff. This was our second visit to the hotel and we will be back! Rooms adequate for a short visit. The hotel has typical Roman appeal.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel at the Vatican.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I took my daughter to Rome for her 18th birthday, and we stayed at the Palazzo Cardinal Cesi for the first few days. First of all, it's location, essentially at the gates of the Vatican, was perfect, and allowed us to visit St. Peter's often. The hotel itself was lovely, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. If you want a Hilton or Marriott style hotel, this is not for you, but if you want a small hotel with a friendly and helpful staff, this is perfect.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location, great service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is TINY!

    The history of the hotel and it's proximity to the Vatican couldn't have been more perfect! It was even in walking distance to so many other landmarks, even the Colosseum!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    9.6
    amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have a kettle in the room but otherwise it was perfect.

    The location was brilliant right next to St. Peter's square. The staff were very helpful and the bed was one of the most comfortable I'd slept in.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.2
    Residence with an amazing view from the front door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hit and miss as to whether there was any hot water for a wash/shower.

    Hotel was very comfortable. Bed and linen pristine. The hot water system could do with updating as it was hit and miss as to whether you had a warm or cold wash/shower. Staff were extremely attentive and the location could not be faulted, just 100 yards from St Peters Basilica. In short we loved the hotel, we loved Rome.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.3
    Great location minus supportive concierge staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast times not conducive to early tours. I wasn'the allowed to cancel breakfast when we checked in after we were told time frame. We were a family of 4. 80$ a day wasted. On the day of papal audience they opened early and they didn't have any notice even though I stated at check in this was in our plan. Rather than waste another 80+ dollars,we had a quick bite,but missed our tour meeting time by a couple minutes! Another 120+$ wasted. If I wasn'the going to a church event it would have ruined my day. Lessons learned. Would not order breakfast again if touring. Concierge staff in general too busy.They did the usual,nothing more. Other staff was very helpful and polite.

    Beautiful hotel with nice courtyard to relax and have and enjoy. Right at beginning of entrance to St. Peter's square.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    10
    A excellent hotel and perfect location. You will not be disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location a stones throw from the Vatican City and bridges across the river Tiber. The staff could do enough to please and the breakfast was excellent. A really good wine bar at the rear of the hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Wonderful stay in Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was extremely helpful with directions and transportation arrangements. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was fantastic with many options. Grounds were beautifully maintained and hotel was perfectly located allowing us to walk to most sights.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.6
    Everyone was very courteous and its proximity to the Vatican was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower stall was smaller than the cruise ship which surprised me....

    Staff was exceptional recommending places to eat and arranging cabs. Room attendant was very professional and did a great job cleaning...

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Palazzo Cardinal Cesi traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: