Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel 5 stars

Piazza Duomo, 13/14, 75100 Matera, Italy

#4 of 34 hotels in Matera

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 290 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    This hotel is BEAUTIFUL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, absolutely nothing...

    The town of Matera is an amazing place to see. The uniqueness is incredible. But, if you get to go to Matera AND stay at the Gattini, you are one lucky person. This hotel is one of the finest I have visited in Europe and the prices they charge for their services is a bargain. The hotel is beautiful and the room we stayed in was exceptional. The staff are always friendly and professional. The breakfast is wonderful and the restaurant excellent. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there are amazing views from the terrace but it was all closed down. Would have been good if this could have been warmed up with some outdoor heaters and we would have loved to have a drink up there. We went out of season but I don’t think this should mean we get fewer facilities than summer guests.

    The location, rooms, staff and facilities were all amazing. Didn’t expect free access to the Spa (for an hour each) so that was a real treat.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    The hotel is the perfect place to visit Matera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in room poor,not possible to read book or newspaper. Televison in room is very small, and very complicated or impossible to find european channels.

    Location, hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Beautifully done rooms, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was quite far away..perhaps due to road closures around. We had to wait for quite sometime for the hotel car to get to the car park with our luggage. The staff couldn't have been more helpful though!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful luxury hotel in center of Matera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Just be aware that it is extremely difficult to find/ navigate to the hotel using GPS.

    Very nice 5 star hotel in walking distance of all the sights of Matera. Nice 5 o'clock wine/ drink offering with Italian snacks was offered daily for free. Lovely hotel room + luxury bathroom with tub. We got a room upgrade on arrival. Wonderful helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    An outstanding experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were absolutely no faults.

    The property is in fantastic location with wonderfull views in all directions, the design and decoration is simply outstanding.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a true five star hotel: service, accommodation, location, staff. Visit to the SPA is a great bonus after walking through Sassi area all day long.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Amazing luxury hotel in the heart of Matera.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing luxury hotel in the heart of Matera. Great design, gorgeous terrace overlooking the city. Tasty breakfast from local food, best burrata ever. Extremely welcoming atmosphere. Thanks to Teresa for restaurants and trip advices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.9
    Very good hotel right in the centre of Matera - be prepared to be lost for a while if driving!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was never open for drinks in the evening. Roof Bar was closed due to high winds - fair enough - but "bar" near lobby was full because a group of people decided to have their meeting there. Make them go to a Meeting Room. Went out for supper and when we got back at 9.1pm, the bar was closed. Internet very slow. There was an amazing sounding fireworks display on but the staff never bothered to tell anyone to be ready to be outside to watch it - bit short-sighted I thought, as I love fireworks. Overall a great property except for the Bar thing - 5 star hotel should have a nice bar somewhere til late in the evenings.

    Location, large room and bed. Very nice bathroom. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Roof top bar was advertised but no bar staff when we visited in the evening. - 25 minute delay to start of spa treatments (was told to arrive 15 mins early) - Spa treatment did not achieve therapeutic benefits I’d hoped for. - Was not offered hot drinks or hot food at breakfast; not great overall buffet selection (including overripe fruit). Some aspects of hotel did not live up to the five star standard one would expect.

    Wonderful location; sleek slick designed hotel and hotel rooms; stunning views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous luxurious and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An area for relaxing outdoors would have been welcomed

    The staff were fabulous. The wifi was excellent and constant. The hotel was luxurious and the spa amazing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    View from room balcony over old city was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very busy and very noisey.

    View from room balcony over old city was fantastic. Spa had good facilities. Dinner in Hotel restaurant excellent. Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Will definitely return!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No objections nonnegative comments at all :)

    The staff was very kind and professional. The hotel location is amazing: in the very heart of Matera. We also booked spa and and the restaurant, both super great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Wow! Palazzo Gattini is wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We liked everything.

    Palazzo Gattini is located right next to the duomo. We could see it from our balcony. The room was spacious and glamourous, as was the whole building. The restaurant wasn't open, but the excellent staff recommended wonderful restaurants within walking distance. We enjoyed the spa pool. The breakfast was truly the best we had. The lady in charge of the breakfast room was delightful and keen for guests to try all the local specialities. We thoroughly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast in a cave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the money the room could have been more comfortable. There was nowhere to put our bags. The full length mirror was in the clothes hanging space and there was no light there.

    The staff were very helpful and attended to every need. The location was close to the Duomo and close to other places of interest. As Someone came to guide us into the property as it is in a ZTL zone. They garaged our car, for a fee, and drove us to the car park at the end of the visit. The room was cleaned and tidied regularly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel with magnificent rooms and extremely helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideally, I would like to have a restaurant and room service in the hotel, but that's just a minor thing.

    Beautiful hotel with magnificent rooms and extremely helpful staff. Don't miss calling them when driving to the hotel - you'll get clear instructions, otherwise I don't think you'll ever get there. Breakfasts were superb, and staff's recommendations re dining around were just to the point. Location is good both for the downtown and for sassi.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    Well located clean, good views of the Sassi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of tourist information

    Well located clean, good views of the Sassi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    good stay but can be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast and facilities

    the atmosphere of the hotel and the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Best hotel ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best hotel ever

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Highly recommend it. Great location, accomodations and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and Attentive staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Splendid place to experience Matera!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Amazing breakfast and rooftop bar - neat, thoughtful art displays throughout the hotel - marvelous spa - great architecture

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.5
    Bad air conditioning but nice building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was poor

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.6
    Stafg
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Stafg

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Best place to stay in Matera
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar , no atmosphere terrible lighting

    Excelent location , great view, perfect staff 😊

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    9.6
    Matera , a place that you must go
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best location in the city , worth for money , old turkey style in room design.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    10
    Very knowledgeable, helpful staff who appear to really enjoy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No instructions on how to get there by car. Be certain to get very explicit directions in advance.

    Very knowledgeable, helpful staff who appear to really enjoy their jobs. There is a very positive attitude permeating the hotel including the breakfast staff, housekeepers, and desk staff. The room is beautifully appointed.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    Staff were really welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were really welcoming and helpful. Pina in the breakfast room was lovely. She looked after us so well with such a cheerful demenor. Fabulous room overlooking the duomo. All perfect

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.6
    Staff were helpful, breakfast was basic but tasty, probably...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is not easy to find the hotel by car. I had to park in a public parking and then walked about 300 meters to the hotel.

    Staff were helpful, breakfast was basic but tasty, probably the biggest room and bathroom facilities I have experienced in the 20 years of travel

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    10
    Nearly everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The terrace bar was closed, the terrace restaurant is no longer available. Waiting for my car to arrive from the garage took 70 minutes. The main restaurant was disappointing.

    Nearly everything

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful room, great bed and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard to find by car, but the instructons given on the phone when we were lost, were excellent and we found the place OK.

    Beautiful room, great bed and bathroom. Right in the centre of the city. Valet parking of the car for 20 Euro was a good choice :)

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    9.2
    Central location, good sized room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cathedral opposite is undergoing major renovations. View spoilt by lots of scaffolding and noisy builders starting work at 7.300am

    Central location, good sized room

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    10
    Staff very welcoming, and architecture and attention to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike, except our stay wasn't long enough!

    Staff very welcoming, and architecture and attention to detail in the Palazzo fantastico. Parking and valet service was faultless. Breakfast is superb, and our room was lovely. We had a special deal that made it excellent value

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You could not control the heating from the room. When we arrived, the room was too cool and we asked for the heating to be turned up. It still was not warm enough a few hours later but we did not want to ask for an adjustment as the room would then be too warm to sleep over night. Do not expect to be charged extra to use hotel pool. Room booked was supposed to have sofa or easy chairs but had hard chairs only, so ended up just using the bed.

    Breakfast was very good. We were offered the local speciality of local bread toasted with very fresh ricotta spread on top and drizzled with orange blossom honey.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    9.2
    the facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    no real room service available no lounge for relaxing and having a light lunch creating a sense of hospitality and intimacy in the hotel.

    the facilities. Excellent restoration work.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    9.6
    The entire staff make it their business to help turn your...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No negatives.

    The entire staff make it their business to help turn your stay into the best possible experience. The best breakfast buffet among all the hotels we stayed in Basilicata.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    10
    Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Liked everything

    Wonderful location. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    9.6
    Hotel is comfort and stylish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff is not very nice.

    Hotel is comfort and stylish.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything! 5 star excellence..

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    Convenient location at old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Convenient location at old town

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    Our suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They need a good bar, also the hotel restaurant was unavailabe both nights of our stay.

    Our suite. Position in the town.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    10
    Perfect location and overall experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location and overall experience!

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    8.3
    We got upgrade to suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was a party down stairs and we could hear a bit of the noise.

    We got upgrade to suite. The view magnificent and the tub is huge

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the breakfast can be better , the staff is excellent , but the food can be best for 5 start hotel.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    9.2
    Excellent comfort and great service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent comfort and great service

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: